[APG] Cavalier's Order of the Cockatrice, Braggart benefit?


Rules Questions


16 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

APG Page 34:

At 2nd level, the cavalier can spend a standard action to extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. He does not need a weapon in hand to use this ability. The cavalier receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets.

Question 1:

Does this ability grants the Dazzling Display feat permanently or not? I am unsure if this should be read as:

A) When you spend a standard action, you gain the benefits of the Dazzling Display feat.

or

B) You gain Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however you do not need to have a weapon in hand when you spend a standard action to activate this feat.

Question 2:

Is the +2 morale bonus gained a permanent bonus? I am unsure if this should be read as:

A) When you spend a standard action, you gain +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets. (NOTE: There is no duration given -- does it last 1 round, 1 round / level, 1 hour?)

B) You gain a permanent +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets.

Question 3:

Does the cavalier gain the +2 morale bonus when attacking targets that either he did not demoralize (someone else did), or that he demoralized without activating the Braggart ability?

Question 4:

Was the reference to a standard action in this ability, meant to say: "You may activate Dazzling Display as a standard action instead of a full-round action?"?

Any clarifications would be appreciated. Thanks.

-------------------------------------------------
EDIT: Based on the input of others, I believe this is how this ability was intended to be worded:

At 2nd level, the cavalier can extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however activating this feat is only a standard action and the cavalier does not need a weapon in hand to use this feat. Additionally, he receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against targets demoralized with this feat.


Answer 2:

It's a permanent bonus. The cavalier always gets this bonus against demoralised targets. Note that demoralise has a duration, as noted in the Intimidate skill description:

"Demoralize: You can use this skill to cause your opponents to become shaken for a number of rounds. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + the target's Hit Dice + the target's Wisdom modifier. If you are successful, the target is shaken for 1 round. This duration increases by 1 round for every 5 by which you beat the DC. You can only threaten opponents in this way if they are within 30 feet and can clearly see and hear you."

Answer 1:

You get Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. It works like always, except that you don't need to use a weapon. The first sentence is just an explanation.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
KaeYoss wrote:

Answer 1:

You get Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. It works like always, except that you don't need to use a weapon. The first sentence is just an explanation.

If both of these benefits are "permanent benefits" then what is the cavalier using the standard action for? Do they just gain the benefit of not having to have a weapon in hand when using the Dazzling Display feat?

KaeYoss wrote:

Answer 2:

It's a permanent bonus. The cavalier always gets this bonus against demoralised targets. Note that demoralise has a duration, as noted in the Intimidate skill description:

That's a good note, that there is sort of a built in limitation. However, I am assuming then that this benefit would also be gained when attacking targets demoralized from other sources (such as a spell).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

If both of these benefits are "permanent benefits" then what is the cavalier using the standard action for? Do they just gain the benefit of not having to have a weapon in hand when using the Dazzling Display feat?

I figured the author didn't realise using Dazzling Display is a full-round action.

The ability is messed up, at any rate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
hogarth wrote:
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

If both of these benefits are "permanent benefits" then what is the cavalier using the standard action for? Do they just gain the benefit of not having to have a weapon in hand when using the Dazzling Display feat?

I figured the author didn't realise using Dazzling Display is a full-round action.

The ability is messed up, at any rate.

Oh, so perhaps it was ment to read that you can activate Dazzling Display as a standard action instead of a full-round action? I'll add this in as an additional question in my original post.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Based on the input of others, I believe this is how this ability was intended to be worded:

At 2nd level, the cavalier can extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however activating this feat is only a standard action and the cavalier does not need a weapon in hand to use this feat. Additionally, he receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against targets demoralized with this feat.


My opinion as to what was intended would be the same, except for removing the wording about a "standard action"; I suspect the author was just confused when he wrote that.

The Exchange

I thought it was pretty clear, but I can see the confusion to the benefit. If it helps, below is how my group plays it.

"At 2nd level, the cavalier can extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however activating this feat is only a standard action and the cavalier does not need a weapon in hand to use this feat. Additionally, he receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets."


Daxter wrote:

I thought it was pretty clear, but I can see the confusion to the benefit. If it helps, below is how my group plays it.

"At 2nd level, the cavalier can extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however activating this feat is only a standard action and the cavalier does not need a weapon in hand to use this feat. Additionally, he receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets."

I see the thing in this way, too.


Daxter wrote:

I thought it was pretty clear, but I can see the confusion to the benefit. If it helps, below is how my group plays it.

"At 2nd level, the cavalier can extol his own accomplishments and battle prowess. He receives Dazzling Display as a bonus feat, however activating this feat is only a standard action and the cavalier does not need a weapon in hand to use this feat. Additionally, he receives a +2 morale bonus on melee attack rolls made against demoralized targets."

Zis.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Could we please get a Paizo reply on this as I need to code this benefit into my character generator.

Liberty's Edge

Bump, just to be certain the consensus deduction here has arrived at the correct conclusion.

(There really ought to be a FAQ item on this, because the text of Braggart is very nebulous. The intent seems to be clear enough, but the grammar doesn't explicitly support Dazzling Display being a standard-action.)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

If Paizo is listening, a reply would be appreciated.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

One also assumes that Dazzling Display is acquired regardless of Weapon Focus, but the ability text is missing the standard boilerplate about not needing prerequisites.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I furthermore assume that you lose the Dazzling Display feat should you change Orders at some point, as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / [APG] Cavalier's Order of the Cockatrice, Braggart benefit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.