|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
This does indeed contradict what Mike was saying there. Mike's quotes in those threads predate the understanding that when you do X "instead" of Y, Y doesn't happen, and before cards were set aside while you await their final disposition.
So when Lini plays that ally, it's set aside. While it's set aside, other stuff gets to act to change its disposition. Farmhouse is waiting to act the moment a card hits the discard pile, but because Lini's power changes that potential discard to a recharge, it never touches the discard pile, so the Farmhouse never acts.
Let's try changing the circumstances slightly. Let's say Farmhouse instead says "If you would discard a spell, bury it instead." And you're playing Augury:
Would you think that if you didn't have the Arcane or Divine skill, that revised Farmhouse would let you bury the spell instead of banishing it? I'm guessing you wouldn't.
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
This is correct. (The Pathfinder Adventures wording on Farmhouse uses "when" instead of "if," but the distinction is grammatical, not mechanical.)
I will work at getting the pregens into the character sheet downloads in the coming weeks. In the meantime, here's the pregen info as last printed in Guide 2.1.
BARD class deck: LEM
CLERIC class deck: KYRA
FIGHTER class deck: VALEROS
RANGER class deck: HARSK
ROGUE class deck: MERISIEL
SORCERER class deck: SEONI
WIZARD class deck: EZREN
We had to go another direction when we realized that that rule would make Potion of the Ocean useless. I think we're instead going to errata a subset of autosucceed cards to make them work only on non-combat checks, specifically: Quarterstaff of Vaulting, Lizard, Boots of Elvenkind, Cloak of Elvenkind, Spiritwalk Armor, Amulet of Fortitude, Potion of Fortitude, Mogmurch, Potion of Lucubration, Worn Leather Skullcap, Potion of Ruggedness, and Clockwork Owl. (This list may not be 100% accurate.)
The version of the Guide I'm currently working on says this:
Guide 4.0 alpha wrote:
The unique nature of a global campaign requires that the rules are enforced the same way at every table. This means you need to adhere to the latest version of this guide and the latest version of the rulebook (deferring to the rulebook for the base set you’re using for any rules specific to those cards), augmented by the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game FAQ at paizo.com. House rules are not allowed in Pathfinder Society play.
My point wasn't "how would you handle this?" or even that it was a serious problem. I guess the analogy I would use is if (insert random RPG computer game here) had a bug where if you created a fighter with a strength of 3, the game crashed/screen turned blue/sharks with laser beams flew out of your computer, then I would think that bug would be fixed. Sure it's not a likely scenario that someone does this, but it's within the rules and capability of the game for this to happen, so if it does, the game should be able to handle it. That is all. I don't really get making excuses for a situation (blessings aren't that good anymore so who cares, various workarounds you could do if it happens) that shouldn't be a problem in the first place.
First, be aware that the number of cards in the box is largely determined by the size and number of press sheets we have, which means if we add 6 extra blessings to cover this edge case, we'd have to remove 6 other cards from the game. Doing that would make the game a little bit better in the situation you describe, which very few people would ever experience, but it would actually make the game a little bit worse for everyone else.
But even if we added as many blessings to the box as you needed to support tricking out Keith's 6 blessing-hungry characters with every blessing card feat there is, that *still* breaks down as soon as you swap out any of the 6-blessing characters on that list for any character from any other set that has more than 6 blessings. So should we then put another 10 or so blessings in the box to support a party of 6 8-blessing characters? (Should we then make sure we never create a 9-blessing character? I haven't done the math, but it wouldn't surprise me if we can now create this situation in earlier sets, even if we couldn't when they were released.)
All that said, it is actually addressed by the rules, in the Limited Resources sidebar: "If you’re required to do something with a certain number of things and there aren’t that many things available, use as many as there are." Which is why Keith said "In this particular instance, since you build the blessings deck last, that means that you'd have enough blessings for characters and locations, but would be carving away turns." If you don't like that answer, and want to house rule something less painful (like pulling in blessings from other products), feel free, but this situation *is* covered in the rulebook. And that rule exists exactly *because* giving you more copies of cards you already have in order to cover weird edge cases doesn't always make the game better. (Take this recent thread for two other examples.)
