Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Couple noob questions as regards to items


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

1 to 50 of 79 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As regards mundane items and items I know I can purchase (such as cure light wounds potions), everything seems pretty obvious.

However, as I look at the higher levels, I have some questions:

1- It looks like getting +1 armor is as simple as paying 1000 GP and upgrading your masterwork item to +1. What does it take to get to +2? Or +1, Light Fortification? Would I have to have a chronicle sheet with the correct armor available to make that upgrade? Would it be an upgrade or a wholesale fresh purchase? If the latter, would it be possible to make it, say, mithril? Or would it have to have that qualifier?

2- While the GP amount seems pretty generous at low levels, it seems that the items that would be available at higher levels are pretty pricey versus the amount available- do the upper tiers see +3 weapons? Would a paladin be able to get a +1, Holy Longsword, for instance (or is that +3 equivalent, or 18,000 gold, just too pricey for Society play)? Would it have to appear on a chronicle sheet for this to occur?

3- There are two things to spend CPA listed- one is an item that costs 150 or less, and the other is an item that costs 750 or less (I think). I assume these are as written and can't be chained or added together, correct?

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Go from +1 to +2 on a weapon, it costs the difference between them, or 6000gp. However, in order to do so, you have to have enough prestige to buy the full price of the item (i.e. 8,300+weapon cost).

Armor on the sheet, has to be bought at full cost. Essentially you can't upgrade into anything on a chronicle. And it's only available exactly as written on the sheet, no special materials, etc.

There are a lot of holy weapons floating around on players at high levels, but usually purchased/upgraded and not found on chronicles. I could give you average gold/tier for all of season 0 and 1, but I think Josh would smack me. Let's just say the gold will be there, just make sure you collect your PA.

3 - correct. Essentially, blow your CPA on 1st level wands and save 16 in reserve for a Raise Dead.

Grand Lodge **

Kyle Baird wrote:
3 - correct. Essentially, blow your CPA on 1st level wands and save 16 in reserve for a Raise Dead.

And/or 5450 gp. :)

Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ok, that helps a lot but I'm still a bit confused...

Which items are available through my faction? It sounds like they can apply any weapon or armor enchantment that is in the book, with the limitation being gold and the max available on the chart? What miscellaneous magic items are for sale, for instance? As in, is a 2500 GP Bag of Holding available as soon as you hit 13 TPA, assuming you have the 2500 GP?

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
cfalcon wrote:

Ok, that helps but I'm still a bit confused...

Which items are available through my faction? It sounds like they can apply any weapon or armor enchantment that is in the book, with the limitation being gold and the max available on the chart? What miscellaneous magic items are for sale, for instance? As in, is a 2500 GP Bag of Holding available as soon as you hit 13 TPA, assuming you have the 2500 GP?

If you mean "Through your faction" as spending (C)PA points, then any item under the gold cap (150/750).

Any legal item as defined in chapter 13 of the organized play guide can be purchased if you a) have enough gold to buy it (or upgrade it in the case of weapons/armor), and b) if the price of the item (FINAL price for upgrading) falls below the maximum value allowed due to your TPA. (Table 11-2)

In your example, you are correct. Once you get 13 TPA you can buy a bag of holding. However, if there is a bag of holding on any of your previous chronicles (not crossed off), then you can buy it as soon as you have 2500 gp, regardless of TPA.

For another example, I have a character who is level 3. After completing a scenario, the chronicle had +2 full plate. As soon as I save up 5,650 gold, I can buy it, regardless of Prestige. However, if I currently have +1 full plate, I can NOT upgrade it to the +2 from the chronicle. Items from chronicles are what they are, they can not be "upgraded into." If I want avoid having to sell my current armor to buy the armor off the chronicle and only want to pay only the 3,000 gp upgrade cost, I have to wait until my TPA is 22.

Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ok, got it. I thought there was a list of what TPA could be used for and just couldn't find it. That seems very powerful! Go PA!

Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ok, another noob question related to items:

Things that "remember" spell casts, like weapons and rings of spell storing, or the new Ring of Forcefangs (which negates incoming force spells and converts them to charges, which it can then turn into magic missiles- max of 9 charges)-

Do these things work as "conditions gained"? Do they start each adventure empty? If not, can they gain charges / spells in the downtime between adventures? For what cost?

