Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Sneak Attack applies to spells ?


Races & Classes


Just wondering since the rogue is setup so well to cast spells now does sneak attack apply to spells that have discrete targets ?

e.g. something like acid dart or energy ray, if the casting meets the requirements for a sneak attack can you apply sneak dmg to the spell dmg ?
And if the dmg does apply what type of damage would it be ? same as the spell dmg type ?

and if not why not , stand sto reason that a skill rogue adept at finding the sweet spot with a dart should be able to find the same sweet spot with a magic dart


Phasics wrote:

Just wondering since the rogue is setup so well to cast spells now does sneak attack apply to spells that have discrete targets ?

e.g. something like acid dart or energy ray, if the casting meets the requirements for a sneak attack can you apply sneak dmg to the spell dmg ?
And if the dmg does apply what type of damage would it be ? same as the spell dmg type ?

and if not why not , stand sto reason that a skill rogue adept at finding the sweet spot with a dart should be able to find the same sweet spot with a magic dart

I see where you coming from and I think you have some point. BUT I guess, if this rule would be in play, the rogue would only cast spells and not "do his intended job" (surprising and flanking and sneaking and some such). I also guess its a balancing factor against spellcasters. On another note (roleplaying wise): a rogue is not a spellcaster (at least for me) and thus should not be able to wield spells in such an expertly way as to be able to deal sneak attack damage. A mundane dart (weapon) is not a magical dart, so you wiled an item or a spell and that should be different.

Qadira

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Phasics wrote:

Just wondering since the rogue is setup so well to cast spells now does sneak attack apply to spells that have discrete targets ?

e.g. something like acid dart or energy ray, if the casting meets the requirements for a sneak attack can you apply sneak dmg to the spell dmg ?
And if the dmg does apply what type of damage would it be ? same as the spell dmg type ?

and if not why not , stand sto reason that a skill rogue adept at finding the sweet spot with a dart should be able to find the same sweet spot with a magic dart

Yes, a rogue can sneak attack with spells provided that the conditions are met and that the spell requires a to hit roll. I think it discusses this in one of the complete books. (I think it is Complete Arcane)

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

According to the Sage, Tome and Blood, and Complete Arcane. Any spell that requires an aatack roll and deal damage can sneak attack. The extra damage is the same as dealt by the spell.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If I'm not mistaken, I always thought you could sneak attack with any spell that required an attack roll.


Oh crap...just what we need.. a ranged touch attack that does sneak attack damage as well. That could be pretty unpleasant. Why not do a true strike as well. I know lets make it acid or something that does damage over several rounds AND make it a sneak attack that does bleeding damage as well. I know, how about burning ray. Sneak attack, set them on fire(ranged touch I think) and while they are burning they are also bleeding to death. Oh yeah, if they stop to try and put themselves out you get another sneak attack or attack of opportunity.

Am I the only one who sees potential problems with this?

Andoran RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

I don't see what the big deal is. First of all, it's been part of the rules since 3.0, and second, since you still have to meet the requirements of a sneak attack, you still have to either attack someone who has lost their Dex bonus to AC, or be flanking (and therefore using a melee attack or touch spell, not a ranged touch)


Ross Byers wrote:
According to the Sage, Tome and Blood, and Complete Arcane. Any spell that requires an aatack roll and deal damage can sneak attack. The extra damage is the same as dealt by the spell.

HUHU ??? Guess I have to read some books again... I knew that a spell could deal a critical if it has an attack roll, but sneak attack? *rushes off to grab his books and starts reading*...

WOW - there it is. Complete Arcana page 86...WOW playing how many years 3.5 (?) and never used that rule but IGNORED it...don't know what to say...

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

JoelF847 wrote:
I don't see what the big deal is. First of all, it's been part of the rules since 3.0, and second, since you still have to meet the requirements of a sneak attack, you still have to either attack someone who has lost their Dex bonus to AC, or be flanking (and therefore using a melee attack or touch spell, not a ranged touch)

And just like sneak attacking with a ranged weapon, you have to be within 30 feet.


poodle wrote:

Oh crap...just what we need.. a ranged touch attack that does sneak attack damage as well.

Am I the only one who sees potential problems with this?

Apparently you are, as this has been a part of 3.5 since its inception and is nothing new. Players have been doing it for many years.

Just remember it works for the baddies as well.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder RPG Prerelease Discussion / Alpha Playtest Feedback / Alpha Release 3 / Races & Classes / Sneak Attack applies to spells ? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Races & Classes

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.