Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

kagenotora's page

Goblin Squad Member. Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. 69 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

buying one period.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Today, we had a big argument at my table about the meaning of the supplies needed to provide long-term care with the heal skill our gm asked for 2 charges of healer's kit as you might imagine the one with the skill said forget it in a more colorful manner sparkling a 2hours argument . Is there any ruling about that issue?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mirwalk wrote:
Vincent Takeda wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:

ALSO FAIL. See above!

I am eager to be proven wrong! But I really don't think the dual shield fighting style is something that deserves a place in the game as a viable player option.

Call it the 'shield dervish' or somethin. Bash with the flat side, punch with the edge.

Buhlman would do it. Rule of cool man. Rule of cool.

Found this on another thread. see the guy with two shields in action.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKv1lzePA6M

okay that can be described as cool...


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

at this point you could send September subs with august's for those of us that are still waiting XD yeah yeah i'll keep dreaming and shut up


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Liz Courts wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
i second Hawkmoon269's question for those of us with a pre-order added to our subscriptions shipment will the pre-order be moved back to the sidecart or might it stuck the shipment till September? (got one added to my subs shipment by CS last week because of an error on my part and that worries me and i'm probably not the only one)
I'm pretty sure that the Customer Service Dire Carebear Manager has a plan for y'all. :-)

don't doubt it, Paizo CS never failed me and i never saw an angry customer's rant anywhere saying they failed him/her so i'll keep faith.

on a side note one of my friends wanted to join the PSACG but put that on hold cause there's no paladin class deck, any chance we get a idea of when other classes' decks are gonna come out (for the paladin i guess worst case scenario that would be start of season 1 since it's WotR)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

i second Hawkmoon269's question for those of us with a pre-order added to our subscriptions shipment will the pre-order be moved back to the sidecart or might it stuck the shipment till September? (got one added to my subs shipment by CS last week because of an error on my part and that worries me and i'm probably not the only one)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Indeed! Thank you !
Ps: what's funshine?a furry version of sunshine ?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi, i messed up when placing an order (Order 3231378) i meant to place in my sidecart and not shipped on it's own. can it still be fixed?

thanks for your time anyway.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi,
Just a quick question here, does Valeros power to recharge instead of discarding when playing weapons work on the discard of Mokmurian's club (discarding an other card to increase the combat check)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

kitsune fighter and take a lot/all kitsune feats plus skill focus disguise and the one that gives +2 disguise and an other skill (don't remember which one) and tada! you're anyone and everyone and get the cool trick of full attack on a charge^^ pimp your sense motive and bluff and use smoke bombs to impersonate your enemies in combat (sense motive and bluff to copy what they're saying as they're saying it) if you manage to pimp your Cha you can even take the 2nd to 9th tails and have some cool spells for more mayhem!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

i can think of one source with a hero that could be discribed as a Bloodrager. (not at the start through) a manga called Negima, exept the "rage" is fueled by fusing/eating an offensive spell rather than unleashing it at the end of the casting/incantation.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Krolak wrote:
Here's the crazy thing about Evangelist's Aligned Class ability: it doesn't state that the class has to be a core or base class. So, conceivably, you could be Wizard 3, Cleric 3, take 1 level of Mystic Theurge, and THEN start on Evangelist--choosing Mystic Theurge for your Aligned Class. And this is how you end up double-dipping (or is that triple-dipping?), in a sense, on class abilities.

actually this create a tiny problem: what if you use Aligned Class on the Exalted or Sentinel prestige class? you get boons for both classes?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Karui Kage wrote:

He does? I don't disbelieve you, but how do you figure? If we assume Kensai 5 that goes into Evangelist, then at 8th level (5/3), he unlocks Fighter Training. At that point, his magus levels -3 (which include evangelist) count as fighter levels for purposes of feats, so he's essentially a level 4 fighter (as he has 7 levels of virtual magus by this point). A fighter at the same progression would be Fighter 5, Evangelist 3, and treated as Fighter 7 for purposes of feats. Right?

Still curious about the Exalted questions though, but this is interesting as well.

If i remember correctly the kensai considers is full kensai levels as fighter's.(if it's not that archetype i'm 90% sure there's one)

The problem is RAW, the fighter as no class ability that make him qualify for feats that require fighter levels, unlike some archetypes, so a stubborn RAW fanatic GM could rule that evangelist-1 levels don't stack with fighter levels for those.

As for the exalted maybe the expended portfolio was meant to make exalted levels stack for the propose of domains from the selected divine spell-caster class whose spell-caster level increase with exalted level? would certainly fit the name better.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Karui Kage wrote:

I know that the PDFs are still going out, so my questions may not be answerable by everyone. Still, my players and I are very curious on a few of these and would love opinions.

================================================================

1A. A Cleric of Calistria (with the Charm and Trickery domains) decides to go into the Exalted prestige class. At Cleric 5/Exalted 6, she gains access to her second boon, improving her Dazing Touch into Stunning Touch! However, the Touch itself scales off of Cleric level, meaning that at 11th level, she still can't use it on anyone higher than 5 HD. Or can she?

The Divine Boon ability in Exalted says "When a divine boon grants a spell-like ability, the exalted's caster level for the spell-like ability equals her total character level". Stunning Touch is, as listed, a Supernatural ability. However, it modifies a Spell-Like Ability. As Stunning Touch is one of the three main boons this class gets, shouldn't it scale with the Exalted levels (plus Cleric)?

I think that by RAW, this is a flat no, but RAI... maybe yes? Question 1B touches more on this.

================================================================

1B. Here's some logic to why the Stunning Touch (Su) ability needs to scale with character level, instead of cleric. A fighter (of Calistria) could take the feat Deific Obedience if he had the requisite ranks and worshipped her. At 16 HD, he'd gain the second boon. The boon states that if the user does not have Dazing Touch, then he gains it 3+Wis/day. However, as the ability itself is based off of Cleric level, this is completely useless to the fighter unless he's able to treat his character level as the cleric level.

