Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Qinggong Monk

Rules Questions

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok this keeps popping up in the ninja thread so i moved it here. It seems a large number of people are useing this archetype incorrectly. Or at lest What i think of as incorrectly. They are claiming it can be cherry picked. But Archetypes do not work that way.

Now the archetype states

PRD wrote wrote:
Ki Power: A qinggong monk can select a ki power (see below) for which she qualifies in place of the following monk class abilities: slow fall (4th), high jump (5th), wholeness of body (7th), diamond body (11th), abundant step (12th), diamond soul (13th), quivering palm (15th), timeless body (17th), tongue of the sun and moon (17th), empty body (19th), and perfect self (20th). This replaces the monk class ability the qinggong monk gives up for this ki power.

Now folks are claiming you do not have to take a replacement , which is false. And they say this based upon the word "can" which many archetypes use. And we know you must take all the replacements with an archetype and may not choose to skip one.

The Break is what is getting people. Read it this way "A qinggong monk can select a ki power for which she qualifies" They replace slow fall (4th), high jump (5th), wholeness of body (7th), diamond body (11th), abundant step (12th), diamond soul (13th), quivering palm (15th), timeless body (17th), tongue of the sun and moon (17th), empty body (19th), and perfect self (20th)

Now some claim for example you can skip high jump but lets look at the rest of the option. The Archetype says you can indeed have high jump, but most be at lest 6th level to take the ki power.

What this says is you can not have it at 5th. The archetype does not allow it, you must be at lest 6th level to take high jump if you are this type of monk. What this archetype does is replace all the options at 4th,5th.7th.11th,12th,13th,15th.17th,17th,19th and 20th with options, lots and lots of options.

You can still take some of those Powers but only at the level the archetype allows.

Now if you can show me where paizo has stated this archetype does not in fact use the normal archetype rules I would like to see it.


Paizo FAQ wrote:

Monk: Can a qinggong monk take a second archetype if the character doesn't swap out abilities the second archetype requires?

Yes. However, the other archetype takes priority over the various abilities granted at each level, and the character can't delay taking an ability that the other archetype replaces—he must allow the second archetype to replace the standard ability at the standard class level.
For example, the monk of the healing hand archetype (APG) replaces
wholeness of body (7th level)
diamond body (11th level)
quivering palm (15th level)
perfect self (20th level).
A qinggong monk who also wants to take the monk of the healing hand archetype has to let the healing hand archetype replace all four of those abilities at those specific class levels. The qinggong monk is still free to replace any standard monk abilities at the other class levels listed in the qinggong monk archetype (slow fall at 4th, high jump at 5th, and so on), so long as selecting those abilities doesn't interfere with acquiring the healing hand abilities at the correct levels.
Note that if the second archetype replaces a standard monk ability, the character cannot select that replaced ability at a later monk level. For example, the qinggong/healing hand monk can never select wholeness of body, even at a level higher than 7th. In effect, the character has selected wholeness of body at 7th and immediately replaced it with a healing hand ability; as the qinggong archetype only lets you select an ability later if the character "selects a different ki power in place of a standard monk ability" (which didn't occur), that option is not available for the character.

I realize this is a thread necro. And I realize the OP's post was written 2 years prior to this FAQ.

However, I was just using the search function to try and find an answer to a different question I had about the qinggong archetype, and this was the second search result returned.

I figured I might as well post this FAQ here in case others who may not be aware of this FAQ are using the search function .

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Qinggong Monk All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.