Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Lesser Beast Totem and reach weapons?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Lesser Beast Totem:
While raging, the barbarian gains two claw attacks. These attacks are considered primary attacks and are made at the barbarian’s full base attack bonus. The claws deal 1d6 points of slashing damage (1d4 if Small) plus the barbarian’s Strength modifier.

Does a Barbarian wielding a reach weapon threaten adjacent with her claws with this power? Are they still a primary attack if you're holding your polearm in your main hand?


She does threaten with her claws, and they become a secondary attack if holding a polearm in your main hand. However, if you two-hand a polearm, you can't do polearm/claw or polearm/claw/claw because your hands are full of weapon during your attack routine.


Pathfinder Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Arutema wrote:

Lesser Beast Totem:

While raging, the barbarian gains two claw attacks. These attacks are considered primary attacks and are made at the barbarian’s full base attack bonus. The claws deal 1d6 points of slashing damage (1d4 if Small) plus the barbarian’s Strength modifier.

Does a Barbarian wielding a reach weapon threaten adjacent with her claws with this power? Are they still a primary attack if you're holding your polearm in your main hand?

No.

The reason is, if you are using a reach weapon (polearm) then it is a two-handed weapon. Therefore, you don't threaten at close range because both of your hands are wielding your weapon.

Now, if you have not attacked with the weapon this round, you could release it with one hand and attack with those claws, but then, you do not threaten at range.

It get's a little stranger if you're using say a whip. A whip is a reach weapon, but it's one handed. However, you can't AoO with it, but you could AoO with your free hand claw.

That brings us to your last question, anytime you mix natural and manufactured weapons, all natural weapons become secondary attacks, and take the secondary attack penalty to your attack bonus.

Cheliax

Where is it said that the claws have to be on the hands?


Pathfinder Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Jadeite wrote:
Where is it said that the claws have to be on the hands?

The only other place they could be would be on his feet. However, since he doesn't have the monk's ability to make attacks with his feet, they wouldn't do him any good down there. :)

Not to mention it would make a mess of his boots of springing and striding. :)

Grand Lodge

mdt wrote:


No.

The reason is, if you are using a reach weapon (polearm) then it is a two-handed weapon. Therefore, you don't threaten at close range because both of your hands are wielding your weapon.

Now, if you have not attacked with the weapon this round, you could release it with one hand and attack with those claws, but then, you do not threaten at range.

Good to know. I think if I actually tried that tactic I'd be on the receiving end of ye old thrown rulebook.


Pathfinder Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Arutema wrote:
mdt wrote:


No.

The reason is, if you are using a reach weapon (polearm) then it is a two-handed weapon. Therefore, you don't threaten at close range because both of your hands are wielding your weapon.

Now, if you have not attacked with the weapon this round, you could release it with one hand and attack with those claws, but then, you do not threaten at range.

Good to know. I think if I actually tried that tactic I'd be on the receiving end of ye old thrown rulebook.

LOL

It's valid, you're giving up your reach for a close in threatening. Your best bet, if you want to threaten up close and at range is to get armor spikes, or play a monk and use a reach weapon. Both give you threatening at range and up close.

Armor spikes threaten automatically, without needing free hands. A monk can attack with any part of his body.

Cheliax

mdt wrote:
Jadeite wrote:
Where is it said that the claws have to be on the hands?

The only other place they could be would be on his feet. However, since he doesn't have the monk's ability to make attacks with his feet, they wouldn't do him any good down there. :)

Not to mention it would make a mess of his boots of springing and striding. :)

So, bite attacks are useless for nonmonks because they lack the ability to attack with their mouth?

If a character has a natural attack, he is able to use it for attacks.


Pathfinder Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Jadeite wrote:
mdt wrote:
Jadeite wrote:
Where is it said that the claws have to be on the hands?

The only other place they could be would be on his feet. However, since he doesn't have the monk's ability to make attacks with his feet, they wouldn't do him any good down there. :)

Not to mention it would make a mess of his boots of springing and striding. :)

So, bite attacks are useless for nonmonks because they lack the ability to attack with their mouth?

If a character has a natural attack, he is able to use it for attacks.

That was a joke, thus the smiley face.

If your GM allows you to put the claws on your feet and attack with them, go for it. However, I wouldn't. Not to mention you'd need to get your boots custom made.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Lesser Beast Totem and reach weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.