Again, this seems like it should be intended, but it is not at all allowed by pure RAW.

================================================================

2. Still in the Exalted prestige class. The Expanded Portfolio ability allows the character to take an additional domain of their god, getting full use...

you forgot the strangest result of the Evangelist, RAW an evangelist kensai(or any archetype that have a class feature that count it's levels as fighter levels for feats requirements) have more fighter levels for feats than an evangelist fighter.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

delivery started in France it seems since i just got mine :D


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

dunno if it's been translated in English but Metal Factor is quite the stealthy deadly meat grinder. here's why since i doubt it's available in anything else that french:
first it's space opera with a D6 success system
a campaign start with players having a shared pool of 50d6 and the gm with the same but empty. players can draw dice from that pool when they make test with many of them gaining additional effects (as well as additional drawback if you fail). fun part being each dice a player draw from their pool goes in the gm pool who can use them like a player does... or spend them to create catastrophic events even when the normally would have succeeded their test, of course the more he spend the worst the effects ^^, like a failure in the hyper-jump drive that makes you get out of hyper drive in an asteroid field... or in a sun :D

and since the players will use those dice in an hyper drive battle to enhance their piloting tests cause a single failure can wipe-out the whole team instantly... well you probably get the point ]:D

from more conventionnal games how about dark heresy? you'r always one shoot from death or irreversible debilitation.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
Hamatula Strike + Greater Grapple: does this mean that I could grapple more than once with the weapon or that I could grapple once with the weapon and once the normal way?

Hamatula Strike only lets you grapple once when you stick a foe with a piercing weapon. Greater Grapple won't increase this; your extra grapple check must be made normally.

kagenotora wrote:
Hamatula Strike + high critical threat range: the question was more along the way of if my weapon crit on lets say 15-20, does a roll of 15 on the grapple check (with the impaling weapon i mean) is a critical threat?(since the grapple check is to damage with the weapon)

The initial hit with the rapier functions normally, including its increased chance to do critical damage. Then, when you make the free grapple check Hamatula Strike allows, you roll that normally; the rapier's critical threat range doesn't impact that grapple check roll at all.

kagenotora wrote:

Hamatula Strike + feats that let you strike with more than one weapon at once: i was thinking of feats like:

Tiger Claws (Combat):

Again... all Hamatula Strike cares about is if you damage a foe with a piercing weapon. It doesn't care how you get that damage done, or how much it is. If you damage the foe, Hamatula Strike lets you make a grapple attempt. Combining grapples with other combat maneuvers might not make sense—you can't grapple a foe you push away from you or bull rush away from you, so if you use Tiger Claws to bull rush a foe out of your reach, the grapple stuff won't work at all because the foe is now out of reach. Not all feats work well together.

kagenotora wrote:

Hamatula Strike + Rapid Grappler: i think you confused rapid grappler with and other feat(or i didn't understood your anwser on gretter grapple) here is

rapid grappler::
It's a good idea to cite where the rules you're asking questions about are from, first of all. Chances are good that you're more familiar with where the rules you're asking...

Ok i think i finally understood Hamatula strike correctly: if i hit i can impale then on the next turn as a standard action i make a grapple check to maintain the grapple if i success i deal damage with the impaling weapon that's it, if i have greater grapple i'll be able to make an other grapple check but if i use it to damage my opponent i'll have to do it with a weapon allowed by grappling rules, is that it ?

btw rapid grappler came from Ultimate Combat, sorry i forgot to say that .

i don't know if the PC i had in mind would really be "Overspecialized", i was thinking of creating an absolutely gruesome fighting style thanks to hamatula strike feat, one where i'd make blood and gore fly with my bare hands ^^, and to make it more terrifying doing it with a female character with a sweet personality who'd still me smiling sweetly as she tear her enemies apart :D. well that was the idea.

thanks for your time and sorry to have bothered you ^^.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:


...
Hamatula Strike + Greater Grapple: When you get the chance to grapple a foe by using Hamatula Strike, you gain the extra +2 bonus on your grapple check granted by Greater Grapple. This counts as one of the 2 grapple checks you get to make in the round.
...
Hamatula Strike + high critical threat range: These two effects don't interact. Hamatula Strike only cares if you hit a foe in order to activate. It doesn't care if that hit is a regular hit or a critical hit; both are identical as far as Hamatula Strike cares.
...
Hamatula Strike + feats that let you strike with more than one weapon at once: See the Two-Weapon Fighting bit above. Once you grapple a foe, you can't grapple more foes. Grapple is generally a one grapple at a time thing. If you choose to grapple a new foe, you release the previous one.
...
Hamatula Strike + Rapid Grappler: Doesn't interact at all. Hamatula Strike does not allow you to make a grapple check to maintain a hold, and that's what Rapid Grappler augments.
...

First thanks for your time and insights. just a few more questions since it seems I was to vague on some ^^ and one cause I want to be sure of understanding your answer. edit: plus one for a feat you seem to confused with an other.

(For the ranged thingy it didn't shock me because the archer fighter archetype can grapple with his arrows ^^)

Hamatula Strike + Greater Grapple: does this mean that I could grapple more than once with the weapon or that I could grapple once with the weapon and once the normal way?

