Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

dpp84290's page

28 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Let me clarify some things.
1) The assignment I was given by my DM was to add 8 class levels to a CR 7 monster, using whatever template/base I wanted with the objective being to create as broken a creature as possible.
2) Half-Dragon template changes the monster type to Dragon; as per RAW Dragon's bite attack is always 1.5 STR. Normally, if you only have one head and acquire bite-attack twice, you get an additional 1/2 STR added to the bite attack (this is also the rule for Eidolons). However, RAW says a dragon's bite is "always" 1.5 STR. I think that the bonus strength from the blink dog's bite is lost because it is no longer its only primary attack. The automated monster advancer on the internet is telling me it should be 2X, but it has to be at least 1.5 by RAW.
3) The Monk FoB rules are:

Quote:

Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action.

When doing so, he may make one additional attack, taking a –2 penalty on all of his attack rolls, as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon (he does not need to use two weapons to utilize this ability).

Any combination means that you can use the same limb to throw all the attacks if you want to (like a boxer throwing jabs with the same fist). So Feral Combat Training Bite lets me use the bite attack in place of all the Unarmed Strikes, not just 1.

4)I found the FAQ thread for this, and the answer is yes I add the other BAB but no I do not get the extra attack, as I only get the extra attacks with Monk Level. http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2m42v?Multiclass-Monk-Flurry-of-Blows

In which case, my BAB would be +11/+11/+6, with a -2 = +9/+9/+4, +13 = +22/+22/+17.

TL;DR The FOB is only +22/+22/+17, still don't know if the strength is 2X or 1.5X on a bite.


I keep getting a different conclusion than the online builder, so I need help checking my work. Yes, this is a weird build.

Half-Dragon Blink Dog X3 Advanced Template (size Medium)
Paladin 2, Monk 6 (Feral Combat Training Bite)
A blink Dog starts with a bite attack, a half-dragon template adds 1 bite attack and 2 claw attacks.

STR: 36 (+13)
BaB during FoB: 11 (3 from base creature, 2 from Paladin, 6 from Monk levels)

As I understand it, each iterative attack is at -2. So by my calculation a FoB should be +22/+22/+17, but I'm not sure (A) If I should have a 4th attack or not (for +11/+6/+1), and (B)if I've done the math correctly.

Additionally, the online monster builder seems to assume I should get 2X STR on bite attacks. I'm pretty sure this is a glitch from adding a bite attack to a dragon's bite attack, and that instead it should just be 1.5XSTR. Need someone with more Rule-fu than I to finish this chimera.


Quote:
An ioun stone slotted in this manner grants you its normal benefits (as if it were orbiting your head)

The rules for using in ioun stone in a wayfinder are based on the rules for using them normally.

Quote:
When a character first acquires a stone, she must hold it and then release it, whereupon it takes up a circling orbit 1d3 feet from her head. Thereafter, a stone must be grasped or netted to separate it from its owner. The owner may voluntarily seize and stow a stone (to keep it safe while she is sleeping, for example), but she loses the benefits of the stone during that time.

The time requirement for taking control of an ioun stone is when you hold it after you first acquire it. How long this takes isn't stated, but for using it in a wayfinder you can just assume you did this when you first acquired the stone. After that, slotting it in a wayfinder is only however long it takes to activate a stowed ioun stone normally (a move action, or a swift action with quick-draw, handy haversack, etc.).


It depends if you are playing rules as written or rules as intended. Rules as written you might be able to make the argument they can't talk or just don't know what they said, but Rules as intended they still would know what they tried to say.


Playing an epic level game, after 20 levels of summoner planning to go eldritch Knight. So I want to take martial weapon proficiency through the eidolon evolutions rather than spending the feat, but its less clear how that would work.

If I take greater aspect martial weapon proficiency, would I still be able to use martial weapons when I use my Twin Eidolon form if the eidolon does not have that evolution itself?

If the eidolon itself has martial weapon proficiency, would that fulfill the eldritch Knight martial weapon proficiency requirement?

Taking it using greater aspect is obviously ideal, as it would only cost 2 points that way. If I have to take it on the eidolon itself, it costs 4 points. If it would take both (6 points) to have it in eidolon form AND qualify for eldritch knight, then it probably would be better to just take the feat.


Quote:
All haunts detect life sources and trigger as a result of the approach of or contact with living creatures, but some haunts can be tricked by effects like hide from undead or invisibility.

Unless these undead appear to be a life source to the haunt, they can't trigger it to be effected by the spell.


