To begin with i did not go through all the posts but is Paizo aware of all the typos in the npc codex?
I looked for some npc codex errata but found nothing
Most of those i came across are related to gear where the melee weapon does not match the description in the gear section.
For exmple Master of undead on p.56: in its melee profile it says +3 Scythe BUT in its gear section it is a +1 only?
Am i missing something?
other exemples i found are:
and the list goes on and on!
I'm about to launch the Carrion Crown AP and i was wondering how the players can go on their personnal business while being a pivotal part of an AP.
I mean how do you allow the rogue enough time to "get in touch" with some less than noble caracter in order to found his own crime guild?
I'm asking this meanly because and adventure path like CC is pretty much a race against time!
The only solution i see would be to modify the course of the AP reacting only to whatever the players are doin.
What you guys are doin in your AP in order to leave enough room for the pc to go on their personnal business?
I am building a vampire monk villain but before i just want to make sure my understanding of energy drain is correct.
If i'm right the drain happens automatically on a hit with no save? If so the listed SAVE DC is given only if 24 hours* have passed in order to know if the negative level go away or become permanant.
*of course magic could get rid of it sooner i know.
Bottom line is no save on the hit, once per turn only no matter how many attack the monk have.
Am i correct?
Simply put, i'm working on a one week-end event for very old friends who have'nt played for years, some since last days of D&D 2nd. ed!
Since most of them are rusted i (the DM) have already built their caracters whom they will randomly pick.
The more i go into the design process the more i realise that such a party will simply blow the adventure away!
what kind of advance would you have for me beside maxing the monster's HP?
During last weekend game i was hit right in the face by how wrong i was reading dispel magic.
From what i understand "now" the way it really work is 1D20 + my caster level (9 in this case) VS DC 11 + caster level.
So if i target a level 12 wizard all his active buff will have a DC23 unless he was targeted by someone else's buff.
Am i correct?
If that said wizard buffed himself with armor (DC23), sheild (DC23), blurr (DC23), haste (DC23) and Stoneskin (DC23).
I'm about to launch the CC adventure path soon.
While looking for more resource to had to the experience i found about the Carrion hill module. From what i read it seems it is in perfect line with the CC path but need some fine tuning!
I have some questions here:
Does the adventure path REALLY benefit from carrion hill module, i mean beside the flavor those extra XP are they really needed?
Is the amount of time needed to adjust Carrion hill to fit in (level/ challengewise) really worth it?
For those who did include it in their CC campaing what is your thought on it, what have you done wrong/right.
I admit this is the way i "instinctively" saw the problem but do you have more precise bits of rules or anything else that show that this is "consistent" like you said because i found nothing.
Ok so if i got you right once the barb got hit...A)Barb DR comes first.
B)Damage taken by the barb is then halve, in this case 2.
C)Since my cleric take 2 damage because of a spell or the "sheild other" effect in this case, his own DR does not apply.
Is DR taken into acount towards the dmg delt under the spell sheild other?
For exemple, my cleric have DR5/evil (righteous might) while "sheilding" a barbarian with a DR4/-.
let say the barb is hit for 8 damage by a typical orc. Both of us would be hit for 4 but both our DR would stop it right?
Yet again the same cituation arise but this time the orc have the "evil" subtype. The barb would get 0 but my cleric would get the full 4 damage... again am i right?
let say i have a sorcerer 5/Dragon disciple 1.
If i'm right he is a level 5 Sorcerer for spell known and spell cast per day prupose BUT he is a level 6 Sorcerer for bloodline power purpose.. right?
let say that after some adventuring he is now a level 5 Sorcerer/10 Dragon disciple, being now considered a 12th. sorc for spell casting purpose BUT 15th. for bloodline power purpose.
On my 16th. level i decide for some reason to go back and get a 6th. level of Sorcerer.
What will happend with, let say, the bloodline power previously earn?
Are we adjusting "retroactively"?
So if i follow you Grick our level 11 fighter would have 6 attack per full round, 3 with each hand?
If that's the case then i still don't get the math you came up with.
Maybe i should approach the problem from a different angle and let's take our level 11 fighter with a light off hand weapon:
Base attack bonus with 1 weapon: +11/+6/+1 with "main hand"
1 extra "off-hand" attack with 2WF (all at -2): +9/+4/-1 "main hand" + 1 "off-hand" attack at +9
1 second extra "off-hand" attack with I2WF (base off hand -5): +9/+4/-1 with "main hand" + 2 "off-hand" attack at +9/+4
Finally 1 last extra "off-hand" attack with G2WF (base off hand -10): +9/+4/-1 with "main hand" + 3 "off-hand" attack at +9/+4/-1
Am i correct?
I am confused about how two weapon fighting (2WF) style adds up with a high BaB (I.E. one that already gives you extra attack.)
So basicaly 2WF feat give you an extra attack at -2/-2 using your full BaB?
For simple exemple lets take a fighter with no bonus at all but only with his BaB fighting with two weapons. Of course off hand is light!
If i'm correct it should go like this:
Fighter level 5 with 2WF feat (BaB +5) = +3/+3
Am i correct?
