Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Practiced Spellcaster and Item Creation feats


Rules Questions


Does the increased caster level provided by practiced spellcaster fulfill the prerequisites for item creation feats? Specially the "virtual" ones gained through the use of an arcane bonded item?

Is it now too much of a benefit for only one feat? One level dip into wizard or arcane bloodline sorerer plus this feat can give your PC a really big upgrade on a weapon or wondrous item.

Since Practiced Spellcaster is not OGL is there any official ruling on this? Will it ever be?

Dark Archive

nidho wrote:

Does the increased caster level provided by practiced spellcaster fulfill the prerequisites for item creation feats? Specially the "virtual" ones gained through the use of an arcane bonded item?

Is it now too much of a benefit for only one feat? One level dip into wizard or arcane bloodline sorerer plus this feat can give your PC a really big upgrade on a weapon or wondrous item.

Since Practiced Spellcaster is not OGL is there any official ruling on this? Will it ever be?

Personally, I would allow it. Practiced Spellcaster is limited by the character's Hit Dice. So the full benefits of the feat aren't realized until the character has at least four levels in another class. This character would also be giving up a level in what I would assume is their primary/favored class and a feat to gain a single half priced magical item that only they can use. They may also have to invest a decent number of skill ranks into Spellcraft and have a decent Intelligence, depending upon what item they are trying to create.


nidho wrote:

Does the increased caster level provided by practiced spellcaster fulfill the prerequisites for item creation feats? Specially the "virtual" ones gained through the use of an arcane bonded item?

Is it now too much of a benefit for only one feat? One level dip into wizard or arcane bloodline sorerer plus this feat can give your PC a really big upgrade on a weapon or wondrous item.

Seems pretty reasonable to me.

nidho wrote:
Since Practiced Spellcaster is not OGL is there any official ruling on this? Will it ever be?

No, there will never be an official ruling. There might be an official ruling on the very similar trait which gives 2 caster levels.

Sovereign Court

Well let's see here in my Complete Divine. Practiced Spellcaster increases your caster level by 4, up to a maximum of your total hit dice. The prerequisites for the item creation feats are Caster Level X for the most part.

So yes it looks like it works just fine. I'm curious what would make you think that it didn't?

All that said, your DM could still disallow it as...well that's what DM's get to do.


Ok, first of all thank you all for your help.

Morgen wrote:

So yes it looks like it works just fine. I'm curious what would make you think that it didn't?

All that said, your DM could still disallow it as...well that's what DM's get to do.

I did not think it didn't. As you have guessed, my DM did.

He takes the description of the feat literally so Practiced Spellcaster only helps with SR, duration and other level dependant spell variables in his game. His call, really.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Practiced Spellcaster and Item Creation feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.