Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Vic Wertz

Vic Wertz's page

Chief Technical Officer. 20,023 posts. 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 20,023 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

When my group's number of dice plus modifiers is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, we don't bother rolling. I've probably had a couple dozen dice with 5 players though.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Melemkor wrote:

Ah, I was trying to sort this out myself... I would have guessed that a card like that (assuming it doesn't exist already, and I'm just forgetting) would have text like the recharge checks: "If you do not have the Divine skill, banish this card."

But, I obviously have far less insight into what all possibilities have to be watched out for :)

But what if we have a power we want to apply to you?

Test of Faith
Barrier
Intelligence Divine 16

Illustration: A panoply of bejeweled golden drinking cups, with one ordinary-looking wooden cup barely noticeable among them.

Before you act, succeed at a Divine 20 check or you may not play Blessings on the check to defeat. If you do not have the Divine skill, you automatically fail this check.

If defeated, recharge all the blessings in your discard pile. If undefeated, you die.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Myfly wrote:

Title Question is not answered yet...

Ronald,
Will there be a worldwide-subscriber-only-promo card?

You're right—the question has not been answered yet.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added a clarification about dying.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I'd say you're correct, as written. Checking with design on intent.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Zaister wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Added FAQ entry.
FAQ wrote:
... You may not use such a power on any card that does not have a check to acquire or defeat, or on any card that has a check you're not allowed to succeed at.
Shouldn't that last part be "a check you're not allowed to automatically succeed at"? Or are there indeed checks where you are not allowed to succeed, like, at all? That doesn't sound like it would make a lot of sense.

I could imagine a card—let's call it "Test of Faith"—that includes something like "If you do not have the Divine skill, you automatically fail this check..."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

FAQ wrote:
If a bane says an effect happens if or when you do a particular thing, it applies to any character who does that thing.

If a bane says "If you play a weapon, the difficulty of the check to defeat is increased by 5," then if *anybody* plays a weapon on the check, the difficulty is increased by 5.

And if it says "When you play a boon that has the Divine trait, banish it," that applies to any character playing a boon with the Divine trait during the encounter.

FAQ wrote:
If it limits the things you can do, that limit applies to any character who wants to do those things.

So if a bane says "succeed at an Arcane 8 check or you may not play spells that have the Attack trait", or "you may not play blessings on this check," those would apply to everyone, not just the character encountering the card.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added FAQ entry.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added new rules about automatically succeeding at checks.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:

The scenario text should say "When you would banish Alrys Harnaste, shuffle him into a random open location deck."

The FAQ for AD 3 won't go up until next week; when it does, it'll include this.

It now includes this.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Crusader's Legacy and Drake Rider.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Sharkfist Robot wrote:
Will the associated ACG iconic card for Kolo be a Cohort? And such, will Cohorts be making appearances in future class decks for shamans, cavaliers, hunters, or others? Or is this something going to be held closer to the chest until you're ready to reveal?

For now, cohorts are limited to Wrath of the Righteous.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yep!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We have an Extra Magnet Pack here. We have graphically redesigned the Combat Pad since this pack was made, so you'll find the magnets *not* identical, to the ones pictured above. They are similar, though.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

OnkelZorni wrote:
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Can't wait to see the US-only con promo that comes out this week!

You only wrote this to make Myfly upset, didn't you!?

If not, well much money on ebay *again*

There's no US-only promo card. We're giving out Temptation of Big Die at Gen Con.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

These days, we would word that "If any d6 rolled on this check is a 1..."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The general rule is you don't add them.

Rulebook wrote:
If you’re told to summon and build a location, if it’s not already built, retrieve the location card from the box and build the location as usual; the location and its deck remain in play for the rest of the scenario and are no longer considered summoned cards.

"Build the Location Decks" and "Add Villains and Henchman" are separate steps, and the rule above tells you do the former but not the latter. We have always told you when you have to add villains, but in this case, we neglected to tell you to add a henchman.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Those powers already apply to anyone trying to play a card during the encounter. See this post.