Hamatula Strike + high critical threat range: the question was more along the way of if my weapon crit on lets say 15-20, does a roll of 15 on the grapple check (with the impaling weapon i mean) is a critical threat?(since the grapple check is to damage with the weapon)

Hamatula Strike + feats that let you strike with more than one weapon at once: i was thinking of feats like:

Tiger Claws (Combat):

You can sacrifice multiple attacks to make a single
devastating strike.
Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Tiger Style,
base attack bonus +6 or monk level 5th.
Benefit: While you are using the Tiger Style feat and have
both hands free, you can use a full-round action to make a
single unarmed strike with both hands. Use your highest
base attack bonus, rolling unarmed strike damage for each
hand separately and multiplying both if you score a critical
hit. If you use Power Attack in conjunction with this attack,
can add half your Strength bonus to one of the damage
rolls. If you hit, you can attempt a bull rush maneuver
with a +2 bonus on the combat maneuver check. This bull
rush attempt provokes no attack of opportunity from your
opponent, but you cannot move with that opponent if your
bull rush is successful.

edit:
Hamatula Strike + Rapid Grappler: i think you confused rapid grappler with and other feat(or i didn't understood your anwser on gretter grapple) here is

rapid grappler::

Benefit: Whenever you use Greater Grapple to successfully
maintain a grapple as a move action, you can then spend a
swift action to make a grapple combat maneuver check.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi! while showing a feat from the cheliax companion to a friend i came upon this feat that i had completely forgotten:

Hamatula Strike (Combat):

You can catch your opponents on your weapon and hold
them in place.
Prerequisites: Improved Grapple, Strength 13, Base
Attack Bonus +7.
Benefit: Whenever you damage an opponent with a
piercing weapon, you can immediately make a grapple
check; success means the opponent is impaled on your
weapon and you both gain the grappled condition. While
the opponent is impaled, as an attack action you may make
a grapple check on your turn at a –4 penalty to damage the
opponent with your weapon, even if your weapon cannot
normally be used in a grapple.

and it gave me an idea for a "plan b character"(back up character for when my current one die in the gutter he's in), but i'm not sure exactly how this feat works with other feats like greater grapple and rapid grappler or vital strike / two weapon fighting, or even impaling critical, and with high critical threat weapon like rapiers.
edit: there's also feats that allow you to strike with more than one weapon at once(i'm thinking about the tiger claw feat from UC that let you hit with both hands with a single attack) and i'm also wondering about the penalty on grapple for each non-free hand. there's also feats like the turtle style that allow you to make a grapple check against someone who miss an attack against you, given the situation of an enemy that you're impaling that attacks you and miss can you use Hamatula Strike with that grappling riposte?

Also the feat don't restrict to melee hits can this be used to make porcupines out of enemies with a bow or crossbow?
And how would the poor soul take out the arrows? Grapple check against the shooter's cmd?
Or simply automatic while having to use a standard action for each impaling arrow?
And with two weapon fighting with let's say armor spikes plus two one handed weapon could I impale the enemy with one weapon then the second then the armor spikes ?

sorry for the wall of text i can seem to organize my thoughts on this one :/

thanks for your time


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hello!
I'd like to ask a quick question regarding readied actions:
rules on the readied action give the possibility of making a 5 foot step as part of the readied action, and also tell that

Quote:
Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

let's say that a PC fight 1 on 1 an NPC and both are melee combatant without ranged options nor reach. what happens if those two following situation arise?

1) the PC win on initiative and ready an attack with the trigger if some one try to strike me i'll strike him. the NPC charge, the PC strike him as the npc stops to hit him and take a 5 foot step backward.

2) same but without the charge, meaning the npc take a move action to get at melee range and the PC strike and step back.

as long as the terrain allow it the pc will get strikes without getting it in return ? since the NPC had to move to get in melee range he wont be able to 5 foot step to follow the PC ...

thanks for your time.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Cojonuda wrote:

Hi James,

I am DM'ing Skull and Shackels and one the PC's is a female sorcerer who got pregnant after being raped. The sorcerer is looking for a way to have an abortion. Regardless of how the sorcerer does it, the PC is LE and follower of Gozreh.
In the party there is a Cleric of Gozreh (a devout worshiper).
1) If the PC gets an abortion what would Gozreh do? Will not allow the cleric to cast heal spells on the sorcerer?
2) In general, how Gods behave/act when the murder of innocent life takes place (this is how I intepret the situation) this not being a sacrifice to a diety.
3)Would there be an allignment shift once the PC gets an abortion?

The PC wanted someone to cast cure disease but I said being pregant is not a disease.

THX

from what i know only Pharasma is against abortion in any situation, in your case i'd rule the abortion a neutral act at worst and a good act eventually. i mean come on better the child not be born than be hated as a reminder of a rape (those tend to end up in child protection services after a lot of abuse in our world), and for the good part it's cause an half rotten pirate boat simply isn't a good environment to raise a child, even more true if we're speaking of the Wormwood.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
Pendin Fust wrote:

Thanks for the answers!

Unspeakable Futures - Is this because of time or legal type obligations?

Also...what is Unspeakable Futures?! Best I could find in a quick search was from a PaizoCon 2009 event referring to a group of 6 people in an apocalyptic Earth after the Great Old ones are now a fact.

Unspeakable Futures is a postapocalyptic d20 game I've been building and designing and periodically running adventures and campaigns in for over ten years. I first started building the game in the early days of 3.0, and it's been through a LOT of changes along the way. It's currently running on the Pathfinder rules.

Some day I'd love to work it up to a for-real book and get it published. But I don't want to do that until I have the time and resources to devote to it. Currently, those resources and that time is devoted to Paizo products.

if you do publish it i'd immediately buy it, been craving for a post-apo game other than vermin and Z-corps for quite some time!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi again!
here's a few questions that just surfaced in my head(mostly while reading ultimate equipment), items' and Special Abilities' text are within the spoliers at the end.

1- does a melee weapon with a range increment can be enchanted with Special Abilities that "can only be placed on a ranged weapon"?(some questions assume the answer is yes, mainly because of the Ricochet Hammer)

2- what's the range increment of for example a dagger when enchanted with Distance and thrown by a character with a belt of mighty hurling? 30 feet or 40 feet? (since i thought about it i keep imagining a warrior throwing a pilum/spear/light hammer at some on the first floor of the Eiffel Tower from the ground floor :p)

2- about Designating:
a) does it work for the one owning the weapon?
b) for a character that use a Designating dagger(or an other throwing weapon) i'm assuming the Designating Special Ability only work when it's thrown, am i correct?

3- now that i think about it, what about other Special Abilities like seeking?

