Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Errata / Typos in APG


Product Discussion

501 to 537 of 537 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>

Thank you for all of your work, Hairy Dude. I disagree on thorn body (pg. 248) because your proposed change would exclude monsters with natural reach. Better wording might be "Any creature striking you in melee without a reach weapon".


I was guessing that that was intended, though. I was thinking, for example, an aberrant bloodline sorcerer could deliver touch spells with reach without taking damage. The question really is, how do you take damage when making an attack? Does it hit your hands? That's a bit dubious for manufactured weapons - consider a halberd, for example. I was thinking the spell makes a counterattack, which automatically hits because you came close enough that it can't miss, but it fails if the spikes can't reach because you're not adjacent.

*shrug* I dunno, but it certainly shouldn't affect natural ranged weapons :)

Grand Lodge

Hairy Dude wrote:

This is a big post, because I went through all the spells just to know what's there and I found quite a few problems. This list is only what I think is definitely an error, and what no one else has reported, but there are more weirdnesses, which I'll post somewhere else.

p. 216, divine vessel: the spell mentions "your new size category" but doesn't actually specify what the new size category is. Doubling your height and multiplying weight by 8 implies an increase of one size category, as enlarge person. (This one was reported 2 years ago.)

Errata changed it to say it increases by one size category.


How embarrassing! You're quite right - it seems I overlooked some of the errata and didn't apply them. I'll see if any more of my corrections are already errata'd...

Edit: Finished applying errata, and it looks like the answer is no.


p. 49, oracle life mystery, healing hands revelation: "treat long-term care" should be "provide long-term care".

p. 50, oracle lore mystery, spontaneous symbology revelation: punctuation error: "spell's known" should be "spells known".

p. 51, oracle nature mystery, undo artifice revelation: I think this is meant to be a revelation you can't take until 11th level. However, it starts with "At 11th level, ..." like class features that you get at a fixed level - mysteries don't work like that. Instead, it should say at the end: "You must be at least 11th level before selecting this revelation."


There is a Rules Blog "Combat Maneuvers and Weapon Special Features" (Tuesday, September 27, 2011)
which describes how Drag and Reposition can only be done 'with a weapon' if that weapon has the Trip Quality.
This feature is nowhere suggested in the rules for these maneuvers in the APG,
which merely require 'Standard Actions' ala the non-weapon-using maneuvers like Grapple or Over-Run,
without the standard 'in place of an attack' boilerplate text to indicate weapon-usage...
(which appears in the 'weapon using' maneuvers Trip, Disarm, Sunder, as well as Charge Bullrush),
So it seems that said wording should appear in the text of Drag/Reposition (within a clause to only apply to Trip Weapons).
Nobody who doesn't read said Blog Post would have any clue that these maneuvers should 'use' Trip Weapon bonuses
(or by logical implication, other weapon properties, e.g. Reach).

Grand Lodge

Quandary wrote:

There is a Rules Blog "Combat Maneuvers and Weapon Special Features" (Tuesday, September 27, 2011)

which describes how Drag and Reposition can only be done 'with a weapon' if that weapon has the Trip Quality.
This feature is nowhere suggested in the rules for these maneuvers in the APG,
which merely require 'Standard Actions' ala the non-weapon-using maneuvers like Grapple or Over-Run,
without the standard 'in place of an attack' boilerplate text to indicate weapon-usage...
(which appears in the 'weapon using' maneuvers Trip, Disarm, Sunder, as well as Charge Bullrush),
So it seems that said wording should appear in the text of Drag/Reposition (within a clause to only apply to Trip Weapons).
Nobody who doesn't read said Blog Post would have any clue that these maneuvers should 'use' Trip Weapon bonuses
(or by logical implication, other weapon properties, e.g. Reach).

In the Ultimate Equipment errata thread, I mention this as well since the reprinting of the Trip weapon property didn't mention this either.


yeah, maybe they're waiting to Errata the Trip Weapon Quality in the CRB.
the new 'rule' could go either there or on the new Maneuvers themself.


I'm not a publisher, but it seems to me that substantial changes / additions of that sort are not suitable candidates for inclusion in errata. An FAQ would have to suffice until Paizo decides a new edition is warranted (complete with fresh typesetting, etc.) - which is probably not for a long time.


all things considered, it would be confusing to reference non-Core maneuvers in the CRB's trip weapon quality, and it would be confusing to have the APG trip weapon quality have different info than the CRB, so it probably needs to be located in the drag/reposition maneuvers themselves.

it's hardly very much text, just 'You can attempt to drag [reposition] a foe as a standard action >> , using a Trip Weapon if you wish to.'

