Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Sheyln (Symbol)

licidy's page

32 posts. Alias of Justin Riddler (RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32).

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

So i have a swashbuckler who multiclassed spellscar drifter cavalier and received Amateur Gunslinger as a bonus feat. Amateur Gunslinger reads that if you gain the grit class feature you automatically exchange the feat for extra grit. With grit and panache essentially being the same, im wondering how this is suposed to work out. Per the ACG if you have a grit and panache pool you combine them. Amateur Gunslinger is the only thing giving me a gunslinger deed, so if it switches to Extra Grit do i lose access to the gunslinger deed?

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Hello Team Paizo,

The page for listing the sanctioned modules under PFS Products is a bit out of date. The latest product listed in that queue in the Emerald Spire.

Thought I would mention it so that it can get updated ^_^

Dark Archive ***** RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Scarab Sage Faction Card wrote:

SOUL WARDEN (4+ goals): Your scarab increases your effective Constitution score for determining when you would die from

hit point damage by 4. If you permanently die, you can donate your scarab to another of your characters that belongs to the
Scarab Sages faction. This character receives this card (discarding her current card).
Faction Journal Card Rules wrote:

Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous

season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of
goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.

The Soul Warden ability appears on both Season 6 and Season 7 of the Faction Journal cards, which means that some characters will have both of these abilities unlocked. The rules for the cards say that you would count the number of checked goals for the reward as 1 higher, however the Soul Warden ability is not mechanically tied to the completed goals on the card.

I see 3 possible rulings on this:

1) They stack - a flat stack of the ability which would be a +8 across the 2 seasons.

2) They don't stack - at which point the 2nd reward is non-functional if you already have it on the other season's card

3) There is a compromise ruling for this ability. Something like the +4 increases to +5 or +6 for completing the reward in a previous season.

I open this up for discussion as my regular table encountered this mattering recently, in a Schrodinger-deadly scenario with a pair of scarab sages who had both seasons checked off each.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Hello CS ^_^

I've been having some trouble checking out this weekend to add stuff for my next subscription. It might be a local issue, but I saw at least one other post with a similar problem.

When I click "Proceed to Checkout", most times the website spins for a minute and then prompts me to sign-in; after I sign-in it dumps me back to the homepage and I have to start over. Every now and then I can get to the actual checkout screens, but when I click on the "Confirm your Order" button, the website spins for several minutes before prompting me to sign in and dropping me back at the homepage.

My browser has been stuck looping between Paizo 19, 22, & 33. Manually trying some others gets me the No Store link. Giving you this FYI in case it helps at all.

~Justin Riddler

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was reading through the Hell's Rebels players guide for inspiration on characters for an upcoming play through of the AP. The thought of doing a Maestro Bloodline sorcerer intrigued me, however I am slightly confused on how one of the bloodline feats works with the class, Spellsong

Spellsong wrote:

You can combine your bardic performance and your spellcasting in two ways.

  • First, you can conceal the activity of casting a bard spell by masking it in a performance. As a swift action, you may combine your casting time of a spell with a Perform check. Observers must make a Perception or Sense Motive check opposed by your Perform check to realize you are also casting a spell. This uses 1 round of your bardic performance ability, regardless of the spell's casting time.
  • Second, as a move action, you can use 1 round of bardic performance to maintain a bard spell with a duration of concentration. You can cast another spell in the same round you are using bardic magic to maintain concentration; if you do this, your concentration on the maintained spell ends when you end the bardic performance the spell is part of.

The Maestro Bloodline gets a power that works as the fascinate bardic performance ability, but you get uses per day with each use having a duration rather than bardic music rounds per day.

So both abilities require you to use a round of your bardic performance ability, which you do not receive from the bloodline. And both abilities only interact with Bard spells you cast... but you are a sorcerer.

Viewing this as a feat that is only beneficial if you multi-class, you still do not receive a bonus feat until level 7, so you are mostly Sorcerer by that point.

It is unlikely that there will ever be an errata or FAQ on how this works, but you never know. With the bloodline being suggested in the Player's Guide for this AP, maybe enough attention will get a clarification.

For discussion, how would you home-rule on this bloodline and feat interacting?

