Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Katapesh Merchant

gourry187's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 600 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 600 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Swarms are (mostly) immune to weapon damage but a falling PC is not a weapon but a falling object so I would apply the falling objects rules to the swarm.


I can't get past the idea that your DM includes monster genitalia in his loot table.


Seeing that the double Kama can be used at reach, I would say either end can be used.


Simon Legrande wrote:
FrozenLaughs wrote:

It doesn’t necessarily have to be how far the jump takes you, rolling 25 on a dc15 jump doesn't actually mean you jumped 25 ft, just the 15ft you needed.

Otherwise imagine the fight when the DM places another pit after the first; you roll high enough to not only clear the first pit, but to land plumb in the middle of the next one. Lol

Actually...

CRB wrote:
Finally, you can use the Acrobatics skill to make jumps or to soften a fall. The base DC to make a jump is equal to the distance to be crossed (if horizontal) or four times the height to be reached (if vertical). These DCs double if you do not have at least 10 feet of space to get a running start. The only Acrobatics modifiers that apply are those concerning the surface you are jumping from. If you fail this check by 4 or less, you can attempt a DC 20 Reflex save to grab hold of the other side after having missed the jump. If you fail by 5 or more, you fail to make the jump and fall (or land prone, in the case of a vertical jump). Creatures with a base land speed above 30 feet receive a +4 racial bonus on Acrobatics checks made to jump for every 10 feet of their speed above 30 feet. Creatures with a base land speed below 30 feet receive a –4 racial bonus on Acrobatics checks made to jump for every 10 feet of their speed below 30 feet. No jump can allow you to exceed your maximum movement for the round. For a running jump, the result of your Acrobatics check indicates the distance traveled in the jump (and if the check fails, the distance at which you actually land and fall prone). Halve this result for a standing long jump to determine where you land.

So what happens if there is an obstacle such as a wall or creature preventing you from traveling the full distance your jump check indicates you should travel? Do you take damage or provoke AoOs? Do you fall prone?


given the following example ...

GGGG---GG where G is the ground and - is empty
123456789

assuming a running start

1) is the DC based on the gap jumped over [5,6,7] (DC15) or the distance to the next Box of ground [5,6,7,8] (DC20)?

2) when determining movement, does the jumped distance count against a characters total movement? moving from 1to9 equal 40' movement?

3) does landing at the end of a long jump end your move action or can you continue provided you have movement available?

4) using acrobatics happens during a move action so if a double move is required to jump a distance, does it need 2 checks?


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.

Gauntlets do take up the hand slot (as there are magic gauntlets in the "Hand" section in UE. Gauntlets that come with armor (med or heavy) however can be replaced without changing the integrity (=armor value)of the armor ... as can boots.

If full plate takes up all those spots, why is there an "Armor" slot?


LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Each character begins play with a number of gold pieces that he can spend on weapons, armor, and other equipment. As a character adventures, he accumulates more wealth that can be spent on better gear and magic items. Table: Starting Character Wealth lists the starting gold piece values by class. In addition, each character begins play with an outfit worth 10 gp or less. For characters above 1st level, see Table: Character Wealth by Level.

This is pretty much all you get for free in Pathfinder. Clothes still count against your encumbrance, sadly.

An outfit... i.e. clothes.

the cost of the outfit is free (provided its 10gp or less) but it still counts as wt against your carry cap.

perhaps the underwear that was brought up has a negligible weight like flasks.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

CR 18 and worth 153,600 xp

;)


At 1800, the scabbard of vigor is a pretty cool item.

For 2000 you could probably get some magic armor for your Animal Companion


So I came across a rules find in UE under the masterwork armor section stating you can't place an enhancement of a shield to give it a bonus to attack. Pg 15, last paragraph.

I guess if you spin it enough, you only need a masterwork item to enchant, and not a masterwork which grants a +1 to attack.


Cussune wrote:

Cat Stats Fever!

snip

EDIT: I'm assuming you're looking to have the animal on hand before it actually becomes your companion, right?

that is indeed the plan


The text mentions the cheetah and jaguar but doesn't specify to use those stats from the beastiary. I'm planning on using one in an upcoming game where the GM can be a bit rules lawyer-ish. So do we intact use those stats?

Character concept has a snow lynx (who will eventually become an AC (cat, small)


cnetarian wrote:
The stories about a half-giant character who carried a bunch of throwing halflings are just not true. It was one halfling, and he was dead, and the corpse was being brought back to town for a resurrection - so while a halfling corpse might have been tossed a few times it was only a corpse and not an living halfling, and it was just because there was nothing else to throw.

The version on the story I heard was the half-giant couldn't affordable a thrown weapon with the returning quality. A halfling was the next best thing.