Grand Lodge **

cfalcon wrote:

Ok, another noob question related to items:

Things that "remember" spell casts, like weapons and rings of spell storing, or the new Ring of Forcefangs (which negates incoming force spells and converts them to charges, which it can then turn into magic missiles- max of 9 charges)-

Do these things work as "conditions gained"? Do they start each adventure empty? If not, can they gain charges / spells in the downtime between adventures? For what cost?

They maintain their state between adventures, and can only change state during an adventure. Thus if you gained 2 charges on that ring during an adventure you'd note that. However, I don't track the charges of my CLW wand on the Chronicles, but I do keep track of it on my character sheet.

That doesn't help clarify it at all does it? :)

Qadira *****

Zizazat wrote:
cfalcon wrote:

Ok, another noob question related to items:

Things that "remember" spell casts, like weapons and rings of spell storing, or the new Ring of Forcefangs (which negates incoming force spells and converts them to charges, which it can then turn into magic missiles- max of 9 charges)-

Do these things work as "conditions gained"? Do they start each adventure empty? If not, can they gain charges / spells in the downtime between adventures? For what cost?

They maintain their state between adventures, and can only change state during an adventure. Thus if you gained 2 charges on that ring during an adventure you'd note that. However, I don't track the charges of my CLW wand on the Chronicles, but I do keep track of it on my character sheet.

That doesn't help clarify it at all does it? :)

Z.. if I may attempt to clarify your statement? The chronicles only track when you purchase a new want. The tracking of the wands charges are done w/in the character sheet.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I think as a 'technical' rules issue, we're supposed to keep track of wand charges on our chronicle sheets. I'm lazy though and get tired of keeping track of it in two locations so I just maintain the number of my character sheet.

The reason Zizazat likely would want to keep track of the ring charges on the chronicle sheet is that it's entirely situational based on what happened during that adventure (e.g. did the wizard cast magic missile or wall of force at you).

So to be all rules lawyery about it, there is no difference. You're supposed to keep track of all that stuff on the conditions gained/lost section of the sheet, but many of us don't. It does mean that you may have a GM that challenges the specifics of what's on your character sheet, that's the danger of not putting it on the chronicle.

Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Zizazat wrote:

They maintain their state between adventures, and can only change state during an adventure. Thus if you gained 2 charges on that ring during an adventure you'd note that. However, I don't track the charges of my CLW wand on the Chronicles, but I do keep track of it on my character sheet.

That doesn't help clarify it at all does it? :)

Ok, so assume I had a ring of forcefangs (I don't, I'm just second level, but it could be a purchase in the future). This thing blocks any incoming force effects that target me, charging the ring up. The ring has a "capacitance" of 5. So assume I wear the ring for an adventure and, unsurprisingly, no one aims a magic missile at me. At the end of the adventure, my summoner has 2 spell castings left. I cast shield at myself twice, and the ring absorbs them.

The next adventure begins with the ring having 2 charges.

Does that sound correct?

As an aside, where can I find which item slots which creatures have? For instance, my summoner's Eidolon doesn't have hands, but it can wear a belt. What says item slots by creature type (in this case, quadruped)?


Zizazat wrote:
They maintain their state between adventures, and can only change state during an adventure. Thus if you gained 2 charges on that ring during an adventure you'd note that.

Hmm. I always thought that effects didn't carry over between adventures. Do you have a page reference for how we're supposed to track this stuff?

Grand Lodge **

hogarth wrote:
Zizazat wrote:
They maintain their state between adventures, and can only change state during an adventure. Thus if you gained 2 charges on that ring during an adventure you'd note that.
Hmm. I always thought that effects didn't carry over between adventures. Do you have a page reference for how we're supposed to track this stuff?

I don't, but I also don't believe this is an 'effect.' If something gained a charge you'd take note of it just like something that expended a charge wouldn't you?

cfalcon wrote:

So assume I wear the ring for an adventure and, unsurprisingly, no one aims a magic missile at me. At the end of the adventure, my summoner has 2 spell castings left. I cast shield at myself twice, and the ring absorbs them.

The next adventure begins with the ring having 2 charges.

Does that sound correct?

Assuming your ring started with 0 charges in this example, I'd say yes that's my understanding.

As for who has what equipment slots, I'm going to have to go with best judgment? No such table is coming to mind.

Disclaimer all of this is to the best of my knowledge which is imperfect.


