Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Ultimate Magic Errata


Paizo Products

451 to 497 of 497 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

Pg. 35 - Serpent domain; Venom immunity

Delete the last sentence in the venom immunity paragraph in the serpent domain section (The one that says "This replaces venom immunity.").

Grand Lodge

Strife2002 wrote:

Pg. 35 - Serpent domain; Venom immunity

Delete the last sentence in the venom immunity paragraph in the serpent domain section (The one that says "This replaces venom immunity.").

Nevermind I see what they did there. I thought this was leftover text from an archetype, as domain abilities typically don't alter existing class features. This, however, allows gaining immunity to a specific subset of poisons 3 levels earlier at the cost of gaining immunity to all poisons 3 levels later.


Typo in the new Witch Hex in the UM (typo highlighted)

Quote:
Scar (Su): This hex .... These scars do not interfere with the target's senses or prevent it from using abilities, but may affect social interactions. The witch can user her hexes on the scarred target at a range of up to 1 mile, ....

http://TheOnlySheet.com


After adding the Formula for the Gravewalker's Aura of Desecration, I noticed that TOS+ was giving me a maximum of 65' at 19th ... not 70' as per the description:

Quote:
Aura of Desecration (Su): At first level, a gravewalker can create a 20-foot-radius aura of evil power. This aura increases the DC of channeled negative energy by +1 and the turn resistance of undead by +1. At 3rd level and every 2 levels thereafter, the radius of the aura increases by 5 feet, to a maximum of 70 feet at 20th level. This ability replaces the witch's 1st-level hex.

If you do it manually:

1st - 20'
3rd - 25'
5th - 30'
7th - 35'
9th - 40'
11th - 45'
13th - 50'
15th - 55'
17th - 60'
19th - 65'

http://TheOnlySheet.com


See the highlight:

Quote:
Bonethrall (Su): At first level, a gravewalker can take control of an undead creature within her aura of desecration by forcing her will upon it (Will negates, using her hex DC). If it fails the save, the creature falls under her control as if she had used command undead (once control is established, the undead remain controlled even if outside the witch's aura). Intelligent undead receive a new saving throw each day to resist her command. The witch can control up to 1 HD of undead creatures per caster level. If an undead creature is under the control of another creature, the witch must make an opposed Charisma check whenever her orders conflict with that creature's. This replaces the witch's hex gained at 4th level.

So this is given at level 1, yet replaces a 4th level Hex?

Is this correct!?

http://TheOnlySheet.com


The Only Sheet wrote:

After adding the Formula for the Gravewalker's Aura of Desecration, I noticed that TOS+ was giving me a maximum of 65' at 19th ... not 70' as per the description:

[snip]

I assumed there was an extra 5' bump at 20th level. It should be clarified, though.


The Only Sheet wrote:

So this is given at level 1, yet replaces a 4th level Hex?

Is this correct!?

That's not unheard of. For example, a bear shaman gets an ability at level 5 that replaces "a thousand faces" which is a 13th level druid ability.


Pg. 59 Possessed Oracle first Mystery Spell is ventriloquism (1st) should that be (2nd) not (1st)?

Dark Archive

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Fox1212 wrote:
1.- In the text there's a "Fortitude negates (see text)" saving throw. However, I cannot find the text referring to the save. What is it?

Remove that from the spell; it should just say Reflex partial.

Fox1212 wrote:
2.- If a creature is trapped and helpless, can it try to free itself with a Strength check?

If it fails its save, it is trapped and helpless. It can't take any actions if it is helpless.

If it makes its save, it is entangled but can otherwise act normally for the duration. The Strength check is for an entangled (not helpless) creature; I've noted that sentence for clarification.

Fox1212 wrote:
3.- How long does this check take? A standard, a full round?

Standard action.

Fox1212 wrote:
4.- If the creature is entangled, what must it do to rid itself of the ice and the condition?

It can make a Strength check to break it, break the ice by dealing damage, or use something to counteract the magic of it (such as dispel magic).

Quote:
If it does not rid itself of the ice, does it really keep receiving damage each round for the duration of the spell?

Yes, as long as you're still helpless or entangled by the ice.

Fox1212 wrote:
5.- Does the spell resistance apply to the trapping effect, or only to the damage?
You generally only get one spell resistance check against a particular effect.

This is an absolutely horrible ruling for this spell. Seriously, not even a strength check to escape if you fail the initial save? You're basically making it "save or die" because the damage per round from the ice will easily kill the target due to its incredibly long duration.

Way too powerful for 5th level.

Grand Lodge

Oops_I_Crit_My_Pants wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Fox1212 wrote:
1.- In the text there's a "Fortitude negates (see text)" saving throw. However, I cannot find the text referring to the save. What is it?

Remove that from the spell; it should just say Reflex partial.