4- would a rogue with a seeking dagger be able to sneak attack someone with concealment (like from dim light)?

5- about the ricochet hammer, what happen in the case of a, for example, level 11 fighter wielding 2 or 3 of them with those feats: rapid fire, two weapon fighting, improved two weapon fighting, greater two weapon fighting, quick draw? does he throw 3 hammers one coming back immediately and the other two will bounce up to 3 times each? or does he throw 2 hammers one bouncing 4 times the other 3 times? also can a ricochet hammer bounce back and forth between 2 targets?

6- about the Ring of Sustenance, doesn't the 2 hours thingy make a group of characters all wearing this ring (and their mounts too if they have any) effectively double their travel speed ? as they can make cycles of 8 hours walking 2x2 hours sleeping? or enabling them to craft as if not traveling each day while traveling if they have the right traveler's crafting kit?

DISTANCE:

This special ability can only be placed on a ranged weapon.
A distance weapon has double the range increment of other
weapons of its kind.

BELT OF MIGHTY HURLING, LESSER:

This thick leather belt is buckled with a bright bronze clasp
in the shape of a fist. When worn, it grants its wearer a +2
enhancement bonus to Strength and allows him to apply
his Strength modifier as a bonus on attack rolls instead
of his Dexterity modifier when making ranged attacks
with thrown weapons. Also, the range increment of any
weapon thrown by the wearer gains a +10-foot bonus.
Treat this Strength bonus as a temporary ability bonus for
the first 24 hours the belt is worn.

DESIGNATING, GREATER:

This special ability can only be placed on ranged weapons
or ammunition. Each time a ranged weapon or ammunition
with this ability hits a creature, its magic designates the
target. Allies gain a +4 morale bonus on melee attack rolls
and a +6 morale bonus on melee damage rolls against the
designated target for 1 round. Multiple successful shots
fired at the same target do not increase the bonuses or
their duration.

RING OF SUSTENANCE:

This ring continually provides its wearer with life-sustaining
nourishment. The ring also refreshes the body and mind; its
wearer only needs to sleep 2 hours per day to gain the benefit
of 8 hours of sleep. This allows a spellcaster that requires rest
to prepare spells to do so after only 2 hours, but does not
allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day.
The ring must be worn for a full week before it begins to
work. If it is removed, the owner must wear it for another
week to reattune it to himself.

RICOCHET HAMMER:

This +1 returning light hammer can strike multiple foes with a single throw. If the wielder has multiple attacks from a high base attack
bonus, he may throw the hammer so it rebounds off the first target to strike at a second target, and so on for each of the wielder’s additional attacks. The distance to each target adds to the total range of the weapon, and range penalties apply.
For example, a 6th-level dwarf fighter can throw the hammer using his +6 BAB at a target 20 feet away (within one range increment, no range penalty); if it hits, he ricochets it to attack using his +1 BAB at a second target 40 feet away from the first target (within three range increments for a –4 range penalty).
The hammer can only ricochet if it successfully hits a target; if it misses, it stops ricocheting, has no further attacks that round, and returns as normal for a weapon with the returning property. Because ricocheting attacks are treated as separate attacks, modifiers that only apply to one attack roll (such as true strike) only apply to the first attack and not the others. The ricochet attacks count as the wielder’s additional attacks for that round

Rapid Shot (Combat):

You can make an additional ranged attack.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Point-Blank Shot.
Benefit: When making a full-attack action with a ranged
weapon, you can fire one additional time this round. All of
your attack rolls take a –2 penalty when using
Rapid Shot.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
omitted.
..
...
Try using bad guys with calm emotions to turn off his rage? Or perhaps mind control effects to turn his luck on the party?

tried both already ^^ but since he call roll a saving throw it didn't produce the desired result :/ i'll just resign to my fate and let him have is fun by altering the encounters a bit to keep him busy while the others have fun ^^

ah there's one creature that give him a hard time ^^ the giant spider :D viva the web attack ^^

on an other subject here's 2 question on magical items with an command-word activation method:

1- can someone other than the wearer activate them if the command-word is known by the said person?

2- if multiples items or proprieties on the same item are linked to the same command-word will all of them activate at the same time if the said word is used ?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
omitted.

Solution to Problem One: I would simply stop having random encounters for a while. Going forward, keep an eye on the PCs levels but run adventure #2 normally. Once they reach the right level for adventure #3, then start that one even if they've not yet done everything in adventure #2. Kingmaker, more than most other Adventure Paths, works really well if you just let the PCs wander around like this and have the new adventures trigger whenever they hit the level "requirement."

Solution to Problem Two: Normally random elements tend to affect players adversely in the long run, but now and then, random elements do the exact opposite. If it's really and truly a run of good luck, it'll run out eventually, and when it does, it'll be EPIC!!! #3, then start that one even if they've not yet done everything in adventure #2. Kingmaker, more than most other Adventure Paths, works really well if you just let the PCs wander around like this and have the new adventures trigger whenever they hit the level "requirement."

Solution to Problem Two: Normally random elements tend to affect players adversely in the long run, but now and then, random elements do the exact opposite. If it's really and truly a run of good luck, it'll run out eventually, and when it does, it'll be EPIC!!!

for the first problem: thanks i'll keep doing that then ^^

for the second problem: I'll keep praying for you to be right it's been 10 sessions so far and he still live up to is legend. the worst part is that he's been building is character to soak up damage like beast from the start (read invulnerable rager with 18 const and toughness build up the stalwart feat chain and rage powers to be even more sturdy... he already breaks en hundred hit points while raging and nearly while not) TT_TT


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

dear James, today I come to ask for an advice as you being a writer, player and master all warped in the same mind might be the best person to direct this question to ^^ (hence why i didn't post it on the advice board)

i'm currently running the kingmaker AP to a group, but two "problems" came to be.
The first one that is mostly my fault, since i didn't pay attention enough, is that i rolled an horribly high number of random encounter and didn't realize how much exp my group was getting before the end of their first big journey, i tried to limit the damage by ignoring most of the random encounters after that but they managed to end the first book at lvl 6 is that gonna be a real problem later on? if yes what do you recommend to do?