I would say it is more inappropriate to issue rules changes as 'FAQs'. (much less Blog posts)
Paladin Smite was toned down as an Errata, for example.
If the rules can't be Errata'd to reflect this new intent, the new rule just shouldn't be introduced - it's hardly "NECESSARY", it's obviously just an attempt to make the Trip Weapon quality more useful, as well as integrate the new Maneuvers into the existing game without Errata'ing new Drag/Reposition qualities onto existing weapons.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 325 - Staff of fortune

Ultimate Equipment fixed all of the staff prices from the APG, but because this item is found in an optional rule section, it got skipped over. It's new price and cost are 58,800 gp and 44,400 gp, respectively.


p. 89, Defense subdomain: I'm concerned that the deflection aura compares poorly to the 8th level power aura of protection at higher levels. From 12th level, aura of protection has a longer range, equal (later higher) bonus, doesn't stack with deflection aura, also applies to CMD by general rules about deflection bonuses, and also grants energy resistance. You'd only use deflection aura to conserve rounds of aura of protection or when you've already run out of rounds.

Grand Lodge

Hairy Dude wrote:
p. 89, Defense subdomain: I'm concerned that the deflection aura compares poorly to the 8th level power aura of protection at higher levels. From 12th level, aura of protection has a longer range, equal (later higher) bonus, doesn't stack with deflection aura, also applies to CMD by general rules about deflection bonuses, and also grants energy resistance. You'd only use deflection aura to conserve rounds of aura of protection or when you've already run out of rounds.

Exactly. Or if fighting something just weak enough to not warrant using aura of protection.


PRD wrote:

Nightmare Subdomain

Associated Domain: Madness.

Replacement Power: The following granted power replaces the vision of madness power of the Madness domain.

Fearful Touch (Su): As a standard action, you can make a melee touch attack against a creature, causing it to experience terrible hallucinations for 1 round. During this time, the creature loses any immunity to fear effects it might possess and takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls made against you. In addition, the creature takes a penalty on Will saves made against fear effects equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum –1). This power is a mind-affecting effect. You can use this ability for a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Replacement Domain Spells: 4th—phantasmal killer, 6th—cloak of dreams*, 9th—weird.

PRD wrote:

Madness Domain

Granted Powers: You embrace the madness that lurks deep in your heart, and can unleash it to drive your foes insane or to sacrifice certain abilities to hone others.

Vision of Madness (Sp): You can give a creature a vision of madness as a melee touch attack. Choose one of the following: attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks. The target receives a bonus to the chosen rolls equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum +1) and a penalty to the other two types of rolls equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum –1). This effect fades after 3 rounds. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Aura of Madness (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of madness for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Enemies within this aura are affected by confusion unless they make a Will save with a DC equal to 10 + 1/2 your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier. The confusion effect ends immediately when the creature leaves the area or the aura expires. Creatures that succeed on their saving throw are immune to this aura for 24 hours. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

Domain Spells: 1st—lesser confusion, 2nd—touch of idiocy, 3rd—rage, 4th—confusion, 5th—nightmare, 6th—phantasmal killer, 7th—insanity, 8th—scintillating pattern, 9th—weird.

Not overly important, but replacing the 9th level spell weird with the 9th level spell weird seems a bit pointless. This is in the Nightmare Subdomain, and Madness Domain.

Grand Lodge

The errata already instructs to delete the Nightmare subdomain's mention of "9th-weird".


Strife2002 wrote:
The errata already instructs to delete the Nightmare subdomain's mention of "9th-weird".

Oddly the other changes seem to have made it into the PRD, but not that one.

Grand Lodge

Hairy Dude already mentioned this on the last page, but I'll reiterate it since having seen it first hand this past weekend, I agree completely. On page 247, the spell stone call should DEFINITELY allow a Reflex saving throw for half damage.


Barbarian Spell Sunder Rage Power:

Quote:
Once per rage, the barbarian can attempt to sunder an ongoing spell effect by succeeding at a combat maneuver check. For any effect other than one on a creature, the barbarian must make her combat maneuver check against a CMD of 15 plus the effect’s caster level. To sunder an effect on a creature, the barbarian must succeed at a normal sunder combat maneuver against the creature’s CMD + 5, ignoring any miss chance caused by a spell or spell-like ability. If successful, the barbarian suppresses the effect for 1 round, or 2 rounds if she exceeded the CMD by 5 to 9. If she exceeds the CMD by 10 or more, the effect is dispelled.

So for targetting/sundering spells attached to specific creatures,

the basic function of the ability (1 round suppression) works if your CMB equals the CMD+5.
The 2 round suppression works if you exceed the CMD by 5 to 9...
Well, succeeding vs CMD+5 (the basic 1 round effect) is the exact same thing as 'exceed[ing] the CMD by 5 [to 9]'!
So per RAW, you should ALWAYS suppress the spell for 2 rounds, and NEVER do so for only 1 round.

