Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Pathfinder Adventures Pathfinder Campaign Setting Pathfinder Player Companion Pathfinder Accessories Pathfinder Miniatures Pathfinder Fiction Pathfinder Society Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Compatible Products Pathfinder Apparel & Gifts Pathfinder Licensed Products
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Pathfinder Player Companion: People of the Wastes (PFRPG)

****( ) (based on 4 ratings)
Pathfinder Player Companion: People of the Wastes (PFRPG)

Add Print Edition $14.99

Add PDF $10.49

Facebook Twitter Email

Dead Trees Give No Shelter

Life might be scarce in the barren corners of Golarion, but Pathfinder Player Companion: People of the Wastes provides all the tools you need to become a master of wasteland domains. Whether your character is roaming the magic-singed lands of the Mana Wastes, the flooded fields of the Sodden Lands, the blighted depths of the Fangwood, or the demonic wilds of the Worldwound, this book offers advice, class options, and gear that allow her to survive and thrive where no hero ever should. Find the perfect trait for your wasteland-born character, or just the right archetype, feats, or spells to reflect her training in a harsh locale.

Inside this book you'll find:

  • Class features, feats, and items that interact with primal magic, including the primal shaman, who can commune with the unstable spirits that linger where primal magic reigns.
  • A host of new firearms and gun-toting archetypes for characters who hail from the Grand Duchy of Alkenstar, including the gun chemist alchemist and the gun smuggler rogue.
  • New witch hexes and vigilante talents for characters living in boggy wastes, plus ranger traps and the blightwarden ranger archetype for those who tread blight-filled lands.

This Pathfinder Player Companion is intended for use with the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game and the Pathfinder campaign setting, but it can easily be incorporated into any fantasy world.

ISBN-13: 978-1-60125-990-5

Note: This product is part of the Pathfinder Player Companion Subscription.

Product Availability

Print Edition: Ships from our warehouse in 1 to 7 business days.

PDF: Will be added to your My Downloads Page immediately upon purchase of PDF.

Are there errors or omissions in this product information? Got corrections? Let us know at store@paizo.com.

PZO9486


See Also:

Product Discussion (224)
201 to 224 of 224 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm surprisingly pleased with it. I was very "meh" initially, but there is a ton of stuff in here that I can use with Eberron and Planescape, so its pretty sweet.


Not sure the Primal magic was supposed to be a focus anyway, tree.

But I do like they cover more than just Mana Waste and the Worldwound.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So couple of things as I'm looking over the book in more detail.

Elemental Conversion and Primal Kineticist look bad. One's a 1/day random element swap (without changing the descriptor) and the other is an ability that costs burn and only works in an area of primal magic. I'm having trouble justifying why anyone would take either of those feats outside of a wacky random element Kineticist enemy or something.

I'm not too strong on how the Vigilante works, but I feel like trading out all the talents that require a specialization isn't a good trade for getting a few bonus abilities and most of the 1-point Eidolon evolutions.

Is Signature Strike Style really supposed to have Precise Shot as a pre-requisite? That makes it really awkward for a Swashbuckler who wants to be Zorro, since now he needs to spend a feat for an entire class of weapons he doesn't use. Unless he's an Arrow Champion, but that's a different book.

It's just really personally weird to me how hard the Wood element for Kineticists is being pushed. Getting reprinted in UW, and a specific archetype in this book? Although it's honestly not a terrible archetype for what it's meant for (fighting demons and stuff), it's still shackled to Wood's hyper terrain-focused suite of abilities.

Is the Keeper of Constructs' Wrest Control ability able to also bypass the immunity to magic some constructs have? Because it's a spell-like ability, so it would be affected by it.

That's about all the problems I've seen from my reading thus far though, this book is absolutely solid. Even the things that are of questionable use (like the hunter or bard archetypes) are something I could see being used, even if the situations are rather slim.

Also, I absolutely adore the utility alchemical cartridges. Molten Shot Cartridge is expensive sure, but it's just so good.


Eww Prostetic brawler is really nice. Some rather nice limb enhancements to be had.

Also great for Dex only brawlers. Great as that wasn't a thing to date.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Not a bad book and has a few things I like. but I would love to see a mutant based feat chain.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
John Compton wrote:
Alchemaic wrote:
Mother of god, a good Alchemist archetype? Purchase instantly justified.
Sounds like you're enjoying the gun chemist? That section was fun to write.

