Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Almuric (Trade Paperback)

****( ) (based on 7 ratings)

Our Price: $12.99

Add to Cart
Facebook Twitter Email

by Robert E. Howard, with an introduction by Joe R. Lansdale

The creator of Conan looks to the stars in one of fantasy’s most enduring science fantasy classics!

Robert E. Howard’s Almuric is a savage planet of crumbling stone ruins and debased, near-human inhabitants. Into this world comes Esau Cairn, Earthman, swordsman, murderer. Only he can overthrow the terrible devils that enslave Almuric, but to do so he must first defeat the inner demons that forced him to abandon Earth.

Filled with vile beasts and thrilling adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Almuric is one of Howard’s few novels, and an excellent yarn from one of America’s most distinct literary voices.

160-page softcover trade paperback ISBN: 1-60125-043-6
ISBN-13: 978-1-60125-043-8


About the Author

Born in Peaster, Texas, Robert Ervin Howard (1906–1936) is cited by many as the father of the sword-and-sorcery genre. With his action-packed style and such notable characters as Kull, Solomon Kane, Red Sonya, and the instantly recognizable Conan the Cimmerian, Howard rose quickly to become one of the greatest pulp authors of all time, publishing hundreds of stories that dominated the pages of Weird Tales. In addition to fantasy, Howard also achieved substantial success in genres from western to horror, and alongside his success with Conan is equally known for his contributions to the Cthulhu mythos through correspondence with H. P. Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith. Though his career was cut short by his suicide at the age of 30, Howard remains an icon of the pulp era, and the characters he created continue to inspire film, games, and other media, giving him an impact on the fantasy genre that's still felt a century after his birth.

Product Availability


Ships from our warehouse in 2 to 14 business days.

Are there errors or omissions in this product information? Got corrections? Let us know at webmaster@paizo.com.

PZO8002


See Also:



Product Reviews (7)
1 to 5 of 7 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Average product rating:

****( ) (based on 7 ratings)

Sign in to create or edit a product review.

A savage in savage soul

*****


An RPG Resource Review

****( )

If you have ever secretly wished for a life of complete freedom in which you could, yea, even were encouraged, to take whatever you wanted by the strength of your own fists and sword-arm... well, enter into this fantasy and revel in it. Unabashed and brutal, both the world of Almuric and the hero Esau Cairn, romp across the pages with a freedom that the civilised world does not have. Probably just as well, I don't think I'd like to live there, but it is fun to visit through these pages. A good escapist read.


****( )

A sword and planet adventure in the Burroughs tradition. If you like that sort of thing I am pretty sure you will like this one.

Of the protagonist:

"Esau Cairn was, in short, a freak--a
man whose physical body and mental bent leaned back to the primordial.

Born in the Southwest, of old frontier stock, he came of a race whose characteristics were inclined toward violence, and whose traditions were of war and feud and battle against man and nature. The mountain country in which he spent his boyhood carried out the tradition. Contest--physical contest--was the breath of life to him.
Without it he was unstable and uncertain. Because of his peculiar physical make-up, full enjoyment in a legitimate way, in the ring or on the football field was denied him. His career as a football player was marked by crippling injuries received by men playing against him, and he was branded as an unnecessarily brutal man, who fought to maim his opponents rather than win games. This was unfair. The injuries were simply resultant from the use of his great strength, always so far superior to that of the men opposed to him. Cairn was not a great sluggish lethargic giant as so many powerful men are; he was vibrant with fierce life, ablaze with dynamic energy. Carried away by the lust of combat, he forgot to control his powers, and the result was broken limbs or fractured skulls for his opponents."

Desperate for a place to fit in he gets himself transported to another world by a man who now recounts his story.

And a dangerous place it is to arrive with nothing.

Needless to say, he gets over that, and soon swords, warriors, winged she-devils, evil queens and more are all over the place as he gets into trouble and doing some good that Conan himself would certainly be happy to have been involved in.

There are bad, violent, torturing things to be overthrown, and Esau Cairn is the man to lead the army to do it.


A Must Read For Howard Fans

*****

Not much to say that hasn't been said, though it's worth noting that fans of Howard will especially appreciate this book as it's one of his few novellas, and with the expanded length he delves deeper into the philosophy that motivates his characters and drives his stories. The plaintive ruminations of a man trapped in a time too civilized for his spirit can be heard rumbling throughout Howard's oeuvre, but here he lays out all his cards and makes explicit the thoughts that drive his writings. Fascinating stuff from the grandfather of modern fantasy.


Robert E. Howard meets Edgar Rice Burroughs or Conan does Opar

***( )( )

This is Howard's take on an Edgar Rice Burroughs style of planetary romance. Esau Cairn is a man too strong and brutal for our world. So in escaping a trumped up murder charge he mangages to get teleported to a hell-hole of a planet where he has to battle for survival every inch of the way against nature, monsters and his fellow (cave)man and loves every minute of it.
The humanoid inhabitants of this world are straight out of Tarzan's Opar. The men are brutish Troglodites and the women are barely clad Euro-Babes. In their society Esau wins honor, love and friendship by beating people half to death!
The main baddies, the winged humanoid "Yagga", are such sick evil puppies that they prove to be worthy recipients of Cairns unrestrained fury once he unleahses and cuts loose. Unrestrained is the word which describes this book. If you love enthusiastic brainless fun,action and adventure then this is the book for you. It fires away on all cylinders at a breakneck pace.It's not REH at his best. But mediocre REH still stands head and sholders above the rest. This is pure entertainment. And as entertainment I give it 2 thumbs up.


1 to 5 of 7 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Top Sellers
Who Fears the Devil?—The Complete Silver John (Trade Paperback)
1. Who Fears the Devil?—The Complete Silver John (Trade Paperback)
****½ (based on 6 ratings)

Our Price: $15.99

Add to Cart

2. City of the Beast (aka Warriors of Mars) (Trade Paperback)
3. The Dark World (Trade Paperback)

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.