Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

kinevon's page

Goblin Squad Member. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 4,857 posts (6,029 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 37 Pathfinder Society characters.


1 to 50 of 4,857 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge ****

nosig wrote:
GinoA wrote:
kinevon wrote:
FLite wrote:

Actually, the GtOP says that you are supposed to respect forum posts from developers.

So yes, you are required to respect semi-stealth errata if you are aware of them.

Can you cite that? All I can find in v7 is:

The Pathfinder Society Community
You may not simply ignore rules clarifications made by the campaign leadership, including the campaign coordinator and campaign developer, at ociety. GMs are not required to read every post on the messageboards, but GMs familiar with rules clarifications made by the campaign leadership (which have not been superseded by the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play or FAQ) must abide by these clarifications or rulings. If it is a significant clarification, it will be updated in the FAQ, and later in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play if necessary.

General content developers simply don't fall in the group I highlighted. BTW, the URL you highlighted is *only* the PFS board, not, say Rules.

Please excuse me but... I do not understand the last post in this group.

I have no horse in this race - doesn't matter one way or another to me really, but I don't understand what you are trying to say here.

@GinoA: You missed the point of my post, yes?

I was asking FLite for the citation for the general, any developer, version.
I was posting the quote from v7 of the Guide verbatim.
That included using bold to match the highlighted portion of the text in the PDF, which includes the link to this section of the Paizo boards.

@nosig: GinoA seems to have missed both what I was asking, which was a citation for general developers, and that I was posting a quote form the Guide verbatim.

Grand Lodge ****

FLite wrote:

Actually, the GtOP says that you are supposed to respect forum posts from developers.

So yes, you are required to respect semi-stealth errata if you are aware of them.

Can you cite that? All I can find in v7 is:

The Pathfinder Society Community
You may not simply ignore rules clarifications made by the campaign leadership, including the campaign coordinator and campaign developer, at ociety. GMs are not required to read every post on the messageboards, but GMs familiar with rules clarifications made by the campaign leadership (which have not been superseded by the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play or FAQ) must abide by these clarifications or rulings. If it is a significant clarification, it will be updated in the FAQ, and later in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play if necessary.

Grand Lodge

CampinCarl9127 wrote:
The physical damage from the sword (d8 + any normal modifiers) applies normally. The extra d6 fire damage is subject to fire resistance. You treat them as different damage sources when calculating damage through a ring of energy resistance.

The same as attacking a monster with energy resistance.

Attacking a Tiefling with a flaming sword is going to be about the same as attacking that same Tiefling with a non-flaming sword, with a rare single point of fire damage getting through.

Never use a Frost sword on a skeleton. Immune to cold, and DR 5/B, so even the sword damage gets reduced.

Grand Lodge ****

Eric Ives wrote:
Andrew Christian wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Eric Ives wrote:
OK, I pledge to work on drafting a compelling good-faith argument for the Constable, but it probably won't be posted tonight. Any particular features I should focus on?
Definitely hard to come up with an argument for why something should be included when you don't know why it got hit with the ban hammer.

Try to think like campaign leadership and judge the archetype on power, interaction with other abilities and feats, how it interacts with campaign specific rules (e.g. evil, crafting, leadership, etc.)

If you can't think of a single reason after legitimately playing devil's advocate with yourself, then use that as your argument. But list the various reasons you think it might be illegal and explain why that reason doesn't apply.

Thanks. The question was intended for John.

I used to make my living arguing with a certain government agency that doesn't always articulate its rejections well, so I'm in familiar territory.

Eric, one suggestion: Look for the thread on Magical Knack that got it unbanned, and you will see one of the best formats and concepts to follow for this kind of request. Post was in the thread named Balance by Jiggy, around post 16.

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tony Lindman wrote:
The policy is that you must have with you the source for any material you are using. If it happens that two sources for something are legal but you only own one, then you can only use what that one gives you.

How about if there is a semi-stealth errata from a developer on the boards correcting the stats in the book you own?

In this case, it is the stats for the Vetala-kin Dhampir. They are different in Inner SDea Races than in Bllod of the Night, but, per Patrick Renie, ISR is correct, and BotN should be fixed as per the post linked.

So, I only have Blood of the Night, do I use the errata post linked to fix the stats, or do I live with the incorrect stats?

Grand Lodge

claudekennilol wrote:
What scenario are you guys talking about?

Various levels of Thornkeep.

Accursed Halls:
This Tier 1-2 module includes a Shadow (CR3), Wight (CR4), and two CR3 Fungal Crawlers (CR5) in there.

Enigma Vaults:
This tier 3-5 module includes a Mi-Go with Cleric levels. Ugly, Just plain ugly. If you can be sneak attacked, it is doing seriously nasty things to you. And Improved Uncanny Dodge, which comes at 5th level for a Barbarian, and 8th level for a Rogue, doesn't look like it would actually protect you form this, since, while it is sneak attack damage, is not sneak attack from flanking.

4 attacks with Grab, if Grabbed it gets to apply sneak attack damage, and, if it applies sneak attack damage, it also does 1d4 damage to a stat of its choice, Fort save negates. High Int, so it would be smart enough to do the grab-and-release sequence, too.

Regular Mi-Go

The one in the module is CR 8, as it has class levels.
4 claws, +14, 1d4+4 plus grab
2d6 sneak attack damage
DC 18 Fort save or 1d4 points of ability damage of the Mi-Go's choice, and it is Int 23, so it is fairly bright...

Against 3rd-5th level PCs.

Grand Lodge

requiem_in_mortis wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
requiem_in_mortis wrote:
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
requiem_in_mortis wrote:
I seriously doubt it. If you cannot use it as a two-handed weapon to get 1.5x Strength on the damage roll, you shouldn't be able to get Power Attack's 50% extra damage for two-handing it.
Not necessarily. That's the way it works for a core monk's flurry - so the 1x STR & 3-to-1 PA has precedent.

