|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
I'm confused on the hex cackle. I'm in a pathfinder campaign and the other night I used fortune on our ranger and as move Action started cackling. The ranger went after me in our rotation and missed with first attack due to low roll so he re-rolled thanks to my fortune hex and scored a hit. On my next turn I kept cackling so that our ranger could keep re-rolling if need be. Our dm said no. He said I could only keep cackling if our ranger had failed on his re-rolling. Basically he said I can only keep cackling with fortune until the recipient finally benefits from it.
That made a lot of sense and I chalked it up to me misunderstanding cackle. But the rest of group chimed in and said dm is one who misunderstood. All of these people are veteran pathfinder people and I'm a relative new comer so could any of you clarify.
1) Fortune Hex - lets you "call upon this good luck once per round". Initially the hex lasts 1 round, but at 8th and 16th Witch level, the duration of the hex extends by 1 round.
2) Cackle specifically lists fortune (and misfortune) hex to be extended by 1 rnd at the cost of the cackling witch's Move action. So you can cackle for (more) Fortune.
It can last for 1-3 rnd even without Cackle, and is stated as 1 reroll/rnd.
So with a Witch 16, you can grant fortune for 3 rnd, and the target can make one reroll each of the 3 rnd; with Cackling, can benefit for a while longer, still 1 reroll per rnd.
Once the Fortune and Cackle stop, then they can't benefit from another casting of the hex, until 24h pass. The last sentence of Fortune kicks in "once a creature has benefited from the fortune hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours" - the witch can't apply a *new* Fortune Hex for 24h. She can only usefully cackle while the original Fortune was active.
So the GM is wrong (but entitled to bend the rules for his own game, so long as he lets you know).