That is for spells attached to characters, for independent spells, the distinction between the basic effective CMD (15+Caster level) which is needed to succeed and exceeding that CMD by 5 remains, yielding potential results of both 1 round and 2 round suppression (and total dispelling).

But the wording of targetting spells on creatures, where the basic success happens on CMD+5, and additional (2 round) success happens when exceeding THE CMD by 5 (not the DC needed for initial success, CMD+5, but CMD per se which is just the CMD itself) means there in never a case where you only suppress for 1 round, any success will mean 2 round suppression for spells attached to characters. If that was the intent, I feel like it would have been presented more forthrightly (with the 1 round effect ONLY associated with the independent spell function), so I'm pretty sure there is an error there, and 1-round suppression IS meant to sometimes apply for spells attached to creatures.

It seems plausible to remove the CMD+5 wording for the base DC for spells attached to characters, which would make it work equivalently to independent spells, and that is not changing the difficulty for 2-round suppression or dispelling. Meanwhile, the wording about bypassing miss chance caused by the spell itself could be moved to also apply to independent spells, e.g. sundering a Fog Cloud spell in an adjacent square. That would possibly leave some space for additional functionality...

-------------------------------------------------------------------

It seems like there should be a line stating that the highest of (15+CasterLevel) and (target CMD+5) should be used. That covers high level casters casting powerful spells on low CMD commoners (in a more realistic way, where the commoner's weakness doesn't make the spell easier to dispel), and also is amenable to using Spell Sunder to dispel unwanted spells from allies (if the ally's willingness means that their CMD is removed as a factor, leaving the alternate 15+CasterLevel to overcome). There are other situations regarding 'willing targets' of attacks/CMBs, which are not covered by RAW, but since this ability already has an alternate DC (which should logically apply if that DC is higher than the target's own CMD+5), there is an easy solution to enable that functionality.

Grand Lodge

Quandary I'll go ahead and repost this in the Ultimate Combat errata thread, since that's what book this rage power is.


Thanks, I goofed :-)


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is the Cave Druid (Druid Archetype) meant to be blind when shapeshifting into oozes?

I ask because shifting into oozes is based off the Beast Shape III and Beast Shape IV spells, and nowhere in these spells is blindsight (blindsense, yes, blindsight, no) allowed, yet it is the only mode of vision allowed to Oozes, so when shapeshifted into one, a Cave Druid effectively cannot see.

Or was this the intent?

prototype00


p. 154, feat table, Repositioning Strike: I believe the main entry on page 168 was corrected, but its entry here still lists Improved Trip instead of Improved Reposition as a prerequisite.

p. 155, feat table, Trick Riding and Mounted Skirmisher: Prerequisites are listed as "Ride rank 9" and "Ride rank 14". Every other feat with skill prerequisites uses the form "Ride 9 ranks", "Ride 14 ranks".

Grand Lodge

Pg. 321 - Drag

Creatures with racial abilities that grant a bonus to CMD vs. bull rush also get to apply this bonus to drag attempts. Should it really only be racial abilities that do this? The two combat maneuvers seem to go hand in hand. For instance, on page 52 there's stone stability, on page 141 there's rooting, two abilities that are very evocative with imagery of not being moved.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 279 - Immobile

Immobile ability mentions the pull and push combat maneuvers when those were cut from the book. If its anything like the errata so far for this particular error (and in light of the post I made above), these should probably be replaced with drag.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 158 - Elemental Fist feat

In the first sentence of the benefit paragraph, change "Elemental Strike" to "Elemental Fist". This is a simple type that is probably a no-brainer, but since the release of Inner Sea Races, there's now a feat called Elemental Strike.

Also, this feat completely fails to mention whether or not it can be used with any attack (natural, manufactured melee or ranged weapon) or if it's just an unarmed strike. Obviously the name of the feat says "Fist" and the prereqs include Improved Unarmed Strike, but then again Snatch Arrows allows catching firearm bullets, as well as other projectiles. If the table entry (and common sense) for this feat is any indication, it should probably mention it's only usable with an unarmed strike.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 324 - Malediction spell

I know the APG precedes Ultimate Magic, and this spell wasn't mentioned in that book to receive any new descriptors (probably because it was located in the optional Hero Points section), but this spell should probably have received the curse descriptor.

Grand Lodge

Pg. 324 - Severed fate spell.

As an enchantment spell, this spell should have s subschool, as all enchantment spells do. Additionally, for the same reasons, it should have the mind-affecting descriptor.