Zizazat wrote:
hogarth wrote:
Hmm. I always thought that effects didn't carry over between adventures. Do you have a page reference for how we're supposed to track this stuff?
I don't, but I also don't believe this is an 'effect.' If something gained a charge you'd take note of it just like something that expended a charge wouldn't you?

Well, the rules don't really say one way or the other. I just figured it would be like casting Animate Dead; you don't get to keep the "charged" corpse, even though the spell is permanent.

Hm. Food for thought...


No, it would be like having a staff of whatever and using one of your spell slots in the morning to add a charge to it instead of having that spell available for the day. If you do not use that charge it does not disappear when the scenario is over, rather it is still there for the next one. A recharge is permanent, just like cure light wounds or remove curse, unless you use it. Only spells that have a duration end at the end of a scenario.

Oh, and cfalcon, the ring of forcefangs only absorbs force spell or spell-like attacks against you, not non-offensive spells.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:

No, it would be like having a staff of whatever and using one of your spell slots in the morning to add a charge to it instead of having that spell available for the day. If you do not use that charge it does not disappear when the scenario is over, rather it is still there for the next one. A recharge is permanent, just like cure light wounds or remove curse, unless you use it. Only spells that have a duration end at the end of a scenario.

Oh, and cfalcon, the ring of forcefangs only absorbs force spell or spell-like attacks against you, not non-offensive spells.

Okay, here's another monkey to throw in the system.

I've always been under the understanding that since an unstated amount of time occurs between sessions, items like staves are fully recharged between scenarios (you just keep casting into them daily to recharge them). Items like figurines of wondrous power also "recharge" during the downtime since they're more than 1x/day use items.

So does the ring of forcefangs allow "recharging" between scenarios? It would be easy enough to say to a buddy of yours, "Hey Frank, can you put this on for a few minutes while I lob magic missiles at you?"

Also, now that we're beginning to have sessions that span longer than a day or two (#51 I'm looking at you), does the rule regarding items that can only be used 1x/week, month, etc. even make sense anymore?


Things like Figurines recharge in between scenarios because it is a passive recharge. Things like adding charges to staves is active and there are no active things, any kind of role-playing, for characters allowed in between scenarios because of the lack of game time passage and the lack of a GM present to approve. So unless Josh eventually comes in here and says active recharging is hand-waved the same way that meeting certain requirements for prestige classes are, I would say anything your character has to actively recharge or have someone recharge for you can only be done at a table with a GM during the scenario.

****

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Things like Figurines recharge in between scenarios because it is a passive recharge. Things like adding charges to staves is active and there are no active things, any kind of role-playing, for characters allowed in between scenarios because of the lack of game time passage and the lack of a GM present to approve. So unless Josh eventually comes in here and says active recharging is hand-waved the same way that meeting certain requirements for prestige classes are, I would say anything your character has to actively recharge or have someone recharge for you can only be done at a table with a GM during the scenario.

Note to self: Tell GM I'm spending the next 2 days recharging my staff before leaving.

Grand Lodge **

MisterSlanky wrote:
Also, now that we're beginning to have sessions that span longer than a day or two (#51 I'm looking at you), does the rule regarding items that can only be used 1x/week, month, etc. even make sense anymore?

Anything above 1/day is changed to 1/scenario.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Zizazat wrote:
MisterSlanky wrote:
Also, now that we're beginning to have sessions that span longer than a day or two (#51 I'm looking at you), does the rule regarding items that can only be used 1x/week, month, etc. even make sense anymore?
Anything above 1/day is changed to 1/scenario.

I left my sentence hanging. I meant, "does the rule regarding items that can only be used more than 1x/day changing to 1/scenario even make sense anymore given the changes to some of the adventures to span more than a week.

Grand Lodge **

MisterSlanky wrote:
I left my sentence hanging. I meant, "does the rule regarding items that can only be used more than 1x/day changing to 1/scenario even make sense anymore given the changes to some of the adventures to span more than a week.

In terms of #51 and #52 specifically I think it still works even though it's a little illogical. Each of these is a scenario in itself so 1 use each. It doesn't make sense in a linear time sense, but we also accept that 7 people can buy the same +1 sword if they really want to... :)

For now I don't see a problem with it, but I've never actually seen that 1/scenario rule in action or been impacted by it personally.


