|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
But what if we have a power we want to apply to you?
Test of Faith
Illustration: A panoply of bejeweled golden drinking cups, with one ordinary-looking wooden cup barely noticeable among them.
Before you act, succeed at a Divine 20 check or you may not play Blessings on the check to defeat. If you do not have the Divine skill, you automatically fail this check.
If defeated, recharge all the blessings in your discard pile. If undefeated, you die.
I could imagine a card—let's call it "Test of Faith"—that includes something like "If you do not have the Divine skill, you automatically fail this check..."
If a bane says an effect happens if or when you do a particular thing, it applies to any character who does that thing.
If a bane says "If you play a weapon, the difficulty of the check to defeat is increased by 5," then if *anybody* plays a weapon on the check, the difficulty is increased by 5.
And if it says "When you play a boon that has the Divine trait, banish it," that applies to any character playing a boon with the Divine trait during the encounter.
If it limits the things you can do, that limit applies to any character who wants to do those things.
So if a bane says "succeed at an Arcane 8 check or you may not play spells that have the Attack trait", or "you may not play blessings on this check," those would apply to everyone, not just the character encountering the card.
Sharkfist Robot wrote:
Will the associated ACG iconic card for Kolo be a Cohort? And such, will Cohorts be making appearances in future class decks for shamans, cavaliers, hunters, or others? Or is this something going to be held closer to the chest until you're ready to reveal?
For now, cohorts are limited to Wrath of the Righteous.
The general rule is you don't add them.
If you’re told to summon and build a location, if it’s not already built, retrieve the location card from the box and build the location as usual; the location and its deck remain in play for the rest of the scenario and are no longer considered summoned cards.
"Build the Location Decks" and "Add Villains and Henchman" are separate steps, and the rule above tells you do the former but not the latter. We have always told you when you have to add villains, but in this case, we neglected to tell you to add a henchman.
Sigh. That's what "immune to the Attack trait" was *supposed* to prevent. However, no monsters are actually "immune to the Attack trait." Some monsters *do* say "you may not play spells," or prevent you from playing spells if you fail a specified check, and since that effect lasts until you resolve the encounter with the monster, and this card must be played during the encounter ("When a character at your location defeats a monster" triggers during the Resolve the Encounter step), you still can't play spells at that time. So the phrase "that is not immune to the Attack trait" is not needed to prevent you from doing that. Expect a FAQ entry soonish.
Vic Wertz wrote:
So design would be happy if Balazar/Darago/Lini said "When you defeat a monster and would banish it or remove it from the game", so that these powers apply to cards that get RFGd, but we have length issues we haven't been able to solve.
Each card game Adventure Path is an adaptation of an RPG Adventure Path. While we add and subtract elements due to the different nature of each game, the storyline is the same. So the RPG Adventure Path books will tell you a lot of the stories behind the scenarios, locations, villains, henchmen, monsters, allies, loot, and other cards you'll find in the PACG version.
Dal Selpher wrote:
Vic, I think he's referring to the plastic insert within the box that holds all the cards. He'd mentioned earlier that the insert that's included with the box only accommodates unsleeved cards. Hawkmoon had suggested the 3rd party box inserts by put out by The Broken Token and Go7 as examples of inserts that can handle cards-in-sleeves, but it seems those are scarce in Germany too. =(
Ah. We have nothing whatsoever to do with that. They're not officially licensed products. As Hawkmoon mentioned, our official accessory licensee UltraPRO has one in the works, but there are no details available on that, and no release date for it yet.
Adding her to the package is on the to-do list.
Andrew L Klein wrote:
The card is correct—I adjusted the blog.
If you want a reverse chronologcial listing of their writeups, go here. (You'll notice that Valeros has two entries, because when we started, we didn't offer the amount of detail we do now.)
You should also note that the order they were written up does not always coincide with the order in which they appeared in products. Feiya, Imrijka, and Balazar didn't get their stories told for a bit.
And "the order in which they appeared in products" may mean different things to different people. The 11 iconics from the Core Rulebook appeared on the covers of Pathfinder Adventure Path volumes long before the Core Rulebook existed. And Seltyiel appeared as the quasi-iconic Eldritch Knight in the Core Rulebook before he became the iconic Magus in Ultimate Magic.
I live in Germany and I did not find any shop, where it is possible to buy errated cards. Sadly same goes for custom boxes. It is extremely overpriced to get some of your products to Europe. Is there a chance for this to improve?
