Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Questions about possession


Rules Questions


1- Can a ghost or fiend just lie dormant inside a host or act as an observer through the host's eyes and then possess the host when needed ?

2- Can a host be possessed by multiple creatures, such as a human being possess by 4 fiends at once ?

3- Does a possessing ghost or fiend grant bonuses to the host, or is it just that the host doesn't act as it would normally ?

4- Is possession limited to ghosts and fiends, or can other creatures like good outsiders can possess, such as a planetar possessing a paladin to use as its envoy ?

Thanks in advance

Grand Lodge

Possession abilities typically function as the spell magic jar, with any differences noted for each creature. It sounds as if you want certain creatures to work differently, though, which you could certainly do for your own game.

1) The possessing spirit displaces the host's life force and controls the body, keeping only its physical and natural abilities. The host's life force is imprisoned in the magic jar, or cast out elsewhere, in the case of things like ghosts that don't use a receptacle. In either case the possessing spirit has no special contact with the displaced soul or access to its memories and skills.

2) Each fiend after the first displaces the incumbent's spirit and pushes it into the successful fiend's receptacle. Only the most recently successful spirit has control of the body and access to its senses.

3) See above. The host body acts as the possessing spirit decides. It gets no bonuses and might suffer penalties if the possessing spirit doesn't know how to use the creature's abilities and gear.

4) By RAW a planetar doesn't have a magic jar ability and can't prepare it as a cleric spell.


Starglim wrote:
Possession abilities typically function as the spell magic jar, with any differences noted for each creature. It sounds as if you want certain creatures to work differently, though, which you could certainly do for your own game.

Well, I actually got my hands on Pathfinder #28: The Infernal Syndrome, and there's a feat called Possess Creature, so I was asking a few precisions.

The feat is right there

Also, I have in mind a character that gets possessed by multiple ghosts or multiple fiends. You know, a really unlucky victim. What if a bunch of spirits band together to possess an unwanted explorer, or what if a insane cultist binds mutliple summoned fiends to him ?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Questions about possession All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.