Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Does the Eidolon get revenge?


Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest

Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

What happens to the Eidolon if its pre-14th level Summoner is brought below negative hit points? What about if the Summoner dies? Does the Eidolon get to keep fighting, or does it disappear, leaving the party bereft of two combatants in the middle of battle?

Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am under the impression that if the summoner dies, the Eidolon disappears. As far as I know it behaves like other summons like that. I have no basis for that though, and it should be explicitly stated in the final version.


Caineach wrote:
I am under the impression that if the summoner dies, the Eidolon disappears. As far as I know it behaves like other summons like that.

Summons don't disappear if their summoner dies.

The only reason the Eidolon might is based on the tricky question, "Where is a dead Summoner considered to be for the Life Link ability?". If he's considered to be in the square his body is, the Eidolon persists and can take revenge. If he's wherever his soul goes when it departs the body, the Eidolon is instantly unsummoned for being more than 10,000 feet from its Summoner.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Zurai wrote:
The only reason the Eidolon might is based on the tricky question, "Where is a dead Summoner considered to be for the Life Link ability?". If he's considered to be in the square his body is, the Eidolon persists and can take revenge. If he's wherever his soul goes when it departs the body, the Eidolon is instantly unsummoned for being more than 10,000 feet from its Summoner.

I've actually asked a similar question about magic jar before. If I have several ongoing spells cast upon me, and I posses someone else's body via magic jar, do the buffs remain with my unconscious body? Or do they go with my "soul" into the new body?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Advanced Player's Guide Playtest / Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest / Does the Eidolon get revenge? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.