Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Vic Wertz

Vic Wertz's page

Chief Technical Officer. 21,311 posts. 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 21,311 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

You can do both. (This is a place where the English language lets us down a bit. We try to avoid "and/or" constructions, and if we had just said "and," then people would ask if they were allowed to do it at the end of the turn if they hadn't done it at the start. So yes, going with "or" here relies on the "cards don't have memories" rule: by the time you get to the end of the turn, the card doesn't remember--or therefore care--what you did at the start of the turn.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We will be updating the scenario with the wording "For your move step, if any other open locations are occupied, move to one."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Iceman wrote:


As she notes, it's largely about how many blessings are left vs how many location cards. ..

This Shannon is a "he."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

All of the rulebooks since Skull & Shackles have a sidebar with rules for cards that are left faceup on location decks. (Many cards that are left faceup have the Task trait, but it's not actually a 1:1 correlation.) If you're using an older rulebook, you can download a newer one in PDF form.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We'll be removing the Vermin trait.

As for the theme question, as Mike likes to say, in the Abyss, THEY are at home, so YOU are the Outsider. (Though actually giving you the Outsider trait would not be mechanically useful.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Dave Riley wrote:
This thread made me think to change my shipping preference, since I had it set to "cheapest possible" for the class decks. When I looked at my subscriptions, however, the estimated shipping is nearly $30 no matter what option I pick (and many options are cheaper than the "cheapest option"). Is this normal? Or maybe just an estimation error on the part of the automated software? Because I've sent a PACG base set via USPS and shipping wasn't anywhere close to $30...

Keep in mind that your October shipment includes a Base Set, an Add-On Deck, and a Class Deck! (Also a pile of promo cards, but that's negligible as far as shipping goes.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Longshot11 wrote:
So I seem to remember talk about it being an automated option, where you just chose to skip the Base Set, without having to cancel/restart the sub. But I may be misremembering things.

We do not have such an option.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The release date is October 26. Most subscriber shipments and preorders are currently expected to go out between October 11 and October 21. (It's that October 11 date that making it display as "early October" on the product page.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
zeroth_hour2 wrote:
It's on the AP card, but technically it's not on the Season of the Righteous AP card. That may need to be corrected.
Hmm. I just had a look, and it's there on adventures 1, 4, 5, and 6, but seems to have mysteriously dropped off 2 and 3. I noticed a few other small differences on the AP cards among adventures, so I'll get those standardized. In the meantime, the best version is the one accompanying Adventure 6.
Update: we have decided to move the text "In locations that have the Abyssal trait, ignore the Outsider trait on banes" from the Adventure Path card to the Adventure 4 card.
Just for SotRi, right? Not the box set?

Correct.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Reroll the dice for the second check only. Will update to clarify.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Longshot11 wrote:
Now that the threadjack is answered, any ruling on the Vermin trait?

Not yet.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
zeroth_hour2 wrote:
It's on the AP card, but technically it's not on the Season of the Righteous AP card. That may need to be corrected.
Hmm. I just had a look, and it's there on adventures 1, 4, 5, and 6, but seems to have mysteriously dropped off 2 and 3. I noticed a few other small differences on the AP cards among adventures, so I'll get those standardized. In the meantime, the best version is the one accompanying Adventure 6.

Update: we have decided to move the text "In locations that have the Abyssal trait, ignore the Outsider trait on banes" from the Adventure Path card to the Adventure 4 card.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Putrid Horror should be a villain. The second power should be "If undefeated, the Putrid Horror deals 1d4 Acid damage to each other character at your location." The third power should be deleted.

We will update.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The locations and reward from 2-5D were mistakenly copied from 2-5E.

The 2-5D location list should be:
1. Courtyard
1. Festering Maze of Sloth
2. Thassilonian Library
3. Academy
4. Prison
5. Apothecary
6. Glassworks

The 2-5D reward should be "Each character chooses weapon, spell, or item and adds a card of that type from the game box to the cards acquired during this scenario. Adventure Card Guild characters may choose a bonus deck upgrade."

