Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

CG Sorcerer - can he use necromancy spells


Advice


Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

Hi All,

Two Quick questions:

1. Can a Chaotic Good Sorcerer use necromancy spells that do not have the "Evil" descriptor? Examples include "Chill Touch", "Cause Fear", "Bleed", "False Life".

2. I assume the CG Sorcerer cant use necromancy spells like "Animate Dead" because of the "Evil" descriptor. Is this correct?

Thanks

Blackcat


Nothing at all prevents any character from casting any necromancer spell, provided it is available as a class ability.

Necromancy spells with [Evil] as a descriptor will have consequences in regards to alignment. You don't have to be evil to cast them, but your alignment may shift, as you are performing an evil act.

As for other necromantic spells without the evil descriptor, you are fine. You may, however, find that certain cultures may find them taboo, avoided, or even outlawed. This is very dependent on regional tolerances and the like, however.


blackcat wrote:

Hi All,

Two Quick questions:

1. Can a Chaotic Good Sorcerer use necromancy spells that do not have the "Evil" descriptor? Examples include "Chill Touch", "Cause Fear", "Bleed", "False Life".

2. I assume the CG Sorcerer cant use necromancy spells like "Animate Dead" because of the "Evil" descriptor. Is this correct?

Thanks

Blackcat

If the spell has no alignment, then there is no problem at all. Only clerics have a built in prohibition against casting spells of an opposed alignment.

However repeatly casting spells with an evil alignment is a excuse for your DM to ajust your alignment.

Liberty's Edge

blackcat wrote:

Hi All,

Two Quick questions:

1. Can a Chaotic Good Sorcerer use necromancy spells that do not have the "Evil" descriptor? Examples include "Chill Touch", "Cause Fear", "Bleed", "False Life".

2. I assume the CG Sorcerer cant use necromancy spells like "Animate Dead" because of the "Evil" descriptor. Is this correct?

Thanks

Blackcat

Spell descriptors do nothing to your PCs alignment. Your characters actions and intentions are what affects it. Alignment has more to do with how you view the world and your attitude than what spells you cast or even what actions you take. Alignment does not directly affect your actions. A lawful paladin could murder an innocent housewife and be in full rights to do so if he has reason to believe it is the "good" or right thing to do. Weather or not they use Detect Evil is another story.

TL:DR He can cast any spell he wishes to, but cause and effect build up over time.


blackcat wrote:

Hi All,

Two Quick questions:

1. Can a Chaotic Good Sorcerer use necromancy spells that do not have the "Evil" descriptor? Examples include "Chill Touch", "Cause Fear", "Bleed", "False Life".

2. I assume the CG Sorcerer cant use necromancy spells like "Animate Dead" because of the "Evil" descriptor. Is this correct?

Thanks

Blackcat

A sorcerer of an alignment could use whatever arcane spell he or she so desired ;)

...of course, spells with the [Evil] descriptor will slowly bring your alignment to evil, as casting them are evil acts.

Star Voter 2014

Its basically already stated in previous posts, but the best way to put it is as follows:

Spells with alignment descriptors are considered to be "of" that alignment. The act of casting such a spell could easily be interpreted as an act of said alignment (evil, chaotic, lawful, good). While classes like druid, sorceror, and wizard may cast whatever spells they please, the cleric may not cast spells with alignment descriptors opposed to their deity's.

This heavily implies that such spells are considered "acts of alignment". However, it is nowhere stated in any of the incarnations of "official" 3rd edition rules (3.0, 3.5, PF) that casting these spells can affect your alignment.

However, there are no specific rules governing alignment shifts at all, besides the vague and obvious statement of "performing acts of a certain alignment will shift your alignment towards that of the acts". Although even this statement does not actually exist in either the PF or the 3.5 online SRD.

Ultimately, there is no "universally right" answer. The best thing to do is ask your DM if he has decided in his game whether spells with alignment descriptors count as actual acts of said alignment, or are merely listed to describe what certain clerics are morally opposed to casting, without having actual impact on alignment for non-clerics.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

Thanks Guys,

I am actually the GM, I am just checking as I have NPC's that float in and out as required (I am running a campaign with just 2 players) and wanted to check what spells the NPC Sorcerer would have chosen as CG.

From the above comments I will use and allow anything that doesn't have the evil descriptor. (I don't want the players to think he is evil and be confused as to whether he really is good, or evil pretending to be a friend etc.)

Cheers

Blackcat

Liberty's Edge

blackcat wrote:

Thanks Guys,

I am actually the GM, I am just checking as I have NPC's that float in and out as required (I am running a campaign with just 2 players) and wanted to check what spells the NPC Sorcerer would have chosen as CG.

From the above comments I will use and allow anything that doesn't have the evil descriptor. (I don't want the players to think he is evil and be confused as to whether he really is good, or evil pretending to be a friend etc.)

Cheers

Blackcat

I think the way he employs the spells would be a better gauge of the persons identity than the actual specific spell he uses. For instance using a fear spell to chase off an angry bugbear is different than using it to chase off the town guard.

Star Voter 2013

Themetricsystem wrote:


Spell descriptors do nothing to your PCs alignment. Your characters actions and intentions are what affects it. Alignment has more to do with how you view the world and your attitude than what spells you cast or even what actions you take. Alignment does not directly affect your actions. A lawful paladin could murder an innocent housewife and be in full rights to do so if he has reason to believe it is the "good" or right thing to do. Weather or not they use Detect Evil is another story.

TL:DR He can cast any spell he wishes to, but cause and effect build up over time.

Perhaps in your campaign, but that is a house rule.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / CG Sorcerer - can he use necromancy spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.