|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Laughing Touch (Sp): At 1st level, you can cause a creature to burst out laughing for 1 round as a melee touch attack. A laughing creature can only take a move action but can defend itself normally. Once a creature has been affected by laughing touch, it is immune to its effects for 24 hours. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier. This is a mind-affecting effect.
Okay, here's a good one. Let me see if I've got this all squared in my head.
Q1: As I understand it, if you're on the back of a spring attacking mount, any movement based AOOs on the rider are negated by the mount's feats, and the only AOOs the rider would provoke would be from actions the rider takes during the movement, not from the movement itself. Is that correct?
Q2: Are these the only relevant checks? -
Q3: Spell goes off at the midpoint of the mount's movement, correct? I read that on forums, but can't find the rule - would help to know where that is. Thanks in advance.
Q4: If the mount moved more before its attack than after, then the spell will go off before the mount closes to bite, and no casting on the defensive is necessary, correct?
Q5: If the mount moved more after its attack than before, then the spell will go off after the mount closes to bite. Does the defender get an AOO on the spellcasting rider even though he does not get an AOO on the mount? And would casting on the defensive prevent this AOO even though the caster is moving in and out of the defender's threatened zone, since his movement is tied to the spring attacking mount?
Q6: Does any of this change if the target has reach?
Presume the rider does NOT have ride by attack.
Not talking mechanically, but rather in the fluff. I don't recall the idea that Half Elves are loners being a big deal in 1st or 2nd edition DND, but it's wallpapered all over the Pathfinder fluff. Where'd it come from? Was that a Dragonlance thing or something? Or was it there all along and I just missed it before? Tolkein didn't make a big deal out of it I don't think, and I don't believe the original Norse did either.
My extended gaming group runs a lot of rotating GM games, where one person will run for a couple of levels worth of plot and then we hand the game off. Our oldest game has reached Level 17. It's a high loot, epic build game, where every character is highly gross. After the last GM's stint was done, it's been sitting on a shelf, because everyone agreed to pitch in and craft ourselves one of those Ravingdork(tm) Staves of Wishes. Why not. And no GM wants to step up to tackle that yet, so we're running a couple low level things instead for the time being, while everyone scratches their head about who's going to run it.
Well I had an idea, that the crafting reagents for such a monstrously campaign breaking Artifact Item probably wouldn't be obtainable in any shop - they'd probably only be obtainable from the Gods themselves. So I need stats. This is an evil group.
Campaign world is here:
Brief synopsis: There are many different smaller "prime material" planes, each one run by a different Old Earth pantheon (greek/norse/egypt/etc) and all connected by an enchanted sea, that may only be crossed by boat. (no teleportations) Outer Planes are by pantheon (Tartarus, Jotunheim, Diaz, Tamoanchan, etc etc), are coterminus, and can only be accessed through coterminus entrances from the region they're associated with. So no gating to Hades if you're hanging out in the Norse region. The deity list is only restricted by history, and Wikipedia is our campaign reference.
So basically, the reagent list to craft the Staff of Wishes could include:
So that means I need stats for these Gods, or stats for other Gods that I can easily swap around and modify for my purposes. I do not want to have to hand-craft a dozen 40th level (or whatever) Pathfinder NPCsto run this story arc.
What resources are out there? Has anyone tackled this problem, or a similar one?
"the bad guy attempts to do X"
For instance, take the Spell Shield magus arcana. Gives you a bonus AC as an immediate action for a round. Since its an immediate action, its clearly intended to be used in response to an enemy attack. Does it work like this:
"The bad guy swings at you."
Or does it work like this:
"The bad guy swings and hits you."
There are other immediate actions where this timing issue crops up as well.
20 point buy, and I get to throw a +3 tome on one stat. Starting at first level, but I want to have a good idea where I'll be at around 12.
Since staff is a monk weapon, a single level splash can effectively get me two weapon fighting, a bonus feat (dodge probably), +2 in all saves, and wisdom bonus to ac. Seems like it might be worth being a level behind in magus, and the loss of armor isn't as huge because its light armor anyway, and I'd get armor spell. Opinions?
If I do it, I need an idea how to divy stats. Seems like maybe the best thing to do given the gnome abilities is dump con and cha, then put 7 in each other stat bringing each to 15. Throw the tome in STR to compensate for the racial penalty. Level bumps at 4 and 8 would be to dex and wis.
Thoughts? Better ideas? I'm married to the gnome staff magus premise, just wondering how best to work it.
Came up in our game tonight, since we have both a lich and a grave knight in the party, one of which has an aura that causes fear without a clearly stated way to stop causing fear, and the other has an aura that negates fear immunity, without a clearly stated way to stop negating everyone's fear immunity.
This could cause problems for our party. Like, for example, the inability to function as a party.
Comments are welcome. I was always under the impression that auras in general were optional things that PCs could take down if they wanted to. Is this not true? I can't seem to find a rule or ruling that states it.