the second problem is more universal, it comes from a player of mine at the same table, the problem is simple yet complicated, that player is a damned-luck-fiend... he plays a Barb wielding a greataxe, so far all's good, but he roll an average of 1 natural 20 once every 4 rolls and didn't roll under 10 on his hit dice for is last 5 level-ups at first i was thinking he was cheating but no I've carefully checked his rolls, made him roll with my own dices in case his' were loaded, nothing change. it was funny at first but now the other players quickly started to grow seriously tired with it, specialty since it take all the challenge out of the fights, like for instance when they first got out of oleg's post so lvl 1 i rolled an encounter with an owlbear as they were all mounted I naively thought why not it'll scare them a bit and make them more careful it's not a bad thing, he rolled a 20 on initiative and promptly charged the owlbear sending him meet is ancestors on the spot with an other natural 20.
Honestly I'm at wits end on this one.

Goblin Squad Member

too bad it doesn't seem to be retroactive :/ still sweet tho ^^


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi!

a quick question on the dragon style feats chain:
if used with a weapon that deal damage with a stat other than Str does the bonus remain Str based? (like an agile weapon (from the pathfinder field guide or the white haired witch from dragon empire primer)?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
agnelcow wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

hi, my group and i have been trying to find a solution to a problem wealth related about an character, maybe you got an idea that would help. the character's concept is quite simple at first but problems start to surface at level 6 :/

the said concept is a character that throw daggers, simple right? with a bit of TWF so as to make it rain steel.

IANJJ, but there's an item in Ultimate Equipment called the Blinkback Belt that, for 5k gold, holds 4 light melee weapons and teleports them back to their sheathes immediately after they are thrown if thrown in the same turn they were drawn. Paired with Quick Draw, that should let your player get the attacks they want.

oups :D should have waited till i'd finish reading ultimate equipment to ask about that one ^^


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi, my group and i have been trying to find a solution to a problem wealth related about an character, maybe you got an idea that would help. the character's concept is quite simple at first but problems start to surface at level 6 :/

the said concept is a character that throw daggers, simple right? with a bit of TWF so as to make it rain steel.

the problem? first we're looking at 3 +1 returning daggers +2 every 6 lvl (or 8 if done with a medium BAB class) which doesn't even make the trick since a returning weapon come back at the hand of your turn and need to be catch so at lvl 6 asuming you managed to find the 40K gold for 5 daggers you'll throw 4 and 3 will fall at your feets :/

we thought of 4 ideas to work around the problem:

1- house ruling that returning weapon come back immediately so that the character needs only 2 daggers.

2- house ruling that a character with the quick draw feat can Sheathe a returning weapon as part of the free action to catch it when it return, that doesn't change the cost problem but at least the character can keep throwing his daggers after the first round.

3- creating daggers like the ricochet hammer, the character would only be able to make up to two attacks per enemy but at least if there's enough of them he'll get all his attacks for considerably less than idea Nb 2.

4- creating a pair of item (gloves,bracer or scabbard for example) that would be enchanted like a double weapon and would have the ability to spawn daggers (at the same cost in action as drawing a weapon) that last only till taken out of the target or something like that. or simply instead of being enchanted the pair of items could be able to spawn copies of daggers stored in it like in a 'glove of storing' but taking a ritual of sorts to store the daggers.

i'm really hoping to hear your thoughts on that kind of character and those ideas, as you could be aware of implications that we didn't see on helping that kind of character, or that this kind of character isn't meant to be for a reason that we're not aware of, and you being a creative director and all might be the best one to answer or confirm such concerns.

thanks for your time.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hmmm i seem to recall that a mount must be 1 size larger that the one mounting it :p


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Maxximilius wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:

Your character has 3d6 sneak attack dice.

Knockout Artist adds +1 damage/sneak attack die rolled.

Sap Adept adds +2 damage/sneak attack die rolled.

Sap Master lets you roll your sneak attack dice twice.

In the case you mention above, you have a character with 3d6 sneak attack. Which means that when he attacks with these feats and the circumstances are just right, he deals:

6d6+18 nonlethal sneak attack damage, added to whatever your base damage with the sap is.

How does this interact with the Underhanded talent ?

Do I get to double the SA damage dice, maximize this amount PLUS add the KO and Sap Adept bonuses to damage ? Or am I not considered as not rolling any dice, and thus, not getting the bonus damage dice and bonuses "per sneak attack die rolled" from the Sap Adept/Master tree ?

Otherwise, at 5th level, it would be able to deal 54 base damage with a non-magic weapon and a 10 Str, which is enough to OHKO even a fighter.

the base damage is actually 55 and the damage would be 55-57 as without a monk's robe or the ninja master trick unarmed strikes will only do 1d3 damage :p

then again the goal of sap master is to be able to OHKO animal guards and other high HP guards so that you can sneak in a guarded place to do your deed without blood shed.

but your question rise a better one, so sorry James i'll bother you with yet another question (or two) :)

can a concealed weapon be an unarmed strike ? how would one conceal such "weapon"? by concealing one unarmed martial training ?

and would underhanded be usable if the enemy is not even aware of your presence? ha! or would that be the only way of using an unarmed strike as a 'concealed weapon that the opponent didn't know about'?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Gauss wrote:

While you will not find it in the rules the way Flaming Burst and Igniting are constructed is that they are each +1 effects that require an earlier effect (flaming). If you were to take a flaming weapon and upgrade it to flaming burst you would only need to add +1 (for the difference) to the cost.

Example:
Flaming Burst can be broken down into flaming (+1) and Burst (+1) = +2.
Igniting can be broken down into flaming (+1) and Igniting (+1) = +2.

However, you cannot stack the same thing (flaming) together. This is what I believe James Jacobs was trying to say when he was mentioning Upgrades. You only get flaming once.

