Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Can the Alchemist make use of Metamagic?


Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest


A quick reading of the text seems to say no. Does anyone interpret it differently? *Should* they be allowed to use metamagic?


I don't think so.

Do they need it, anyways? They already have a discovery that functions like extend spell, but let's look at the rest. Silent spell wouldn't do anything, Still spell would be silly, Widen spell wouldn't work for a single one of the extracts, neither would enlarge spell, I think, and Heighten Spell seems really pointless. That leaves Empower Spell, Maximize Spell, and Quicken Spell. Empower Spell and Maximize seem to only function for a select few spells like the cure spells and a few ones like Aid (although a discovery that empowered cure spells sounds kickass). Quicken Spell might work, I guess, but you'd get off a 2nd level extract at maximum.

I don't think metamagic for Alchemists would benefit them at all.


Well, being able to use metamagic opens up metamagic rods, which could be a real option at high levels.

Star Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014

Rokku wrote:
Well, being able to use metamagic opens up metamagic rods, which could be a real option at high levels.

Again, what would the metamagic rods do? You could get extend (since the alchemist ability only works on potions, not infusions), Empower, and Maximize that would at all help. All of them, even in rods, are of limited use, and by just blanket allowing metamagic feats, interactions with non-core feats might become wonky. Now that I think about it though, something like rapid spell could make for an interesting discovery (1 minute to make infusion to 1 full round action).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Advanced Player's Guide Playtest / Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest / Can the Alchemist make use of Metamagic? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Advanced Player's Guide Playtest: Final Playtest

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.