Monks don't get 1.5x Strength on damage rolls with unarmed strikes (doesn't qualify as a natural attack that gets that extra damage, since you get multiple attacks via Flurry), and they only way they get it with Flurry of Blows at all is if they have Dragon Ferocity or are using a two-handed monk weapon. Since they don't get that bonus, they wouldn't get the extra 50% from Power Attack either.

Even if they did by RAW, I'd never allow it for the exact reason I just said.

By RAW - using a two-handed monk weapon - a core monk 1x STR & 3-to-1 PA.

I already said that:

requiem_in_mortis wrote:
Monks don't get 1.5x Strength on damage rolls with unarmed strikes (doesn't qualify as a natural attack that gets that extra damage, since you get multiple attacks via Flurry), and they only way they get it with Flurry of Blows at all is if they have Dragon Ferocity or are using a two-handed monk weapon.
And we're getting away from what I originally said anyways. If a weapon cannot benefit from 1.5x Strength by being wielded in both hands, it should NOT be able to get Power Attack's two-handed weapon bonus.

And your argument is flawed.

From the PRD for the CRB for Monk's Flurry of Blows:
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.

Full Strength Bonus =/= 1.5x Str.

Grand Lodge

alexd1976 wrote:

The cat should act like a cat and freak out trying to get it off all the time.

Nothing in the rules gives the player total control over his INT 2 pet.

Armor check penalty of 0 doesn't matter, the cat can run off and start rubbing up against a tree trying to get it off.

If you want.

Or relax and realize that improving an animal companions armor class isn't that big a deal.

If it is a Paladin's Mount, it has an Int of 6, which can be higher than perfectly legitimate PCs, including the Paladin himself.

The second type of bond allows a paladin to gain the service of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed to serve her in her crusade against evil. This mount is usually a heavy horse (for a Medium paladin) or a pony (for a Small paladin), although more exotic mounts, such as a boar, camel, or dog are also suitable. This mount functions as a druid's animal companion, using the paladin's level as her effective druid level. Bonded mounts have an Intelligence of at least 6.

Dump stat Int to 7, take a race that gives a -2 to Int, badaboom, you now have a legal PC with an Int of 5, lower than a Paladin's Mount.

And, in a "roll your stats" game, it could be even lower.

Grand Lodge ****

Zauron13 wrote:

I think we are creating needless abstractions and complex rules for what was supposed to be an otherwise simple ruling (in my mind, at least).

Core Spells Known: CORE, plus any you use a scroll (found on chronicle) or spell book to learn (Including the forum/blog/FAQ post about spontaneous casters also being allowed to do so).

Wands of Non-Core spells: Still function the same, you just cannot buy them unless they appear on a chronicle sheet. Much like unique items that are not always available, that is the only way to acquire them, but they still function as such. Wands are not enough to allow you to learn the spell (since you normally cannot learn a spell from a Wand anyway)

That's how I view it. Now, to answer OP:

IMO, no, having access to a spell is not enough to purchase wand/potion/scroll of it, based on the "No Crafting" segment of PFS.

How I like to see Core is a weird reset of Golarion rules: There aren't a lot of Non-Core wizards opening shops (you can't purchase Non-core stuff generally), so you would have to make the item. But you can't craft, so you are not allowed to have non-core spells as items unless they appear on a chronicle.

But what if you are a Wizard with, say, Vanish in your spellbook due to running across a scroll of it at some point. You also use a bonded item, a wand. Due to Pathfinder rules, and the PFS FAQ, you can, effectively, use Crafting on your bonded item, which is a wand, so can you make that a wand of Vanish?

Grand Lodge

Patrick Renie wrote:


First off, apologies for the long delay in an official reply to this matter.

Second off, after taking a look into this, I've found that yes, there are some issues with the variant dhampir racial ability modifiers from pages 20–21 of Blood of the Night.

To rectify some obvious oversights and make the ability modifiers of jiang-shi-born and vetala-born dhampirs more in line with their flavor text, use the following errata:

Jiang-Shi-Born (Ru-Shi): +2 Str, +2 Int, –2 Dex
Vetala-Born (Ajibachana): +2 Dex, +2 Int, –2 Wis

Interestingly, while jiang-shi themselves boast high Dexterity scores (representing their ability to hop around the battlefield quickly without being hindered by such obstacles as difficult terrain), jiang-shi-born lack this dextrous trait (and are indeed clumsier than most dhampirs), likely because they are able to walk on both legs and have some sort of physiological disconnect between their unique undead lineage and their mortal physicality. This is represented by the penalty to Dexterity.

A ru-shi's physical gifts do not manifest in a Constitution bonus (in fact, ru-shi are often even sicklier than most dhampirs as a result of their constantly rotting internal organs). However, ru-shi do manage to inherit some of the unnatural strength of their undead forebears, represented by the racial bonus to Strength.

Hopefully these corrections were worth the wait and clear up the discrepancies. If you have any further questions, feel free to ask here and I'll get back to you as soon as possible (much sooner than this long-overdue reply, for sure :]).

Happy dhampiring!

Is this posted anyplace else, like maybe in the thread for Blood of the Night, or the Golarion FAQ, or some place where PFS players don't get hit by a stealth errata?

My source was this book, HeroLabs used the "corrected" stats from Inner Sea Races, which I don't yet own, so I made a bug report, since their stats didn't match the official source.

had to dig for this, and I am not sure this is actually PFS legal as a correction.

Grand Lodge ****

Anonymous Visitor 163 576 wrote:
andreww wrote:

A Wand of Burning Hands is doing 1d4x1.5 damage with a DC11 reflex save for half. A Wand of Sound Burst is doing 1d8x1.5 damage with a DC13 fortitude save to avoid the stun.

Neither is a particularly good idea against most mid to high CR swarms. A CR9 Tick Swarm has 120hp. Even a simple CR4 Leech Swarm has 39hp.