So, if you were in my game and you wanted a Flaming Burst with Igniting I would charge you +3.

- Gauss

that was what i thought to until an other player pointed out that flaming burst text say that a flaming burst weapon works like a flaming weapon not is a flaming weapon which open room for doubt

edit:
James answered while i was typing my answer, just my luck :p

would it be reasonable to reduce the price of igniting/flaming burst to +1 in the case where the other is already on the weapon as Gauss suggested?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

hi again ^^

i just got an interesting question from an other player that had me wondering:

back in the aDnD 3.5 days "flaming burst" was an upgrade of "flaming" and we kept playing it that way but was it correct? the text of those weapon enchantments don't seem to indicate that it is the case.
could one have a +X flaming igniting flaming burst weapon dealing +3d6 fire damage plus the effects of igniting and burst on a critical for example?

Actually... flaming burst weapons never worked that way. The "upgrade" a flaming burst weapon grants is the extra damage on a critical hit, and that's pretty much it.

But you absolutely CAN have multiple types of energy effects. You could do a +1 flaming icy burst sword. It's weird, but you dan do it.

yeah you had answered on the multiple types of energy a while back but what about multiple same energy as with my previous example? the +X flaming igniting flaming burst sword?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

After a lot of confusion from both parties (mostly because of me having an hard time explaining my thoughts in English) James Jacobs did confirm that you count the doubled SA dice pool when calculating the bonus from knockout artist and sap adept if you have sap master.

here


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hi again ^^

i just got an interesting question from an other player that had me wondering:

back in the aDnD 3.5 days "flaming burst" was an upgrade of "flaming" and we kept playing it that way but was it correct? the text of those weapon enchantments don't seem to indicate that it is the case.
could one have a +X flaming igniting flaming burst weapon dealing +3d6 fire damage plus the effects of igniting and burst on a critical for example?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

in your answer to krodjin's question about sap adept and sap master you state that sap adept's bonus is calculated with the character's raw SA dice pool while the text of sap adept state that it use the number of dice rolled. why?

the question still is the same for knockout artist since the text is the same with the exception of a present or past tense for the roll verb.

"Raw SA dice pool" does not appear in text, first of all. It's my way of saying "The amount of dice you rolled."
ok then i'm really confused as to why sap master effect doesn't count for the sap adept bonus :/
I think the whole question has been overly conflated and confused, and we're both confused.

seem so.

the initial question was basically this i manage to take those 3 feats:Knockout Artist,Sap Adept (Combat),Sap Master (Combat). Let's assume i did so as soon as possible so i'm a level 5 rogue/ninja and have a Sneak attack 3d6.
so let's assume manage to sneak on someone and try to knock him out with a punch. as i read those feats i'd say i'll roll 1d3 +STR +6d6(SA) +18(Sap Adept (Combat)(12) + Knockout Artist(6) ), since i rolled 6 SA damage dices. Am i correct?

** spoiler omitted **...

Your character has 3d6 sneak attack dice.

Knockout Artist adds +1 damage/sneak attack die rolled.

Sap Adept adds +2 damage/sneak attack die rolled.

Sap Master lets you roll your sneak attack dice twice.

In the case you mention above, you have a character with 3d6 sneak attack. Which means that when he attacks with these feats and the circumstances are just right, he deals:

6d6+18 nonlethal sneak attack damage, added to whatever your base damage with the sap is.

thank you for the confirmation and your time ^^

Ps: I started asking about this because you had answered differently to someone here a month ago and it struck me as odd, you might want to delete that post in order to not confuse others :p

good day to you(or night i never know with the time difference).


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

in your answer to krodjin's question about sap adept and sap master you state that sap adept's bonus is calculated with the character's raw SA dice pool while the text of sap adept state that it use the number of dice rolled. why?

the question still is the same for knockout artist since the text is the same with the exception of a present or past tense for the roll verb.

"Raw SA dice pool" does not appear in text, first of all. It's my way of saying "The amount of dice you rolled."
ok then i'm really confused as to why sap master effect doesn't count for the sap adept bonus :/
I think the whole question has been overly conflated and confused, and we're both confused.

seem so.

the initial question was basically this i manage to take those 3 feats:Knockout Artist,Sap Adept (Combat),Sap Master (Combat). Let's assume i did so as soon as possible so i'm a level 5 rogue/ninja and have a Sneak attack 3d6.
so let's assume manage to sneak on someone and try to knock him out with a punch. as i read those feats i'd say i'll roll 1d3 +STR +6d6(SA) +18(Sap Adept (Combat)(12) + Knockout Artist(6) ), since i rolled 6 SA damage dices. Am i correct?

the 3 feats' text from the PRD:

Knockout Artist
You can throw devastating knockout punches.
Prerequisites: Sneak attack class feature, Improved Unarmed Strike.
Benefit: When you use your unarmed strike to deal nonlethal damage and sneak attack damage to an opponent denied his Dexterity bonus to AC, you gain a +1 bonus on the damage roll per each sneak attack damage die you roll.

Sap Adept (Combat)
You know just where to hit to knock the sense out of your foe.
Prerequisite: Sneak attack +1d6.
Benefit: Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage, you gain a bonus on your damage roll equal to twice the number of sneak attack damage dice you rolled.

Sap Master (Combat)
You knock the sense out of foes with a well-timed surprise attack.
Prerequisites: Sneak attack +3d6, Sap Adept.
Benefit: Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage to a flat-footed opponent, roll your sneak attack dice twice, totaling the results as your nonlethal sneak attack damage for that attack.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

in your answer to krodjin's question about sap adept and sap master you state that sap adept's bonus is calculated with the character's raw SA dice pool while the text of sap adept state that it use the number of dice rolled. why?

the question still is the same for knockout artist since the text is the same with the exception of a present or past tense for the roll verb.