Even with multi-part story arcs like 51 and 52, the rule of per scenario would still apply. After all, the only requirement for playing them is to play them in the correct order. There is no rule that says you cannot play other scenarios in between the two parts. So you could play 51 in sub-tier 1-2, then go and play a bunch of other scenarios and the come back and play 52 in sub-tier 6-7 if you wanted to.

Also remember that there is no tracking of time passage at all in PFS play. This is not like the other Living campaigns where you have to calculate travel distance and travel time into which adventures you can play and how many you can play per year. Yeah, it screws with the immersion into the gaming world and your character's interaction with said world, but it is better this way without those limits.

****

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
MisterSlanky wrote:
Zizazat wrote:
MisterSlanky wrote:
Also, now that we're beginning to have sessions that span longer than a day or two (#51 I'm looking at you), does the rule regarding items that can only be used 1x/week, month, etc. even make sense anymore?
Anything above 1/day is changed to 1/scenario.
I left my sentence hanging. I meant, "does the rule regarding items that can only be used more than 1x/day changing to 1/scenario even make sense anymore given the changes to some of the adventures to span more than a week.

Isn't it only items with a less frequent usage than 1/day that become 1/scenario?

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
AxeMurder0 wrote:
Isn't it only items with a less frequent usage than 1/day that become 1/scenario?

We're all saying the same thing, just saying it in different ways.

Items that cannot be used at least 1x/day (i.e. 1x/week, month, year, decade) are those we're talking about.

Andoran

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Oh, and cfalcon, the ring of forcefangs only absorbs force spell or spell-like attacks against you, not non-offensive spells.

"This band negates any force spell or spell-like ability targeted at the wearer. Doing so gives the ring a number of charges equal to the spell level of the incoming force effect."

This doesn't specify "attack", and mage armor and shield both target (in the case of shield the target is "You"). HOWEVER:

..."If an incoming force attack would charge the ring beyond this limit, the ring does not negate the attack or gain charges, and the attack affects the wearer normally."

So halfway down it starts talking attacks instead of spells and spell-like abilities that are targeted. Both versions would be fine (one would be harder to charge, and the other would require correct play if I want to be able to cast shield on myself). What you said is almost assuredly the intent, especially given the name of the item. But I would hate to have a GM switch the functionality of it on me after I assume one mode of operation mid game- then it becomes a cursed item that I can't charge and also can't use force effects on myself :P

Grand Lodge ****

In the guide to organized play it states that characters with a fame of 9 or more may purchase items up to 1500gp in cost.

Am I correct in assuming that I would not be allowed to purchase any magical +1 armor until I have 9 fame points because it costs over 1000gp? And does it restrict me from buying chronicle sheet items that are over my fame item cost?

Taldor *****

sveden wrote:

In the guide to organized play it states that characters with a fame of 9 or more may purchase items up to 1500gp in cost.

Am I correct in assuming that I would not be allowed to purchase any magical +1 armor until I have 9 fame points because it costs over 1000gp? And does it restrict me from buying chronicle sheet items that are over my fame item cost?

OK, lets start at the end and work back. If an item is on a chronicle you may buy it if you have enough gold regardless of your FAME.

Edited: because it is early in the morning here and hogarth is right.


Any character may purchase plain vanilla +1 armor because it's on the "always available" list. Fame ain't got nothin' to do with it.

Andoran *

Even though I've read the above posts and understand what is being said, I think there is some conflicting info in the Guide to Organized Play document. It states you may upgrade +1 equipment to +2, just by paying the difference in cost; however, only +1 items are considered "always available". If that's the case, how do I get plain +2 equipment, if it isn't available? If I purchase a suit of +1 full plate, and then get a Chronicle sheet with +2 full plate, can I just pay the difference and upgrade? Seems like this would be the only way to do it if you had previously purchased the +1 item. Hope I'm making sense.

Grand Lodge ****

hogarth wrote:
Any character may purchase plain vanilla +1 armor because it's on the "always available" list. Fame ain't got nothin' to do with it.

But according to the Guide to PFS you need to have a certain level of fame before you can buy expensive items. It seems to me this doesn't take into effect availability just total cost of the item.


sveden wrote:
hogarth wrote:
Any character may purchase plain vanilla +1 armor because it's on the "always available" list. Fame ain't got nothin' to do with it.
But according to the Guide to PFS you need to have a certain level of fame before you can buy expensive items. It seems to me this doesn't take into effect availability just total cost of the item.