For core it is pretty much bring a caster or be prepared to run away.

I didn't say it was great, or easy. But it is literally, better than nothing. By a little.

Better choices still would be to purchase a scroll of fireball, or some other area-effect spell. You might need something other than fire sometimes.

Windwall is good for blocking out the smallest flying creatures.

I have a cleric that channels negative energy, that also works fairly well. Sometimes I've also used holy water against undead swarms.

You can also sacrifice something to the swarm to buy time. Summon something, or let it eat your pack mule.

I suppose a scroll of haste or a potion of expeditious retreat might be another option...

Unfortunately, a potion of expeditious retreat is never an option.

From the Magic Item section of the CRB, Creating Potions subsection:
The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target. Spells with a range of personal cannot be made into potions.

Expeditious retreat, shield, longstrider, entropic shield, and more spells are ineligible to be made into potions.

Grand Lodge ****

Don't open if you like Lady Morilla Gloriana:
So, now that some of us know the truth about her, when is she going to be ... dealt .. with?

Grand Lodge ****

Quick shorthand on item availability:

You can always buy anything on the Always Available list, as long as you have sufficient gold to pay for it. This includes most mundane items, other than firearms, potions of 0 & 1st level spells, masterwork items, special materials other than dragonhide, and +1 enhancements to always available weapons and armor.

You can buy anything PFS legal whose cost is equal to or less than your Fame limitation.

You can always buy anything appearing on a chronicle sheet for your PC, within possible buying limits on the sheet. Note that this is usually PC specific, if your -1 has a sheet with wand X, -2 is not allowed to buy it. Some chronicle boons or benefits will say that they can be used by your other PCs, but they are extremely rare, and mainly things like archetype unlocks.

And, last but no tleast, you can buy anything PFS legal as the 1 or 2 PP purchase. 1 PP, which allows purchases up to 150 gp for free, can cover a few things (a scroll with multiple copies of a 1st level spell, for instance); and 2 PP purchases, which allows purchases up to 750 gp, which includes things like wands of first level spells without expensive material components. (Stereotypical example, and ubiquitous: Wands of Cure Light Wounds)

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Muser wrote:
Written by Kyle "You asked for this!" Baird and Ron "My home group likes it hard" Lundeen!

Spoilered for sanity's sake

Only open on October 31st:
Edited by Josh "Raging Barbarian Ghasts" Frost

Grand Lodge

I am assuming Standard, not Core, since there are major differences in what can be done..

Flag Bearer feat, and one of the magical Banners, eventually.

Spells that end a performance, but give a reroll or bonus to a failed roll for your teammates.

Spells that can neutralize or minimize an enemy's advantage, like Ghostbane Dirge.

Equipment that can assist your abilities, whether it is a Headband of Charisma, or a Circlet of Persuasion.

Grand Lodge ****

FLite wrote:
kinevon wrote:
Oddly, I don't use my rerolls that often.
I have a gunslinger. I use my rerolls a lot more often now.

I used one in the last game I played, but it was against the BBEG, I was running my low-level Rogue, and really just wanted to get sneak attack for once in the module.

Those 4 stars make a difference, too.

I also used one in one of the Bonekeeps, in order to change what may have been a failed Will save to a success. I am fairly sure I would have failed the follow-up Fortitude save, as my PC, in that case, was a Sorcerer....

Grand Lodge

Nefreet wrote:
*mutters something about a TPK by a CR 8+ in a Tier 3-5 game*

Heh. What about the TPKs from the CR 5, the CR 4, and the CR 3 in the same Tier 1-2 game?

I have TPKed with the CR 5.
In 6+ runs, I have only ever hit once with the CR 4, and that was against a level 2 PC.
I have had the worst threats to the party from the CR 3, and only avoided one TPK by "locking" it to the room it is in. If it can chase the party, then it switches to a fairly probable TPK for any underprepared party.

Grand Lodge

Daniel Myhre wrote:
Cevah wrote:

Bracers of Armor are the usual 2nd armor worn, and it uses an item slot, albeit one other than the one used by regular armor.

It can even be enchanted, but it does have the shut-down clause. However, that clause is NOT invoked (by RAW) if the bonus is equal.


Except bracers of armor are enchanted. They're made by mages who use the mage armor spell to craft a wondrous item (the bracers). They're also kinda pointless for anyone able to actually wear armor. And until you can get bracers of armor +5 it's probably better to just buy mage armor potions. Actually still probably better unless you have nothing else to spend your gold on. Or (for non-pfs) know a friendly mage or sorcerer who can craft them.

Actually, in PFS standard, a haramaki or such with +1 enhancement and +9 worth of other enhancements, and Mage Armor is probably the "best" way to go.

Of course, that'll break the +10 limit rule....

Grand Lodge

Nefreet wrote:

Yes, if you have multiple attacks with grab and constrict, you may use a free action (on your turn) to release the grapple and resume the rest of your attack routine.

However, the caveat I mentioned earlier still exists. Your GM reserves the right (even in PFS) to limit the number of free actions to what they deem to be "reasonable".

And, on the other hand, watch out for that Mi-Go.

Grand Lodge

Daniel Myhre wrote:
But it can! This thread was initially for Pathfinder Society. Just spend 2 prestige and you've got yourself an ironwood breastplate. It's created by the ironwood spell, true. When buying it, one assumes the creator made the spell permanent. Or are you arguing that the Pathfinder Society has no 11th level casters with Ironwood and Permanency in their employ?

I am sorry. Ironwood is not a legal special material in PFS. The only place it is referenced is in a spell, not in equipment.

As a spell, in PFS, since Permanent is not a legal spell for PFS, it can only be purchased through spellcasting services, so has a limited duration, basically for one scenario.