My bad, i missed the footnote in the graph:

Quote:
1. regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usualy provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity.

They're right.


I thought moving through a threatened square was separate from moving out of a threatened square?


Assuming you threaten the 15' square and the 10' square and they move to the 5' square adjacent to you, yes you get two AoO's if you have combat reflexes. The only exception is if they move diagonally from 15 directly to 5:

Quote:
Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you.

Since threats and AoO's are based on squares, if they skip a square by moving diagonally, there's nothing you can do about it.


I'm trying to build a master-summoner that is really a dex fighter and use the aspect feature-limbs to have him end up with 4 arms, each wielding an agile sickle (our GM is obsessed with dex fighters, so everything lying around is agile usually).

At that point he would have +7/+2 BAB and the improved two weapon fighting feat, on top of having four arms. I'm trying to figure out how many attacks with each hand he would have, and what the penalties would be.

Because he's a master summoner, assume he has +2 from flanking and +2 from aid another, and he'd have +7 Dex (epic). As far as I can tell, he'd be at -2 on each attack so long as all off-hand weapons are light. I don't know if improved two-weapon fighting gives him an extra attack with each off-hand weapon or just the first off-hand weapon.

The nearest I can figure, if Imp two-weapon gives an extra attack to each hand, it looks like this:

Each Hand: +16/+9, DMG: +12 (Agile requires weapons be at least +1 already)

And if Imp Two-weapon only applies to the first off-hand:
Main Hand: +16/+9 Left Hand: +16/+9 Off-hand 3: +16 Off-hand 4: +16

Do I have this right? Need someone more experienced than I to figure out how this works.


paizo online wrote:

Extra Evolution

Your eidolon has more evolutions.
Prerequisite: Eidolon class feature.
Benefit: Your eidolon's evolution pool increases by 1.
Special: This evolution can be taken once at 1st level, and again at 5th, 10th, 15th and 20th.

Does anyone know why the special note is written this way? Calling it an evolution instead of a feat implies that its something an eidolon takes, but it doesn't make sense to take an evolution that yields evolution points, so either this is a typo or i guess maybe an eidolon can use one of its feats to give itself more evolution points? I'm having trouble rationalizing it as anything besides a typo.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm using it on a lvl 10 dwarf cleric right now: worships Gorum,
Relevant domain abilities:
Destructive smite - +5 on a single melee attack.
Rage - +4 STR and CON

Feats: Channel Smite, Versatile Channel, Vital Strike, Furious Finish
Weapon: Greatsword

Damage: 2d6 + 2d6 vital strike + 5 destructive smite + 7 strength and a half + 5d6 Channel negative energy.

Tip: Buff with divine power and righteous might first before raging, +2 str and con and +3 luck gives you another +4 on damage.

Tip2: If you don't think you can hit the enemy's AC, go for touch attacks by casting inflict critical and then channeling smite; 4d8 + 4 or 5d6 is still a pretty brutal 2 round combo, especially against an opponent built to not get hit instead of soak up damage.

I think its useful in a fight, but my group tends to fight things a lot higher CR than normal for party, so are tactics get different as a result.


Nepherti wrote:

I'm just sick of always being the one who has to suck it up and give in as a player. I'm a bit of a hippie at heart, always playing the peaceful character

I have reasons to want to acquire his services. I am a vanara alchemist. He's a sorcerer with a magic shop and a soft spot for interesting items. The procuring business, its called.

If it's really, really important to you, there is two in-game ways you can deal with it.

1. You can shift alignment, find some event to serve as an excuse to become lawful good. Your character will no longer be able to see eye to eye with the lawful evil character.
2. (The one I would recommend) Have your character become interested in redeeming the lawful evil character. Sarenrae (NG) has a congenial relationship with almost every evil deity trying to redeem them. She and Asmodeus worked together to defeat Rovagug. If the god of Lawful Evil can get along with good gods, your character can find hope in that the lawful evil character will change.
3. In my universe there's a thing called a darkfire contract. It is an agreement that if either contractor breaks, they are consumed in trueflames. They were created by evil to allow alliances with other alignments so that chaotic and Good alignments could feel certain a lawful evil character would not betray them. (Depending on how badly the LE character desires the alliance, they might demand some terms in exchange.)

Darkfire Contract:
Aura: moderate divination (Lawful Evil) Cost: 2,000g
Save: None (See text) Spell Resistance: (See text)

This magic scroll invokes a divination spell derived from the aspects of law, hell, and truth, similar to the contract of creation. Any contract transcribed on the scroll becomes divinely guaranteed by the powers of these planes. Creatures that agree to terms on the scroll sign by placing their name and a fingerprint in their own blood on the scroll. Should any signer break the contract, they are immediately consumed in true flames from Hell and destroyed in 3 rounds. There is no way to prevent this effect.