"Raw SA dice pool" does not appear in text, first of all. It's my way of saying "The amount of dice you rolled."

ok then i'm really confused as to why sap master effect doesn't count for the sap adept bonus :/


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

sorry for the confusion the wall of quote was so you wouldn't need to go dig for a month old post to refresh your memory.

the question is about your answer that i quoted and especially the one i re-quoted in bold. To be exact and direct you can resume it like this:

- knockout artist and sap adepts feats text refer to the number on SA damage dice rolled for their bonus.

- sap master modify the number of SA damage dice rolled.

- when asked about how master and sap adept/knockout artist interact you answered that sap adept and knockout artist give a bonus depending on the raw number of SA dice of the char.

the problem is that your answer:
1. - seem strange honestly.

2. - create a ripple of illogical interaction(sacrificed SA dice that still count toward sap adept and knockout artist and sap adept bonus, sniper goggle's bonus SA dices not counting toward sap adept and knockout artist and sap adept bonus being the first two that came to mind)

so in the end what's what? thanks your time as this created quite some drama around my table as one of the PCs is a ninja using this chain of feats.

1) The raw number of sneak attack dice can be modified by things. Once you sacrifice sneak attack dice, the "raw" number of sneak attack dice changes. THAT'S what things like Sap Master modify. You're overthinking things.

ok i was over-thinking things for this part.

the over question still remain unanswered but i'm starting to think i wasn't direct enough and you didn't realise there was an other question (the main one actually) so i'll try it bluntly hoping you don't find it rude of me to ask this:

in your answer to krodjin's question about sap adept and sap master you state that sap adept's bonus is calculated with the character's raw SA dice pool while the text of sap adept state that it use the number of dice rolled. why?

the question still is the same for knockout artist since the text is the same with the exception of a present or past tense for the roll verb.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
kagenotora wrote:

i was wondering why you're saying "Sap Master only doubles the sneak attack dice—it doesn't double your level's total amount of sneak attack dice allowed for your level, and THAT is what Knockout Artist and Sap Adept look for." while knockout master's and sap adept's text speak of the number of sneak attack dice you roll/rolled not your number of dice via level. i mean if i sacrifice some SA dice to add an effect via a feat(or the lvl20 ninja ability) i wouldn't count them for sap adept or knockout artist but what your saying tell otherwise nor would "sniper googles" 2 additional SA dice count for those two feats according to you.

oof...

Sorry to sound a little like an editor-jerk, but it really REALLY helps me to understand questions, especially COMPLEX ones, by using proper grammar... That, plus the wall of text quoted makes it really difficult for me to parse exactly what it is you're asking here.

BUT, if I'm correct in saying the question being asked is:

"If I sacrifice some sneak attack dice, do I still get to count those dice in something like Sap Master?"

Then the answer is no. Once you sacrifice sneak attack dice to activate an ability, those dice are gone for that particular sneak attack BEFORE you roll damage, and thus they're not there to be doubled by some other effect.

sorry for the confusion the wall of quote was so you wouldn't need to go dig for a month old post to refresh your memory.

the question is about your answer that i quoted and especially the one i re-quoted in bold. To be exact and direct you can resume it like this:

- knockout artist and sap adepts feats text refer to the number on SA damage dice rolled for their bonus.

- sap master modify the number of SA damage dice rolled.

- when asked about how master and sap adept/knockout artist interact you answered that sap adept and knockout artist give a bonus depending on the raw number of SA dice of the char.

the problem is that your answer:
1. - seem strange honestly.

2. - create a ripple of illogical interaction(sacrificed SA dice that still count toward sap adept and knockout artist and sap adept bonus, sniper goggle's bonus SA dices not counting toward sap adept and knockout artist and sap adept bonus being the first two that came to mind)

so in the end what's what? thanks your time as this created quite some drama around my table as one of the PCs is a ninja using this chain of feats.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
Krodjin wrote:

Hey James,

Long time listener, first time caller (so to speak)!

I had a question about 3 feats that all appeared in Ultimate combat, and how they interact together (if at all).

Sap Master wrote:


Sap Master (Combat)
You knock the sense out of foes with a well-timed surprise attack.
Prerequisite: Sneak attack +3d6, Sap Adept.

Benefit: Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage to a flat-footed opponent, roll your sneak attack dice twice, totaling the results as your nonlethal sneak attack damage for that attack.

Sap Adept wrote:

Sap Adept (Combat)

You know just where to hit to knock the sense out of your foe.
Prerequisite: Sneak attack +1d6.

Benefit: Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage, you gain a bonus on your damage roll equal to twice the number of sneak attack damage dice you rolled.

Knockout Artist wrote:

Knockout Artist

You can throw devastating knockout punches.
Prerequisite: Sneak attack class feature, Improved Unarmed Strike.
Benefit: When you use your unarmed strike to deal nonlethal damage and sneak attack damage to an opponent denied his Dexterity bonus to AC, you gain a +1 bonus on the damage roll per each sneak attack damage die you roll.

If we assume a level 12 Ninja (6d6 Sneak Attack) attacking with an Unarmed Strike and they meet all of the requirements is the damage output going to be;

Unarmed Strike +12d6 (Sap Master), +24 (Sap Adept), +12 (knockout artist)?

I realize that the damage is non-lethal and the feat/ninja trick investment is heavy and it's also very, very situational (at best)...

But it seems to me I may be making a mistake somewhere as that is quite a lot of damage... Even if we base Sap Adept & Kockout Artist off the base Sneak Attack dice (6d6) it's going to be;

Unarmed Strike +12d6 (Sap Master), +12 (Sap Adept), +6 (Knockout Artist).

IF you had a ninja 12 and those three feats... when you sneak attack with a nonlethal bludgeoning weapon, you would do so like this:

Roll your attack normally. Then add your sneak attack damage. Your sneak attack is a 6d6 attack, and therefore Sap Adept adds +12 damage (twice the total number of sneak attack dice). Your sneak attack damage is now 6d6+12.