And here I was just going to point out that a readied actions occurs before before the action that triggers it so without reach (or the feat) you couldn't attack the weapon (claw, arm, spear, whatever) because it hasn't moved into your reach yet when the readied action is resolved.


So we had a situation where while fighting a large creature, a character was able to get into melee (passing through a threatened area) without provoking an attack of opportunity.

M=monster, R=Ranger, F=Fighter, -=open space

movement pattern

----
--R-
-MM-
-MM-

--F-
--R-
-MM-
-MM-

----
-FR-
-MM-
-MM-

The question really comes down to does the Ranger provide cover to the fighter. RAW states you can't make an AoO against something with cover. To keep things moving along (it was a large combat), we just decides there was cover but now that I think more about it, I'm not so sure. The monster is tall so it has a reach of 10.


My guess would be the attacker who isnow interacting with spell would get a save which if successful would indicate the "fake barrier " only has a 20% chance of working.


If a dragon is shapechanged to a human and you use true seeing, do you see a medium sized dragon or a hunger one (assuming its normal size is huge).. what f you saw this true form while indoors.


Rules lawyers don't fail me. This is most likely going to come up at my next gaming session so any ideas are appreciated.


Burning gaze has a target of "you", share spells say the caster "may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself."

If I cast Burning Gaze, I can cast it on my familiar thus giving it a standard action to look at bad guys and try to set them on fire.

The spell has a saving throw Fortitude (negates), as well as a Reflex save to quench the flames.

Is the save DC based off the familiars Int as the gazer, or the casters Int since they actually cast the spell?


There is a feat that allows for additional traits. That being said, there really is nothing that says you cannot have a trait that has no mechanical effect when you choose it.

The same would be for choosing a favored class you don't have yet.


My thought that 2x 90 degree turns is fine but you are forced to move at least 5 feet with each turn so if you were in a 5' hallway, you would be forced to make the 180 turning back on yourself whereas in a 10' corridor you could make 2x 90 degree turns but you would wind up on the other side of the hallway (flying in a U).


Wielding a one handed weapon with two hands (for the 1.5 bonus). Use a two handed weapon if you want the multiplier.


My personal opinion is no because to utilize a shield it needs to be strapped on and not just held or supported. Since you can't strap it to both arms, you can't 2 hand it.

As far as its a weapon so you can, armor spikes are on the list, can you two hand them? Can you 2 hand a blade boot or the iron beard thing?


Not sure if its PFS legal (don't have my extra list available right now) but you could take a level in the rogue archetype carnivalist (animal archieve). They get a familiar at level 1. It won't progress but it will get better saves/BAB/HP as your character level goes up.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ninjas with healing ... Naruto. There is a subtype of "medical ninjas".

If multiclassing is appropriate, you could also try witch who get healing spells (and possible healing hex).


If you don't really want the mount, have you considered the huntmaster archetype? You lose the mount for dog and/or bird animal companions.


Its not just the defending property that is affected by "weilding". Look at two weapon defense. Since you can only use both weapons in a full attack, do you not get the bonus when move more than 5 feet?

I'm in the camp of weilding = capable of making an attack camp.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From the title I thought this was going to be about creating cheese and getting milk.


My suggestion in regard to unarmed is to get lvl 3 monk and then a monk robe as it will bring your unarmed damage to a d10 which is pretty nice especially when you flurry. A domain with an attack (ex. Air gives a ranged electrical attack) can be very useful with feats like domain strike where you can add it by using a swift action to any successful unarmed attack.

If you have a feat to spare, pick up one of the exotic monk weapons with reach. With that you can flurry at reach and up close.


There is nothing (Afaik) in spellstrike that doesn't allow you to deliver a touch spell (cast in a previous round and held) with a two-handed weapon.


With all due respect ...

/facepalm


My personal feeling is that is the player is young and just fluidly reading, it would be best to keep things simple with core (or base) classes without archetypes and multiclassing.

My opinion is to go with rogue. Skill points just increase the dice modifier and the only special thing to remember is sneak attacking. You don't have to remember and understand all the feats associated with most fighters and how and when to use them.

Remember its her character and giving it loads of crazy combos and bells and whistles won't teach her the fundamentals of the d20 system which is where you should start.


FrodoOf9Fingers wrote:
They don't, but they can't use hexes with spell combat either :P

But they do add all curse spells to their spell list making them eligible for spellcombat. Most commonly used is Brand aka arcane mark that does damage.


Ok so I keep reading about monk dipping and how flurry works and then it hit me ... I have had a multiclass monk/ fighter for a while and as I am about to hit a +6 BAB, I want to get a grip on the number of attacks and bonuses I have.