From the Guild Guide, pages 24-25:
The following spells found in the Core Rulebook are not legal for play and may never be used, found, purchased, or learned in any form by PCs playing Pathfinder Society Scenarios: awaken, permanency, and reincarnate.
All spells and effects end at the end of a scenario with the following exceptions:
• Spells and effects with permanent or instantaneous duration that heal damage, repair damage, or remove harmful conditions remain in effect at the end of the scenario.
• Afflictions and harmful conditions obtained during a scenario remain until healed and carry over from scenario to scenario (except in specific instances as noted on Page 22).
• A character may have one each of the following spells that carries overs from scenario to scenario: continual flame, masterwork transformation, secret chest, and secret page.

Special Materials in the CRB:
Dragonhide (not Always Allowed)
Iron, Cold
Silver, Alchemical

Did a search in the PRD for Ironwood, mostly referenced in NPCs who cast it as part of their tactics, and how it affects a couple of special materials, whipwood and greenwood.

Spells in the CRB:

Spellcasting cost:
6th level spell, 11th level caster: 660 gp plus the cost of the Focus, the wood to be transformed.

Grand Lodge

Attack Roll wrote:
An attack roll represents your attempt to strike your opponent on your turn in a round. When you make an attack roll, you roll a d20 and add your attack bonus. (Other modifiers may also apply to this roll.) If your result equals or beats the target's Armor Class, you hit and deal damage.

No reference to "weapon" in here.

Touch Attacks wrote:
Some attacks completely disregard armor, including shields and natural armor—the aggressor need only touch a foe for such an attack to take full effect. In these cases, the attacker makes a touch attack roll (either ranged or melee). When you are the target of a touch attack, your AC doesn't include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. All other modifiers, such as your size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) apply normally. Some creatures have the ability to make incorporeal touch attacks. These attacks bypass solid objects, such as armor and shields, by passing through them. Incorporeal touch attacks work similarly to normal touch attacks except that they also ignore cover bonuses. Incorporeal touch attacks do not ignore armor bonuses granted by force effects, such as mage armor and bracers of armor.

Again, no reference to "weapon" in here.

Melee Attacks wrote:
With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent within 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.) Some melee weapons have reach, as indicated in their descriptions. With a typical reach weapon, you can strike opponents 10 feet away, but you can't strike adjacent foes (those within 5 feet).

Well, a reference to weapon here, but more of a generic statement, not that all melee attacks are made with weapons.

Ranged Attacks wrote:
With a ranged weapon, you can shoot or throw at any target that is within the weapon's maximum range and in line of sight. The maximum range for a thrown weapon is five range increments. For projectile weapons, it is 10 range increments. Some ranged weapons have shorter maximum ranges, as specified in their descriptions.

Again, a reference to weapons, but much of it doesn't apply to spells, since most spells that are ranged have a defined-by-caster-level maximum range, and no range increments.

Shooting or Throwing into a Melee wrote:
If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll. Two characters are engaged in melee if they are enemies of each other and either threatens the other. (An unconscious or otherwise immobilized character is not considered engaged unless he is actually being attacked.)

Weapon referenced, but, per previously cited, you can make ranged attacks with things that, apparently, aren't weapons.

Spells and Critical Hits wrote:
A spell that requires an attack roll can score a critical hit. A spell attack that requires no attack roll cannot score a critical hit. If a spell causes ability damage or drain (see Special Abilities), the damage or drain is doubled on a critical hit.

Explicit rules including spells that make attack rolls in being able to make critical hits. No reference to spells as weapons, though.

Touch Attacks wrote:
Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage. Your opponent's AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally.

So, touch attacks can critical, again, but are not necessarily weapons, since it doesn't mention weapons at all.

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat wrote:
Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn.

Restatement of ranged attacks provoke AoOs, but nothing saying they are ranged weapons, nor wether they take the penalty on firing into melee, or suffer from cover or concealment.

Dealing Nonlethal Damage wrote:
Certain attacks deal nonlethal damage. Other effects, such as heat or being exhausted, also deal nonlethal damage.

So, not all damage comes from attacks, per this rules snippet.

Soft Cover wrote:
Creatures, even your enemies, can provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC. However, such soft cover provides no bonus on Reflex saves, nor does soft cover allow you to make a Stealth check.

So, this implies that cover applies against all ranged attacks, with a weapon or otherwise.

Nothing that says all attacks are made with weapons, though...

Grand Lodge

TomG wrote:
Ranged attack rolls are only for weapons.


Grand Lodge

shroudb wrote:

caster level is defined in the magic section of the crb.

all spellcasting classes have a caster level usually equal to their class level.

the "usually" there, i assume because it makes sense, is in regards to paladin/ranger who their actual class lists it as class level-3.

so, for a non-spellcasting class, the caster level is non existant (not 0)

the issue here, is if an sla makes a class a "spellcaster".

my take on this is no.
but it's true that there are no written rules about that, and sla's always use weird mechanics. So far, what the PDT restricts, seems to imply that indeed, having an sla doesn't make one a "spellcaster".

SLAs don't necessarily use a specific class's levels to determine their caster level, some of them use character level as caster level instead.

Do you use an SLA that emulates a specific spell with a specific caster level, as determined by the source of the SLA? Emphatically, yes.

Can you use having an SLA as a prerequisite for something that requires you be able to cast spells of a specific level? No. E.G. An Aasimar cannot use their Daylight SLA as supplying a prerequisite of being able to cast 2nd level spells.

Can you use an SLA as a prerequisite for something that requires the spell the SLA is based off of? Yes. E.G An Aasimar can use their Daylight SLA to qualify for a feat (or other item) that would require the ability to cast Daylight as a prerequisite.

So, if an SLA uses your levels in a normally non-spellcasting class as your Caster Level for it, do you have a caster level from that class? Yes, for that SLA.