Doesn't the successful grapple automatically pull the opponent to five feet away from you anyway, where it can take a full attack action against you the following round?
All old world religions and mythologies (norse/egypt/greek/etc) transplanted into individual island chains, each of which acts like a zone boundary that prevents teleportation/scrying/etc, so the occupants must sail from chain to chain. And there's pirates.
It was built to support easy GM rotation and compartmentalized adventuring in different settings, leaning on real world myth as the back-story.
(the region write-ups aren't quite complete yet, should be soon)
"Share spells" allows you to throw "caster only" stuff on your familiar. So you throw Alter Self on your familiar, it turns into a small or medium humanoid, and it can wield a wand or other spell trigger item.
So heres the question: Can it use the wand with an appropriate UMD check at that point, or would it also need to know how to speak?
If the former, what are the best ways to get the UMD score up?
Where I'm going with this:
I have a witch character, and I'd intended to do the whole Faerie Dragon Wields a Wand thing, using improved familiar feat, but I just found out today that if I switch familiars I lose all the spells the familiar knows. (totally lame btw) So I'm looking to pull the same trick off with my existing familiar. No, it's not a raven.
Apologies way in advance because I know these questions have all been answered before, and if you'd like to just direct me to the answers that'd be fine. Also, yelling at me for not being able to search properly is fine too, I can take it. Although I can assure you I tried.
First three are related.
So there's a lawful evil cleric. He has the "alignment channel" feat for evil. As I understand it, that would allow him to choose between healing evil outsiders and harming evil outsiders, but does nothing to good outsiders, correct?
Second question, what if the evil outsider is an undead? Can he harm the evil outsider undead with his alignment channel feat even though channeling negative energy wouldn't ordinarily be able to harm regular undead?
My gaming group has switched to PF for over a year now, maybe close to two, and we still call it "DND" when we're discussing it with other people. Like, we say "Are we playing DND on Friday?" instead of "Are we playing Pathfinder on Friday?" I also notice that when I stick PF games into my schedule, I type "DND." My wife still calls it DND.
Anyone else notice the same thing? Note for the sake of discussion, nobody I've talked to bothered playing DND4thED.
tl;dr version: I would like to craft a wand for my King Crab familiar to use.
Lots of people in Pathfinder give wands to their Raven familiar (who knows a language and can therefore speak command words) and allow the Raven familiar to make a UMD check to activate the wand. This vastly increases their action economy, and is almost too good a trick to pass up if you're a wizard or a witch. The problem with this, to me, is it funnels players into certain familiar choices that really reduce the available flavor of the classes. I would like to do the same trick with a King Crab, but want to discuss more generally doing the same trick with other familiars as well, and it comes down to an official ruling over what counts as a "word" for other organisms.
Relevant rules -
(excerpt from) Use Magic Device:
UMD clearly allows the familiar to skip the caster prereq. If the familiar can speak, then it can use any typical wand off a shelf because wands down at Wands Emporium are made for humans, and humans communicate via words. The question is this - if I'm crafting a wand, and I'm choosing the "command word" for the wand, may I not substitute another form of communication than "words" if the wand is to be used by a creature that communicates in another manner? Could I custom craft a wand with a "Command Squeak" for my bat? "Command Screech" for my hawk? Please bear in mind that at 5th level, the Wizard can communicate with the bat or hawk via squeaks or screeches, so the wizard has a clear command of the language of his familiar before he crafts the wand.
A parallel question that may help tool out the answer:
Played last night in a 3rd level game and I build a weird character out, wondered if anyone had any ideas for other ways to augment the concept.
Witch (Sea Hermit is the concept)
Human, +2 in int
Improved unarmed strike
King Crab familiar (+2 grapple) lives in a bucket of water. Starting gear includes a Handy Haversack (5 lb) to mitigate encumbrance due to the low Str.
Focus on touch spells with spell selection due to the hair.
I'm not totally set on which spell path thingy to take, and I'm not totally set on other Hexes, but I'm liking the Evil Eye - Cackle combo as my 2nd hex, and third feat (extra hex). I'm also wondering if there's anything else I'm missing. Not a lot of great optimization material on witch yet.
I'm not very familiar with the newer bestiary stuff, and I just cracked 12 on my druid, so I'm looking for advice on which forms are the most optimal. I've got a spreadsheet I'm working off of in my game (iPad / Numbers) that will do some of the pre-wildshape math for me, because it's horrid to try and do on the fly, so I want to enter some forms in it that are obvious/typical/advantageous.
Here's what I've pulled so far, many from Treatmonk's Druid guide, but his guide as best as I'm aware hasn't been updated for any new beastiary stuff:
Deinonychus (med animal) speed/attacks
Giant Octopus (large animal) land speed, 9 attacks
Bat (diminutive animal) stealthy, blindsense, flight, good for night scouting
All Elemental Forms are quality, and basically where you stay at most of the time.
