Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

lastblacknight's page

Goblinworks Founder. Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 726 posts (730 including aliases). 14 reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 15 Pathfinder Society characters.




2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

RAW Natural Spell works only for those PC's with Wild Shape (Su) and the appropriate wisdom.

My request is that this feat could be changed to include those other races with their own supernatural shapechange supernatural ability like the Kitsune etc not just those possessing the Wild Shape (Su)..
I understand the discussion's in and around the polymorph spells and I am not suggesting that we extend the feat that far - this is about races naturally having multiple forms gaining access to the feat as a legal choice.

Mechanically; both Wild Shape (Su) of the Druid and Change Shape (Su) of the Kitsune are both supernatural abilities.

I think it's been over-looked simply because the new races have come out and the time hasn't been there to consider the updating the feat.

Have I missed anything? Is there any good reason why we wouldn't want to have this feat opened up to those races with ability to supernaturally change their form.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Target is one willing creature touched,; the spell description does go into greater focus/detail re: animals and magical beast.

Is this an RAW vs. RAI issue?

What is to stop casting things on a PC? (as a willing creature touched?)

Some examples of spell targets.
Calm Animals: Targets: animals with 30ft of each other
Animal Messenger: Target: one tiny animal


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A question for the powers-that-be.

Parts of this question have been touched on in other threads but the threads got side-tracked, so please take the time to read this whole post before commenting (and please comment if you have something valuable to add).

The Question: How does a cleric ‘present ‘his/her holy symbol to channel?

Considerations: (there are three – I am not interested in a discussion about Area of Effect vs. Line of Sight – it’s irrelevant and covered quite simply in the rules).

• A Channel is an; Su: (supernatural ability) that cannot be dispelled, is not subject to SR (spell resistance) is effected by Anitmagic and does not provoke an AoO (attack of opportunity) when used.
• A standard action is required to perform a channel (usually)
• A Cleric must be able to present a holy symbol to use this ability

Now a supernatural ability isn't a spell-like ability, it doesn't require a gesture or verbal component to begin working (think; Aura, or Flight). In some cases it does require a mental command to start or maintain an effect and this can be a standard, swift or free action (for us though it’s a standard action).

Now, to the word Present, some posts have suggested that a holy symbol must be held in the hand and strongly presented to the evil to be cleasened by the holy power of the channel – this is incorrect. A Holy Symbol need only be strongly presented to a vampire or similar creature. For the normal use of a channel, a cleric need only present his/her symbol (a subtle and distinct difference). Now consider what is required to hide a holy symbol – if it’s worn on a chain on the neck, simply putting it underneath your clothes allows the symbol to be hidden. So wearing the symbol of your faith on the outside of your clothes (clear for all to see) is the opposite – as it’s worn out - it is presented.

Therefore, if a cleric was paralysed (and not effected mentally) there is no reason why he/she couldn't channel, provided she had a standard action to do so. (Similar to how a Hag might Evil Eye someone even if she is bound).

Let the games begin….


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.