Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Power Attack on Attack of Opportunity


Rules Questions


title!

it came up yesterday. attack of opp just says you get an attack at your highest bonus.

but reading power attack it says when you attack, declare your using it and bam, have fun.

group ruled against it but just thought to get a second opinion.

thanks


deademon wrote:

title!

it came up yesterday. attack of opp just says you get an attack at your highest bonus.

but reading power attack it says when you attack, declare your using it and bam, have fun.

group ruled against it but just thought to get a second opinion.

thanks

Yes, you get power attack on attacks of opportunity. The feat says its effects last until your next turn. So if you were power attacking on your turn, you are power attacking on your AoO. And, it has no action to use.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Power attack will apply only if you used it on your attack on your previous turn. Essentially, after you make an attack using power attack, all attacks until the start of your next turn also use power attack.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can use Power Attack on an AoO. In fact, if you used Power Attack during your regular attack, it's still in effect for the AoO.


thanks for the quick replies...guess reading the feat might of helped
-.-

Andoran

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
deademon wrote:

title!

it came up yesterday. attack of opp just says you get an attack at your highest bonus.

but reading power attack it says when you attack, declare your using it and bam, have fun.

group ruled against it but just thought to get a second opinion.

thanks

"You must choose to use this feat before making an attack roll, and its effects last until your next turn."

I picture it as an on-off switch (it used to be a rheostat...). If you chose to use Power Attack in your last turn, you MUST use it for the AoO(s) until your next turn. If you didn't use it in your last turn, you effectively chose not; it's not on for the AoO.

If you didn't attack in your last turn, the Power Attack switch for the AoO is undetermined. I've seen it handled as "no Power Attack" or "may choose if using Power Attack now.." I've also seen folks state a default Power Attack condition to deal with this situation. It varies by group.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Power Attack on Attack of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.