in the description of animal companions it says
Animal companions with an Intelligence of 3 or higher can select any feat they are physically capable of using. GMs might expand this list to include feats from other sources
my question is ... do animal companions ignore racial requirements on feats ...
e.g. Badger taking amplify rage (Orc, Half-Orc requirement)
Running a scenario on wednesday that has an automatic reset incendiary cloud trap that SHOULD trigger 5 times before the PC's can get out
that description alonw should tell some of you what this is
Im looking at this and the math gets kind of staggering
1st trigger - 6d6 damage
2nd trigger - 6d6 damage +6d6 damage(Duration)
3rd Trigger - 6d6 damage +12d6 damage(Duration)
4th Triger - 6d6 damage +18d6 damage(Duration)
5th Trigger - 6d6 damage +24d6 damage(Duration)
reflex save for 1/2
am I looking at this right ... or do multiple cloud spells in the same area not stack and if so ... what page # is that on
I know your rulings aren't official ... but I'm having some issues (and I know others are as well) with a certain aspect of how Archetypes function with other Archetypes
2 examples come to mind quickly ... Qinggong Monk and Crossblood Sorcerers
both of these Archetypes Provide Options Rather than outright replacing Class features ...
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different.
the question comes down to ... does the inclusion of options constitute altering a class feature
yup ... I hate it ... utterly hate it ... Im going through a big thread on it ATM as well as watchign this one to see if Ive missed something ... thus far all Ive seen is "no response required" which IMHO is the weakst response ever (on a 33 FAQ request thread even)... if this was a home game Id say go for it ... PFS .. YMMV and be prepared to be hit with a pregen or have an alternate version of the character (which SHOULD be easy enough to have for a Qinggong) without the swapped abilities
Additional resources wrote:
so yes it is
the variant Tiefling abilities are the random roll stuff so not legal (tho Ive not seen anything mention them)
its the same argument about combining a crossblood and Tattooed sorcerer
all Crossblooded does it give options ... Tattooed replaces 2 bloodline powers and 1 feat .... things that were already altered by crossblooded
and unfortunatly adding Options ... is by definition altering the abilities
again .. I HATE it ... it SHOULD work ... but by RAW at a PFS Table Id have to hand someone a pregen
check the book Blood of the fiends .... they included the Variant heritages in that book and removed the need for Fiendish heritage
with the right trait - Wisdom of the flesh -... wis can sub for a Strength / Dex / or Con Skill
also if you dipped 1 level into cleric ... take the sepratist archtype with Irori as your deity
you take the Conversion inquisition as your deitys Primary domain (Wis to Bluff / Dip / Intimidate instead of Cha) and then travel as your sepratist domain for an extra 10 ft base move ... use of Cure wands ... a channel (only 1d6 but whatever) and IMHO a better option than inquisitor
this gets really ticky tacky ... you then get into the issue of Qingong working with Zen archer ...
the issue comes in with "altering an archtype" and unfortunatly giving options is a way of altering ... dont get me wrong I hate it ... but I dont think its legal
so I have a character that got the ban hammer back in August ... and its been collecting dust for a while .... I still havent played it so I have rebuild options still
I rebuilt it once and tested it in an non PFS Game ... unfortunatly I really felt like a Dalek (EXTERMINATE !!) so I scrapped the Idea for the most part -----this is currently an 8th level character
during a discussion at Dennys with some friends the following Idea was explored
I know what your thinking ... OMFG this is a mutt !!!
the Idea behind this build is to synergize everything to a druids animal companion as well as Wildshape / rage
the build goes as follows
Berserker of the Society (+3 rounds of rage)
lvl 1 Barbarian(1)
lvl 2 Fighter(1)
lvl 3 Druid(1)
lvl 4 Inquisitor (1)
lvl 5 Druid (2)
lvl 6 Inquisitor(2)
lvl 7 Druid(3)
lvl 8 Inquisitor(3)
lvl 9 Druid(4)
the reason for the badger animal companion is for the amplified rage teamwork feat (with Solo tactics)making Rounds of rage +8 str +10 Con(Raging vitality)
and the Shaping Focus feat is to synergize and boost the Wild shape feature Preliminary math makes-a raging earth elemental
I am fully planning to put the animal companions 4th level stat into inteligence to get it extra rage feat
as well as running with Wild Dragonhide full plate (the pricetag HURTS)
I also know I'll be dealing with a lot of table variation (GM's wont take kindly to earth elementals wielding Nodachi's)
my current issue is
Im willing to look at stats as well
feel free to toss your feedback at me :-)
I have one .. for PFS ... and it is VERY Feat heavy ... making everything work is a bit of a nightmare
It took me 2 levels of fighter and a level of Monk to really work ... heres my build
Fighter / Spire Defender / Flowing Monk
Traits: Adopted - Chainfighter - Shackleborn Tiefling
(Level 1)Weapon Finesse
get yourself a +1 agile Whip (Enchantment from Society field guide) allows you to add your dex to damage with a whip
eventually with enough dex Items your going to outgrow the mithril BP .. and your going to want celestial armor
Spring loaded wrist sheaths for Quick Wand draws to use with spell combat (I recomend True strike and shield)
I myself have a whip Magus ... with both whip mastery and trip Tree .. with Combat reflexes and an 8 dex mod
so my typical turn is
it gets really ugly when I have 4 beasties comming in at me ...
