Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Prismatic Wall: Violet Layer... Severe?


Rules Questions


PFSRD wrote:


Energy field destroys all objects and effects.

Anyone care to "explain" this? I guess where I'm going with this is pretty obvious.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

With the other effects, this is the one you have a problem with?


Seems pretty self-explanitory. The violet field desrtroys any effects and objects on the subject, then sends him to another plane.

It's an eighth-level spell effect to which spell resistance and a save applies.

If your concern is that the effect is too disruptive when used against a PC, or that the effect might destroy treasure intended for the PCs, remember that readily-available magic exists that can repair destroyed magic items, fully restoring their powers.


Rake wrote:

Seems pretty self-explanitory. The violet field desrtroys any effects and objects on the subject, then sends him to another plane.

It's an eighth-level spell effect to which spell resistance and a save applies.

If your concern is that the effect is too disruptive when used against a PC, or that the effect might destroy treasure intended for the PCs, remember that readily-available magic exists that can repair destroyed magic items, fully restoring their powers.

My problem is with the destroy any objects I mean ANY is a tad much, no? And the part "effects" could be read as the bad ones too. Now, that's not right, is it?


Yeah it's right... Prismatic spells are harsh things. Remember magical items get their save throws, and if someone in possession of an item makes a save throw the item doesn't have to make one.

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4

I wonder if you could use a Prismatic Wall to destroy an Artifact?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Objects, in this case, refers to nonmagical non-living things that are used to try to breach the wall. Like thrown rocks, thrown tables, arrows, catapult boulders, and so on. Any objects or items or whatever that are "attended" (as in, carried or worn by a creature) are NOT destroyed, but travel with the person carrying/holding them off to whatever other plane that person ends up going to. If the person makes their Will save to avoid being sent to another plane, he can stroll right on through the wall with all his stuff intact.

Allowing prismatic wall to automatically destroy every object that passes through it, in other words, IS a bit excessive. The intent of the spell is to prevent anyone from making ranged attacks with weapons or spells or abilities against those on he other side, basically, not to provide a static disintegration wall. The limitations of the table format forced us to be a bit more brief than we should have been in describing it, alas.

Artifacts can't be destroyed by a prismatic wall unless the Destruction line of the artifact says otherwise.


James Jacobs wrote:

Objects, in this case, refers to nonmagical non-living things that are used to try to breach the wall. Like thrown rocks, thrown tables, arrows, catapult boulders, and so on. Any objects or items or whatever that are "attended" (as in, carried or worn by a creature) are NOT destroyed, but travel with the person carrying/holding them off to whatever other plane that person ends up going to. If the person makes their Will save to avoid being sent to another plane, he can stroll right on through the wall with all his stuff intact.

Allowing prismatic wall to automatically destroy every object that passes through it, in other words, IS a bit excessive. The intent of the spell is to prevent anyone from making ranged attacks with weapons or spells or abilities against those on he other side, basically, not to provide a static disintegration wall. The limitations of the table format forced us to be a bit more brief than we should have been in describing it, alas.

Artifacts can't be destroyed by a prismatic wall unless the Destruction line of the artifact says otherwise.

Thanks a lot James, it helped out quite a lot! Now tell me something, you said non-magical, non-living. What about a magic arrow, or throw weapon? Considering the other layers of the wall are destroyed, what then? Do they roll a save? Or do they stop?


I would point out the special note on the violet layer on the bottom of the spell:

"The violet effect makes the special effects of the other six colors redundant, but these six effects are included here because certain magic items can create prismatic effects one color at a time, and spell resistance might render some colors ineffective (see above). "

So I would say that it does exactly what it says -- it destroys all effects (spells, spell like abilities, supernatural abilities, and extraordinary abilities) and all objects passing through it.

It does everything the other layers do all at once.

The indigo layer prevents all spells -- so we know it stops all spells since it makes all the layers redundant.

While Red and Orange stops all ranged attacks combined so again since these are now redundant it does their job too.

And the other layers stop gases, poison and petrification, all breath weapons, and all divination and mental attacks.

Since this blocks *everything* between the other six, it seems obvious to me that if the violet layer makes all the others redundant it too blocks everything.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Prismatic Wall: Violet Layer... Severe? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.