We will fix.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We will be modifying the reward to give Mavaro the Inquisitor Deck instead of the Witch Deck (and to tell you he comes from the Add-On Deck, not the Base Set).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

zeroth_hour2 wrote:
It's on the AP card, but technically it's not on the Season of the Righteous AP card. That may need to be corrected.

Hmm. I just had a look, and it's there on adventures 1, 4, 5, and 6, but seems to have mysteriously dropped off 2 and 3. I noticed a few other small differences on the AP cards among adventures, so I'll get those standardized. In the meantime, the best version is the one accompanying Adventure 6.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The whole "play a scenario without playing an adventure" thing exists because when the original rulebook was written, there was doubt from some (not me!) that people would fully adopt the Adventure Path idea—that folks might instead want to pick and choose which scenarios they would play. Of course, nobody really does that, and the game frankly doesn't support that style of play all that well anyway, so we've entirely removed that concept from the Mummy's Mask rulebook: when you're playing a scenario, you're always playing part of an adventure.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I won't have the opportunity to formalize this FAQ for a while, but we'll be revising this card to say the following:

Future Imp wrote:

You may not play this card during an encounter.

Display this card to draw 1 or 2 cards. At the end of the turn, if you drew 1 card, recharge this card; if you drew 2 cards, discard this card.
Discard this card to explore your location.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The primary rule you're looking for is under Playing Cards on Wrath page 9: "If a power says it may be used when something happens, you may use it every time that happens."

The reminder of this on page 10 of Wrath says "Each player may activate any power no more than once during each step, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens;" in MM, this is revised to "A character may not activate a given power more than once during each step, other than effects that can be used each time something particular happens."

The reminder on page 12 of Wrath says "Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens." In MM, the word "cards" in that sentence has been replaced with "powers."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

In playtests, "When closing" was called something like "To Close," which isn't far from your suggestion. But while it was more accurate, it actually confused people more, because it made people think they could do it whenever they wanted to rather than just when they earned the opportunity to.

As for the tense of "When permanently closed," keep in mind that box can have effects that happen immediately on closing *and* effects that turn on and stay on for the rest of the game. "When permanently closing" doesn't make much sense for an effect like Sandpoint Cathedral's: "When you end your turn here, you may attempt a Wisdom 6 check to recharge a blessing from your discard pile." Past tense is more sensible for both types of effect.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

That page could maybe be clearer about this, but it's in a weird place because iOS 10 is due to be released September 13.

• When it says "iOS 9.x" without a star, it means that it runs 9.3.5 but will not run iOS 10.x.

• When it says "iOS 9.x" followed by a star, it means that it runs the 9.3.5 but "significant features are not supported" (and I don't actually know what that means), but will not run iOS 10.x.

• When it says "current" without a star, it means that it runs 9.3.5 and will run iOS 10.x as well.

• When it says "current" followed by a star, it means that it runs 9.3.5 and will run iOS 10.x as well, but again, "significant features are not supported."

So basically the iPad 3 does run the current OS, but that statement is only true for the next week.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Damiel's recharge power ("When you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait or a spell for its power, you may recharge it instead") is a simple three-part test:

• Is the card a spell or does it have the Alchemical trait?
• Are you playing it for its power?
• Is it getting banished?

If the answer to all three is yes, you can recharge it (unless some other power trumps this via the Golden Rule). This applies to Charm Person, Holy Feast, Time Stop, and Miracle just as it applies to any other card.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

All I can say is that we'll get them both out as soon as we can.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Hawkmoon269 wrote:
This sort of gets at the issue of how concerned the designers should be about CD Characters being played in non-organized play.

Function inside and outside of OP is equally important to us.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
This web page includes a pretty through list of iOS devices and the newest iOS version that that device will run. If your device is listed as anything other than "Current," you are likely to have an increasing number of issues with newer apps and with updates to older apps in general (that is, not just Pathfinder Adventures).

Hopefully this went without saying, but not only do you want hardware that supports the latest OS—you want the latest OS actually installed. As of August 25, that's iOS 9.3.5.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

This page will tell you what model you have when you give them an identifier. The easiest identifier to provide is probably the model number, which is printed on the back of your iPad at the bottom; it's a 4-digit number preceded by the letter A.)