Fox1212 wrote:
2.- If a creature is trapped and helpless, can it try to free itself with a Strength check?

If it fails its save, it is trapped and helpless. It can't take any actions if it is helpless.

If it makes its save, it is entangled but can otherwise act normally for the duration. The Strength check is for an entangled (not helpless) creature; I've noted that sentence for clarification.

Fox1212 wrote:
3.- How long does this check take? A standard, a full round?

Standard action.

Fox1212 wrote:
4.- If the creature is entangled, what must it do to rid itself of the ice and the condition?

It can make a Strength check to break it, break the ice by dealing damage, or use something to counteract the magic of it (such as dispel magic).

Quote:
If it does not rid itself of the ice, does it really keep receiving damage each round for the duration of the spell?

Yes, as long as you're still helpless or entangled by the ice.

Fox1212 wrote:
5.- Does the spell resistance apply to the trapping effect, or only to the damage?
You generally only get one spell resistance check against a particular effect.

This is an absolutely horrible ruling for this spell. Seriously, not even a strength check to escape if you fail the initial save? You're basically making it "save or die" because the damage per round from the ice will easily kill the target due to its incredibly long duration.

Way too powerful for 5th level.

Which SKR makes a note of a few posts down from that one. He compares it to hold monster which does allow a save, and concedes that the board has a point about it being a bit unbalanced.

Dark Archive

There should definitely not be any "SAVE OR DIE" spells at 5th level. I'm not against "save or die" spells, just not at such a low spell level. In this case, its basically "save or die slowly" which is no real difference at all. "Save or Die" stuff should be strictly the domain of top tier spells (7th level 8th level) and 9th level spells should be reserved for magics that grant no save or are exceedingly lethal despite a save being made.

I think alot of spells in Ultimate Magic were a bit rushed with not enough focus on game balance, specifically ICY PRISON and TERRIBLE REMORSE as the most obvious cases. TERRIBLE REMORSE got fixed, but ICY PRISON is still all kinds of broken.

You could reword ICY PRISON to tame it down so it's not so broken for just a 5th level spell, but its not really necessary if you just make it an appropriate spell level (7th or 8th level).


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Symbol of Sealing's spell descripton, second sentence (p. 242): "When the casting is completed, the symbol immediately triggers, glowing visibly and sealing the door or opening with an invisible barrier of force equivalent to a wall of force spell."

The spell description then goes on to describe attuning creatures to it, including "the password only prevents them from triggering the symbol, not from ignoring its effects if triggered."

So when does the symbol actually trigger? When the casting is completed - making any attunement useless and this spell simply a higher-level wall of force in a different school? Or when actually triggered - rendering the first part of the spell description's second sentence incorrect?

Sovereign Court

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Can you fix the spell Malfunction so that the spell works as intended because at the moment the creatures that the spell target are immune to the spell effects. The reason for this is that the spell requires a fort save and Constructs are immune to any effect that requires a fort save and that does not effect objects. Also since most construct are spell immune you should change the spell resistance to no.

"Construct trait
Immunity to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects, or is harmless)."-- pg 302 Bestiary 3


I think that we can safely assume that a spell that is described as "affects constructs" will work on them, even if it does not work on non-construct objects.

However, the Level of malfunction should be in bold, and I think that "one construct" should really be a Target rather than an Area.


Oath of Loyalty (reference):

Quote:
Loyal Guardian (Su): At 8th level, whenever the target of the paladin's loyal oath is hit with a melee or ranged attack, if the paladin is adjacent to the target, she can spend an immediate action to have the attack automatically hit her instead of the intended target. This ends the loyal oath.

The description for this ability does not specify (unlike all other abilities...) which core ability is replaced.

I suspect this is an omission, and that 'Aura of Resolve' should be replaced.

http://TheOnlySheet.com


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Feat: Undead Master (p158)

PRD wrote:

Undead Master

You can marshal vast armies of the undead to serve you.
Prerequisites: Spell focus (necromancy), the ability to
cast animate dead or command undead.
Benefit: When you cast animate dead or use the
Command Undead feat, you are considered to be four
levels higher when determining the number of Hit
Dice you animate. When you cast command undead, your
duration is doubled.

Using the Command Undead feat doesn't allow you to animate undead, should it not perhaps simply read:

"When you cast animate dead or use the Command Undead feat, you are considered to be four levels higher."?

Grand Lodge

HJ wrote:

Feat: Undead Master (p158)

PRD wrote:

Undead Master

You can marshal vast armies of the undead to serve you.
Prerequisites: Spell focus (necromancy), the ability to
cast animate dead or command undead.
Benefit: When you cast animate dead or use the
Command Undead feat, you are considered to be four
levels higher when determining the number of Hit
Dice you animate. When you cast command undead, your
duration is doubled.