Now an official FAQ entry.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Another.
(I may have posted that last one a bit too early. I'm not taking it down, but it may change slightly.)

I have updated this one, adding another sentence to the resolution.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added a rule about who "you" on a bane refers to.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, you normally shouldn't, but I think this card really really wants to tell you to. Fitting that on the card is going to be tricky.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Sigh. That's what "immune to the Attack trait" was *supposed* to prevent. However, no monsters are actually "immune to the Attack trait." Some monsters *do* say "you may not play spells," or prevent you from playing spells if you fail a specified check, and since that effect lasts until you resolve the encounter with the monster, and this card must be played during the encounter ("When a character at your location defeats a monster" triggers during the Resolve the Encounter step), you still can't play spells at that time. So the phrase "that is not immune to the Attack trait" is not needed to prevent you from doing that. Expect a FAQ entry soonish.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

In many scenarios, unless you're buying a second set, you will not have enough of the appropriate henchmen to put in your extra location.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

It has not been abandoned.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
Mogloth wrote:

So, since no Paizo employee debunked it, I take it that later on in the AP, even if Balazar defeats a 'basic' monster he won't be able to take it into his hand?

Stay tuned.

So design would be happy if Balazar/Darago/Lini said "When you defeat a monster and would banish it or remove it from the game", so that these powers apply to cards that get RFGd, but we have length issues we haven't been able to solve.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

ElDrobco wrote:

Hawkmoon you are a miracle worker. Thanks for all your advices. I will put them to good use.

One more question, if I would like to know more about story, will I find my answers in books released by Paizo? By other words, how much story is inside WOTR books?

Each card game Adventure Path is an adaptation of an RPG Adventure Path. While we add and subtract elements due to the different nature of each game, the storyline is the same. So the RPG Adventure Path books will tell you a lot of the stories behind the scenarios, locations, villains, henchmen, monsters, allies, loot, and other cards you'll find in the PACG version.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Dal Selpher wrote:
Vic, I think he's referring to the plastic insert within the box that holds all the cards. He'd mentioned earlier that the insert that's included with the box only accommodates unsleeved cards. Hawkmoon had suggested the 3rd party box inserts by put out by The Broken Token and Go7 as examples of inserts that can handle cards-in-sleeves, but it seems those are scarce in Germany too. =(

Ah. We have nothing whatsoever to do with that. They're not officially licensed products. As Hawkmoon mentioned, our official accessory licensee UltraPRO has one in the works, but there are no details available on that, and no release date for it yet.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Paralyze. Thanks.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Hawkmoon269 wrote:
What are the odds on getting her artwork added to the community use package?
I'll look into that.
Thanks. ThinKing about it more, even if her full artwork could just be in the blog that would cover using it to make pawns and stuff. No need to put it in the community use package as the only way to cover that. Thanks again Vic. Most appreciated.

Adding her to the package is on the to-do list.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Andrew L Klein wrote:
yardswimmer wrote:
I have a question on Steal Soul. In this post it makes it sound like the character who defeated the monster gets the bonus die but the card says the character who played Steal Soul gets the die. Which is the correct way? Just want to check if this needed errata.
Mechanically I'd say the caster. They have the power to take a soul, not the gunslinger.

The card is correct—I adjusted the blog.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

She's not *not* meant to be a replacement. See this post.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Merisiel's role card to Rogue.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

123. Cumberbatch.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

If you want a reverse chronologcial listing of their writeups, go here. (You'll notice that Valeros has two entries, because when we started, we didn't offer the amount of detail we do now.)

You should also note that the order they were written up does not always coincide with the order in which they appeared in products. Feiya, Imrijka, and Balazar didn't get their stories told for a bit.

