Sigh... Too much anticipation for Wrath of the Righteous, I suppose...
Looking ahead to building a character to take on the Worldwound, and dallying with an Angel-blooded Aasimar Paladin (possibly Sacred Servant or Oath Against Fiends; Sadly, can't do both).
This combination would be too situational in most circumstances, but for a frontline melee-type in an AP nearly fully focused on a war with demons...
Your blood is infused with holy power.
Prerequisites: Con 13, aasimar.
Benefit: You gain a +2 bonus on saving throws against effects with the evil descriptor and on Constitution checks to stabilize when you are reduced to negative hit points (but not dead). Furthermore, each time you take bleed or blood drain damage, each undead creature or creature with the evil subtype that is currently adjacent to you also takes 1 point of damage.
Stigmata (Su): A vindicator willingly gives his blood in service to his faith, and is marked by scarified wounds appropriate to his deity. He may stop or start the flow of blood by force of will as a standard action; at 6th level it becomes a move action, and at 10th level it becomes a swift action. Activating stigmata causes bleed damage equal to half the vindicator's class level, and this bleed damage is not halted by curative magic. While the stigmata are bleeding, the vindicator gains a sacred bonus (if he channels positive energy) or profane bonus (if he channels negative energy) equal to half his class level. Each time he activates his stigmata, the vindicator decides if the bonus applies to attack rolls, weapon damage rolls, Armor Class, caster level checks, or saving throws; to change what the bonus applies to, the vindicator must deactivate and reactivate his stigmata.
While his stigmata are bleeding, the vindicator ignores blood drain and bleed damage from any other source and can use bleed or stabilize at will as a standard action.
In addition to this combination, you get:
-A +1 to all saves (not exactly great, but not a handicap either)
-Knowledge (planes) as a class skill (I can see this being very beneficial in this AP)
-Intimidate, Climb, and Swim as class skills (I've never understood why Paladins don't get Climb and Swim, anyway... Seriously, they're not exactly overpowered skills...)
-The situational immunity to bleed damage from other sources seems like it might be very useful in this AP. The Savage template from the Mythic Playtest included bleed attack, and that seems to me to be a likely oft-used template in WotR.
-Losing 1 level of casting
-Skill Tax: Knowledge (religion) 5 ranks
-Feat Tax: Alignment Channel (as a Sacred Servant, in this AP, I might actually use this. But, with that and Angelic Blood, that's two feats gone. If I decide to use a shield for the Vindicator's Shield ability, that's a feat-heavy build. So, there's that...)
Just looking for any thoughts, opinions, or feedback...
Defensive Stance (Ex)::
At 4th level, a stonelord gains the defensive stance ability, as a stalwart defender (Advanced Player's Guide 277), and may select one defensive power at 8th level and every four levels thereafter. Levels of stalwart defender stack with her paladin levels when determining the total number of rounds that she can maintain her defensive stance per day. A stonelord does not gain any spells or spellcasting abilities, does not have a caster level, and cannot use spell trigger or spell completion magic items.
What is the Stonelord's "Stalwart Defender class level" for determining his Defensive Power abilities?
Examples: At 8th level, when you gain your first Defensive Power, if you chose Renewed Defense, would you heal 4d8+Con modifier hp?
At 8th level, can you take Defensive Powers that require 4 levels of Stalwart Defender, such as Fearless Defense, Immobile, Increased Damage Reduction, or Unexpected Strike? What about Mighty Resilience, which requires 6 levels of Stalwart Defender?
When using this ability, does the damage type change? For example, does my rapier still do piercing damage, or does it become bludgeoning damage?
There have been a few different threads covering this type of class. I have been kicking around a few ideas, myself.
Basically, it's built similarly to the Paladin/Ranger style, but with an Arcane flavor. Full BAB, good Will and Fort. Spells are gained at the same rate as Paladin/Ranger. I haven't built the spell list yet, but it will probably be a very refined, pared-down version of the Wizard/Sorcerer list.
I have never done this before, so criticism is welcome.
The Aether Guard:
Hit Die: d10.
The short version is this: We have a player who constantly makes mistakes with his character.