I agree that it's confusing.

Here's the relevant lines from Chapter 5:

Always Available wrote:
You may always purchase the following items or equipment so long as you’re in an appropriately sized settlement (see above).

and then...

Other Items wrote:
Beyond the gear noted above, your character is restricted to purchasing additional items from his accumulated Chronicle sheets, or by capitalizing on his prestige within his faction.

(Emphasis mine.)

***** Venture-Captain, North Carolina—Raleigh aka MillerHero

4 people marked this as a favorite.

There are four ways to acquire items in Pathfinder Society.

5th way:
pick up items found during an adventure; but you don't get to keep these at the end of the scenario unless you purchase the item using one of the below methods.
Keep in mind that players may only buy gear, spells, and so on so long as their characters are in a town of more than 5,000 residents.

For the first three options presented, your character must spend the appropriate amount of gold:

  • Always Available Items (detailed in Chapter 5 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play) - Note: this includes non-magical gear from the Additional Resources.

  • Items not blacked out or lined out on any of your character's accumulated Chronicle sheets

  • Items whose total price does not exceed the Maximum Item Cost corresponding to your Fame Score as depicted in Table 5-3: Fame and Item Purchases - Note: this includes magical gear from the Additional Resources.

The final way to acquire items does not use gold, but rather prestige.

  • An item worth 150 gp or less for 1 prestige point (PP) or an item worth 750 gp or less for 2 PPs according to Table 5–4: Generic Prestige Awards

Examples:

  • +1 adamantine fullplate w/armor spikes can be purchased as soon as you have 17,550 gp regardless of your Fame score or chronicle sheets
    math:
    1500 base price
    50 armor spikes
    15,000 heavy armor adamantine
    1000 for +1 magic

  • +2 padded armor (4155 gp) can only be purchased from a chronicle sheet or from your faction once you have achieved a fame score of 18 or higher.
    math:
    5 base price
    150 masterwork
    4000 for +2 magic
    Note that you would still need 18 fame even if you were upgrading your +1 padded armor to +2 padded armor.

  • A potion of cure light wounds 50 gp (CL 1) could be
    A) purchased outright because 1st level potions are on the always available list in Chapter 5 or
    B) be gotten for free from your faction by spending 1 PP

  • A potion of fly 750 gp (CL 5) could be
    A) purchased if it shows up on your chronicle sheet,
    B) purchased from your faction once you have 9 fame, or
    C) gotten for free from your faction by spending 2 PP

Lantern Lodge

So, if you were wanting to say, buy a Adamantine Katana. You could spend 3,050 gold, regardless of level or fame, right?

And if you were able to do this before level 3 and were playing as a black blade magus, could you then use the Adamantine katana as your Black Blade?

Silver Crusade **

Dark Alleycat wrote:

So, if you were wanting to say, buy a Adamantine Katana. You could spend 3,050 gold, regardless of level or fame, right?

And if you were able to do this before level 3 and were playing as a black blade magus, could you then use the Adamantine katana as your Black Blade?

I don't know anything about the black blade stuff, but in answer to your first question, yes. Non-magical items are "always available". So you don't need fame or need them to be on your chronicle sheet to purchase them.

Qadira *****

Short answer is no. You could not have an adamantine katana as your blackblade in PFS.

As a unique minor artifact a Bladebound Magus’s Blackblade can’t be modified outside of its progression table. It is found/obtained at level 3, so any weapon purchases you made prior to finding the blackblade would not affect it.

The default blackblade would be steel. In a homegame a GM would be free to make the weapon out of a special material, but this is not the case in PFS. Like the rules for the blackblade’s special mission need to be decided by the GM.

Now much of this doesn’t really work against you. As long as the blackblade has Arcane Pool Points it is unbreakable. At 5th level you could get the weapon up to a +4 enhancement bonus, between the weapon’s inherent +2 enhancement bonus and your ability to add +2 to it from your Arcane Pool ability. A +4 weapon is treated as Silver, Cold Iron and Adamantine for the purposes of bypassing Damage Reduction. Eventually when the weapon can raise to a +5 enhancement bonus it would also be treated as an Alignment(Any) Weapon for the purpose of bypassing DR.