Magical Knack wrote:
You were raised, either wholly or in part, by a magical creature, either after it found you abandoned in the woods or because your parents often left you in the care of a magical minion. This constant exposure to magic has made its mysteries easy for you to understand, even when you turn your mind to other devotions and tasks. Pick a class when you gain this trait—your caster level in that class gains a +2 trait bonus as long as this bonus doesn't raise your caster level above your current Hit Dice.

So, for the limited area where your non-spellcaster class is used to determine a caster level, Magical Knack would apply, as long as it doesn't raise your effective caster level in that class above your total hit dice/character level.

Believe me, there are a lot of stronger traits than Magical Knack, especially for a Rogue. Like the traits that can raise your Fortitude and Will saving throws, where a Rogue is going to be more vulnerable.

Consider: Raising your caster level, by at most 2, for a cantrip and a 1st level spell (usable 3 times a day, IIRC), or an unlimited +1 bonus that stacks to your Fortitude or Will saving throws.

Also, did you know that there is a feat that can allow a Rogue to use a spellbook to change the spells that they use with Minor and Major Magic?

Grand Lodge

Scythia wrote:
Mulgar wrote:
Scythia wrote:
Joesi wrote:
Scythia wrote:
Even though there's no rule basis against it, I dislike when a character has enough pearls to make a necklace.
One could make a necklace with a single object. Are you talking 5? 10? 20?

I'm saying that I have a houserule limiting a caster to one pearl per level.

I personally dislike the idea of these pearls becoming an all purpose "buy your way out of limited spell slots".

Why not? If I expend my wealth on the item it means I'm not buying something else. They also get expensive rapidly. All they really let me do is remember a wider variety of spells since I no longer have to remember multiple copies of the different offensive spells.
Because Wizards don't have much else to buy. They aren't buying armor, they probably aren't buying weapons, they really only need one stat item. If allowed to use as many pearls as they can afford, they could sink that excess into recasting spell slots.

The pearls scale up in the same price range as armor enhancements.

Wizards still are probably going to be buying non-armor defensive items.

Do you object to them buying (or crafting!) wands or staves of their spells?

Grand Lodge

As OilHorse said, mithral for your chain shirt is not a bad idea.
In place of the Headband of Vast Intelligence, there is a variant of it that actually can, with the better versions of it, grant the ability to Fly at will, the Headband of Aerial Agility.

Headband of Aerial Agility
Price Varies; Aura moderate transmutation; CL 8th; Weight —
+2 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 4,500 gp; +4 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 42,000 gp; +6 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 81,000 gp
This headband is decorated with feathers from a number of colorful birds. It grants boons to flying magic, and more powerful versions grant the power of flight. The wearer of a headband of aerial agility +2 treats his caster level as if it were one level higher when casting spells or creating extracts that grant flight. A headband of aerial agility +4 gains the same benefits and, on command, grants the wearer the ability to fly (as the fly spell) three times per day. A headband of aerial agility +6 functions like a +4 version, but the headband grants the ability to use fly at will.

All versions also grant the wearer an enhancement bonus to one mental ability score (Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma) of +2, +4, or +6. Treat this as a temporary ability bonus for the first 24 hours the headband is worn. This bonus is chosen when the headband is created and cannot be changed. If the headband grants a bonus to Intelligence, it also grants skill ranks as a headband of vast intelligence, usually granting ranks in Fly, Acrobatics, or Knowledge (planes).

Cost varies
+2 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 2,250 gp; +4 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 21,000 gp; +6 Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma 40,500 gp
Craft Wondrous Item, Extend Spell, fly

Grand Lodge

Cheburn wrote:
Pearl of Power wrote:
This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells (clerics, druids, rangers, paladins, and wizards). Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast. The spell must be of a particular level, depending on the pearl. Different pearls exist for recalling one spell per day of each level from 1st through 9th and for the recall of two spells per day (each of a different level, 6th or lower).[Emphasis added]

It entirely depends on how you parse the boldfaced sentence. I strongly believe that "once per day" is a property of the Pearl, and does not refresh when you change possessors. The rule states "Once per day on command," not "Once per day per possessor on command."

The other reading (1/possessor/day), well, some people will always try to read any rule in the most advantageous way possible ... and then will extremely loudly claim that it's the only possible way to rule it by RAW. Best of luck if that's the group you're playing in, though if you're GMing it, I'd stick to your guns and cite Rule 0 if need be.

Nope, I am the GM, and I rule it as one use per pearl per day, not once per "possessor". That interpretation floored me, actually, and I think I may have been ... impolite ... in my response saying that once per pearl per day was a no go for my campaign.

Now, you can use it yourself, or lend it to someone else to use, but it is only usable once per day. Makes it something that martials might buy, to encourage the casters to use their spells for the martial's benefit. Or one spellcaster lending it to another, as they might have a more advantageous spell to recall for the current circumstances.

@Scythia: One per level? Seriously? That runs into lamer territory, IMO. A plain vanilla Magus can use their Spell Recall more times to do the same thing in a day, and that is without using something like wyroot...

On a more serious note, I am a bit ... confused by certain spell interactions with the PoP, namely for a prepared caster using up a slot for a spontaneous castings, Cleric with CLW, or Druid with SNA, for instance.

If they use their spontaneous casting ability, then use a pearl for that slot, do they remember the spell they sacrificed, or do they recall the spell they cast spontaneously in that slot?

Grand Lodge

azhrei_fje wrote:
kinevon wrote:
If you are playing an AP in Campaign Mode (non-PFS PCs, credit being assigned to PFS PCs), there is absolutely no requirement for the PCs actually played to be, in any fashion, PFS legal.

That's very interesting; I didn't know that and the GM for this game may not either.

I think the plan is to introduce the group to PFS in general though, including the types of rules restrictions that will come up, and I think that's why PFS rules were being used for the AP. AFAIK, anyway.

Entirely possible. I know the campaign I am running of RotRL is in a mode similar to PFS Core, with non-Core items by request.