These mistakes are hard to categorize, and I believe they are genuine. Some examples are:
With the constantly expanding number of classes, alternate classes, and archetypes, as well as feats, alternate spellcasting and combat rules, it is becoming increasingly difficult to remember what abilities a character has. I don't believe anyone in my group would intentionally cheat (this person included), but I feel like repeated offenses require some kind of action. Basically, I'd like to be able to say, "If this continues to be a problem, ______________ is going to happen."
The problem: I don't know how to fill in the blank... Your thoughts?
I find this odd that this has never come up for our group before, but...
A spellcaster NPC (either a Cleric or an Oracle, I never saw her stats) was entangled and casting defensively. Under RAW that requires a (15 + spell level) and a (15 + double spell level) Concentration Check. I am of the opinion, however, that making two checks at the levels appropriate to each individual situation doesn't do justice to the RAI.
Parsing out the numbers:
Concentration bonus for a Level 8 Spellcaster with 18 in the relevant stat = +12
Concentration bonus for a Level 8 Spellcaster with 18 in the relevant stat and Combat Casting feat = +16
So, my question is: Should a spellcaster facing two different distractions make two different checks, or one modified check?
If, for example, you decide that (15 + spell level) + (15 + double spell level) = (15 + triple spell level), then you get a modified DC 27. The odds of success change to 25% without Combat Casting and 55% with Combat Casting. Does this seem more appropriate? Or does it seem like a lot more math, where none is needed or desired?
My character in Carrion Crown discovered the Canopic Stone after defeating the Vilkacis [spelling?]. A good Knowledge (Religion) check and some basic deduction and he (my character) knows that it contains the spirit of the creature. He is also just the kind of person that might try to use the power of a Vilkacis, believing that he could control it (he has Command Undead). What I don't know, is how it works mechanically.
Is the Canopic Stone a Spell Trigger, Command Word, or Use Activated in the sense of how it can be used to summon the creature?
Could a Use Magic Device check allow me to use it?
Under the "Creating a Vilkicis" entry it says that you can summon one once per day. Can it be dismissed? How long does it last? Or does it stay until destroyed?
If it is destroyed, can it be summoned again the next day? Or do you have to wait 2d4 days?
Suppose my Level 8 Bard acquired a Staff of Fire to add some offensive power to his repertoire. Obviously, to use this item, he has to succeed on a DC 20 UMD check. But, what about recharging this item?
Would a UMD check allow him to "fool" the staff into believing one of the spells is actually on his spell list, allowing him to add a charge to it? If so, what is the DC? Is it 20, also?
Also, would it be possible to use UMD to substitute say, one level 3 and one level 2 spells (what the bard actually has access to) in place of a level 5 spell, so he could add a charge? What would the DC of that check be? Maybe, 20 + the level of spell to be duplicated, and the spell slots are lost whether or not the check succeeds?
In my current group, we are having a very serious problem with the players outright refusing to fill any of the major (or even minor) roles in the party. This has been a problem since the inception of the campaign, when I tried to get everyone together for party planning.
First, I had not wanted to play a tank (only because I had played the tank in our last campaign, voluntarily and happily I will add, and wanted to do something different), but ended up rolling a barbarian when everyone else was dead set against playing a tank. Then we had to coerce another player into being the rogue. He ultimately was incredibly dissatisfied with his character and basically ran him straight into a golem so he could roll up a new one. Finally, one player was literally railroaded into being the healer, merely due to being the last one to arrive at our planning session. All in all, it was not an auspicious start...
The original party began like this:
From the beginning, nobody put any ranks (at all, yes really) into knowledge or social skills, nobody prepared spells for buffing, debuffing, utility, or crowd-control, nobody had any sort of ranged dps except for (a few) attack spells. The GM had to seriously fudge some things just so we could have a chance to figure out what was going on. It was bad.
Player deaths have exacerbated the problem to the extreme. My own, last night, leaves the current party composition:
Currently, we have a healer and dps and well, nothing else. My Orc Barbarian, who can only Intimidate, has had to function as the party face, because nobody else can, or will. Knowledge checks are generally in the teens or lower. Nobody can spot a trap, and we have no way to disarm one if we found it. Getting through a locked door generally involves me smashing it. Combat starts with the barb/rogue/alch and the magus self buffing while my barb soaks a ton of damage and tries to interpose himself between enemies and group (usually unsuccessfully).
If you've read this whole post to this point, I'm sorry. That was just me venting some frustration. I think this campaign is about to implode. I believe I am finished with it, until we start something new. But, when that time comes... How do you and yours work out party roles, and how do you enforce them?
