When exactly can I activate Arcane Shield?Arcane Shield wrote:Benefit: As a immediate action, you can sacrifice a prepared spell or unused spell slot of 1st level or higher and gain a deflection bonus to AC equal to the level of the spell or spell slot you sacrificed for 1 round. 0-level spells may not be sacrificed in this manner.
Can it be after hit but before damage?
** spoiler omitted **
Another good question, but since combat isn't done in phases, and the RAW say a hit and damage occur at same time, then the shield cannot be activated after the hit has occurred.
Ragoz wrote:Spells which do not have a separate event like rays do not have an additional opportunity afterward to cast EFS and still be protected because the effect and targeting have occurred.
This isn't satisfactorily settled in the rules for some, so please click the FAQ on this post.
This is like saying climate change is false because 1% of scientists say it is despite 99% saying it's true.
But I'd also argue that if 25% of this community are unsure about the ruling, the devs should FAQ it.
I feel like his argument is similar to the aqueous sphere+Hideous laughter interaction. "It doesn't explicitly say you drown!" but you do because you are laughing under water. People don't always know the implications of rules they create but that doesn't mean they function differently.
You don't stop breathing while laughing, just like singers don't stop breathing while singing.