From the Guide, Page 31:
Alternatively, if you are participating in a Pathfinder Adventure Path with an ongoing group undertaking the entire, six-book campaign, you may receive credit for playing the sanctioned portions of the adventure as if you had played a pregenerated character. In this case, GMs running the Adventure Path are not bound to the rules of the Pathfinder Society Organized Play campaign (such as 20 point buy, unavailability of hero points, etc...) when running the campaign or the sanctioned portion of the adventure. Pathfinder Society characters and characters from an ongoing Adventure Path campaign may not play in the same adventure.

Grand Lodge

Daniel Myhre wrote:
Then yeah, they could get it as ironwood studded leather, which is wood instead of metal. Thus be able o wear that.

By the time they could do that, it wouldn't really be worth it.

6th level spell, so 11th level caster.
11 days per casting, as it isn't permanent.

By that point, they could probably have a dragonhide breastplate or better, and magically enhanced, to boot.

Grand Lodge

Daniel Myhre wrote:
Kyshkumen wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
It depends. Can you make your studded leather out of alternate metals? I've never seen anyone do that (at least for PFS). If you can do that then it's vulnerable to rust. If you can't do that then you're fine and it's not rusted. It's either leather or metal. In this case I'd have to say it's leather.
But does it not count as metal armor when it comes to druids?
I believe it counts as leather armor for druids. Or if it does, you can get ironwood studded leather and it no longer counts as metal.

Nope, it counts as illegal for Druids. From the PRD for Druids in the CRB:

"Druids are proficient with light and medium armor but are prohibited from wearing metal armor; thus, they may wear only padded, leather, or hide armor."

Studded Leather is from the CRB, and, unlike the longbow/composite longbow text, does not include any text saying that they are treated the same as each other.

Grand Lodge

azhrei_fje wrote:
Regarding finding a new GM... We're going to play the RotRL anniversary AP and the Gm wants to play PFS legal PCs as much as possible so that certs can be earned by other characters that the players might have. I don't play Cons so I'm not that concerned, and the GM of the AP does have some leeway, but part of the goal is to help familiarize players with the PFS environment so without a clearcut way of making the argument, it'll probably be a no-go.

Just to answer this part of your post, as that may affect your GM's thoughts:

If you are playing an AP in Campaign Mode (non-PFS PCs, credit being assigned to PFS PCs), there is absolutely no requirement for the PCs actually played to be, in any fashion, PFS legal.

Indeed, it has been discussed, and confirmed by the then Campaign Coordinator, that an AP run in Campaign Mode doesn't even need to be run using the Pathfinder rules set, as long as the spirit of the AP, and more-or-less the same events, are there, so you can understand the stories, and have yours understood, by other people who have played the AP.

The discussion in the relevant thread got a little far afield, IIRC, with a discussion on whether using a diceless system was too far away...

Grand Lodge

Also remember that it would only work for one hit on a melee weapon.

Grand Lodge

TomG wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
... The question now is, are spells with attack rolls considered weapon-like to also benefit. If not that means that the penalties for aiming at someone in combat wouldn't apply since those are for weapons.

Yes, feats apply—as do penalties—on spells that require attack rolls.

It's an "attack roll" (often, a "ranged attack roll"). You add your Base Attack Bonus, Dex bonus, size bonus/penalty, and everything else. Just like it says in the "Combat" section under attack rolls (which, you'll noticed, is what is used for "weapons").

Point blank shot, precise shot, and the like, apply.

Sure, explicitly to ray spells. To spells that list as a weapon, like Acid Arrow.

How about spells that make RTA that are not rays, nor have weapon-like names?
Acid Splash, as an example.

Also, does using the Reach metamagic make a touch spell into something weapon-like for the purpose of PBS, etc.?

Which is probably why the language used in the Ranged Tactics Toolbox is so explicit for the Channel Ray feat.

Grand Lodge ****

Dave Baker wrote:

Nowhere in the rules governing the Core campaign does it say you can do this. PFS rules are such that if it doesn't say you can, then you can't.

What evidence do you have to back your position?

In this argument, just because a implies b, it does not follow that b implies a. Unless it specifically states such in the rule. Which i do not see, lest I'm missing something.

Actually, Dave, the question seems to be if access to the spell grants access to the spell.

Addendum: If you somehow got to play an Alchemist in Core, through an unspecified unlock, and that Alchemist PC got access to purchase Tangleburn Bags on a chronicle, could that Alchemist craft said items, or could they only purchase them?

Grand Lodge ****

You Only Die Twice, when I played it, was a real romp. But that may have been the party make-up affecting things.

Grand Lodge ****

Andrew Klein wrote:
Daniel, those are not weapon groups. See the Fighter class for what the Weapon Groups are. They are similar weapons grouped together (swords, hammers, bows, etc.) for the purpose of specific feats and powers.

Specifically for use with the Fighter's Weapon Training ability, or things that work in a similar fashion.

So, in an example which has been floating around for a while, there is an exotic weapon, called the fauchard, from the Classic Horrors Revisited book, as a Derro weapon. It is a reach weapon, with Trip keyword, two-handed exotic weapon.

Is it a polearm? Two-handed reach weapon, yes. Polearm, not specified.

Exotic Weapons Cost Dmg (S) Dmg (M) Critical Range Weight Type Special
Two-Handed Melee Weapons
Fauchard 14 gp 1d8 1d10 18–20/×2 — 10 lbs. S reach, trip

Fauchard: This polearm is similar to a glaive, being a curved blade affixed to the end of a pole. Unlike a glaive, though, the cutting edge of a fauchard is along the concave side, causing the blade to resemble that of a sickle or scythe. The resulting weapon is more awkward to utilize (and as such is an exotic weapon), but its increased threat range over a glaive and the ability to trip foes make it a dangerous weapon in the hands of a skilled user.

The fluff says polearm, but not defined as part of the Polearm weapon group....

