|3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
School transmutation [sonic]; Level bard 5, sorcerer/wizard 7
Casting Time 1 standard action
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Target one creature
Duration 3 rounds
Saving Throw Fortitude partial; Spell Resistance yes
You speak a terrible word of power, setting up potentially lethal vibrations in the chosen target. The target must save once each round on your turn, and the effects grow stronger for each saving throw the creature fails.
On the first round, the target takes 5d6 points of sonic damage and is staggered for 1 round. A successful save halves the damage and negates the staggered effect.
On the second round, the target takes 5d6 points of damage and is stunned for 1 round. A successful save halves the damage and negates the stunning effect.
On the third round, the target takes 10d6 points of damage and is stunned for 1d4+1 rounds. A successful save halves the damage and negates the stunning effect.
The resonating word has no power after the third round, even if the spell's duration is increased.
This came up in my game tonight. I just let it go to move things along, and by the time it was noticed the fight was over anyway, but I think it is poorly written and deserves an FAQ.
The spell has a duration of 3 rounds and it list what happens each round with no verbage saying that a made save ends the spell.
It also specifically says that each "failed save" gives a greater affect.
So if I get to round 3, but I make the first two saves do I have to save against the affects of round 1 or the affects round 3?