As with earlier seasons, scenarios will be released weekly to retailers participating in the Pathfinder Adventure Card Guild program, as well as to Pathfinder Society Venture-Officers, before becoming available for general sale as compiled adventures.
Here are the planned early release dates for each scenario. (If you are a retailer or VO, this is when you will receive it.)
11/2/16: Scenarios 3-1A, 3-1B
Here are the planned regular release dates for each adventure. (If you are not a retailer or a VO, this is when you can buy it.)
11/30/16: Adventure 3-1
Normally, when you execute an instruction, all the variables are defined at that time, unless something tells you otherwise. In this case, you define "your location" at that time, but you can't define "the top 2 cards" at that time because the examine rules tell you you have to define them one by one..
As for OP, the following revision will be in the next version of the Guide:
All the cards must come from your Class Deck, with a few exceptions.
On your first question, the default rule is found in the "Limited Resources" rules sidebar on page 25:
So if all of the copies of a particular scourge are already in play, you get out of that one. (Your party is clearly already having a bad day, so it's the least we could do for you!)
The answer to your second question is that when we say "choose," we mean "choose" If we'd wanted you to choose a type of boon, we'd have said "choose a type of boon." (And if we wanted it to be random, we'd have said "draw," which—according to the "Dealing with Cards" rules sidebar on page 12—means "random" when drawing from to the box.)
Nope. The full first power is "For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength skill + 1d6. You may additionally discard this card to add your Ranged skill." This weapon is meant to appeal to ranged combatants who have high strength, not melee folks.
Also, don't mock the Hunga Munga, or Buffy will show you how it's used.
• Warehouse: Yes, "summon and acquire" is the correct wording, because it's not a gimme, and because if it just said "summon and encounter" you'd have to return it to the box afterward.
• The three Laws: You don't get to banish the Law until the bad thing happens.
• If you have a free exploration coming, and an examination makes you encounter a card, that has no bearing whatsoever on the fact that you've got a free exploration coming. Examining, exploring, and encountering are all different things.
• Regarding examining multiple cards, there's a subtle but important change in the MM examine rules. "Put the cards you examined back in the same order you found them, unless instructed otherwise" has been replaced with "Examine the cards in the order you find them, and put them back in the same order unless instructed otherwise." So whether you are told to examine the top 3 cards of a deck, or to examine a deck until you find an item, you go through the cards you're examining one by one, and because Trigger cards tell you what to do "when you examine" them, that means the triggers go off one by one as they are examined as well.
Let's go in a little deeper on that one. Say you're told to examine the top 3 cards of your location deck, and the first card has the Trigger trait and says "When you examine this card, shuffle your location deck." (Let's call this card "Blackjack Dealer.") It should be obvious that the shuffle is going to change the next card you examine, but what may be less obvious is what happens to the Blackjack Dealer. Remember, at the end of all the examining, you have to "put them back in the same order." So that means you examine the Blackjack Dealer, hold onto it while you shuffle the rest of the deck, examine the next card (which may or may not do things), and examine the third card (which may or may not do things), and then you put back the examined cards with the Blackjack Dealer on top.
There are 5 Iconics Heroes minis that don't have PACG characters yet: Hakon the skald, Kess the brawler, Hayato the samurai, Quinn the
WizKids also has yet to announce further Iconic Heroes sets, but we have quite a few iconics that still need Iconic Heroes minis: Yoon the kineticist, Mavaro the occultist, Estra the spiritualist, Rivani the psychic, Erasmus the medium, Meligaster the mesmerist, and Aric the vigilante (and/or his Red Raven alter-ego). Of those, only the first three have PACG characters, all in MM.
This is correct.
EDIT: Alternatively, I can get behind Skizzers' statement that the two effects don't contradict each other and that we're not talking about location/weapon presedence. In this case, still, I'd argue that the Torch gets 'set aside' and then two things must simultaneously happen with it - it must be discarded, and it must be buried - and therefore it's player's choice in which order to execute them. My guess is, most players will chose to discard it....
Two different cards are telling you to do different things with the same card. That's *exactly* what the card precedence part of the Golden Rules is there to solve.
Please note that this is not a rules discussion thread. Please keep this thread for updates and commentary about the FAQ itself, not about the gameplay issues that are or are not described in the FAQ. (See the Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion forum for discussion of those issues.)