I got a preview of Gun Chemist from a friend, and I have to say that of the last dozen or so alchemist archetypes that have been released, it's the BEST put together one I've seen. I saw the words "gun" and "alchemist" and had my heart sink, only to be met with something that defied expectations to go above and beyond. I personally feel like it will stand tall among the likes of Vivesectionist, Beastmorph, and Grenadier as a distinct, supported way to fashion your alchemist, and is something I am absolutely stoked to get my hands on when my group finally gets around to a fresh set of PCs. Albeit maybe with a couple minor tweaks I run by my GM, but it's still the first time anything has gotten me genuinely excited to try to use firearms in pathfinder.

The only actual gripe I feel I can weigh against the archetype itself, since I mention "tweaks", is the "quick-clear-alike" ability is more like a "slow clear", feeling a bit too costly for what it does, and like it's shoving "just take Amateur Gunslinger for the real thing!" at me. That's hardly a dealbreaker though, since it doesn't bring down the rest of the archetype enough to hurt it. Other gripes aren't archetype-specific, so they're not particularly relevant.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Is the feat "Create Enhanced Firearm" supposed to read "This can never reduce a firearm's misfire chance to less than 1"? As written, you can now get firearms with no misfire chance for far less than the Reliable enchantment would cost.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Looks like the Runic Charge feat needs some limit about only casting spells with a casting time of one standard action, but I'm not sure what an abuse case there would be. Charging Raise Deads to avoid the long casting time?

Interesting feat, though! Not sure if the touch attack is supposed to replace the attack at the end of a charge or be a supplement to it.


The spell "Drain Construct" on p.28 doesn't seem to have any text dealing with the fact it is a necromancy spell and constructs are immune to necromancy.

Or am I missing something?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber
Mighty Squash wrote:

The spell "Drain Construct" on p.28 doesn't seem to have any text dealing with the fact it is a necromancy spell and constructs are immune to necromancy.

Or am I missing something?

?

I don’t believe Constructs are immune to Necromancy.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
Mighty Squash wrote:

The spell "Drain Construct" on p.28 doesn't seem to have any text dealing with the fact it is a necromancy spell and constructs are immune to necromancy.

Or am I missing something?

?

I don’t believe Constructs are immune to Necromancy.

Looks like they are, unless otherwise stated. Didn't know about this myself until now. It's under Construct Traits.

Construct Traits (Ex) wrote:
Constructs are immune to death effects, disease, mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, phantasms, patterns, and morale effects), necromancy effects, paralysis, poison, sleep, stun, and any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects, or is harmless). Constructs are not subject to nonlethal damage, ability damage, ability drain, fatigue, exhaustion, or energy drain. Constructs are not at risk of death from massive damage.


The mutant option for PCs, the one that uses the template, does it still change your creature type to aberration?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
The NPC wrote:
The mutant option for PCs, the one that uses the template, does it still change your creature type to aberration?

No.

You just select one deformity and one beneficial mutation and you are done. Two deformities and nearly half of the beneficial mutations are excluded.


David knott 242 wrote:
The NPC wrote:
The mutant option for PCs, the one that uses the template, does it still change your creature type to aberration?

No.

You just select one deformity and one beneficial mutation and you are done. Two deformities and nearly half of the beneficial mutations are excluded.

Sadness... Is telepathy still one of the options?


Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
The NPC wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:
The NPC wrote:
The mutant option for PCs, the one that uses the template, does it still change your creature type to aberration?

No.

You just select one deformity and one beneficial mutation and you are done. Two deformities and nearly half of the beneficial mutations are excluded.

Sadness... Is telepathy still one of the options?

Telepathy is not on the list of banned mutations, so it would be allowed.


Hi~ guys, I have a question about gun chemist.

When he use firearm with alchemical ordnance ability to hit a critical hit, the alchemical ordnance critical damage is fix at 2x or depending on firearm critical multiplier?

For example, if I'm a level 3 gun chemist with 18int, I use pistol to hit a critical hit, total damage is (1d8+1d6+4)x4+1d6 or (1d8)x4+(1d6+4)x2+1d6 ?

Thank you!

Spoiler:
alchemical ordnance wrote:

A gun chemist is adept at using his know-how to infuse his ammunition with volatile chemicals and his own magical reserves. When loading a firearm, he can infuse the ammunition as a free action. The compounds are unstable, and if not fired within a number of rounds equal to the gun chemist’s Intelligence modifier (though no sooner than the end of his next turn), the alchemical ordnance becomes inert and loses its additional effects; he can still fire the firearm as normal. Each day, the gun chemist can infuse a number of pieces of alchemical ordnance equal to his class level + his Intelligence modifier, and he can fire no more than one piece per round.