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32 , Dedicated Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 8

Sewer, Bridge, and Hypogeum Under Caliphas, Ustalav

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32 , Dedicated Voter Season 6, Star Voter Season 8

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Mountain Stance Armor
Aura moderate transmutation and conjuration; CL 6th
Slot armor; Price 29,250 gp; Weight 40 lbs.
This +2 balanced (Ultimate Equipment) adamantine mountain pattern armor (Ultimate Equipment) sheds pebbles and dirt while worn, and assists in holding the front line of battle. Its wearer gains a +4 bonus to his CMD to resist bull rush, drag, pull, and reposition combat maneuvers so long as he stands on natural or worked stone or earth. This bonus also applies to his CMD when calculating the acrobatics check needed to move through his square or to pass through a threatened area without provoking an attack of opportunity.
At the beginning of his turn, if the armor’s wearer is occupying the same square he was occupying since the beginning of his last turn, then his DR from this armor doubles to 4/-, and all squares adjacent to him count as difficult terrain for his enemies. These effects cease as soon as the wearer moves intentionally or is moved forcibly from that square.
Requirements Craft Magic Arms and Armor, cat’s grace, stone call (Advanced Player’s Guide); Cost 19,900 gp

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Hey there folks,

I was placing a gift purchase of a PDF and noticed that there is not currently a way during checkout to add a message along with the gift (unless I'm just being stupid and not seeing it), although there is still a Gift Message section on the receipt and on the Confirm Your Order tab.

Gave a quick search over here in website feedback and didn't see anything from the past 6 months talking about this, so I figured I'd make a post.


Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Pathfinder Savant lets you activate scrolls at your caster level instead of the caster level of the scroll... my question is wheter you can use UMD to emulate a higher caster level than your own before activating the scroll? Please explain...

Use Magic Device wrote:

Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20. This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature. If the class whose feature you are emulating has an alignment requirement, you must meet it, either honestly or by emulating an appropriate alignment with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).

Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don't have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check. This use of the skill also applies to other spell completion magic items.

Pathfinder Savant wrote:

Scroll Master (Su)

A 3rd-level Pathfinder savant uses his own caster level instead of the item’s caster level when using a scroll or other spell completion item.

Dark Archive ***** Venture-Agent

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This scenario is badass to the core! Starting with the awesome cover art, down to the straight-forward way the faction missions are written. The assumptions for the scenario are a wider array of bestiaries and other source material, and the GM is asked to apply templates on the their own.

To help prep the scenario, it is a good idea to pre-apply the templates on a print-out of the monster. A free rebuilding program can be found here and all of the monsters can be accessed via the PFSRD.

Most of the maps are big, open, wilderness areas. My advice is to not get too bogged-down drawing out the maps accurately. Close-enough will do for most encounters, though you may want to buy the flip-map for the last encounter.

Most of the faction missions are resolved during an evening of RP with the NPCs. While the faction missions are very straight forward from the player's perspective, the GM should read through that section carefully and think about how the NPCs will act and respond to questions - maybe develop different personalities for each. Some information about each NPC is provided in the scenario, but their statistics are scattered all over the place in that act. For some GM ease, I've assembled the vital stats regarding these NPCs in a Google-Drive Spreadsheet

Finally, the scenario deals with a common rule that some GMs still fumble over:

Poisons - I suggest reading the FAQ section at the bottom of this page

Hope this helps people prep this awesome-looking scenario!

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I recently had a GM in PFS tell me that items that have the same spell under their construction requirements do not stack. Is this true? I cannot find anything on the boards to verify or discredit this.

Specific example in question: The Impact weapon quality (Ultimate Equipment) is based on the spell Lead Blades, as too is the Belt of Thunderous Charging (Ultimate Equipment). Neither reference the spell in their descriptions, but both up the size category of the weapon by one step. The GM ruled that these items do not stack with each other or the spell Lead Blades because the items are crafted from that spell even if they don't reference it.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

I have a Freebooter Ranger who's about to hit 3rd level but I'm not so thrilled about Favored Terrain. The Infiltrator Archetype gets rid of Favored Terrain but I'm really confused as to how those 2 archetypes interact.

Infiltrator gives you additional bonuses against certain favored enemies, but Freebooter gives up Favored Enemies...

Would the bonuses chosen from Infiltrator apply when I'm using Freebooter's Bane against that creature type then? Or are the archetypes just completely incompatible?

Dark Archive ***** Venture-Agent

*opens can of worms*
As it states: when and where are spellcasting services allowed? If the party wishes to purchase a Communal Fire Resistance Spell, but doesn't want the spell cast in town, but cast prior to entering the dragon's lair, is that allowed? Is there an extra cost associated? What if in the first example the dragon's lair is within Absalom?