Lastly, I know it precedes Ultimate Magic and wasn't mentioned in that book to receive this descriptor (probably because it's located in the Hero Point optional rules), but this spell should definitely have the curse descriptor.

Grand Lodge

Ultimate Equipment errata's effect on the APG

Ultimate Equipment got an errata recently, and some of the changes in that book apply to a few things in the APG where they were sourced from. Bear in mind I'm working from a print-version of the APG, so if you have a PDF version and these already appear corrected, then we've found those rare errors that were fixed between printings but not mentioned in the errata for that book.

* Pg. 183 - Weapon cord's hp changed from "0 hp" to "1 hp".
* Pg. 187 - Both furs and hot weather outfit have their bonuses changed from untyped bonuses to circumstance bonuses.
* Pg. 287 - Conductive weapon special ability, change the last sentence to "A given character can use this weapon special ability only once per round (even if she has several conductive weapons), and the power works only with magical abilities of the same type as the weapon (melee or ranged)."
* Pg. 287 (again) - Cunning weapon special ability, change the last sentence to "Whenever the weapon's attack is a critical threat, the wielder gains a +4 bonus on the confirmation roll if she has 5 or more ranks in a Knowledge skill that would be used to identify the target's creature type, or a +6 bonus instead if she has 15 or more ranks."
* Pg. 293 - Ring of revelation, change the last sentence of the first paragraph to "The ring has no effect if worn by a non-oracle, and Use Magic Device doesn't allow a character to gain a revelation from this ring."
* Pg. 310 - Torc of Lionheart Fury, add "up to once per round" at the end of the last sentence.

Also note the various changes to staff pricing in UE that applies to APG, as they're too numerous for me to list here (but that has always been a well-documented issue)

Grand Lodge

Found another, older "APG errata" thread that had 3 posts in it. I'll post them in separate posts below:

Found by Lupastro

P.124 - Beast Master's class skill Swim is "Swim(Wis)" and not "Swim(Str)" (the same on paizo prd)

Grand Lodge

Found by JustynThyme

P118 - First paragraph of the Power of Faith ability of the Warrior of the Holy Light archetype should include a statement that it alters the Lay on Hands ability (which makes it incompatible with archetypes that replace Lay on Hands).

Grand Lodge

Found by Guktron

Advanced Player's Guide, p. 27
"Extracts cannot be made from spells that have focus requirements."

Alchemist Formulae, p. 32
1st-Level-- True Strike.

True Strike has a Focus component (Core Rulebook, p. 363).

Grand Lodge

In light of Guktron's post above, I noticed there are a few other extracts besides true strike that the alchemist gets whose spell versions have focus components, seemingly against the rules as per the extract class feature on page 27. They are:

Crafter's fortune (APG, 213)
Detect thoughts (CRB, 268)
Levitate (CRB, 304)
Protection from arrows (CRB, 327)
Fly (CRB, 284)
Magic jar (CRB, 309)
Analyze dweomer (CRB, 240)


In the APG spell list is spell Desecrate listed in the Antipaladin Spell section (L2), but not in the Cleric Spell section.

Grand Lodge

Klaus 00 wrote:
In the APG spell list is spell Desecrate listed in the Antipaladin Spell section (L2), but not in the Cleric Spell section.

That's not an error (and if it were, you'd want to report it in the PRD error thread, located here).

The APG spell list doesn't list it for clerics because the cleric is found in the Core Rulebook (and so is the desecrate spell), and so it's already been listed for it in there. The only reason it's mentioned for the antipaladin in that link you provided is because the antipaladin was introduced in the APG, and so they needed to give you its full spell list, including spells from both the core rulebook and the APG.


In both the print edition (p. 243) the online reference of the APG, the shared senses spell has a typo in the first sentence. It currently says "functions" instead of "function." :)

Dark Archive

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 167 Point Blank Master

Point-Blank Shot has a hyphen in it but not Point Blank Master?

Grand Lodge

Strife2002 wrote:

In light of Guktron's post above, I noticed there are a few other extracts besides true strike that the alchemist gets whose spell versions have focus components, seemingly against the rules as per the extract class feature on page 27. They are:

Crafter's fortune (APG, 213)
Detect thoughts (CRB, 268)
Levitate (CRB, 304)
Protection from arrows (CRB, 327)
Fly (CRB, 284)
Magic jar (CRB, 309)
Analyze dweomer (CRB, 240)

For what it's worth, James Jacobs in 2012 had a different idea of how this was supposed to work to explain alchemist extracts that have focus components.

From the Pathfinder Society Field Guide product thread.

Note that shortly after this someone points out to him what the actual text in the alchemist write-up says, to which his response is a short growl.

501 to 537 of 537 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Paizo Products / Product Discussion / Errata / Typos in APG All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.