Our party took his stuff, but we also looking for a way to help him with his obviously severe mental issues. Once he's a functioning citizen again, we plan on returning his things to him, including his spellbook. Did we rationalize a bit? Sure. As a player, I don't know how well this works with his backstory, but that's the way the GM's portrayal went, so that's how we handled it.
I think our party may be less prone to selling our goods and more along the lines of donating them to further the cause going forward. Or at least that's what my cleric plans to advocate.
We just got started recently:
Penthar - Human Monk(Master of Many Styles, will be Guardian path)
So far, so good. We've made it through the first section of the first adventure. We'll see how the party holds up from there on out.
My cleric is planning on taking the Divine Source ability at third tier, but I'm wondering about this sentence:
In addition, you can cast spells from domains you grant as long as their level is equal to or less than your tier.
The next sentence talks about casting the domain spells as spell-like abilities, but this sentence seems to indicate that it might add the domain spells to the list of spells you can prepare.
It's hard to tell whether the spell-like ability section is a continuation of the the thought in the above sentence and therefore the above sentence is a lead-in to talking about the spell-like ability part of the power or if they're two separate thoughts.
The main reason I'm wondering is that some domains grant access to spells that aren't normally on the cleric list (like the Fire domain granting Burning Hands and Fireball). Does Divine Source add these to the list of spells I could prepare or does it only allow me to cast them as a part of the once-per-day spell-like ability piece of the Path Ability?
This question came up in a discussion with my GM, so I thought I would pose it here. Assume that the settlement has an Academy and a Luxury Shop. If our kingdom wants to upgrade the Luxury Shop into a Magic Shop, how would you apply the reductions?
1. Apply the half-price discount from the Academy, then pay the difference for the upgrade.
My GM is of the opinion that it's option 1, which I'm perfectly content to abide by since it's the most advantageous reading. I'm just curious as to how others would handle it. It doesn't appear to be explicitly spelled out in the rules.
In the Wrath of the Righteous group I'll be playing in, one of the party members is playing a Mad Dog Barbarian and will have an animal companion. I know there are path abilities that allow you to grant things like Surge to an animal companion, but I can't find anything that says whether or not the animal companion is considered mythic for the purposes of other affects. I would assume that since it doesn't say that they are that they are considered non-mythic unless they take the Mythic Companion feat. But I'd rather get a clarification before we get under way than just assume.
Is the animal companion of a mythic character considered mythic automatically or does the animal companion have to take the Mythic Companion feat?
Yes. After a couple of Mail Innovations shipments where I got *no* tracking information at all that came in at the very tail end of their estimated time frame (which was nearly two weeks), I decided to go with straight priority mail shipping. It's significantly more expensive, but at least I get my stuff in a timely manner.
Amazon's constant release date games was why I finally ended up going with the subscriptions here. I can understand not wanting to pay the shipping costs though. They can be a little nasty if you don't want to use the bad idea that is UPS Mail Innovations.
The Mythic rules are available in the SRD, either on Paizo's official one or at d20pfsrd.com. So no, you don't have to buy it. It's a good book with nice art though, so I'd suggest at least picking up the PDF. :)
It is possible to run the adventure path without the Mythic rules, but it requires a good bit of rework on the party of the GM to strip the mythic enemies of their mythic abilities and rework the encounters.
Story Archer wrote:
Fair enough if you're not worried about maintaining the world's internal consistency. For my personal preference, that's something I would want done to reinforce the "logic" of the world. Different groups like different levels of reinforcement on that front though.
Going back to your earlier post, you're right that the powers aren't the story, but they are integral to facilitating the story. To go to you example of Luke Skywalker, the story itself is about him discovering his heritage, his father, all that. By I would suggest that the powers and the lightsaber don't fade into the background as much as you suggest. The lightsaber belonged to his father, it's a visible reminder of that heritage that his story is about. His Jedi abilities facilitate dealing with certain challenges he encounters in the story, especially the early scenes in Return of the Jedi revolving around the rescue of Han. Dealing with the guards to get into Jabba's palace and the fight over the Sarlacc are both examples of his powers facilitating the story and helping him deal with the challenges he faces.
In this AP, the characters powers fill the same niche. They facilitate the story and aid the characters in dealing with the extreme challenges they're asked to overcome. If a character is nothing but his class and his mythic abilities, then I'd agree there is a problem. But a character who is nothing but the numbers on his character sheet is not a problem unique to high-powered campaigns.
I'm not saying high-powered gaming is the best means to enjoy roleplay nor that high-powered gaming is the way to go in every instance. What I am saying is that a group of characters who will eventually be high-powered (since they don't start that way) is probably one of the better ways to tell this *particular* story.