The only place where a blackblade would be weaker than an adamantine weapon is the hardness reduction for a sunder attempt. Adamantine weapons get to ignore the first 20 points of the target’s hardness. A sunder attempt with a blackblade would go against the target’s full hardness.

Grand Lodge ****

Question about efficient use of gold in PFS.

Through the chronicle sheet, I have access to a set of +1 bracers for 1000gp.

My question is this, do you think it'd be an efficient use of gold to purchase a set of +1 bracers for my level one sorcerer? I only have 4 fame at this point so it will be a while before I can have any magical armor made for me.

It seems pretty obvious to me that having a +1 one to my AC would be a good idea but just wondering if there is something I'm missing.

Silver Crusade **

sveden wrote:

Question about efficient use of gold in PFS.

Through the chronicle sheet, I have access to a set of +1 bracers for 1000gp.

My question is this, do you think it'd be an efficient use of gold to purchase a set of +1 bracers for my level one sorcerer? I only have 4 fame at this point so it will be a while before I can have any magical armor made for me.

It seems pretty obvious to me that having a +1 one to my AC would be a good idea but just wondering if there is something I'm missing.

As long as there's nothing else you'd rather be spending the gold on, go for it. I'd guess that there's not a ton of stuff for sorcerer's to buy, so you can probably just buy whatever catches your fancy on the chronicle sheets. But remember, wands of first level spells are always available for 750 gp. So if you want to get a wand of magic missile or some other 1st level wizard/sorcerer spell, to be able to cast it over and over without using up your daily spell slots, then that might be a good use of your gold, too. Or you could get always available potions/wands of Cure Light Wounds or something.

My only PFS character that I've played so far is a barbarian, and my problem with him is that there's always more stuff that I want to buy for him than available gold, even now that he's up to level 4. He's got a masterwork weapon, mithral breastplate, and a wand of cure light wounds, so the party druid doesn't have to keep healing me with the druid's wand or spell slots. But I still want to upgrade the weapon and armor to +1 magic (always available), and there's a belt of giant strength and ring of protection that recently showed up on chronicle sheets that I'd like to buy, too. And I'm hoping to save up for Raise Dead, in case I ever need that, which I'm only 2 prestige away from, so I don't want to spend my prestige on items.

But personally, I don't see the point in saving your money, unless your saving up for something specific. If you want the bracers, and there's nothing else you want to spend that money on, then go for it.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Well, you could always do what my Fire Elementalist did... Check out Silken Ceremonial Armor:

UC wrote:
Silken ceremonial armor 30 gp +1 - 0 0% 30 ft. 20 ft. 4 lbs.

See that 0% there... :) That means no arcane spell failure. There's also no armor check penalty, so no worries about not being proficient with the armor. For 1180 you can have +2 armor. In the end it'll be cheaper than having bracers of armor.

Grand Lodge ****

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:

Well, you could always do what my Fire Elementalist did... Check out Silken Ceremonial Armor:

UC wrote:
Silken ceremonial armor 30 gp +1 - 0 0% 30 ft. 20 ft. 4 lbs.
See that 0% there... :) That means no arcane spell failure. There's also no armor check penalty, so no worries about not being proficient with the armor. For 1180 you can have +2 armor. In the end it'll be cheaper than having bracers of armor.

I saw the Hakamari(sp?) and the ceremonial silk armor... My question is... can those both be worn or is it one OR the other?

It just seems "broken" to be able to have ANY armor as a magic user but that didn't stop me from buying a Hakamari for my character.

For 1180 I can have +2 Silken Ceremonial Armor? Is that what you meant? And I don't need to have 9 fame to do so?

Silver Crusade **

What he meant about the +2 is that the total AC modifier will be +2. The 1180 cost is 30 gp base armor cost, 150 gp masterwork cost, and 1000 gp to upgrade it to +1 magic. Magic armor up to +1 is "always available" in Pathfinder Society.

And yeah, with an AC Check Penalty of 0 and Arcane Spell Failure of 0%, I guess anyone can wear it, even without proficiency, and there are no penalties.

I'm not sure about stacking the two types of armor.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

No you can't stack two types of armors. They both provide a +1 armor bonus, and like bonuses don't stack, just like you can't wear leather armor and have bracers of armor stack.

Sorry I didn't explain the costs better, but Fromper listed them out.