P.S. Please do not suggest a new group. These are my friends and we have played campaigns before and never had this problem. In fact, I have never seen anything quite like this...
Our group has gone back and forth on this, with multiple readings and multiple interpretations. As an example, I am going to use the Girallon from the Bestiary.
In this example:1. On a full attack action, does the Girallon have 5 primary attacks or only 2 primary attacks?
2. As a standard action, can the Girallon use 1 bite or 4 claws, 1 bite or 1 claw, or all of it's attacks.
3. If the Girallon is staggered, can it make 4 claw attacks or 1 claw attack?
4. As an attack of opportunity, can the Girallon make an attack with 4 claws or only 1 claw?
5. Does the rend special attack trigger for each claw after the first or only if all 4 claws hit?
Basically, I think the major question is whether "4 claws" is one action with four dice rolls, or four actions with one dice roll each? Sorry if that seems ridiculously semantic...
As far as mutagens and extracts go, an alchemist generally prepares those in advance and then only has to drink them at the time of his choosing. But, what about bombs? Would an alchemist ever need to make a concentration check to create a bomb?
Creating and throwing a bomb requires a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity.
Also, what if the alchemist is under the effects of "Rage", or a similar condition?
...swiftly mixing various volatile chemicals and infusing them with their magical reserves...
Are alchemists always 100% successful at this? If not, what are the consequences of failure?
This is NOT another Paladin Code/morality-alignment question. Please.
The situation is this: In my current campaign, I'm playing a LE Dhampir Necromancy Specialist Wizard. The "E" in his alignment is mostly because he dabbles (well, completely delves into) the foulest magic he can find, in pursuit of his own ends. Otherwise, he's not really a "bad guy". He's fairly charming, obeys the law, has never once harmed an innocent, etc...
Recently, a player has rejoined our group after a several-week hiatus (a combination of character death and National Guard service), and dropped a Paladin on us. That didn't alarm me, honestly, though I knew that I would need to be very subtle about my characters actions in a RP sense. However, the second he joined our group in-game, he detected evil. Then did so again as soon as we awoke the next day. Then every person, plant, and gazebo we passed throughout the session.
Fortunately, as we are only Level 4, and I'm not a Cleric, he couldn't get a read on me, but that only buys me the rest of this level (1 or 2 more game sessions). I pretty much already lost the ability to summon undead (without starting a feud with his character), and I really don't want to have to waste my limited resources hiding my alignment every single day. How do you rein in the Geiger-Paladins?
Heroic Finale wrote:
Lingering Performance wrote:
The bonuses and penalties from your bardic performance continue for 2 rounds after you cease performing. Any other requirement, such as range or specific conditions, must still be met for the effect to continue. If you begin a new bardic performance during this time, the effects of the previous performance immediately cease.
1. Does Lingering Performance still function if you cast a "Finale" spell? Or does the spell's effects cancel the performance's effects?
2. Can you cast the "Finale" spells during the 2 rounds after you end a bardic performance, if you have the Lingering Performance Feat?
3. On the round in which you are casting the "Finale" spell, do you need to use a free action to maintain the bardic performance (essentially reducing the number of rounds remaining for the day), or can you cast the spell at the beginning of your turn, without losing a round of perform?
Creatures that are normally immune to fear lose that immunity while within 10 feet of an antipaladin with this ability.
Does that include, well... Everything?
Is a Tarrasque, that is within 10 feet of an Antipaladin, now subject to fear effects?
Does this affect a Paladin's Aura of Courage?
a paladin is immune to fear (magical or otherwise).
So, should it?
The Level 3 Antipaladin ability Plague Bringer says, "He can still contract diseases and spread them to others..."
What are the mechanics of spreading a disease? Does he just need to be in close contact with others? Does he add "Disease" to his special attacks? Is it limited to Natural or Unarmed attacks? Can it be added to Armed attacks, and does that require an action?
When making a full attack, if you miss on your first attack, you can forgo making any other attack for the rest of your turn to reroll that attack at your highest base attack bonus.
I am building an Antipaladin/Assassin as a nemesis for my players, and I am wondering:
Would using this feat allow me to get a second chance with a Death Attack or with Channel Smite? Or are those abilities spent as they would normally be on a missed attack?