Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Infiltrator Adaptions


Rules Questions

Taldor

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

My apologies if this is addressed elsewhere... my Search Fu is hindered by my phone's interface...

Infiltrators (Ranger alternative from the APG) gain an Extraordinary Ability called Adaption. It allows the Infiltrator to take an ability from a provided list based on the Infiltrator's favored enemy. He can use the ability for 10 minutes per level. For instance, if the Infiltrator chooses an aberration as his favored enemy, then he can choose from amphibious, darkvision 60 ft., Iron Will, or natural armor +2.

My question is: what kind of action should it takes to activate the ability gained via Adaption?

Per the PRD, "Using an Extraordinary Ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity."

The abilities granted by Adaption certainly SEEM like they would require actions to activate but I'm not entirely sure. I'd likely rule that they do but I'm looking for opinions either way... or a pointer at an official response, if one exists.

Thanks.

Taldor

Ye olde boomph.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Since it don't say, why not a free action?


It's not an action at all. You just pick what you want your bonus against. The duration only applies to time spent actually using it. This is an on and off at will ability. As fast as the Infiltrator can think it, it happens.


Can he switch once chosen?

My ranger has favo enemy human, and we have been playing it so that he chose what he needed at that moment (+2 ref, for, will), but i'm having second doubts..

R


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Rickmeister wrote:

Can he switch once chosen?

My ranger has favo enemy human, and we have been playing it so that he chose what he needed at that moment (+2 ref, for, will), but i'm having second doubts..

R

Once you gain your second adaptation you get a second benefit. For example, you have Human(Iron Will, Lightning Reflexes), and Undead(Skill Focus - Stealth). Whenever you Adapt to Human in this example you gain BOTH benefits at the same time.

Once you gain your third adaptation you get a third benefit. For example, you have Human(Iron Will, Lightning Reflexes, Great Fortitude), Undead(Skill Focus - Stealth), and Giant(Lunge). Whenever you Adapt to Human in this example you gain ALL THREE benefits at the same time.


The feature does not explicitly say that you gain all the benefits of the enemy you choose: In fact, it says you can only use one adaptation at a time, and that each ability or feat from the favored enemies are different adaptations. However, it doesn't say anything about actions to use them, or whether you can switch to different adaptations during the 10 minute intervals.. Overall, a neat idea that is poorly written and needs an official clarification (Preferably soon because I'm about to hit level 3 :P).


Anyone ever find anything official for this?

Andoran

The idea that it takes no action to activate is a huge leap in logic and you are going to get some extreme table variation going with that assumption.

When in doubt when no action is listed assume it's a standard action.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I just discovered the Infiltrator archetype for the Ranger.

In addition to not stating the required action to activate the ability, there's also one other question I have. First, some background:

From the Bestiary:

"Amphibious (Ex) Creatures with this special quality have
the aquatic subtype, but can survive indefinitely on land."

"Aquatic Subtype: These creatures always have swim
speeds and can move in water without making Swim
checks. An aquatic creature can breathe water. It cannot
breathe air unless it has the amphibious special quality.
Aquatic creatures always treat Swim as a class skill."

If you gain the Amphibious quality, you AUTOMATICALLY gain the Aquatic subtype, and therefore AUTOMATICALLY gain a swim speed.

So, my question is: What is the swim speed of an Amphibious Infiltrator Ranger?


your land speed


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Talonhawke wrote:
your land speed

Yes, that would make sense.

However, some of the other adaptations (such as from the Animal list) grant the character a swim speed of 15ft--without the advantage of being able to breathe underwater.

I was just wondering if they forgot that amphibious does more than just allow water breathing...


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Gallard Stormeye wrote:

The idea that it takes no action to activate is a huge leap in logic and you are going to get some extreme table variation going with that assumption.

When in doubt when no action is listed assume it's a standard action.

I'm not by any means saying "I'm right" here, just trying to understand it by talking (typing) through it myself, as no one can actually be "right" since the RAW is not specific... I'm not sure I'd agree with that ruling though. Since it doesn't say, it unfortunately leaves it up to RAI. Since this is an Ex, and not an Sp or an Su, and flavor-wise, its an "adaptation", by name even, it makes sense that it is an at will action, immediate or not an action. Also, its not always the case that something not listed as an action should be treated as a standard-action. Case in point, the faq on the summoner ability here: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9oh4 in which SKR states that the removal of the "as a free action" text means that it is not an action, not that it is a standard action. Nevertheless, since the Adpatation action type isn't specified, I suppose a GM could rule that it is standard, but that would be pretty ridiculous... free or swift at the most if it must be done on your turn would the the limit I'd consider reasonable. Otherwise, it seems a sure downgrade from its alternate, instead of a swap to an equal but different power.

I also have two questions about adaptations though for which I really can't even speculate on.

1) Does your animal companion benefit from your adaptations? It says it benefits from your favored terrain, so if I were GMing I'd rule that it does, but here's the catch: does it get its own rounds per day to have it active separate from you, only have it active when you do, or have it active all the time?

2) It was mentioned further up the thread, but I still am not clear on a ruling... Is an "adaptation" only one of the abilities listed for a favorted enemy or is the adaptation the favored enemy type as a whole? Meaning, if humans are your favored enemy, and you pick Iron Will, Lightning Reflexes, and Great Fortitude over the course of leveling... do you only have one of these or all of these active at a time when you use the human adaptation?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Going by the rules, Life Link is now actually a Standard Action -_- Just getting rid of "as a free action" does that, due to the rules of supernatural abilities with un-specified actions.

I have no clue what the intent is for this ability's action. Probably a free action, or not-an-action.


Cheapy wrote:

Going by the rules, Life Link is now actually a Standard Action -_- Just getting rid of "as a free action" does that, due to the rules of supernatural abilities with un-specified actions.

I have no clue what the intent is for this ability's action. Probably a free action, or not-an-action.

Well, I'd agree with you on the Adaptation ability...

Not that this thread is the thread about Summoners, but as far as listing ability action types implicitly and explicitly goes... if you read the whole FAQ, it ends with saying that the update is to remove "as a free action" from the text, but the explanation above SKR says "its not an action at all and shouldn't be listed as such", which if its not an action at all, it can't be a standard action. So, it seems there is some inconsistency on whether to treat something as standard or no action if no action type is listed. In that case, I'd strongly lean on adaptation to being "not an action" not even a "free action" because something being a free action certain seems to need to be called out given precedent.


I guess that the natural armor bonus the adaptation can give doesn't stack with natural armor the pc already posseses, does it?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok, so let's say I am level 10 and have Undead and Giant as my favored Enemies with +2 natural armor, Skill focus (Stealth) and Resist Fire 10 as my chosen abilities.

If my group is walking along and trigger a burning hands trap, does my Resist Fire kick in automatically as there is no way I will have time to get it into action myself.

Say next round I am flat-footed as three arrows are fired at me. Does my +2 Natural armor apply if I never "activated it"? What if while walking along I had previously activated Steath and never brought it down? Are all my abilities up then?

It is a great set of abilities but poorly worded. Help.

Thanks.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Infiltrator Adaptions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.