Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Stacking Fortification


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

If I have a character with Light Fortification (25%) on his Armor and Medium Fortification on his shield (50%) how do the two abilities interact.

Some possibilities

A) Treated as 75% Fortification (I hope not, since that means you could have 100% fortification with two mediums).

B) Treated as 50% Fortification, ignoring the light completely.

C) Treated as seperate, rolling once for 50%, and once for 25%.

Shadow Lodge

They do not stack. You instead use the higher bonus, in this case Medium Fortification.

There are minor benefits to having two sources, though. If one gets broken, stolen, Dispelled, etc. . . you still have another, even if it is worse.

Cheliax

Beckett wrote:

They do not stack. You instead use the higher bonus, in this case Medium Fortification.

There are minor benefits to having two sources, though. If one gets broken, stolen, Dispelled, etc. . . you still have another, even if it is worse.

+1

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Sorry to necro, but I was looking at this and was hoping to get more clarification.

What's the rule backing up this claim that you only get one instance of fortification? I know there's the general rule that bonuses of the same type don't stack, but the description of fortification says nothing about a bonus at all, let alone a particular type. Is there some other rule saying that you can only have one instance of such an effect, even when they're coming from different sources?


Jiggy wrote:

Sorry to necro, but I was looking at this and was hoping to get more clarification.

What's the rule backing up this claim that you only get one instance of fortification? I know there's the general rule that bonuses of the same type don't stack, but the description of fortification says nothing about a bonus at all, let alone a particular type. Is there some other rule saying that you can only have one instance of such an effect, even when they're coming from different sources?

The game's general stacking rules cover this I beleive. When you have two instances of the same thing in varying degree's, the better value counts.

So if you have Fortification 25% and 50% the 50% counts.
If you have a ring of fire resistance 20 and 30, the 30 counts.
If your wearing bracers of Armor +8 and Studded Leather armor, the bracers count for your AC.

Etc

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Gilfalas wrote:
The game's general stacking rules cover this I beleive. When you have two instances of the same thing in varying degree's, the better value counts.

I was about to ask what you were basing this on, since all I could think of was the same-type bonuses issue (which fails to apply to fortification), but while trying to articulate myself I was reminded of this:

PRD wrote:
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the one with the highest strength applies.

Guess that covers it!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Stacking Fortification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.