It's a "Legacy" style game, where you make irreversible changes to gameplay as you play through the "season". You put stickers on the game board, you put stickers on cards and in the rulebook, all of which update the gameplay based on choices you've made or things you succeeded or failed at.
When Lone Shark brought us Saints (the precursor to PACG), character feats were tracked by putting stickers on a pack that housed your deck.
As I mentioned earlier, during the MM demo, all the information on Dry Quicksand was on the card itself. Vic has his reasons to move all of it to the rulebook, but I do feel that "evade any banes you encounter" in particular is going to be unintuitive enough that people are going to miss it while their token is in the location deck.
For the Gen Con demo, Dry Quicksand said the following: "If undefeated, display this barrier next to your location, then shuffle your character’s token card into your location deck. While your token is in a location deck, evade any bane you would encounter and you may not move or be moved. When a character would encounter your token, instead put it next to the location and banish this card."
The problem was, that was a pretty full card, yet it *didn't* mention that you *also* get your token back when it's examined, would be returned to the box, or removed from the game. Still, I was trying hard to keep those rules on the appropriate cards instead of the rulebook, and if Dry Quicksand were the only card that did that, I probably would have found a way to make it happen. But the Sand Kraken—oh, lord, the Sand Kraken...
If the adventure path is full of barriers with the Trap trait, Simoun might be the most powerful one of them all.
Nope—hardly any traps in Mummy's Mask. You just go right on ahead and explore that tomb, confident in the knowledge that its builders would never even think to set up traps for those who enter. No sir, no worries there at all. Head on in—I'll be right behind you.
What's that you say? Two out of three barriers in the preview have the Trap trait? Boy, THAT sure is statistically unlikely, isn't it?
Vic Wertz wrote:
You shouldn’t know where your token card is while you are shuffling.
In case you're wondering about the presence of that weird statement, since the token card doesn't have a standard back, you could technically comply with the instruction "shuffle it into the deck" and just continue shuffling until your token was on top again. So we added this "no peeking" rule. (As Mike would say, "this is why we can't have nice things.")
The quoted rule cares only that your card would be returned to the box; it does not care why.
...Although, on the other hand, if that means we get to banish the cards traded to Traders - that's also cool.
Nice try, but I still ain't talkin'.
First World Bard wrote:
The "must evade any banes you encounter" bit is fascinating, especially when it runs into banes that cannot be evaded. Unless "must" is a word that overrules "cannot".
See the Golden Rule. Which, by the way, is now "The Golden Rules" in MM...
(Man, I would really hate to have to say that you must "never not evade any banes you encounter...")
Here's a sidebar from the MM rulebook:
Mummy's Mask Rulebook wrote:
I'm not spilling all the beans on traders just yet!
Only your friend is exploring. You're just encountering a card.
The locations and reward from 2-5D were mistakenly copied from 2-5E.
The 2-5D location list should be:
The 2-5D reward should be "Each character chooses weapon, spell, or item and adds a card of that type from the game box to the cards acquired during this scenario. Adventure Card Guild characters may choose a bonus deck upgrade."
We will fix.
The whole "play a scenario without playing an adventure" thing exists because when the original rulebook was written, there was doubt from some (not me!) that people would fully adopt the Adventure Path idea—that folks might instead want to pick and choose which scenarios they would play. Of course, nobody really does that, and the game frankly doesn't support that style of play all that well anyway, so we've entirely removed that concept from the Mummy's Mask rulebook: when you're playing a scenario, you're always playing part of an adventure.
I won't have the opportunity to formalize this FAQ for a while, but we'll be revising this card to say the following:
Future Imp wrote:
Leng Spider's type in the RPG is magical beast, not outsider. While the ACG traits don't need to match RPG creature types (indeed they often don't), I just wanted to point out that outsider is actually it's own type; things from other planes aren't necessarily always outsiders.
We generally use the creature types from the RPG, but "Magical Beast" is an exception (partly because it's just way too long as a trait name); we recategorize those case-by-case. Sometime we make them Aberrations, like the Devilfish and the Manticore. The Griffon and the Pegasus are just Animals. Lamia are Lamia, and the Frost Worm is just a Worm. The Bunyip is, of course, a Bunyip.