So here some gaping holes, that I'm wondering if anyone has any advice about filling:
First hole: Plant forms?
Treant crit range and DR is nice. Is it worth it to take on fire vulnerability?
None of those is overwhelmingly cool, but they're not bad. Is there another that I'm missing that's quality? Is there another form with regeneration other than the Tendrilicus?
Second Hole: Magical Beasts?
Any advice here? I haven't looked heavily at them yet but it seems like Chimera, Winter Wolf, and Girallon might be worth a hard look.
Web? Does any form anywhere have web?
All variable, numeric effects of a spell modified by this feat are maximized. Saving throws and opposed rolls are not affected, nor are spells without random variables.
Caster level check is not a saving throw, is not an opposed roll, and is a random variable. Right?
Seems errata worthy, anyone heard different?
Couldn't find the answer anywhere in a search, which is surprising since I figured it would have come up at least once before.
Metamagic maximize rod, or simply maximize metamagic feat.
Do you get the max dice result for number of summoned creatures?
I'm thinking specifically of two parallel cases.
Geas a Paladin to do evil things. If he does them, does he lose his class features, or is the Geas a legit excuse to do evil stuff because he's under a compulsion?
Flipcase: Antipaladin gets hit with Euphoric Tranquility, and is asked to do something good while under the spell. If he does it, does he lose his class features until he atones?
By rule I would think that the answer should be the same for both, either both "yes" or both "no," but "no" to the first one seems open to exploit, and "yes" to the second seems open to exploit.
Under the OGL, can anyone publish a Pathfinder supplement?
If yes, what are the limitations of what can be in it? New Rules? Errata?
Can you reference stuff in the books like monsters or items or classes?
Is there a limit to which books you can reference?
Can you charge money for PDF downloads of it?
I must not understand the costing rules for crafting staves, because every time I try, I get numbers way different than the ones in the SRD.
Here's what I've been doing
750*(spell level)*(CL of that spell)*(multiplier)/(# charges that spell takes)
...where "multiplier" is either 100%, 75%, or 50% depending on whether it's the most costly, second most costly, or less than second most costly ability.
That seems like it'd work, but my results are way off.
for Staff of Weather I get 43562, which isn't too far off. (44200)
What am I doing wrong?
Is there a link that explains this somewhere?
So "transformative" is only a 10k cost bump, which should be 5kish to craft.
Is there anything to prevent PCs from happening along a weapon they're not proficient with, that's otherwise pretty awesome, and throwing "transformative" on it so they can use it?
Seems like the sort of thing that would end up getting thrown on a whole party's weapons after long enough.
Does it work like this:
Round 1: deafen check
Or like this:
Round 1: deafen check
It is, after all, a 9th level spell that you have to spend multiple turns maintaining concentration on to get to the good effects.
Consider a rod that has several metamagic feats crafted into it. Does it take up "no slot," thereby following these rules: (?)
Multiple Similar Abilities: For items with multiple similar abilities that don't take up space on a character's body, use the following formula: Calculate the price of the single most costly ability, then add 75% of the value of the next most costly ability, plus 1/2 the value of any other abilities.
Or does it take up "one of your hands while you use it" slot, thereby following these rules: (?)
For items that take up a space on a character's body, each additional power not only has no discount but instead has a 50% increase in price.
If the former, the logical thing for a player with craft rod feat is to just craft one rod, not multiples, and throw everything into the same rod for cheaper, correct?
Next question, can the same rod be enchanted with the same metamagic feat multiple times? Can a player throw Empower in there twice for six uses total of it? And if so, is the second Empower cheaper than the first because of the first quote above? Or would the player have to build a second rod to carry to use Empower six times?
I'm currently inclined to rule that a player can throw multiple feats into the same rod, that multiples are indeed cheaper, but they can't throw duplicates. However, I'd rather go with an official rule if there is one. I looked around and can't seem to find this discussed on the forums.
Thanks in advance.
Let me preface this by saying if the trick works, I'm fine with it, but I'm wondering if there's something I'm missing, because we just finally shifted our 3.5 game to Pathfinder last night for the first time and I'm still working through the rules changes. Antipaladin in my game opts to go with the fiendish servant. Picks a Babau. Continuously bombs every encounter with AOE dispel magic and/or readies counterspells from the Babau.
Legit trick? I allowed it last night, pending review this morning, and it seems legit.
antipaladin rules wrote:
The second type of bond allows an antipaladin to gain the service of a fiendish servant. This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and that creature must either have the chaotic and evil subtypes or it must be a fiendish animal.
Babau has both the chaotic and evil subtypes and is in the Summon Monster V list. (PC is 10th level)
summon monster wrote:
"A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components (such as wish)."
Dispel has no mat component.
babau statblock wrote:
Reads like he gets at-will darkness or at-will dispel magic out of the Babau every round. Correct?
I can't see any reason why the trick wouldn't work, but I want to check.