Then Knockout Artist kicks in, granting you another +6 damage. You're now doing 6d6+18 damage on a sneak attack.

Sap Master only doubles the sneak attack dice—it doesn't double your level's total amount of sneak attack dice allowed for your level, and THAT is what Knockout Artist and Sap Adept look for.

Therefore, in the end, with all these things working together... you're doing sneak attack damage of 12d6+18. It IS a lot of damage, though. It's that Sap Master attack that really puts it over the top though.

first sorry to exhume this answer a month after you wrote it,

i was wondering why you're saying "Sap Master only doubles the sneak attack dice—it doesn't double your level's total amount of sneak attack dice allowed for your level, and THAT is what Knockout Artist and Sap Adept look for." while knockout master's and sap adept's text speak of the number of sneak attack dice you roll/rolled not your number of dice via level. i mean if i sacrifice some SA dice to add an effect via a feat(or the lvl20 ninja ability) i wouldn't count them for sap adept or knockout artist but what your saying tell otherwise nor would "sniper googles" 2 additional SA dice count for those two feats according to you.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

i'd like a link to the post where james posted this as the feats knockout artist and sap adept mention the number of sneak attack dice you roll on the said attack not "your level's total amount of sneak attack dice allowed for your level"

knockout artist
sap adept


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Xperia play and Archos Arnova

does this pool means that we might get an app version of the player character folio?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Morganstern wrote:
So far from reading over the Core Rulebook (a few times), I haven't seen anywhere where the book states that casting an evil aligned spell is an evil action in itself. I have seen statements that a cleric cannot cast spells that are against their alignment, such as a Good cleric casting an Evil spell, but this isn't stated as "If they do, they shift alignment" but rather as "They can't do it". So as far as rule mechanics go, i'd say (and to state this very clearly, the game has a decent amount of room for interpretation. This is the interpretation that me and my group feel fits best with the rules as written within the book) that casting a spell with an evil descriptor isn't an inherently evil act, but it can be if used for evil purposes. The descriptors are there more as guidelines for interactions with other abilities and spells rather than saying "casting this spell is considered a [alignment descriptor] act".

well the fact that they specifically went out of their way to say that the holy vindicator's death knell wasn't an evil act does speaks volume.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

page 217 and 218

Monstrous Humanoid (3 RP) on page 217

but listed as 2 RP on page 218 (centaure entry)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Belle Mythix wrote:
kagenotora wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
A dragon(human) is doable.
ah an other one that i forgot to ask about in the initial post, they speak of subtypes for the humanoid and outsider(native) types but i dunno if others can have some too

Undeads can (a human ghost is Medium Undead (Augmented Humanoid, Incorporal)).

and pretty much anything can end up with Extraplanar.

isn't the said ghost the result of adding a template to an existing race?

and for Extraplanar well it's not a true subtype as it is a circumstantial one that come and go a you travel from plane to plane ^^


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
pobbes wrote:
No, it's redundant. Flaming burst is the flaming special quality just with burst. It would be easier to think that there is a burst special quality that lets your elemental qualities do more damage on a critical hit than to think that flaming and flaming burst are two different qualities.

that was my first take too but earlier i started to wonder about it since the flaming burst text says "A flaming burst weapon functions as a flaming weapon that also explodes with flame upon striking a successful critical hit." and not "A flaming burst weapon is a flaming weapon that also explodes with flame upon striking a successful critical hit."

that plus the fact that's the flaming burst text doesn't say that you can't have both on your weapon and the precedent on counter intuitive weapon enchantment stacking (icy flaming weapon)

well i fully admit that this one is highly counter intuitive and it may be sleep deprivation that make me over-think things

edit :

Adamantine Dragon wrote:
pobbes wrote:
No, it's redundant. Flaming burst is the flaming special quality just with burst. It would be easier to think that there is a burst special quality that lets your elemental qualities do more damage on a critical hit than to think that flaming and flaming burst are two different qualities.

This is how I would rule too. However, in a separate thread about improving enhancements on magic weapons, I argued that you should be able to upgrade a "flaming" weapon to a "flaming burst" weapon and several people vehemently argued that you can't do that since they are listed as separate enchantments in the rule book.

I would say that logic would compel me to say that if you believe they are separate enchantments for the purpose of upgrading magic items, then they should be separate enchantments and stack if both are on the same weapon.

that's exactly the psychological problem I'm having as i took used the upgrade one into an other rule in my game either as a GM or player


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
A dragon(human) is doable.

ah an other one that i forgot to ask about in the initial post, they speak of subtypes for the humanoid and outsider(native) types but i dunno if others can have some too


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Gluttony wrote:

Rather than an outright dragon subtype you could just use the name of the human/dragon race. i.e. if the race were called "Example"

Humanoid (example)

...And then add whatever dragon weaknesses you want onto that. Make up a unique weakness perhaps (such as vulnerability to both human bane and dragon bane) and then figure out how much extra RP that's worth as a drawback.

my initial thought was something like the race type to be humanoid(human, dragon)

(which make the vulnerability to both human bane and dragon bane)

i went in doubt when i remembered that kobolts where humanoid(reptilian)
edit:

so that people that don't have the book yet may participate here's the humanoid type text:

Quote:

Humanoid races have few or no supernatural or spelllike

abilities, but most can speak and have well-developed
societies. Humanoids are usually Small or Medium, unless
they have the giant subtype, in which case they are Large.
Every humanoid creature also has a subtype to match its race,
such as human, giant, goblinoid, reptilian, or tengu. If you
are making a new humanoid race, you should either find an
existing subtype to match or make a new one by using the
name of the race as the subtype. If you are making a halfbreed
race, it should have the racial type of both parent
races. For example, a half-elf has both the human and the elf
subtypes. Subtypes are often important to qualify for other
racial abilities and feats. If a humanoid has a racial subtype,
it is considered a member of that race in the case of race
prerequisites. A humanoid race has the following features.
• Humanoids breathe, eat, and sleep.

1 to 50 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.