Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Shield Bash?


D&D 3.5/d20/OGL


I was trying to pick out a new feat from my now 4th lvl Dwarven Fighter when I noticed Improved Shield Bash. I understand what the feat does, but I can't find what good bashing someone with your shield is. I suppose it could be used as a blunt weapon against skeletons. But other than that, I can't see the purpose. Also, how much damage does it do? And can it be done with a Tower Shield?

Thanks for any and all help.


You cannot bash someone with a Tower Shield.

The damage is noted in the Weapons Table; I believe it is 1d4 for a Heavy Shield. If you add spikes to the shield, it increases to 1d6.

The advantage is that you can fight with two weapons without having to lose your shield. Also, the Complete Warrior has some extra feats to improve your Shield bash.


I don't know the particulars of 3e, but shield bashing has been around from way back. It's a way to knock an opponant back a step or two (making him waste time and movement returning to fighting range. It can disrupt spells from mages and priests. It can knock people down and make them take more time standing up and retrieving weapons. Overall it can also effect opponant morale. The character bashing is showing a certain level of disdain, just knocking them to the ground rather than killing. That can get enemies thinking, "What does he know that we don't?" They might eventually break.

Also, with some of the older Barbarian and Berzerker concepts, the shield could have projections along the front (spikes, hooks, etc.) that can get smeared with blade venoms and such, causing some serious damage. I had an old-timey berzerker that used a sword in one hand and the shield in the other. With the old multiple attack rules for specialization, the berzerker got two attacks with primary weapons (sword), and one off-hand attack every round with specialized shield (coated with poisoned spikes) ensuring that at least one opponant every round had to make a save vs. poison (provided character hit, of course).

There's all sorts of uses for it. What about a cleric, sworn to not spill blood (no edged weapons, but maces and such are so blase')? They can do the shield thing, do damage and still follow their oath.

How about a character using two shields (ambidexterity, two-weapon fighting skill, specialized in shields, maybe even working towards Grand Mastery). Since shields provide a point of A/C bonus, using two might just stack a second point. One of them can be swung to the rear while one is still to the front, reduing A/C against flank and rear attacks.

Go wild.


Pathfinder Card Game, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Also check out the PHBII. There are some feats that improve upon shield bash. Basically it is a way to allow low dex characters to get two weapon fighting - regular one handed and extra shield bash.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Tales Subscriber

Still, it's a fairly weak tactic usually. Without the Two-weapon Fighting feat, and using a Heavy Shield, you're taking a -6 penalty with your primary weapon, and -10 with your shield. Even with the feats, it only drops to -4/-4.


Thanks for the responses. I knew I'd seen the damage from a shield somewhere, and with the description of the tower shield, I figured it couldn't be used in that way anyway.

I have a pretty decent Dex, but I am trying to get feats for Dwarven Defender. Which leads me to another question thats been bothering me. Does the limit of a Dex bonus also limit any Dodge bonus the character may have? My dwarf has a Dex of 15 (+2) with his Chainmail and Towershield, he still keeps this bonus to his AC. When he's fighting a giant and gets the +4 Dodge bonus, is it negated by the armor/shield he is carrying?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Tales Subscriber
Mulban wrote:
Which leads me to another question thats been bothering me. Does the limit of a Dex bonus also limit any Dodge bonus the character may have?

Simply answer to that one: no.

Your armour's Max Dex bonus is just that - a limit to the AC bonus for a high Dex that you can use while wearing the armour.


Delericho wrote:


Simply answer to that one: no.

Your armour's Max Dex bonus is just that - a limit to the AC bonus for a high Dex that you can use while wearing the armour.

Sweet! Thanks man.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Gaming / D&D 3.5/d20/OGL / Shield Bash? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in D&D 3.5/d20/OGL

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.