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nimrandir wrote:
I like how you assume that our characters aren't going to die before hitting level twelve, Andrew. It's adorable. ;-)

I don't think he makes that assumption, just that, for most PCs, dying after a certain point is little more than a speed bump.

I am fairly sure that all my Level 12 and higher PCs have died at least once along the way.

Kinevon, Fighter (Polearm Master) has been BoLed at least once there, too.
Callarek, Fighter with a longbow, has died several times, including early on in one SPecial, where he got raised before the next Act by one of his party members.
Bruno, Fighter (Lore Warden)/Magus (Kensai), has been down multiple times.

Grand Lodge

If you have acxcess to it, Seeker of Secrets includes flawed or cracked Ioun stones, and there are flawed ones, for 200 gp, that give a +1 competence bonus to a specific skill, or one for 800 gp that gives a +2 competence bonus that can be changed at dawn to a different skill each day.

So, Craft (x) while crafting, then Perception, say, while adventuring...

Grand Lodge ****

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
Completely empathize with you, Kinevon. I've been using file folders but that's clumsy at best and the weakness of the system was evident at GenCon. Probably going to have to shift to thin binders or something for the next big convention...

My setup shows me which PCs are, more-or-less, in which tier.

Two-pocket folder? 1st to 4th level or so.
1/2" binder? 5th-9th or so
1" binder? 10th +

I still have low level PCs whose folder is overstuffed, like my Dhampir PC, or other boon races; my Thassilonian WIzard PCs, who need the rules for Thassilonian Specialist, a copy of the chronicle that unlocked it, and any non-Core spells in their books.

And I tend to try and limit the number of PCs in my rolling (dying) backpack to the one I signed up with, and one or two possible alts, depending on tier.

For my highest level PC, there are no alts for him, he is 16th level, and my next highest PCs are 12th level.
1x16, 2x12, 2x8, 2x5, and a bunch lower level. Lots of evergreen credits, so lots of 1-3 XP PCs.

Back on topic, what I carry with me in physical book format:
I might carry one of the splat books I received during the time period where I was a subscriber, but I have them all as PDFS, and both a tablet and a smartphone to pull them up on.
Printed out, usually, is the scenario or module, any monster stat blocks, possible magic item cheat sheets (did that for Race to Seeker's Folly), chronicles, sign-in sheet, combat pad, maps, etc.
I recently trimmed my dice carrying to just my primary rolling dice, and my different colored crit confirmation dice.
My character folios, one for me with my GM card in it, and one in plastic, as I misplaced mine while I was at PaizCon a couple of years ago, and bought it for rerolls there... Oddly, I don't use my rerolls that often.

Grand Lodge ****

Codanous wrote:
kinevon wrote:
Finlanderboy wrote:
I have a skull my monk carries in his hand for demoralizing.
"Alas, poor Yorick, I knew him well."

"Mauahhaha right before I ripped his head off his body!"

[dice=intimidate] 1d20 + 5 + 2(because of the scary skull)

"Alas, poor Codanous, I have 16 hit dice, and a positive Wisdom bonus...."

Kinevon is a Fighter (Polearm Master) 15/Unchained Rogue 1, and I always have at least a 12 Wisdom on my PCs, even if they are not Divine casters.

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Additional note: He should be able to get into his wireless router using an Ethernet connection, log in as admin, and check or even change the wireless password. Bring a LAN cable and your laptop, and offer to fix it yourself, for him. ;)

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Daniel Myhre wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:


If something comes up during the game its much faster to search for it on someone's phone.

Not an option for me. Local store where PFS stuff is held at has a free wifi connection. The store owner can't remember what the password is. He THINKS he knows the password, but I've tried every single variation of what he claims it is... including L33t Sp33k. Still no dice. As such I either need the PDF on hand, or a physical copy on hand.

But yeah, other then CRB you shouldn't need too much with you. Maybe the Ultimate Equipment Guide and a Bestiary or three. GM Guide is a good one to keep on hand too. Otherwise it's up to your players to provide a copy of any Additional Resource content they're using. They can't be bothered to supply that to you, or can't verify they have a PFS Legal copy of the book (IE either physical copy or watermarked PDF) then it's within your rights to say "no". And if they don't have a PFS Legal copy of the book in question, it's your duty to say "Hell no".

Well, maybe phrase it more politely. But same sentiment.

Just an FYI:

Smartphones typically don't need access to WiFi to access things like Google Drives or such. They need it to download applications and application updates. And, indeed, if someone has a typical smartphone, they can also use it as a hotspot for someone else to be able to use WiFi to connect.

At the store I typically play at, none of the WiFi networks visible are unsecured, none of them are accessible to the players or GMs, so...

I used to have a Hot Spot device, but my carrier sold out, and the new carrier is discontinuing that network. :( I recently upgraded my cheap flip phone to an actual smartphone with 4G, and use it as a hotspot, when I need to, for my tablet.

And someone with the PRD, Archives of Nethys, and the D20PFSRD bookmarked can get to them quickly, if needed.

Grand Lodge ****

VampByDay wrote:
FLite wrote:
The whale got a lot of "wait, you mean really a whale? We are escaping *inside* a *dead* *whale*?"
I gave each of my players a special note on their sheets that if they got the ship boon (from the field guide) that they could instead have the whale (with the same mechanical stats as the ship.) I got the VC (who was playing) to sign it.

There are actual mechanical stats for the ship vanity?

Grand Lodge ****

Mike Lindner wrote:
Daniel Myhre wrote:

No clue... But you know what I find rather annoying? I bought the Advanced race Guide on Friday evening. Saturday while waiting for the convention session I was joining to get started I used my "you haven't played at level 2 yet" rebuild to make my character a kitsune, after showing the GM I do have a legal copy of the book and letting him read the entry. Part of the rebuild was adding an archtype. The GM too has the Occult Adventurers book and is familiar with the archtype, so I'm good. But this means I had to print off a couple pages so I can continue playing my kineticist. You know, race info and archtype info.

