Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

What constitutes a completed scenario?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Osirion *

Hi all.

I was under the belief there was rules (guidelines) around this in the guide to organised play. A quick look over 3.0 and I cant seem to see it - help is appreciated.

I was under the impression that scenario and be deemed completed so long as 3 acts have been finished. This of course means that gold, PA and items may not be available on the chronicle sheet.

Can someone confirm and secondly tell me which version of the guide it was in or the page number of 3.0.

Thanks!

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

I remember that rule being present in 2.1 as well.

I looked the 3.0 through and it appears to be gone. As it is now I think you have to make it to the end of the scenario to get the XP award.

Osirion *

The Grandfather wrote:

I remember that rule being present in 2.1 as well.

I looked the 3.0 through and it appears to be gone. As it is now I think you have to make it to the end of the scenario to get the XP award.

I think it is a mistake to remove that limit, particularly for events at cons that are limited to timeslots.

Pathfinder does not want to make the error of other games and systems of having sessions that are too long and not interface with other events. 4 hours was spot on in my mind.

Osirion *

I just went and examined the production discussion list and I see no mention of it being removed from earlier versions.

I must confess that I have only 1.1 2.2 and 3.0 guides to organised play. Has anyone else got other editions of the guides I can get?

Please send on to lothar "under-score" wolf "at" hotmail "dot" com.

Shadow Lodge **

Masika wrote:
The Grandfather wrote:

I remember that rule being present in 2.1 as well.

I looked the 3.0 through and it appears to be gone. As it is now I think you have to make it to the end of the scenario to get the XP award.

I think it is a mistake to remove that limit, particularly for events at cons that are limited to timeslots.

Pathfinder does not want to make the error of other games and systems of having sessions that are too long and not interface with other events. 4 hours was spot on in my mind.

If a session is called for time you still give an experience point, PA and treasure which has been acquired.

Where this little bit is in the guide I'm not sure so hopefully someone who can chase down the rule will pipe in.

Edit: Hmm on re-reading this I think that might be completely wrong. The implication under the Experience section is you have to complete the scenario. To be honest I think this is good because it encourages players to keep moving :D

Osirion *

0gre wrote:

If a session is called for time you still give an experience point, PA and treasure which has been acquired.

Where this little bit is in the guide I'm not sure so hopefully someone who can chase down the rule will pipe in.

Edit: Hmm on re-reading this I think that might be completely wrong. The implication under the Experience section is you have to complete the scenario. To be honest I think this is good because it encourages players to keep moving :D

That is the point I am making. It appears that people are taking the 5 hour time limit literially by allowing the play session to go for 5 hours - planning and time tabling such. This is not in the spirit of the current wording of the guide to organise play (3.0).

I think the earnest is not so much on the players but on the GMs to keep things on track. I have a run-down clock. I regularly remind the players that there is a time limit and that time is counting down. After four hours (possible more time for stopages) I quickly conclude the scenario. This may mean dropping optional acts (as per season 0) or advancing to the end act through my direction.

My experience with season 1/2 is much less than season 0 scenarios. Most season 0 scenarios allow for this and I think it is great. It allows for the game to be concluded and sheet signed with in 4 1/2 hours at the latest. In fact some scenarios finish sooner, particularly if characters take the diplomacy options. :)

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

I think I found it!

Chapter 9: After the scenario (p. 23) implies that running out of time is to be considered having finished the scenario.

So finishing the scenario or playing it to the time runs out is considered copleting the scenario.

There is still a three encounter rule. This is listed on p. 22 under Chapter 7: Character death. At the end of this section it states that a character who plays 3 encounters is awarded XP for the scenario. However, this refers to character death, and I am not convinced players who just pull out of a scenario after 3 encounters should get the reward.

Joshua may clarify the intention of this rule.


Personal experience..

Josh himself gave us the XP for Among the Dead even though we had bugged out after the third Encounter so I guess the answer here is yes you get it.

Osirion *

The Grandfather wrote:

I think I found it!

Chapter 9: After the scenario (p. 23) implies that running out of time is to be considered having finished the scenario.

Good find Grandfather!!! That was something I was looking for. It says explicitly in that section if a character dies and is brought back from the 3rd act they get the chronicle sheet.

It does not state in the guide around general play or if players have to finish. I would imagine it would be difficult to have a hard and fast rule in play as you can get credit from a game whether it is run at a con or from home (as I do with the games I GM). I think the key is that the GM is consistant and must state the expectation of the game, that is the time commitment and complete point, to the players before the session starts.
DM Wellard wrote:


Personal experience..
Josh himself gave us the XP for Among the Dead even though we had bugged out after the third Encounter so I guess the answer here is yes you get it.

That is good enough for me but I think an official ruling will help organisers and GMs who run session more conditions to help fit into cons, eta. Just my thoughts.

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

During Joshua's visit to Copenhagen we also hypothetically discussed the option of bailing out of a difficult scenario after the 3rd encounter and he never corrected us on that assumption. It is not rock hard proof, but it does hint at his intention.

As I see PFS its about having fun and playing the game not about compatition. The compatitive part of the game are the PA, not the XP.

Cheliax *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Josh specifically told me that if you bugged out after three succesfull encounters, you get XP for the scenario, even if you don't complete the main quest.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / What constitutes a completed scenario? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.