and most of my group synergizes off of me with Combat reflexes and one with vicious stomp ...it gets ... messy
Andrew Christian wrote:
Allow me to rephrase ...as I have not been able to look at a physical animal archive yet ...and I own seeker ....the srd is the only text I have to go off of for comparison
I apologize for my poor choice of words ....its been a long week and its not over yet
so we all know that in order to use a Feat / trait ect from additional resources you must own the book
My question stems from the moving of Boon Companion from Seeker of Secrets to the Animal Archive
as I have yet to get my hands on the Animal Archive I must rely on the SRD for definitions ect.
the Wording between the 2 books is Minuscule
Seeker of Secrets - "to a maximum Bonus equal to your character level"
Animal Archive (Via SRD) - "to a maximum effective druid level equal to your character level"
I understand that nothing in Archive is legal for PFS until this coming week...
I also well understand that the most recent printing of a feat, trait ect. supersedes the previous but for those of us who may have bought seeker just for boon companion suddenly those peoples cost raises by 1/3rd for something they already had that was legal
my question is if we already own Seeker of Secrets ... will ownership of this book suffice for legality to use Boon Companion ?
I have a bard Im planning and I made the decision ... yes I will get a familiar ... its kind of rough to do so because it requires 4 feats in the long run
Skill focus (Knowledge)
I plan to have a Celestial Faerie Dragon as my familiar
only thing Im trying to figure is ... a 2nd trait and the faction
ok ... I started running my group through this today .. and my question is based on one of the contingency plans included in the Scenario
1st - the Group was able to Capture the Red Raven (Tremor sense / Earth Glide / Blessing of Fervor / Huge and trip= OP)
now in the Scenario there is a Line about his Cape being Retained as Treasure if he is captured or Killed ... but it does not show up on the chronicle Sheet
my question is ... how do we as GM's of this scenario handle his Cape ... is it just hand waved or what ?
ok I think I see what happened (tho I cant confirm yet)
I just went out to my car to check that book because the SRD lists that Trait as "Tattooed Mystic"(Same Book Reference Same Text) and the book reads Varisian Tattoo ... I wonder if there's a statement somewhere where they renamed it because of the Identical name of the Feat or if the SRD renamed it so that it was "less confusing"
thanks for clarifying my confusion
Im confused ... Varisian Tatoo is a feat not a trait unless Im missing something
are you talking about
Adopted - Gnome (Social)
if so then Yes that is legal
Adopted Reads -
You picked up a race trait from your adoptive parents and society, and may immediately select a race trait from your adoptive parents’ race.
note a Race Trait is a Trait marked as (X) where X = a type of Race e.g (Gnome)(Elf)(Orc) ect
I cant remember where that clarification is unfortunately
the only hiccup is that Mike Said Adopted could not be used for things from the ARG (this one is from the APG so your good)
as for anything else beyond the Traits Im not sure ...
and Tattoo'd Familiar is part of the Tattoo'd Sorcerer Archtype - Varisian Tattoo only effects the caster level of certain schools of magic (and requires spell focus)
Looks like I really need to study the FAQ because the answer was in there
a friend of mine pointed out to me something about acrobatics and its raised some questions in my Mind
the way that Acrobatics is Worded is when using it to move through a threatened square you move at 1/2 speed
By RAW Acrobatics is not a move action ... its a mode of movement and seems to support moving normally ...and making the acrobatics squares as 1/2 movement
In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10. You cannot use Acrobatics to move past foes if your speed is reduced due to carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor. If an ability allows you to move at full speed under such conditions, you can use Acrobatics to move past foes. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5. If you attempt to move through an enemy’s space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.
whats your thoughts ?
so .. Im prepping this for next week ... and I ran into something
the group I'll be Prepping this for contains a paladin of Iomondae - Cheliax Faction
at one point ...
the Chelaxian is to read a manuscript that summons an Ice devil
now due to RP this character has remained ignorant as possible (even including excuses as to mispronouncing Asmodeous's name)--(dont ask)
my question ... this event ... beyond the RP aspects of it ... should I require him to take an atonement spell if he chooses to go through with this ? reading the faction mission its not obvious (but its highly hinted at) whats going to happen
as for the corpse issue ... when I had my undead lord my plan was to buy a portable hole ... and stuff the scenario's kills into it ... that way Id always have a source of corpses at my disposal ... I was going to go as far as to write down the "Rare" corpses that she aquired ...
e.g. oh look we killed a small white dragon .... into the hole you go
Additional Recourses wrote:
Note: Alternate racial traits, racial archetypes, racial evolutions, racial feats, and racial spells are only available for characters of the associated race. Racial equipment and magic items can be purchased and used by any race as long as the specific item permits it (for example, only halflings can purchase and use solidsmoke pipeweed).
Shield doesnt require Aasimar ... therefore legal for all
so a thought Crossed my mind ... and Im not sure if its ever been asked
this is not a situation that I am currently looking at .. just a general question
for the sake of argument Lets say you GM a 7-11 and your highest character is a 3
procedure says ...
lets say that through a series of unfortunate events the Character Dies a few times ... expends Prestige / Boons / Favors / money and has nothing left ... and dies again ... no way to bring him back ... (I am ignoring surviving PC's pitching in to help res for a reason)
what happens to that held credit ... is it wasted ... applied to a new # ?
Im more curious than anything if this has ever come up before and if so what was the answer