I believe the Guide to Organized Play states that purchases over 3000gp must be made within the limits of town with a 5000+ population, but most spellcasting services will be under that price. Is there a specified cap on caster level available in any given region?

Since Raise Dead has a base material component of 5000gp, does that limit purchasing that spell to these large settlements? In regions such as Rahamdoun where divine casters are illegal, or Geb where positive energy is illegal, can one still purchase a Raise Dead casting???

Finally, is spellcasting services capped by fame? (would really, REALLY suck if it did! 18 Fame needed to purchase a Raise Dead!)

*sits back and revels in the chaos brought*

Dark Archive ***** Venture-Agent

I ran Temple of Empyreal Enlightenment twice this past weekend, and I noticed something that has me just a little perturbed.

In both sessions, the tables were at that magic APL of getting to choose, and chose up. Those that engaged themselves in the scenario, immersed themselves in their characters, and were great RPers shined throughout the first part of the scenario.

I handled all the poison saves, Sense Motives, etc. behind the scenes so as not to break the RP

The scenario really highlighted these players who were very, very engaged. And I've had to force the ending early on both parties to be able to do the scenario in the time allotted.

But when combat broke out, these characters were very ineffectual, while those that had remained nearly silent the entire scenario suddenly leaped into action and were the animated ones.

I will give note that the divine casters in both games were high RP and would have been combat effective if they hadn't all lost the ability to spell cast due to WIS damage
Since the tables were mostly RPer's both tables were near TPKs and one table ran away from the final encounter b/c they were completely out of resources.

In the end, the players who had RPd were all upset that they had been punished by the scenario for engaging themselves in the life of the people they were sent to investigate and report on. They felt that the writers had purposefully attacked them for not being paranoid, selfish, antisocial characters. One player in particular felt abashed for not having built a character optimized for combat, but who was instead optimized for investigation, infiltration and social interactions.

I know we can never have the ideal party at our tables, and I did severely caution the second table about playing up, but I can't help but see the trend that only the characters that are optimized for combat can afford to do RP, but that this scenario in-particular does punish you for being immersed.

What are some of your takes on this debate, and on this scenario? Are other people seeing this trend, or is it just the crowd at my local shops? What are some ways I, as a GM & event coordinator, can try to heal this feeling of being back-stabbed by the sceanrio for the players? Is there another high RP scenario out there that someone might recommend that rewards players for high engagement?

Sczarni *****

This recently came up in a PFS game of Cult of the Ebon Destroyers: I have a Razmiran Priest that can cheaply cast Lesser Animate Dead. My questions revolve around animating PC's that have died and its interaction with special PFS rules.

1) If I don't make them an intelligent undead, can I still allow that player to control their own, now templated, character?

2a) Since the undead creating spells end at the end of the scenario in PFS, can the player still purchase a Raise Dead afterwards?

2b) If I animate them and their undead body dies again, can they still get the Raise Dead?

3) In this particular case, I animated the pregen Gunslinger, and the Skeleton template keeps all weapon proficiencies they had in life, but as I understand it firearms are weird. Can a skeltonized gunslinger still use their guns?

4) If I made a PC an intelligent undead, do they suddenly become unplayable because their alignment auto becomes Evil?

5) Would an animated Paladin need Atonement in addition to Raise Dead afterwards? Either intelligent or unintelligent.

6) Since the spells do not have a save and I don't speak with their body/soul before hand, would animating a PC against that character's wishes constitute PVP?

7) If somehow my animation of a PC causes additional financial and/or PA expenditures, and the player is upset about it, can they call me out on PVP?

8) Since the undead are under my control, can I posthumously convert them to Razmir (at least for the time while they're undead)? Given that I carry extra acolyte uniforms for the purpose of disguising my undead.

Dark Archive

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.
Furious Finish wrote:
While raging, when you use the Vital Strike feat, you can choose not to roll your damage dice and instead deal damage equal to the maximum roll possible on those damage dice. If you do, your rage immediately ends, and you are fatigued (even if you would not normally be).

What damage dice does Furious Finish actually maximize?

Is it just the weapon's damage dice? Does that include the extra weapon damage dice from Vital Strike, Improved, etc? If the weapon is flaming does that get maximized? What about a Barb/Rogue; is their Sneak Attack maximized?

Grand Lodge

The description of scorpion whip says that it is a whip covered in tiny blades; are these blades metal? If so, could you make a scorpion whip out of special materials like silver, adamantium, & mithral?