Alchemical ordnance deals damage as normal, plus an amount of fire damage equal to 1d6 + the gun chemist’s Intelligence modifier. The damage of the gun chemist’s alchemical ordnance increases by 1d6 points at every oddnumbered class level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike). The explosive nature of alchemical ordnance causes the attack— both the firearm’s base damage and the alchemical ordnance’s additional damage—to deal full damage to swarms of any size. If the gun chemist uses alchemical ordnance to make a scattering shot with a weapon with the scatter quality, each creature in the area instead takes additional fire damage equal to the alchemical ordnance’s minimum damage (so if the alchemical ordnance would deal 2d6+4 points of fire damage normally, it deals only 6 points of fire damage with a scattering shot).

The gun chemist’s alchemical ordnance functions safely only in weapons he wields. If anyone but a gun chemist attempts to fire a firearm loaded with alchemical ordnance that is not yet inert, the firearm’s misfire value increases by 4. If the firearm would explode as the result of such a misfire, the explosion deals additional fire damage equal to that of the alchemical ordnance.

Alchemical ordnance is treated like an alchemist’s bomb for the purpose of discoveries, though such discoveries ignore any effects associated with a bomb’s splash damage or radius unless the gun chemist also applies the exploding bullet discovery (see below). A scattering shot modified by a discovery applies additional effects as though affected creatures were caught in the splash damage of a bomb rather than subject to a direct hit. The DCs of saving throws associated with alchemical ordnance are equal to 10 + half the gun chemist’s alchemist level + the gun chemist’s Intelligence modifier.

This replaces bombs.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It straight up tells you “this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike.” You don’t multiply that extra damage by anything on crits. So for your example it’d be 4d8 + 2d6 + 4 damage total.


skizzerz wrote:
It straight up tells you “this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike.” You don’t multiply that extra damage by anything on crits. So for your example it’d be 4d8 + 2d6 + 4 damage total.

I suspect that's the intention.

However, the "bonus damage" the text refers to could mean the extra 1d6 at the odd-numbered class levels. That would make it roughly equivalent to what happens when an Alchemist crits with a bomb - the first 1d6 multiplies, but the rest don't.

EDIT: Again, I suspect the intended (and best) reading is that none of the fire damage multiplies. This is just another possible reading.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

No, it really doesn't. There is only one instance of bonus damage (d6 + int mod). The next sentence says that the damage increases by 1d6 every odd level. That increase is not a separate instance of damage, it's an increase of the one instance of damage that the ability specifies. The ability then specifies that one instance of damage isn't multiplied on crit.

In any event, this is likely better served for the Rules Questions forum so we don't clutter up the product discussion thread with it, should you still wish to debate/discuss it :)


Uh.. but this issue has been discussed many times long ago, the bomb base damage (1d6+int) is actually can be multiply by critical.

You can search keyword "Alchemist bomb critical" on the messageboards.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
shaventalz wrote:
Rysky wrote:
Mighty Squash wrote:

The spell "Drain Construct" on p.28 doesn't seem to have any text dealing with the fact it is a necromancy spell and constructs are immune to necromancy.

Or am I missing something?

?

I don’t believe Constructs are immune to Necromancy.

Looks like they are, unless otherwise stated. Didn't know about this myself until now. It's under Construct Traits.

Construct Traits (Ex) wrote:
Constructs are immune to death effects, disease, mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, phantasms, patterns, and morale effects), necromancy effects, paralysis, poison, sleep, stun, and any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects, or is harmless). Constructs are not subject to nonlethal damage, ability damage, ability drain, fatigue, exhaustion, or energy drain. Constructs are not at risk of death from massive damage.

I believe they were referring to the idea that you cannot resurrect them using animate dead type effects rather than 'just necromancy' period. i imagine this should be the exception rather than the given rule. again we would need a paizo developer to confirm this, but i strongly believe pazio would not make a spell designed to fight constructs not work on its actual target.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Regarding the Elysiokineticist, at level 15, you receive the Ghaelelight blast, which does damage as a simple blast, rather than a composite but costs 2 burn. Am I correct in guessing this is justified by there not really being any thing/one out there with energy resistance or imunity to chaotic or good damage?


I would venture yes, similar to the force blast.


Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Irnk, Dead-Eye's Prodigal wrote:
Regarding the Elysiokineticist, at level 15, you receive the Ghaelelight blast, which does damage as a simple blast, rather than a composite but costs 2 burn. Am I correct in guessing this is justified by there not really being any thing/one out there with energy resistance or imunity to chaotic or good damage?

As far as I can tell, it makes it not much different from the infusion that does the same thing much earlier...I guess it allows other infusions to be used with it?

Confusing to me, but otherwise an archetype I really like.

201 to 224 of 224 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo.com / Product Discussion / Pathfinder Player Companion: People of the Wastes (PFRPG) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

Paizo.com Gift Certificates
On Sale and Clearance!


©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.