Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Query - Greater Overrun + AoO's?


Rules Questions


As part of an Overrun attempt made by someone with the Greater Overrun feat, if the target is knocked prone it provokes attacks of opportunity.

If I stopped my move on the opposite side of the enemy after performing a successful overrun and knocked the target prone, would I be able to take advantage of that AoO?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Lokie wrote:

As part of an Overrun attempt made by someone with the Greater Overrun feat, if the target is knocked prone it provokes attacks of opportunity.

If I stopped my move on the opposite side of the enemy after performing a successful overrun and knocked the target prone, would I be able to take advantage of that AoO?

AoO's interrupt the normal flow of combat. So as soon as the target is prone everything stops and the AoO is resolved. So you would still be in the square in front of the target when you took your AoO (in 3.5 it would have been in the same square but that is changed in PFRPG). If you wait until you are past the target then you have forfeited the AoO and it can not be taken.


PRD wrote:

Overrun

As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square. You can only overrun an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. If you do not have the Improved Overrun feat, or a similar ability, initiating an overrun provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. If your overrun attempt fails, you stop in the space directly in front of the opponent, or the nearest open space in front of the creature if there are other creatures occupying that space.

When you attempt to overrun a target, it can choose to avoid you, allowing you to pass through its square without requiring an attack. If your target does not avoid you, make a combat maneuver check as normal. If your maneuver is successful, you move through the target's space. If your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD by 5 or more, you move through the target's space and the target is knocked prone. If the target has more than two legs, add +2 to the DC of the combat maneuver attack roll for each additional leg it has.

Greater Overrun grants that the target provokes AoO's when it is knocked prone.

So if I'm reading this correctly the PC would already be through the targets square when the AoO is provoked.

Then combat would pause to see if anyone takes the provoked AoO's.

Then the PC continues any remaining movement as per his Overrun.

Did I read it correctly?


Not sure if the character doing the overrunning would get that AoO. Would he?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Overrun! My favorite.

Lokie wrote:
If I stopped my move on the opposite side of the enemy after performing a successful overrun and knocked the target prone, would I be able to take advantage of that AoO?

Yes, but you'll still get the AoO regardless if you stop in the square next to them or keep going. AoOs stop combat momentarily when their conditions are met, get resolved (in this case the creature is knocked prone) then you continue.

Lokie wrote:

Greater Overrun grants that the target provokes AoO's when it is knocked prone.

So if I'm reading this correctly the PC would already be through the targets square when the AoO is provoked.

Then combat would pause to see if anyone takes the provoked AoO's.

Then the PC continues any remaining movement as per his Overrun.

Did I read it correctly?

Yes, this is correct. Also, if your buddies are around (threatening) they also get a shot at the target. And make sure to account the penalties to the defender for now being prone.

Raging Hobbit wrote:
Not sure if the character doing the overrunning would get that AoO. Would he?

Let's look at Greater Overrun listed here:

PRD: Feats wrote:

Greater Overrun (Combat)

Spoiler:

Enemies must dive to avoid your dangerous move.

Prerequisites: Improved Overrun, Power Attack, base attack bonus +6, Str 13.

Benefit: You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to overrun a foe. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Overrun. Whenever you overrun opponents, they provoke attacks of opportunity if they are knocked prone by your overrun.

Normal: Creatures knocked prone by your overrun do not provoke an attack of opportunity.

Note the difference between the wording here and the wording of another combat maneuver feat Greater Bull Rush.

PRD: Greater Bull Rush wrote:
Benefit: You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to bull rush a foe. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Bull Rush. Whenever you bull rush an opponent, bhis movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you).

Greater Bull Rush includes a restrictive clause, where Greater Overrun does not. Therefore I would expect the Overrunning character to receive an AoO attempt along with other allies.


*threadpush*

Hi!
Seems I´ve found the right thread to dive deeper into the mysteries of the "Greater Overrun" feat. Since I´m going to play a mounted cavalier I have a topic related question.

Case 1)
Assume Player A (impr. overrun feat, gr. overrun feat) makes an overrun attempt vs. Player B. A succeeds with his check, B is knocked prone and thus triggers an AoO. Right?

Case 2)
Assume Player A (impr. overrun feat, gr. overrun feat) makes an overrun attempt vs. Player B. THIS TIME Player A is a horse (that a cavalier is mounted on that horse doesn´t matter right now). Player A (horse) succeeds with the CMB check vs. B. According to case 1) nothing has changed here (except that player A is a horse now) and A would get an AoO (in the horse´s case a bite attack as the primary weapon I assume). Right?

Case 3)
Player A (the horse) makes an successful Overrun attempt vs. Player B. exactly like case 2).

NOW there is an cavalier (mounted comb. feat, trample feat) mounted on the horse. As said before the overrun attempt of the horse is succesful:

CMB is won by player A (horse): AoO (bite) vs. prone Player B.

Because the Cavalier also threatens Player B he will get an AoO (e.g. with his sword) vs. B as soon as B triggers the AoO due to the lost CM check.

Now the horse (&rider) move THROUGH Player B´s sqare.
@shadowChemosh: Where can I read in the rules that I move after the CM check through the enemies square? I´ve assumed so far that the actions run almost simultaneously during the round.

Due to the "trample" feat I get a HOOF attack vs. the prone character!
Since Trample doesn´t speak of an AoO and can be used without having the greater overrun feat I don´t think that these two sepak of the same attack (AoO with bite attack =! extra attack with hoof due to the rider´s training).

Summing up, both, cavalier and his horse) can make

1 AoO (horse´s bite)
1 AoO (cavalier´s attack e.g. with sword)
1 hoof attack (due to trample)

and then go on to finish the round.
Since the horse has made the overrun attempt as a std. action & moves it can make no more attacks in this round. BUT the cavalier still can make his single attack as a std. action after the horse has moved more than 5 ft. (Mounted Combat rules).

Any thoughts on that?

greetz
call_of_dagon

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Query - Greater Overrun + AoO's? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.