Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Sniper & Zen Archer - Compatibility


Rules Questions


So, I'm creating a Zen Archer with a 3-level dip into the new Rogue (Sniper) class and I want to make sure I understand the relationship between flurry, surprise, and sneak-attacks:

1. The Zen Archer class permits for the use of ranged weapons in a Flurry of Blows attack.

2. The Rogue (Sniper) class permits sneak-attacks with ranged weapons whenever the target is denied its dexterity bonus (as per normal sneak-attack rules)

3. The Surprise Attack rogue talent allows the player to consider opponents flatfooted during the entire surprise round.

Does this mean that a Zen Archer with 3 levels of rogue and Surprise attack can flurry in a surprise round and apply sneak-attack damage to each strike? I apologize if this seems convoluted, and I appreciate any insight you can share.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

You only get a standard action in a suprise round. In order to flurry, you must make a full attack, which cannot be done as a standard action.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Kolazi wrote:

So, I'm creating a Zen Archer with a 3-level dip into the new Rogue (Sniper) class and I want to make sure I understand the relationship between flurry, surprise, and sneak-attacks:

1. The Zen Archer class permits for the use of ranged weapons in a Flurry of Blows attack.

2. The Rogue (Sniper) class permits sneak-attacks with ranged weapons whenever the target is denied its dexterity bonus (as per normal sneak-attack rules)

3. The Surprise Attack rogue talent allows the player to consider opponents flatfooted during the entire surprise round.

Does this mean that a Zen Archer with 3 levels of rogue and Surprise attack can flurry in a surprise round and apply sneak-attack damage to each strike? I apologize if this seems convoluted, and I appreciate any insight you can share.

Your idea works except for the small part that you can only take a standard or a move action during the surprise round.

So you cannot flurry during the surprise round.
[edit - ninja'd]

Having said that if during the 1st normal round your target has not had their initiative come up to act, they are still flat-footed. In that case yes, Flurry + Sneak Attack should work on all attacks against that target.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Sniper & Zen Archer - Compatibility All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.