To display the iOS version, open Settings, then click on General, then About.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

First World Bard wrote:

I had been playing with my wife's older iPad (an old Mini, possibly even first generation). The game crashed repeatedly. After an update, it seemed to get even worse. For a while, I couldn't even make a new party in Story mode without the game hanging, so I resorted to playing solo Lini in quest mode, which only crashed occasionally.

After my wife showed me how well the game ran on her new iPad pro, she encouraged me to get my own iPad. BestBuy had a sale on the Mini 4 recently, so I picked one up. I played through Burnt offerings with my old party of 4, and everything went smoothly; no issues at all.

This web page includes a pretty through list of iOS devices and the newest iOS version that that device will run. If your device is listed as anything other than "Current," you are likely to have an increasing number of issues with newer apps and with updates to older apps in general (that is, not just Pathfinder Adventures).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Calthaer wrote:
So it's basically like the square of red translucent plastic they used to include with every Transformers figure so that you could read their tech specs?

Not at all like that, but it does involve the color red....

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I'm hoping to get a chance to breathe in October or November and drive a bunch of errata decks and season sets to completion.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Not currently.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Not currently.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We'll make all the new cards for the official Season of the Goblins scenarios available on DriveThru eventually. But we're only halfway through the season—we need to finish it first, and then give it some time to work through any slugs bugs. (I also need to get a bunch of other stuff off my plate, like the last chapters of Mummy's Mask and Season of the Runelords, and the first chapters of Season of the Mummy, which haven't actually hit my plate yet...)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Made some clarifications on encountering a card—mainly rearranging info into a more logical sequence.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Firedale2002 wrote:

So my question is twofold.

1) When a character dies, are only the cards from that character banished if they're not kept, or when a character dies, does it make the entire cardpool of non-kept cards get banished?

2) Was this a miswording in the rules either in this section for dying or for the After the Scenario deck-rebuilding section, and if so, then which one is correct?

Added to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Adjusted a rule about dead characters' cards.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Rebel Song wrote:
Anyway, all this has hurt my head and I need to go sit down. *is already sitting*

Join the club.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I've adjusted the resolution. Thanks!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Rage to Bard.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Rage to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Rage.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The sidebar has been finalized and added to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added a clarification about Affecting the Situation.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.

(If you're wondering why we changed our stance on this after two and a half years, the answer is "Pathfinder Adventures.")

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Sihedron Circle.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Mine all mine...don't touch wrote:
Any chance of seeing the other bestiarys in the same format? It would be more useful to have all five in smaller size than one and then four regular.

Now that the first one has done well enough, we'll start discussing the possibility.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

You can get an updated Runelords rulebook PDF here. However, I recommend grabbing the Wrath rulebook PDF from the same link instead, as it's better organized and more clearly worded. There are some rules in there that tell you how to deal with things that aren't in Rise of the Runelords (most notably, Mythic and cohorts), but you can just ignore them.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Steve Geddes wrote:
How were these received at GenCon, Vic? Good response?

Sorry, Steve—I missed that question before. Yeah, we're quite happy with how they've been received. Looks like we need to print more already!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Every rulebook since the second printing of Rise of the Runelords has had a page in the back called "Things to Keep In Mind," which includes a section headed "Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say." It's very germane to your question.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
Added new rules about automatically succeeding at checks.

The resolution has been updated.

Old:
If a power allows you to automatically defeat or acquire a card, you may use it instead of attempting the check. Using such a power counts as succeeding at all checks required to defeat or acquire the card. You may not use such a power on any card that does not have a check to acquire or defeat, or on any card that has a check you're not allowed to succeed at.

New:
If a power allows you to automatically defeat or acquire a card, you may use it instead of attempting the check. Doing so counts as succeeding at all checks and requirements to defeat or acquire the card. You may not use such a power against any card that does not have a check to acquire or defeat, or any card that has a check you’re not allowed to succeed at.

1 to 50 of 21,311 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.