Using the Command Undead feat doesn't allow you to animate undead, should it not perhaps simply read:

"When you cast animate dead or use the Command Undead feat, you are considered to be four levels higher."?

Unfortunately you have to be more specific than that, as simply raising your caster level 4 levels higher has other effects. True, animate dead has no other qualities that are level-dependent (duration is instantaneous, for example), but one thing that will be affected is if you attempt to use dispel magic as a counterspell against animate dead. Using the spell that way requires making a dispel check, which takes the spell's caster level into account.

A change would make sense, though, so I say change it to:
"When you cast animate dead or use the Command Undead feat, you are considered to be four levels higher when determining the number of Hit Dice you animate or command, respectively."


Query about the Shard of Chaos spell...

The Duration line says "instantaneous (1d6 rounds)" but nowhere in the description is 1d6 rounds mentioned. Does anyone know what aspect of the spell lasts 1d6 rounds?

Many thanks

Grand Lodge

Bitter Chivalry wrote:

Query about the Shard of Chaos spell...

The Duration line says "instantaneous (1d6 rounds)" but nowhere in the description is 1d6 rounds mentioned. Does anyone know what aspect of the spell lasts 1d6 rounds?

Many thanks

Good catch. Looks like an error to me. It may have been for the slow effect in an earlier version of the spell, but was reduced to simply 1 round. I'd say delete it and just leave it as "instantaneous"


The following abilities which appear in Undead Anatomy II are missing from Undead Anatomy III and Undead Anatomy IV:

Freeze, Mimicry, Shadowless, Sound Mimicry

The following abilities which appear in Undead Anatomy III are missing from Undead Anatomy IV:

All-Around Vision, Disease, Fear Aura, Natural Cunning, Overwhelming, Unnatural Aura

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Intimidating Gaze p. 153

has a pre req of "Cha 13+"
why the "+"?
pre reqs usually have the minimum, it should be just "Cha 13"


It looks like the Donkey Rat (p. 117) was given bonuses to attack, CMB, and skills as if it were Tiny instead of Small. By my calculations, it should be:

Melee Bite -1 (1d3-2)
CMB -3
CMD 10 (14 vs trip)
Stealth +11
Swim +6


The ghostly disguise spell dies not have any Saving Throw or Spell Resistance information. By reading the text of the spell, I think it should read "Will disbelief (if interacted with)," or at least "See text."


Vermin Shape I and Vermin Shape II - should they include (D) in the duration for dismissable?

Grand Lodge

Sir George Anonymous wrote:
The ghostly disguise spell dies not have any Saving Throw or Spell Resistance information. By reading the text of the spell, I think it should read "Will disbelief (if interacted with)," or at least "See text."

You've got a point, but keep in mind that this same issue also applies to disguise self.

Grand Lodge

Sir George Anonymous wrote:
Vermin Shape I and Vermin Shape II - should they include (D) in the duration for dismissable?

Good catch. The various spells for beast shape, plant shape, giant form, and undead anatomy all have dismissable durations.


The spell lists for Inquisitor (L4) and Sorcerer/Wizard (L6) both have the desctiption for the Battlemend Link spell as "You and an ally gain attack and AC bonuses." I don't see any mention of AC bonuses, but if both characters cast spells, there is a DC bonus.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 243 - Tar ball spell

It's possible this spell should have gotten the fire descriptor.

EDIT: Make that both fire and earth descriptors. Tar pool found in Ultimate Combat has both these descriptors.


A little errata concerning the "Crossblooded" archetype for the Sorcerer class. I've found that reducing all of the Sorcerer's spells known for each spell level makes for very limited game play. Perhaps if the archetype would work better if the Crossblooded Sorcerer's "spells per day" were reduced by 1 per level instead? Does anyone else agree on this?


Not really. You just have to pick your niche very carefully, and remember you can still use those higher level slots to cast lower level spells, either normal or with Heighten Spell. Words of Power sorcerers are even better at this as early as 6th level.

Any word of the Heart Biconstruct Modification ?

Grand Lodge

Pg. 206 - Arboreal hammer spell

This spell is confusing because it describes trees as if they had size categories similar to creatures (Huge, Gargantuan, and Colossal). According to the Core Rulebook, however, trees only come in two forms: typical and massive. Massive trees still only take up a 5-ft. square at ground-level, so size can't be determined that way.


Pg. 219 - Fickle Winds

Targets is "one or more Medium creatures/level" - shouldn't that be "one or more Medium creatures/level" or "up to one Medium creatures/level"?


Apologies if this has been addressed but the Construct Modifications -> Basic Modifications -> Ability Score Modifications section is priced all kinds of cheap.

For an untyped bonus it is ridiculously cheap especially for an untyped bonus. Not to mention it is a linear cost instead of an exponential cost when compared to available inherent bonuses and enhancement bonuses.