And "the order in which they appeared in products" may mean different things to different people. The 11 iconics from the Core Rulebook appeared on the covers of Pathfinder Adventure Path volumes long before the Core Rulebook existed. And Seltyiel appeared as the quasi-iconic Eldritch Knight in the Core Rulebook before he became the iconic Magus in Ultimate Magic.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

ElDrobco wrote:
I live in Germany and I did not find any shop, where it is possible to buy errated cards. Sadly same goes for custom boxes. It is extremely overpriced to get some of your products to Europe. Is there a chance for this to improve?

Regarding updated cards: As Hawkmoon mentioned, we did two printings of the entire Rise of the Runelords, and updated some cards between the two printings. Both printings were regular retail products. We sold out of the first printings a long time ago, so *most* of the Rise of the Runelords products you'll find in stores are likely to be 2nd printing (they say "Second Printing. Printed in USA" instead of "Printed in China" on the back). Any retailer who carries any Paizo products should be able to order these from their distributor.

We made the decks that Hawkmoon linked to several months after 2nd printing was released. Because the demand for them is fairly low, they're available only as print-on-demand from our partner at DriveThru Cards in the USA, and are not available in stores anywhere. Future errata decks will be made available the same way.

I'm not sure what you mean about "custom boxes." Can you give some more detail?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I don't recall ever asking you to track mystic charges on your Chronicle sheet.

Also, you should really put PFSACG questions in the PFSACG forum.

And finally, dumping every question anyone has into a single thread with a generic name is not terribly helpful. If you can't find the answer to your question in an existing thread, please create a new one. I'm locking this one.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Pretty close. When he's in a location that is closing, he gets shuffled into the location deck *when* you banish cards, not before. Other than that, looks correct.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

If you're a PACG subscriber and you didn't get both Ekkie and Goblin Skull Bomb along with AD 3, drop a note to customer.service@paizo.com.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Scripted wrote:
bbKabag wrote:

Wow, I did not see this coming. Picking which characters to play is a difficult choice as it is. Oh boy!

Question about her Fallen role:
When a player chooses not to attempt to acquire a card (Ally), is that considered as failing a check to acquire an an ally?

I imagine that's a no because if it were, everyone would just choose not to attempt just to secure that the party gets that ally.

Not attempting is the same as failing the check. Still no reason not to attempt the check though - if you succeed you save Arushalae from spending a card, if you fail she gets it anyway.

The rulebook says "If you choose not to acquire a boon, it counts as failing to acquire it."

That's not precisely the same as failing a *check* to acquire it, though. If you didn't attempt a check, you didn't fail a check.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
What are the odds on getting her artwork added to the community use package?

I'll look into that.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

pluvia33 wrote:
They're planning a major revision for Season of the Shackles to put it in line with the new Tier system. After that happens, it may be much more difficult to covert the AP for standard home play.

It won't be hard at all—you'll just want to make sure you gain the feats that the tiering system gives you as you complete scenarios and adventures.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
jones314 wrote:
NyteJKL wrote:
Darn, you are right no longer available here and my go to online stores.
A lot of places still have Wrath of the Righteous booster packs so you could try that and maybe get lucky ...

Or, hey, every case is likely to contain one....

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Unfortunately, image extraction just doesn't work correctly with the interactive PDFs. That's not a restriction we're imposing, but a technological limitation.

If your primary goal is image extraction, you want the regular PDFs. And as BobROE said, when you extract an image from one of those, it generally won't include the map tags (with the exception of a few very old ones).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Myfly wrote:
To your 4 groups: arcane, divine, beatstick and skillmonkey

You could use:

Arcane, Divine, Martial, Skill-based

One might note that there's a similar division in our RPG product line: Ultimate Magic focuses on the first two, Ultimate Combat on the third, and Ultimate Intrigue on the last.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

MSpekkio wrote:
2. In the case when all locations are closed, villain is at the Rift with the closed side up, and you do NOT defeat the villain.?

This issue is yet to be addressed; the answer is that we want you to have to defeat the villain to win, but we haven't yet determined the best way to achieve that.