For simplicity I'm onlyhoin to use base BAB and not include any bonus/penalty from attributes and feats

Monk 1/Fighter 5
BAB = +5 flurry +4/+4

Monk 2/Fighter 6
BAB = +6/+1 flurry +5/+5/+0

Does that look right?


Can a monk weilding a Kama, double-chanined make his flurry with reach two handed?


So in one of our last sessions, the party found themselves in a circular tower with an interior spiral stairway surrounding an open courtyard. The BBEG lured the party to the top level and jumped to the bottoms using feather fall.

The question is if the BBEG has movement left after moving off the ledge, can he still continue to move after he feather fell down? Falling if I recall doesn't count as movement and is instantaneous.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Duelist gets it, kensai gets a limited version of it ... it grants a dodge bonus to AC.

So does a kensai duelist using their "chosen weapon" get the dodge bonus twice if it is a light weapon as well?


I have a character with a Kama, double chained. One half is MW cold iron, the other is MW mithral. The character would like to affectionately call them by name but I'm out of ideas. Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Mr. Hack and Mr. Slash just doesn't sound right.


An inquisitor may take any domain/subdomain that their diety has access to. PFS is a different story as you'll have to look through the added resource list for what they deem legal for play.


We had a game where a psychotic necromancer was killing randomly in the forest to make friends and over the course of his journey the forest became a flood with undead woodland creatures.

Nothing makes a party go "WTF" like a half dozen flying squirrel squirrel zombies dropping on them while they are trying to figure out why that deer over yonder is missing a leg and half its face.

Creativity and numbers can make any low CR undead encounter fun.


In most of our games we rule that to move a body its basically starting a grapple with the person and then rules as usual. The grappler can move at 1/2 speed.

Unconscious bodies are helpless and conscious bodies can forgo their CMD but a roll of 1 still misses.


A gray wardens Harsh Judgement stacks with inquisitor levels but they get limited types (destruction, peircing, ect).

So if an inquisitor PrC to gray warden do they loose the other judgements or can they have both judgement and harsh judgement running at the same time (activated with separate actions)?


Not sure what you mean by "at the same time"

That said a bardiche is a reach weapon so it doesn't threaten the same area a spiked guantlet does.


Not sure if this works here in rules as this involves a 3rd party product but the gravity elemental via Tomb of Horrors has an ability which establishes the "held" condition but I can't find what that is.


Bumping as this interests me.


Don't you get a +4 to your grapple check to maintain a grapple?


Had a discussion during a game where it was pointed out that if you have a quickened spell, you could use both it (as a swift action) and cast another (as a standard).

I could have sworn there was something about only ever casting one spell per round but I'm not sure.

Can someone point me in the right direction.


Be an inquisitor, static bonus to sense motive equal to 1/2 their level


The tiger is limited to 6 tricks which are spelled out in the handle animal skill. It has the "attack" trick once so you will be required to "push" the tiger to fight a lot of monsters such as undead.

If the tigerish wearing medium armor, its base movement should be lower.

The tiger shouldn't naturally charge to attack foes. The DM should require you to make the skill check. If the beast was domesticated for riding, it shouldn't be any more aggressive than a horse.

And don't forget that if it ever gets wounded, there is a -2 penalty on the handle animal check.


Shfish wrote:
gourry187 wrote:

You can deliver a touch attack with a natural weapon or unarmed strike ... however you no longer target touch AC.

To my knowledge unless otherwise specified, a magus using spellstrike does not target touch AC. As well he must use a slashing weapon (unless otherwise specified) with spell combat (granting free touch attack) otherwise he must hold the spell and use any weapon with spellstrike.

A standard whip is not a slashing weapon though a scorpion whip is and there is/was debate on the reach quality.

This reply is full of wrong answers...like blatant ones.

1. A whip is slashing.
2. No a magus does not have to use slashing only: the blackblade must be a slashing weapon, they can still do that with other weapons (specific archetypes aside).
3. Your right about touch vs normal AC on the spell strike.
4. A magus (or any other ability to channel a spell through a weapon like conductive for sp/su and storing for regular) uses the weapon to deliver, therefore if the weapon is reach, then your spell is delivered at the reach of the weapon.

I will admit to my errors. For some reason I was under the impression that the whip was a B weapon whereas the scorpion whip was S. Seeing as there are multiple entries for them, CRB, AA, UC, UE. Probably because of the multiple threads about Blackblade Magi builds (which seem to be the most popular way to play one), my mind fixated on the need for a S type weapon. Regadless, I apologize for the errors.

On a side note, no one has mentioned the feat lunge which also increases the reach of a melee attacks (at least by 5 feet).

1 to 50 of 600 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.