The terms of the contract must be mutual, no signer can be omitted from any requirement written. For example, signers may agree to "never willingly betray a signer," but cannot agree to "give signer 1 property owned by signer 2." Regardless of whether the terms of the contract are valid or not, it is destroyed in flames when each name is matched with a fingerprint, at which point it is either guaranteed or simply destroyed. This item is linked to the omniscient plane of truth and cannot be fooled in any way.
Creation Requirements: Craft Wondrous Item, Discern Lies, Geas/Quest,

If you absolutely cannot handle the threat of a Lawful Evil character betraying you, ask to use that item. But then again, its part of role-play that there might be an internal fight, that's why I'd recommend option 2.


Restraints and other objects aren't added to your gear until you are in possession of them, meaning you can manipulate them freely. You can't manipulate restraints you are trapped by, and therefore they do not belong to you. They are instead treated as an unattended object. For example, you can't dimension door a rope you are tied up in if someone else is holding your rope (because then the rope is in their possession and gets to use their will save). But if they let go of the rope, it becomes unattended and can be taken with you as a touched object. However, this issue is moot because you would just teleport out of the rope instead of wanting to stay tied up.

There is no reason to treat manacles as different from a rope in this example. Doing so is arbitrary, or else you'd have to be consistent and rule that tied up ropes must also be taken with a teleporting character, in which case you could prevent any creature from teleporting by lassoing them and using your will save on the rope or any other kind of possessed physical restraint. That would drastically nerf conjuration - teleportation, especially when you can essentially use a rope to duplicate a 4th level spell (dimensional anchor).


My bad, i did include the free extra attack the first time i typed it up. It is only three attacks.

Someone also pointed out to me that with speed on both weapons, it gets you the same effect.

+20/+20/+20/+20/+20 = 100

+15/+15/+15/+15/+15/+10/+10/+10/+10 = 115


That's an odd question; because normally if you took two weapon fighting you'd want Power attack. The point is that if you get a good weapon and follow the two weapon fighting tree, your dmg will eventually overtake the negative

BAB +16 using a +5 two handed weapon with power attack gets a damage bonus +20/+20/+20/+20= +80

BAB +16 using two +5 weapons with TWF, ITWF, and GTWF with power attack gets damage bonus:
+15/+15/+15/+15/+10/+10/+10 = +90

Edit: I forgot the free extra attack you get just for having an offhand weapon:
+15/+15/+15/+15/+10/+10/+10/+10 = +100

And you are using your weapon's base damage more often. If the weapons have other kinds of damage dice, like vicious or elemental, you are also applying 7 of those in a full attack instead of 4. If you can add effects that get worse with each hit, such as hammer the gap, bleed, poision, etc, that's also a reason to go this route.

So your math was right, on its own power attack favors two-handed weapons, but when you take other factors into account at higher level play, two weapon fighting has a higher DoT. But if you are playing society, that point may never come.


bump


You could always create a magic item that when you put it on or said a command word it activated one of the polymorph spells. To be honest, in any society with access to polymorphing I am shocked if such an item doesn't exist.


Yeah, he missed his chance to avoid using a lot of buffs when he didn't emphasize dex/con stats in his build. His illusions are mainly for crowd control, but with the Barbarian tanking, the cleric summoning an off tank, the rogue off tanking, and the bard even stepping in when needed, that is probably a very minor concern for your party. Taking evocation/conjuration as his opposition schools were probably the worst ones he could have picked considering the way your party is breaking down its roles.

The quick solution I would say lies in splitting buffs and debuffs, teaching him the other half of crowd control, and then, maybe how to make illusions more effective.

Since the other casters are focusing on buffing, and illusions are thematically suited to this, have him focus on being a debuffer/sweeper. That means he tries to reduce the abilities of the lesser baddies if not kill them outright with save-or-dies or blaster spells. By doing that, he increases the speed at which the other PC's complete their tasks in a fight.

If I were the wizard, this would be my standard plan: Invisibility sphere me, the cleric, and possibly the rogue if he's close enough so he can get sneak attacks without flanking. Cleric bow attacks now hit enemy flat footed. If the crowd is larger than your tanking ability (for this party, more than 4 enemies) use illusions for crowd control. If not, debuff rogue's target. 3rd round save-or-die lesser enemy pursuing healer, allowing healer to do their job round 4. Toss out debuffs and illusions to speed up party's ability to focus on a single enemy, rather than trying to just bring down the big bad guy yourself. If you were able to save-or-die a boss, it means the boss was too weak.