Story Archer wrote:
I'm excited about this AP after reading the WWI, as is my group, but reading the epic rules I'll admit to being concerned... and to wondering, couldn't the same story be told simply by powering down the threats rather than escalating the PC's to walking Gods? James says no, and I have to respect that perspective, but at the end of the day, +10 attack to hit AC 20 is the exact same challenge as +40 attack to hit AC 50... so why the need for all the bloating and inflation?
I'm having a hard time articulating the thoughts in my head, so forgive me if this isn't as clear as it should be...
It's a matter of perspective. Golarion has an established baseline for typical NPC (and PC) power. You could do what you're saying and scale back the threats, but if it's a normally scaled threat then why haven't the crusader armies been able to crush it already? By scaling the numbers and abilities, you're matching the mechanics to the established narrative. The threats in the Worldwound are such that even normal PCs aren't able to deal with them. Is it over the top? Sure. The established situation though asks for over-the-top though because it's a threat of a magnitude that no normal hero could deal with.
Went with Sarenrae. From a mechanical perspective, I'm playing a Merciful Healer which required the Healing domain, so that limited my choices. I like Sarenrae's general outlook though. My character's parents were devout followers and were murdered by a cult that was trying to subvert their village. His mother died in his arms. He and his sisters were taken in by the Temple of Sarenrae. He became a cleric and has worked tirelessly to understand what he needs to do to keep other good souls from dying.
I certainly understand that rules like these are necessary to play a game like this campaign, but that is exactly the point. These rules seem so over the top to me, and do not look like fun to me.
Not saying you have to like the rules. You're entitled to your opinion, of course, but did you really stop reading the character rules at the first power of the first mythic path (a power which is just one option of three)? That hardly seems like giving them a fair reading. Maybe try the section on GMing mythic games and see the advice they give or something like that. It seems sad to toss the rules out without actually digging into the whole book.
I've got a group that's primed to play this, we're just looking to schedule our first session now.
Party lineup so far:
We've still got one person who hasn't made a character yet, but seems to be a pretty solid party so far.
Well, it turns out that it's rare for all six of my players to show up. Four is the most common and occasionally five. So what I opted to do instead is run the encounters as written and adjudicate a little in favor of the monsters at times. When awarding XP, I divide the XP award by four and give that much experience to the entire party. That way all the characters stay where they're supposed to be level-wise and saves me a lot of work. The group's more interested in figuring out the story than the fights themselves anwyay.
I'm sure this has been answered somewhere before, but I couldn't find it.
I'm playing a 5th level Wizard and another PC is a 5th level Sorcerer. I can cast 3rd level spells, but he can't yet as per the spell tables. If my wizard scribes a scroll of a 3rd level spell at caster level 5th, would the sorcerer be able to activate it with no checks required?
Looking at the rules-as-written, it looks that way since it's the same type of spell, he has the caster level of the scroll, and he has the requisite Charisma to cast a 3rd level spell. But I'm worried that I might be missing some requirement, since he can't cast 3rd level spells on his own yet.
Jason Bulmahn wrote:
I should note that all the pages are uncoated, which means that you can use a pencil, erase, and rewrite as your character gains levels.
Having seen what some of my players do to their character sheets with a simple pencil and repeated erasing (I've seen holes rubbed in the paper from erasing), this is probably not the product for them. Just erase and rewrite doesn't necessarily mean that the paper will hold up long term.
I always look forward to seeing what Kevin Andrew Murphy writes in these short stories. The Secret of Rose and Glove was wonderful and this one is shaping up to be just as good. If he also did Pathfinder novel-length pieces, I'd definitely pick it up.
Something that came up in my first session of Skinsaw. The aftermath in the Sanitorium says that Habe takes Grayst back to Sandpoint to have Zantus cast a Remove Disease. There's a problem with this though, Zantus is only 4th level and not capable of casting Remove Disease. Should Zantus have levelled between Burnt Offerings and Skinsaw?
Character Name: Barrok
The party took on one too many encounters and poor Barrok paid the price. One of the crab's claws knocked him out and constricted him to death.
Shayliss went for the Half-Elf Bard in my first group. It really was a no-brainer for me thankfully. The second group I'm planning on running through could be a little bit more complicated. Not entirely sure what the party make-up will be, but I'm not seeing any likely targets.
In my first group, the party cleric ended up arranging a marriage to soothe the father's feelings. The bard briefly tried to get out of it, but couldn't find anyone willing to help sabotage the impending marriage (thanks to none of Shayliss' former suitors being willing to risk getting beaten up by being discovered). He went through with the marriage. He's planning on taking Shayliss on a proper honeymoon after they're done with Thistletop. Not sure just how much I'm going to twist this particular knife just yet.
Lucerne Hammer is in Dragon 331. Stats are as follows:Damage: 2d4
Damage type: Bludgeoning or Piercing
Cost: 12 gp
Weight: 10 lbs
Reach Weapon, also a polearm.
PC Name: Morra (Level 3 Warforged Paladin of Moradin)
PC Name: Sachiko (Level 3 Elf Ninja)