Regarding updated cards: As Hawkmoon mentioned, we did two printings of the entire Rise of the Runelords, and updated some cards between the two printings. Both printings were regular retail products. We sold out of the first printings a long time ago, so *most* of the Rise of the Runelords products you'll find in stores are likely to be 2nd printing (they say "Second Printing. Printed in USA" instead of "Printed in China" on the back). Any retailer who carries any Paizo products should be able to order these from their distributor.
We made the decks that Hawkmoon linked to several months after 2nd printing was released. Because the demand for them is fairly low, they're available only as print-on-demand from our partner at DriveThru Cards in the USA, and are not available in stores anywhere. Future errata decks will be made available the same way.
I'm not sure what you mean about "custom boxes." Can you give some more detail?
I don't recall ever asking you to track mystic charges on your Chronicle sheet.
Also, you should really put PFSACG questions in the PFSACG forum.
And finally, dumping every question anyone has into a single thread with a generic name is not terribly helpful. If you can't find the answer to your question in an existing thread, please create a new one. I'm locking this one.
The rulebook says "If you choose not to acquire a boon, it counts as failing to acquire it."
That's not precisely the same as failing a *check* to acquire it, though. If you didn't attempt a check, you didn't fail a check.
They're planning a major revision for Season of the Shackles to put it in line with the new Tier system. After that happens, it may be much more difficult to covert the AP for standard home play.
It won't be hard at all—you'll just want to make sure you gain the feats that the tiering system gives you as you complete scenarios and adventures.
Or, hey, every case is likely to contain one....
Unfortunately, image extraction just doesn't work correctly with the interactive PDFs. That's not a restriction we're imposing, but a technological limitation.
If your primary goal is image extraction, you want the regular PDFs. And as BobROE said, when you extract an image from one of those, it generally won't include the map tags (with the exception of a few very old ones).
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
One might note that there's a similar division in our RPG product line: Ultimate Magic focuses on the first two, Ultimate Combat on the third, and Ultimate Intrigue on the last.
2. In the case when all locations are closed, villain is at the Rift with the closed side up, and you do NOT defeat the villain.?
This issue is yet to be addressed; the answer is that we want you to have to defeat the villain to win, but we haven't yet determined the best way to achieve that.
3. If you do defeat a villain at the Abyssal rift, do you banish it's location deck? Again rulebook unequivocally says it does as you do not need to meet the When Closing requirement, and you banish cards before applying the When Permanently Closed effect.
Everything in the paragraph that begins "if you defeat the villain, close the villain’s location" depends on you first doing what that sentence says. Since the location is never permanently closed, you cannot do that, so you cannot do anything else in that paragraph.
Not at all. I'll be happy to step you through the rules.
You may earn the opportunity to close a location in a number
One could argue that the sentence "This location is never permanently closed" on either side suggests that you can never "get the opportunity" to close the location. But one could also argue that it doesn't mean that, so we'll proceed as if it doesn't.
When you have the opportunity and want to close a location,
So, what does the When Closing section say? Depending on which side is up, it says "This side of this location is always temporarily closed" or "This side of this location is always open. Bury a blessing to flip this card."
In the former case, there's nothing here for you to do. In the latter case, you can flip the card (or not). But in either case, there's no specific task listed for you to do—no requirement stated for you to meet.
If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement, search the
Because this begins "If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement," and there was no requirement for you to succeed at, you don't get to do anything here.
If you didn’t find any villains, perform the When Permanently Closed
You don't get to do any of this because you weren't even able to *look* for villains.
Regardless of whether you go the long way or the short way, you end up in the same place: Since you can never close the location, there's nothing for you to do here.
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Just like Shark Island from S&S, the summoned Hammerhead Shark Henchmen is not the same as the Hammerhead Shark Henchman in the location decks. They don't invoke the same powers as the actual cards.
All the powers are the same—it's just that the last power tells you you can attempt to close the location it came from, and when it's summoned, it didn't come from one, so you ignore it because it's impossible.
Which is to say, you ignore because it's impossible, and it's impossible because it was summoned... but you don't ignore it just because it was summoned.
If you evade the card, do not activate any other powers on it.... it is neither defeated nor undefeated, and the encounter is over.
So if something is triggered when you "fail to defeat" a thing, it is triggered when you evade that thing.
If something is triggered when you "fail a check to defeat" a thing, it is not triggered when you evade it before you act. (But if you evade it *after* you fail a check, using a card like Cat O'Nine Tails or Repelling Pike +1, the trigger would go off before you evade.)