I was wondering if any of the Holy Vindicator's class features could modify a Rift Warden's planar channel (RAW or RAI) if you took one prestige class after another?

Planar Channel (Su)

At 2nd level, a Riftwarden can channel baneful energies against creatures with the extraplanar subtype, regardless of alignment or plane of origin, as the cleric's channel energy ability. The Riftwarden deals damage as a cleric of a level equal to her highest caster level. This energy can only harm, not heal. This ability cannot be used with feats, magic items, or other effects that modify channel energy. A Riftwarden can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + her bonus for the relevant ability of the spellcasting class she selected.

The 5th level holy vindicator power modifies the channel only when the channel smite feat is used. The 6th level holy vindicator ability modifies channel energy by increasing the options for how the emanation is shaped. The 9th level class feature increases the damage (sacred bonus) of the regular channel energy ability. I simply don't know how stiff the line is.

P.S. Would it be overpowered if all of the holy vindicator alterations affected planar channel? As in does anyone notice some game-breaking issue if that was house-ruled?


Thanks, that makes sense. I assume anything within the portable hole was moved to the astral plane with the bag. That creates some neat opportunities for quick escapes at 25000g.


In their descriptions, the items draw a distinction between a bag of holding entering a portable hole to create a rift to the astral plane and a portable hole entering a bag of holding to create a gate to the astral plane?

The gate seems pretty clear, what exactly happens in the event of a rift?


Again: "Rolling a 20 or a 1 isn't a representation of how well you did or didn't do a thing; it's a representation of the effect what you did had. Just like if a skeleton key fails to open a lock, it's not because you were a bad device disabler, in-game it just means your skeleton key didn't fit."

You don't actually know how effective what you do is going to be before any d20 roll. a 1 never means that you screwed up badly (until you roll to confirm a critical failure), but that whatever you tried to do simply wasn't effective. And similarly, a 20 doesn't mean that you were exceptionally skilled at what you just did (that's what ranks/BAB is for) it means that what you did happened to be very effective. Everything on a character sheet is skill; a roll of a d20 is the introduction of circumstance and to a lesser extent luck. If you roll high on an attack, it doesn't mean you were even more skillful than usual, it means that your attack happened to be aimed at an effective spot for the situation. If you roll low you weren't less skillful, you just were less effective.

If you roll a crit, it has nothing to do with what you were trying to do, but how what you did interacted with the luck of the situation. You may not want to crit, but that doesn't change that you got unlucky. 20 is not inherently a better result in any situation; sometimes you'd be better off failing a skill check or not critting, but you can't help it at the time.

P.S. and there's RAW for pulling your punches: it's non-lethal attacks. In real life anyone could die of an aneurysm at anytime from just coughing too hard, and you'd never see it coming. If you house rule that a character can stop a crit, your basically houseruling that the character has knowledge to prevent him from ever causing an accident.


Anyone who has ever thought they were going to just give their friend a love-tap and accidentally broken a nose knows what's realistic; you can't forgo a crit. Even if you didn't mean to cut the throat, you had no way of knowing that's how that person was going to move/dodge.

Rolling a 20 or a 1 isn't a representation of how well you did or didn't do a thing; it's a representation of the effect what you did had. Just like if a skeleton key fails to open a lock, it's not because you were a bad device disabler, in-game it just means your skeleton key didn't fit.

Letting someone forgo a crit sounds like a way to just keep them from having to take the non-lethal penalty on attack rolls. If you accidentally kill someone dealing non-lethal, that's just bad luck. They had a brain clot, you had no way to know.


Back on the original topic, why does a solar list epic and evil as damage resistance when epic should overcome DR?

Because of regeneration. Certain monsters aren't destroyed when reduced to 0, and regenerate from scratch, such as planetars, solars, and adamantine golems.

Regeneration (Ex) A creature with this ability is difficult to kill. Creatures with regeneration heal damage at a fixed rate, as with fast healing, but they cannot die as long as their regeneration is still functioning (although creatures with regeneration still fall unconscious when their hit points are below 0). Certain attack forms, typically fire and acid, cause a creature's regeneration to stop functioning on the round following the attack. During this round, the creature does not heal any damage and can die normally. The creature's descriptive text describes the types of damage that cause the regeneration to cease functioning.