MSpekkio wrote:
3. If you do defeat a villain at the Abyssal rift, do you banish it's location deck? Again rulebook unequivocally says it does as you do not need to meet the When Closing requirement, and you banish cards before applying the When Permanently Closed effect.

Everything in the paragraph that begins "if you defeat the villain, close the villain’s location" depends on you first doing what that sentence says. Since the location is never permanently closed, you cannot do that, so you cannot do anything else in that paragraph.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

MSpekkio wrote:

1. Henchmen that automatically close the location.

Just because this location can't be permanently closed does not imply that you wouldn't go though the 'Closing a Location' steps in the rulebook, and if the henchmen lets you bypass the When Closing requirement then why wouldn't you banish the location cards. In fact the rules give you a specific point in the process to apply the When Permanently closed power, and it's after you have examined (and potentially banished) the cards.

This is somewhat a rule book issue as the 'Closing the Location' section references banishing location cards twice, first at the end of paragraph two after When Closing, and again in paragraph 3 after completing the When Permanently Closed. By the rules then, I would get to clear out the location if we found a villain during the paragraph 2 search steps, but not if I didn't?

We can all agree that either way I get to examine all the cards at the location?

Not at all. I'll be happy to step you through the rules.

You may earn the opportunity to close a location in a number
of ways. Usually you get the opportunity to close a location
after defeating a henchman from that location deck (the
henchman card will indicate if this is the case) or after that
location deck runs out of cards (see Your Turn on page 8).

One could argue that the sentence "This location is never permanently closed" on either side suggests that you can never "get the opportunity" to close the location. But one could also argue that it doesn't mean that, so we'll proceed as if it doesn't.

When you have the opportunity and want to close a location,
do whatever the location’s When Closing section says. Locations
often require specific checks to close them; otherwise, they list
specific tasks you must perform. (If a location says you may close
it automatically, you don’t need to do anything else.) If the When
Closing text offers multiple options separated by “or,” you must make
your choice of options before you make any rolls or play any cards.

So, what does the When Closing section say? Depending on which side is up, it says "This side of this location is always temporarily closed" or "This side of this location is always open. Bury a blessing to flip this card."

In the former case, there's nothing here for you to do. In the latter case, you can flip the card (or not). But in either case, there's no specific task listed for you to do—no requirement stated for you to meet.

If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement, search the
location deck for villains. If you find any, banish all non-villain cards
from the location deck. The location is not closed—but at least you
know where the villains are!

Because this begins "If you succeed at meeting the When Closing requirement," and there was no requirement for you to succeed at, you don't get to do anything here.

If you didn’t find any villains, perform the When Permanently Closed
effect: First, apply any effects that say “before closing.” Then banish all
of the cards from the location deck; it is now closed. Finally, apply any
effects that say “on closing” and flip the location card over. The location
stays closed for the rest of the scenario, so villains may not escape
to that location (see Encountering a Villain on page 16)....

You don't get to do any of this because you weren't even able to *look* for villains.

Regardless of whether you go the long way or the short way, you end up in the same place: Since you can never close the location, there's nothing for you to do here.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Just like Shark Island from S&S, the summoned Hammerhead Shark Henchmen is not the same as the Hammerhead Shark Henchman in the location decks. They don't invoke the same powers as the actual cards.

All the powers are the same—it's just that the last power tells you you can attempt to close the location it came from, and when it's summoned, it didn't come from one, so you ignore it because it's impossible.

Which is to say, you ignore because it's impossible, and it's impossible because it was summoned... but you don't ignore it just because it was summoned.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Rulebook wrote:
If you evade the card, do not activate any other powers on it.... it is neither defeated nor undefeated, and the encounter is over.

So if something is triggered when you "fail to defeat" a thing, it is triggered when you evade that thing.

If something is triggered when you "fail a check to defeat" a thing, it is not triggered when you evade it before you act. (But if you evade it *after* you fail a check, using a card like Cat O'Nine Tails or Repelling Pike +1, the trigger would go off before you evade.)

1 to 50 of 20,023 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.