Okay, fine. Well I do have a backup character I wanted to get started on playing too. So I applied my aasimar race boon to that one and tweaked stats a bit. I'm good, or so I thought. Remembered I'd have to print off any additional resources I used on the character. That's 3 pages from Blood of Angels for race, alternate heritage, and an aasimar social trait, another 2 pages for my archtype... Ran out of ink and paper before I can print off the eight pages needed for the Spiritualist class.

Damn it! I was planning on playing that spiritualist in the next PFS session. But I can't since I don't have a printout of the class's info :(

If you have a way to access the PDF electronically during the game, then that is sufficient. As I understand the requirements, you only need to have a physical copy of your character sheet, not everything from the additional resources list that you use.

Correct. I understand the "Print it once, and done." point of view, I try to do that too. Which is why I have to replace my toner cartridges all-too-often. And why my PCs, past a certain level, tend to wind up moving from a two-pocket folder into a 1/2" or 1" binder... Some of them (My wizard, for instance, because his spells come from all over) earlier than others (My plain vanilla fighter-with-a-bow is mainly Core...)

Grand Lodge ****

Actually, I am having a reporting issue, sort of, in that I seem to have hit some sort of limits in the reporting system, and I am not sure if the more recent sessions I have reported have been registered in the system or not.

Partly what I get for using the same event since I originally created it, in 2010, I think.

It won't let me set the number of sessions higher than 64, which it reverts to when I go back in.

It doesn't show all the session dates I have added.

So it is difficult to tell if they are all reported or not.

And difficult to go back through and make sure that the module/AP reporting issue from a while back has been fixed for my reported stuff. I tried to fix the ones I could, but it is hard to validate back-and-forth for the sessions I didn't get GM PC credit for, when they aren't as visible as the ones linked to my own PCs.

Edit: I think it is showing the correct number of tables credit, 124, but I am not 100% sure that is the "real" total...

Grand Lodge ****

Finlanderboy wrote:
I have a skull my monk carries in his hand for demoralizing.

"Alas, poor Yorick, I knew him well."

Grand Lodge ****

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
captnchuck67 wrote:

Okay I am going to sound like a dope but I want to do this correctly and for the lowest cost.

I want to purchase a MW cold iron weapon. How do I do the math?
Do I add the MW cost then multiple for t he Cold Iron or the reverse?

We are all learning in life.

My understanding is you get the cold iron part first (as a construction material) and then the masterwork represents the forging of it.

It's a bit confusing, though, because the masterwork part for most other unusual construction materials is 'cooked in' to the price of getting the item of that material...

Not on all of them.

List of Pathfinder Special Materials:
Adamantine - Yes
Darkwood - Sort of, in that it requires the item to be masterwork, then add the cost per pound of darkwood to the masterwork item cost.
Dragonhide - only tangentially, but it also explicitly increases the masterwork cost.
Cold Iron - not masterwork, only doubles base cost. And costs an extra 2,000 gp to add magical enhancements to it, assuming it was masterwork to begin with. Just once, not every time, though.
Mithral - Yes
Alchemical silver - No
Darkleaf cloth - Yes
Wyroot - Uncertain, but not PFS legal.
Whipwood - Unspecified, but not PFS legal.
Angelskin - Yes, but not PFS legal.
Blood Crystal - Unspecified
Eel Hide - Yes
Elysian Bronze - Unspecified
Fire-Forged Steel - Yes
Frost-Forged Steel - Yes
Greenwood - Sort of, in that it requires the item to be masterwork, then add the cost per pound of greenwood to the masterwork item cost.
Griffon Mane - Unspecified
Living Steel - Unspecified, but not PFS legal
Viridium - Unspecified
Bone - No
Bronze - No
Gold - No, it looks like, nothing explicitly specified.
Obsidian - No
Stone - No.

These are the special materials form the PRD, not from all the splatbooks.

I know, off the top of my head, because I use it, that the silversheen material from the Qadira (I think, might be Osirion) sourcebook includes masterwork cost in its price.

Grand Lodge

My Self wrote:
kinevon wrote:

Iron body because you no longer need food or water while under its affects.

Gaseous form because it allows you to go places you shouldn't, like follow a trickle of water or a root system to its source.

And if they get a lot of money, making food or water would allow them to rapidly break WbL, I would suspect.

Iron body lasts 1 min/level. Don't tell me you burnt an 8th level spell slot for those effects.

Didn't notice the duration, but it still breaks things, in some ways. Then again, most spells at that level break things.

Gaseous Form is a lot lower level, and even with the slow speed, you can still get places you shouldn't. See the module Dragon's Demand for an example of that.

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

On the electronic side: Organize!

Keep books in "logical" groups on your iPad, so you can drill down to find the right book quickly.

I use my Google Drive, and a Pathfinder folder, with various subfolders in it, like Rulebooks, Companions (player companions), Campaign (campaign settings), PFS, etc.

My PFS folder contains CharGen (character generation stuff), Scenarios (subsfolders by season, the a folder per scenario), Modules (Subfolder per module,possible subfolders for tokens and such for online); Quests, etc.

Makes life quicker for me. "Where do I find info on Varisia? In my Campaign folder, in the Varisia subfolder, or maybe in the Magnimar subfolder, if that is where the PCs are."

Grand Lodge

Be very careful with the Die Hard feat, since it is, IMO, a really, really good way to get to dead reliably.

If you are still standing with negative hit points, you remain a viable target for an enemy to attack. And it doesn't take much to go from -1 (or lower) to negative Con in a single hit.

If half-orc, you get Ferocity, which is equivalent to Die Hard, too.

Grand Lodge

Under the theme of increasing carrying capacity, there is those overpowered Floating Disks, too.

1 to 50 of 4,857 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.