Attack forms that don't deal hit point damage are not healed by regeneration. Regeneration also does not restore hit points lost from starvation, thirst, or suffocation. Regenerating creatures can regrow lost portions of their bodies and can reattach severed limbs or body parts if they are brought together within 1 hour of severing. Severed parts that are not reattached wither and die normally.

A creature must have a Constitution score to have the regeneration ability.

Format: regeneration 5 (fire, acid);

If memory serves, typical regeneration is stopped by whatever DR bypass is on the creature: On solars - regeneration 15 (evil artifacts, effects, and spells) So although an epic weapon according to the +3/+4/+5 equivalency allows you to deal damage normally, its not enough to stop the regeneration, and matching the DR to the regeneration is probably the 3.x hangover.


I just wanted to update this since I was just searching on the same topic:

Dust Form: School transmutation (polymorph); Level alchemist 5, cleric 6, druid 6, witch 6
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a pinch of dust gathered from a gravestone or sacred shrine)
Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 round/level
Upon casting this spell, you keep your relative form, but you and your equipment become composed entirely of dust. While in this dust form, you take no penalties for squeezing, and can move through spaces as if you were a creature three size categories smaller without penalty. You are also considered incorporeal, though any nonmagical attack you make deals half damage (50%). Magic attacks are unaffected, and you can still use your magic items and other equipment as normal.
If the duration ends in a square that your normal space cannot occupy, you take 3d6 damage and are shunted to the nearest open space that you can normally occupy.

Also Apparently you can give eidolons incorporeal forms, so a synthesist or lvl 20 twin eidolon could be incorporeal also. Again, the dreamspun bloodline gives you an incorporeal form at level 20.

Lastly there is an 11th level revelation in the Bones Mystery that lets you become incorporeal, but you may only move during this time. The 15th level undead sorcerer power has already been mentioned.


I almost forgot because its not included in your example, but the large-huge evolution is different. Even if you evolution surge it instead of taking it from your normal evolution pool, it still comes before all other spells when it changes your damage, because the eidolon natural attack explicitly states each attack's base damage by size instead of the large evolution changing the damage dice as a spell effect. So no matter where it occurs in the chain, the large evolution alters the base damage of the natural attack.

This is different than enlarge person, which specifically states you move up damage according to size as part of the spell's effect: "All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell. Melee weapons affected by this spell deal more damage (see Table: Tiny and Large Weapon Damage)."

So with bite, it would be:
Your evolution makes you Large size category:
Bite = 1d8
Imp NAF = 2d6
Enlarge = 3d6
Strong Jaw = 6d6
Imp DE = 6d8

Even if you used Greater evolution surge to take improved Damage and Large at the same time, large alters the base damage of bite before all the other calculations, and the rest of it goes in order.


The way I do it is in order of permanency.

Feats First because they cannot be changed no matter what on the eidolon. Then Evolutions because they can only be changed at level ups. Then spells in the order they were applied. (And I'm assuming Ravingdork isn't right about the improved damage evolution: "Select one natural attack form and increase the damage die type by one step," is intentionally worded to avoid the normal progression.)

So on your example:
Medium Bite = 1d6
Improved Natural Attack Feat = 1d8
Improved Damage evolution = 1d10
Enlarge Person = 2d8
Strong Jaw = 4d8

And in your case, you can't get around that, even with an evolution surge, making it a temporary spell cast after all the other effects.

Medium Bite = 1d6
Improved Natural Attack Feat = 1d8
Enlarge Person = 2d6
Strong Jaw = 4d6
Improved Damage Evolution (surge) = 4d8

But with different combinations of abilities it can create different outcomes:
Order 1
Medium Claw = 1d4
Imp NAF = 1d6
Imp DE = 1d8
Enlarge = 2d6
Strong Jaw = 4d6

Order 2
Medium Claw = 1d4
Imp NAF = 1d6
Enlarge = 1d8
Strong Jaw = 3d6
Imp DE = 3d8

The reason I do permanency is because magic alters what is already there, and it reverts when the magic is suppressed. And, if one of your spell effects is dispelled, I know what happens to your damage. In the above, let's assume you had cast evolution surge before enlarge in chart one, it was dispelled by dispel magic, and so the summoner had to cast evolution surge again while enlarge and strong jaw are still in effect. Effectively, you would move from Order #1 to Order #2 damage.

It's a little annoying to have to work out the new damage each time, but at least I always know exactly what my order of operations are and can be certain I'm doing it fairly for everyone.


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.