Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Kelim Esteban

xAverusx's page

209 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Ok, so here are some references in preface to my question:

Mutagen:
...an alchemist can gain the effects of another
alchemist’s mutagen if he drinks it. (Although if the other
alchemist creates a different mutagen, the effects of the
“stolen” mutagen immediately cease.)

Infuse Mutagen Discovery:
When the alchemist creates a mutagen,
he can infuse it with an extra bit of his own magical
power. This inflicts 2 points of Intelligence damage
to the alchemist and costs 1,000 gp in rare reagents,
but the mutagen created persists on its own and is not
rendered inert if the alchemist creates another mutagen.

This allows an alchemist to create different types of
mutagens and keep them handy for emergencies. This
does not allow an alchemist to gain the effects of multiple
mutagens—only the most recently imbibed mutagen has
any effect.

The scenario:
There is a 12th level alchemist (Fred) and 1st level alchemist/11th level barbarian (Hank) in the same party. Fred has the Infuse Mutagen, Feral Mutagen and Greater Mutagen discoveries. He creates both a greater feral mutagen and a greater non-feral mutagen.

Fred drinks his non-feral mutagen. Hank takes Fred's greater feral mutagen and drinks it.

What happens?

Thanks for your help!


Let's say you have an 8th level Inquisitor with the Rage Domain (sub domain of destruction domain) or a multiclass Barbarian/Inquisitor.

Can this character use the supernatural abilities of the Inquisitor class while raging?

Upon reading the description of rage, I find this:

Core p32:
While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any
Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills
(except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability
that requires patience or concentration.

Do supernatural abilities count as such? Barbarians can use rage powers that are supernatural while raging, so I am inclined to think it's good to go.

Example, APG p75:
Elemental Rage, Lesser (Su): As a swift action, the barbarian can cause her melee attacks to deal an additional 1d6
points of energy damage (acid, cold, electricity, or fire) for
1 round. A barbarian must be at least 4th level to select this
rage power. This power can only be used once per rage.

Has this been addressed? Just wondering if my raging Inquisitor can still use judgments and bane his weapons.

Thanks.


Oh, I'll also add a few more things I just thought of.

I didn't have to make any Concentration checks thanks to Greater Invisibility and a few 5' steps. I believe that this Magus would pass 1st and 2nd level spells 95% of the time, with 3rd at 85% and 4th at 75%.

The penalty for Spell Combat seemed fair. I missed twice because of it, but otherwise got all my spells off.

All NPC stats are Elite Array +2 points. Hit points are average. Wealth is high (about 33K per bad guy). I give them the favored class hit point every level. PCs had better stats and about the same wealth (though they are 2 levels lower).

The NPC's worked loosely as a team. The Magus could have Hasted them, but opted for Slow in light of his Hasted Assault Arcana.

Random notes: Criting with a falcata is devastating. Made my night.


I've combed through the posts and haven't found an answer to this:
If a magus of 2nd level or higher uses Spell Combat to cast a melee touch spell, can he or she channel it into a free melee attack via Spellstrike?

Spell Combat:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast
spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This
functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the offhand
weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this
ability, the magus must have one hand free, while wielding
a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As
a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with
his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any
spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1
standard action. If he casts this spell defensively, he can
decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls,
up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount
as a circumstance bonus to his concentration check. If
the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still
take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell
first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more
than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon
attacks. The magus must have one hand free to use this
ability, even if the spell being cast does not contain
somatic components.

Spellstrike:
At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts
a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell
list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is
wielding as part of a melee attack. If successful, this
melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the
effects of the spell. Instead of the free melee touch attack
normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make
one free melee attack with his weapon as part of casting
this spell. If used with spell combat, this does not grant
an additional attack.

Also, would that attack be at a -2 penalty?


Since this spell is a conjuration (summoning) spell and is called "Summon [...]", does anything prevent Augment Summoning from applying to one's eidolon if it is summoned in this way?

If that same Summoner had the Summoner's Call feat, could he or she apply that bonus as well? Perhaps to get +4 strength, +2 dexterity and +4 constitution? The feat seems to indicate that the effect only happens after the summoning ritual. But maybe the round long casting of the Summon Eidolon spell counts as a "ritual."


So Kolokotroni made a pretty cool Gunslinger base class (Found here) and that reminded me that I had this one lying around: Mord Sith base class

What do you think? Pretty hard to drop into a typical setting, but too cool not to try to make.


So, I work on lot of homebrew stuff. And I troll these forums and get plenty of good ideas: luck points, house rules, rule clarifications, etc.

I figured that I could share some of my ideas and get some feedback.

I've put together a Priest base class. The idea of it is to have a divine full caster (meaning a class that relies on casting spells as their primary ability, as much as, say, a wizard or sorcerer).

Here it is:
Go to The Priest Class

I'm looking for comments, criticisms and suggestions on everything from grammar and typos to balance and playability. PEACH.

Thanks,

-Averus


Spitting Drake CR -? XP - ?
N Medium Dragon
Init: +1; Senses: darkvision 60ft, low-light vision; Perception: +9
Speed: 30ft.; 30ft. fly (average)
AC: 18 (10 +1dex +6nat +1dodge), 12 touch, 16flat-footed
HP: 57 (6d12+18)
Saves: Fort +7, Ref +6, Will +5
Stats: Str 18, Dex 13, Con 15, Int 2, Wis 10, Cha 11
BaB: +6; CMB: +10; CMD: 21 (25 vs. trip)
Special: Spit, Dragon traits
Attack: 2 claws +10 (1d4+4) and spit +2 ranged touch (1d6 acid + blind) and tail slap +10 (1d6+6)
Feats: Toughness, Dodge, Mobility
Spit (Ex): As a secondary natural attack, a spitting drake may spit acid at its enemies as a ranged touch attack with a range of 15ft. It aims for the face and has a chance to temporarily blind its opponents. A creature struck by a spitting drake’s acidic spit is blinded for one round unless it succeeds a DC 15 Reflex save. This save is Constitution-based.

Spined Drake CR -? XP - ?
N Large Dragon
Init: +0; Senses: darkvision 60ft, low-light vision; Perception: +12
Speed: 40ft.; 40ft. fly (poor)
AC: 18 (10 +9nat -1size), 9touch, 18flat-footed
HP: 104 (9d12+45)
Saves: Fort +10, Ref +6, Will +8
Stats: Str 26, Dex 11, Con 19, Int 2, Wis 10, Cha 11
BaB: +9; CMB: +18; CMD: 28 (32 vs. trip)
Special: Spines, Spined Defense, Dragon traits
Attack: 2 claws +16 (1d6+8) and bite +9 (2d6+8) and tail slap +9 (2d6+12) or 4 tail spines +12 ranged (1d6+8)
Feats: Brutal Throw, Iron Will, Toughness,

Spines (Ex): As a full-round action, a spined drake may fling 4 spines from its tail as a ranged attack at a -4 penalty with a range of 30ft. A spined drake may use this ability 6 times per day. If a spined drake uses all of its spines for a day, reduce its tail slap damage by 1d6 for 24 hours.

Any creature struck by a spine takes a -1 penalty to attack and AC until the spine is removed (a DC 15 heal check) or until the creature receives magical healing. The penalty from spines stacks.

Spined Defense: Whenever a creature strikes a spined drake with natural or non-reach melee weapons, that creature takes 1d6 damage.

Any questions/comments/suggestions welcome.


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.