Okay this is actually one main question and a corollary.
Main question involves a scenario in a game recently:
PC wizard 8th level in a large open field battle casts flaming sphere. has a 22 int. Necromancer hits him with a spectral hand touch of idiocy, he now has a 16. A round or so later, hits him with a curse for -6 int, now he has a 10. He cannot cast 2nd level spells, can he still move the sphere? Does it drop? Is it still effective with the DCs of a 22? I made a table ruling of it staying with original DC, but I am looking for a RAW determination.
In the above scenario, this ability damage doesn't interfere with his ability to cast with a wand.. would casting from a staff be impacted by his current ability score (10 INT) or would it use the minimum required to cast the spell like a wand?
Thank you in advance for any assistance given to pointing me in the right direction for these answers! :)