Even if the market price is twice the cost to create you're still only paying half of the 100,000gp Mraket Price for a +20 bonus to any ability score.

Even on a lowly Homunculus that becomes the best possible expenditure of wealth for any construct's master.

Suggested fix would be that the price should have been bonus squared times 5,000gp at the least. Possibly less so that this Construct Modification is still cheaper than ability boosting tomes to account for the often steep price of purchasing a construct in the first place.

Again, sorry if this's been brought up already.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

p. 239 - sonic thrust.

The second to last sentence of the first paragraph reads, "Any objects of creatures thrown must be within 10 feet of each other."

I'm pretty sure that should read, "Any objects or creatures thrown must be within 10 feet of each other."

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

pp. 219-220 fickle winds.

The first sentence of the last paragraph reads, "A Large creature counts as 4 Medium creatures for the purpose of how many targets you can effect with the spell;"

It should read, "A Large creature counts as 4 Medium creatures for the purpose of how many targets you can affect with the spell;"


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Has the Bard archetype Sound Striker's "Weird Words" been included in the errata yet? It was FAQ'd last Spring--March I think?

Grand Lodge

Fourshadow wrote:
Has the Bard archetype Sound Striker's "Weird Words" been included in the errata yet? It was FAQ'd last Spring--March I think?

Nah, it's still just an official FAQ mention.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

(I'm not sure if any designers still keep an eye on this thread, but here goes anyway ...)

It's my understanding that Witch patrons supply spells either at an earlier spell level than usual or from spell lists normally not available to Witches. With that in mind, it appears that the Death patron in UM has _four_ irrelevant spells: Speak with Dead (acquired at Witch 6), Suffocation (10), Symbol of Death (16), and Power Word Kill (18). All four of those spells are on the normal Witch class spell list at those spell levels (3, 5, 8, and 9).


The necro is strong in this thread. 5 years and still going strong.


I noticed a discrepancy in the requirements and the description of the Theurgy feat from Ultimate Magic.

The requirements are:
Prerequisites: Wis 13, Int or Cha 13, able to cast 1st-level arcane spells, able to cast 1st-level divine spells.

The description says:
Benefit: You can augment the power of your divine spells with arcane energy and augment your arcane spells with divine energy.
When casting a divine spell, you may sacrifice an arcane spell slot or arcane prepared spell of that spell's level or higher as a swift action. The caster level for that divine spell increases by +1.
When casting an arcane spell, you may sacrifice a divine spell slot or prepared divine spell of the same or higher level as a swift action. Half the damage dealt by the arcane spell becomes holy (if you channel positive energy) or unholy (if you channel negative energy).

The problem is that the prerequisite only requires the ability to cast 1st-level divine spells, but the determination of the effects (for augmenting arcane spells) is wholly dependent on channeling ability. Perhaps it should instead be dependent on caster alignment or default to holy since all classes that provide divine casting of spells do not also provide the ability to channel.


Being able to channel energy would be better than even Evil casters dealing Holy damage.


Scoured the thread and could not find this.

Is it just me or is the time witch patron off a little.

Time: 2nd—ventriloquism, 4th—silence, 6th—haste, 8th—threefold aspect, 10th—teleport, 12th—disintegrate, 14th—expend, 16th—temporal stasis, 18th—time stop.

I understand that low level spells have little to do with time, so I can skip ventriloquism on the list, but the next one silence (although I like the spell), should the actual spell there be "slow"?


probably not since Slow is a 3rd level spell like Haste (which you get at 6th level)

Grand Lodge

Pg. 228 - Marionette possession

This is a 3rd-level extract for alchemists and investigators, however according to the rules for extracts on page 27 of the APG, extracts can never be made from spells that have a focus component.


The animal speaker's performances do not have there type listed(Su, Sp, Ex). Other bardic performances that summon stuff are Sp and therefore would qualify to be affected by the augment summoning feat. Shouldn't attract rats also? Soothing performance seems like Ex to me.

RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

The Efreeti bloodline (p67) says:

Quote:

Bloodline Powers: Like an efreeti, you have both natural power over air and several other genie-based abilities.

I'm pretty sure that should say fire instead of air. The Marid entry says water and the Shaitan entry says earth in the analogous sentences.

Grand Lodge

Strife2002 wrote:

Pg. 228 - Marionette possession

This is a 3rd-level extract for alchemists and investigators, however according to the rules for extracts on page 27 of the APG, extracts can never be made from spells that have a focus component.

For what it's worth, James Jacobs in 2012 had a different idea of how this was supposed to work to explain alchemist extracts that have focus components.

From the Pathfinder Society Field Guide product thread.

Note that shortly after this someone points out to him what the actual text in the alchemist write-up says, to which his response is a short growl.

451 to 497 of 497 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Paizo Products / Ultimate Magic Errata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Paizo Products

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.