Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

chibikami's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 2 posts (3 including aliases). 1 review. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Pathfinder Society characters.


I'd be interested in trying this out as well

I've read that there are two types of claw attacks in PF:
A singular "claws" attack gets you one attack roll and one damage roll
A "2 claws" attack which gets you two of each.
But which would a catfolk get when they take the cat's claws trait?

The wording in the Advanced Race Guide is as follows:
Cat’s Claws: Some catfolk have stronger and more
developed claws than other members of their race, and
can use them to make attacks. Catfolk with this racial trait
have a pair of claws they can use as natural weapons. These
claws are primary attacks that deal 1d4 points of damage.
This racial trait replaces natural hunter.

Between the use of "pair of claws", "natural weapons" (plural), and "primary attacks" (plural) it seems to indicate that the 2claws attack would be the one to use.
However, as "2 claws" is never directly indicated and there is a lack absolute confirmation after the damage value (the word "each" might be nice), it is still open to interpretation as the singular claws type of attack.

So which is it?

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.