Grand Lodge

Spectral Hand

Two-Weapon Fighting Description

Touch Spells in Combat:
Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage. Your opponent's AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally.

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Spectral Hand delivers a touch spell just as if it were you, but with a +2 bonus, and while holding a charge you are considered armed, and Two-Weapon Fighting allows you to take a -2 penalty to attack with 2 light weapons such as a melee touch attack...

So with a touch spell that gives you multiple touches, such as Chill Touch, could you use the Two Weapon Fighting Feat + Spectral Hand to deliver two doses of the spell as a full-round action from 30' away?


Why must it be so hard to find these answers in one thread:

Esoteric Magic:
At each class level beyond 1st, the Pathfinder savant chooses a spell from any class’s spell list and thereafter treats it as if it were on the spell list of his base spellcasting classes; if his base class could not normally cast that spell, it is treated as 1 level higher. The spell’s type (arcane or divine) and save DCs function as normal for his base spellcasting class. All other restrictions of his normal spellcasting class apply. This ability does not allow other spellcasters to prepare, cast, or use spell trigger or spell completion items of esoteric spells (such as a sorcerer using a cure light wounds scroll).

1) The spell selected is added to your spell list. Not your spells known if you're a sorcerer?

2) If your class could not normally cast the spell, the spell is treated at one level higher. Wouldn't this penalty always apply? (Besides the obvious cheese of grabbing your class's normal spells off the Summoner list? Which what's the ruling on that anyway?)

3) The spell's type remains the same. So a wizard in full-plate could cast his esoteric cleric spells, or does that mean a cleric in full-plate doesn't need to worry about spell failure on his esoteric wizard spells?

4) All other casting restrictions apply. Besides a good cleric unable to grab an evil wizard spell, or a bard grabbing a spell w/o verbal components, what restrictions are there?

5) Can anyone else think of any other questions this ability raises?

Grand Lodge

I'm wondering how this trait and spell interact:


Faithful Feedback: Whenever you cast a spell belonging to the healing subschool on someone of your religion, increase the hit points healed by +1.



Infernal Healing:conjuration (healing) [evil];

Casting Time: 1 round
Components: V, S, M (1 drop of devil blood or 1 dose of unholy water)
Range: touch
Target: creature touched
Duration: 1 minute
Saving Throw: Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)

You anoint a wounded creature with devil’s blood or unholy water, giving it fast healing 1. This ability cannot repair damage caused by silver weapons, good-aligned weapons, or spells or effects with the good descriptor. The target detects as an evil creature for the duration of the spell and can sense the evil of the magic, though this has no long-term effect on the target’s alignment.

Does this mean that the fast healing gets the +1, or the spell overall heals +1 hp as if it continued for another round, or are they completely incompatible?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was wondering if you can combine Fighting Defensively (or Combat Expertise) with taking the Aid Another action?

Aid Another is listed as a special attack that takes a standard action to perform, BUT it involves an attack roll and is listed under special attacks right next to Charge (which, silly as it sounds, I know you can combine with FD/CE)

Grand Lodge

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I've found several discussions revolving around if Intimidate can stack, which I already knew it didn't, and one question about if a Paladin's Aura of Courage makes them immune to Intimidate used to demoralize in combat.

My main question though is whether or not Intimidate is a fear effect?

If it is, then would any bonuses you have against fear (such as the feat Focused Discipline or the spell Bless) apply to the DC of your opponent's Intimidate check?

If the answer is yes all around, then shouldn't the Intimidate skill be errata-ed to state that bonus to fear need to be added to the DC?

Dark Archive *****

Hey folks, so I'm running a Rogue in PFS and was browsing Rogue Talents & feats for my build as a Scout Archtype. My question is: how effective is the Trap Spotter Rogue Talent in PFS?

My character is a bit of a clutz and often does whatever the party tells him to do. If he's told to open a door he might just go ahead and open it with to hell with the consequences (much to everyone's amusement). But so far, any dangerous trap has been easily seen on the map or by DM description, and those that have actually gotten me have been things like Prestidigitation traps, or Create Water. I'm only just level 3 and Ive only been in 2 modules which even had traps.

(Feel free to look at my character so far by clicking the profile link above)

Dark Archive

Can one utilize the Charge action with Spring Attack? Specifically within PFS?

Spring Attack wrote:
As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.

Since you don't have to continue moving after your attack, and your charge HAS to end at the opponent, I personally don't see why you can't use the two in tandem.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.