Grand Lodge ****

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:

No you can't stack two types of armors. They both provide a +1 armor bonus, and like bonuses don't stack, just like you can't wear leather armor and have bracers of armor stack.

Sorry I didn't explain the costs better, but Fromper listed them out.

That makes sense.

So you can't have both bracers and regular armor? And the reason being they are both considered types of armor?

Silver Crusade **

sveden wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:

No you can't stack two types of armors. They both provide a +1 armor bonus, and like bonuses don't stack, just like you can't wear leather armor and have bracers of armor stack.

Sorry I didn't explain the costs better, but Fromper listed them out.

That makes sense.

So you can't have both bracers and regular armor? And the reason being they are both considered types of armor?

From the Core Rulebook's Equipment chapter, under Armor:

Quote:
Armor/Shield Bonus: Each type of armor grants an armor bonus to AC, while shields grant a shield bonus to AC. The armor bonus from a suit of armor doesn't stack with other effects or items that grant an armor bonus. Similarly, the shield bonus from a shield doesn't stack with other effects that grant a shield bonus.

I'm surprised I hadn't noticed this before, but it makes perfect sense, and is consistent with the bonus stacking rules for everything else in the game.

Grand Lodge ****

sveden wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:

No you can't stack two types of armors. They both provide a +1 armor bonus, and like bonuses don't stack, just like you can't wear leather armor and have bracers of armor stack.

Sorry I didn't explain the costs better, but Fromper listed them out.

That makes sense.

So you can't have both bracers and regular armor? And the reason being they are both considered types of armor?

Alrighty... to answer my own question(after reading the armor section for the 5th time)... that is correct bonus to AC through armor do not stack.

Thanks to everyone for the quick answers to my questions. Much appreciated!

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Fromper wrote:
And yeah, with an AC Check Penalty of 0 and Arcane Spell Failure of 0%, I guess anyone can wear it, even without proficiency, and there are no penalties.

Unless you're a monk. Since it's still armor (despite obviously not hindering anyone in any way) it still deactivates any class abilities that only function when you're not wearing armor.

*** RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

sveden wrote:

I saw the Hakamari(sp?) and the ceremonial silk armor... My question is... can those both be worn or is it one OR the other?

One or the other, best armor bonus stacks.

If you want to be really silly, the Hakamari is metal, so you could have an armored belt that gives you a +2 AC and Dr 1/- for 'only' about 6200K. W/o fame being needed :-)

Sczarni ***

Fromper wrote:

What he meant about the +2 is that the total AC modifier will be +2. The 1180 cost is 30 gp base armor cost, 150 gp masterwork cost, and 1000 gp to upgrade it to +1 magic. Magic armor up to +1 is "always available" in Pathfinder Society.

And yeah, with an AC Check Penalty of 0 and Arcane Spell Failure of 0%, I guess anyone can wear it, even without proficiency, and there are no penalties.

Now I just have to find a tailor who can make me a nice little kimono like this and I will be set!

Shadow Lodge **

Chibiko wrote:
Fromper wrote:

What he meant about the +2 is that the total AC modifier will be +2. The 1180 cost is 30 gp base armor cost, 150 gp masterwork cost, and 1000 gp to upgrade it to +1 magic. Magic armor up to +1 is "always available" in Pathfinder Society.

And yeah, with an AC Check Penalty of 0 and Arcane Spell Failure of 0%, I guess anyone can wear it, even without proficiency, and there are no penalties.

Now I just have to find a tailor who can make me a nice little kimono like this and I will be set!

Ya mean ya not gonna keep the pretty pink dress you "found" on our last mission?

Sczarni ***

Mash wrote:
Chibiko wrote:
Now I just have to find a tailor who can make me a nice little kimono like this and I will be set!

Ya mean ya not gonna keep the pretty pink dress you "found" on our last mission?

Well, *of course* I am going to keep that... Lady Blackros said it was ok. But now that you mention it, I need to not only get an armored kimino made for myself, but a cute little armored outfit for my familiar as well. :-P

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Fromper wrote:
But remember, wands of first level spells are always available for 750 gp.

Just wanted to clarify that this is not the case. 1st-level potions and scrolls are always available, wands require a Chronicle or the appropriate amount of Fame to be able to purchase.

1 to 50 of 79 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Couple noob questions as regards to items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.