P.S. I know it might be a confusing post but thats the whole point!.. i am confused ;()
I was wondering the same thing last time. James did a lot of the work on the PF Bard, and the link is his opinion on that first line.
Thanx a lot for the link, that says it all as far as i'm concern!
Case close, raging bard can't cast but can still use inspire X*
* insert courage, greatness, heroics as you see fit!
Eben TheQuiet wrote:
You might be right but there's still one point bugging me.
On page 35: bardic performance is worded like that: "A bard is trained to use the Perform skill to create magical effects....."
That is where the whole debate reside i think, in the piece of sentence "use the perform skill"
Ok, lets put that post back on track. At least more with what i had in mind first.
I'll go more in detail:
#1 Can i cast a spell while raging?
#2 Rage says that i can't use, among other things, charisma base skill so it rule out the whole "perform skills" since they are charisma skill!
#3 Even with the use of lingering performance my bardic perform would last 2 round only!
For exemple i spend x amount of time to "prime" my comrade to whats coming ahead and then...
#4 What "moment of clarity" really add to this?
i spend x amount of time to "prime" my comrade to whats coming ahead and then...
I don't want to ear about how my DM would interpret it, i just want to know what i can do with RAW! I'll see with my DM after.
The more i look into it the more i realise that despite the awsome fluff behind it, the idea of a "warchanter" is realy a bad choice.
You have the right to see it the way you want.I for myself had more in mind shouting out loud how i will bring you down you, your king, your organisation and your kingdome... that to me is far from behing hilarious and it is quite what i imagine as an inspiring view for my comrades!
Few things about a possible warchanter (half-orc barbarian/bard)!
From my understanding a bard can't maintain a performe while raging , like all the inspires, because these are charisma-base skills BUT i could cast any spell?
Even moment of clarity would be useless for that specific case right?
Am i missing something?
For almost 4 years now me and my gaming group have followed pretty much the same ritual!
We play once a month on a saturday from 1P.M. up to wayyyy late!
#1 At 12:00 we all gather at the nearby Mc donalds for some unhealthy junk food while chatting about the latest thing we crafted/looted at DDO (dungeons & dragon online), the new model we just finished at warhammer 40K and we eventually start talking about the last month game and how we intend to proceed for the upcoming one.
#2 We finally made it home (me being the DM) around 1 P.M.
#3 Around 5-5:30 P.M. we put the game to a pause and hit the local St-Hubert B.B.Q. (THE house of chicken roasting for those not living in Québec province).
#4 We get back home about an hour later and keep on playing until we can't keep our eyes open anymore!
One month later rinse and repeat!
As i'm reading the definition of wounding it says that creature immune to critical are immune to bleeding... so far fine with me.
But then what about zombie, lich, adamantine golem... these things can realy bleed? Because after all they are not immune to critical right?
Since i can't make no sens of it all, does a wounding weapon works against undead and construct even if it makes no sense?
I looked through the FAQ but found nothing as an official ruling?
Yet again does Healer's blessing affect only spells with the word cure in it's title or all spells of the conjuration (healing) type with the word cure in its description?
It could make a difference, for exemple breath of life would be affected but pillar of life would not!
As far as i understand, as a DM, i could very weel go in one way or another.
Is there anything close as an official ruling for this or it's to the DM's decision. From what i understand it seems like the community tip for the "cure in the title" approach.
Green Left Eye wrote:
Also, while I'm on the topic of Face Cards, will you be releasing sets for your back catalogue of APs, as well? Rise of the Runelords is already out, but I would love to get my hands on the sets for Curse of the Crimson Throne and Carrion Crown, specifically.
you just read my mind!Any chances for CC card face?
Since my english is not 100% perfect i might miss something here BUT... if the right way to give XP is to give each member the full value of the said CR then it means i have screwed up my party for the last 4 years!
If a group of 4 PC defeats a CR4 each get 1/4 of a CR4 value, in other words 300 xp each!
Two questions about scrolls and caster level
#1 Let say i have a level 4 wizard with 13+ intel, if i'm correct i could use a level 5 fireball scroll needing only to succed on a caster level check DC 6?
I'm clearly missing something here!
#2 Can i create scrolls with lower level then normaly possible in order sell to "rather poor" customers?
I'm doin an old Ravenloft classic for next halloween... Touch of death!
Pretty much everything is set but one few thing.
Basically they are normal zombie in all respect but with 2 unique twist.
#1 Attack from beneath:
Your verdict please
i'm playin in a group where the DM rule that whatever the roll is for 20 always succed and 1 always fail!
That's a fact for "to hit" and "save" roll but what about skill check, spell resistance (SR) roll?
Just a quick check before upcoming game this week end.
It's gonna take place in a frost giant king's stronghold, LOOOOOTS of icy surface and rooms where walls are actualy made of pure ice.
As i understand the rules about earthglide ice is not some form of natural earth/dirt and such.
Am i correct?
Let's say i have a rage power usable once per rage, surprise accuracy for exemple, and my barbarian got 20 rounds of rage per day.
In theory if i rage 20 times (yes 20 separate rounds of rage plus all the fatigue rounds and all) during a single day i could use surprise accuracy 20 times right?
I'm not looking for cheese or anything else, i'm just trying to make sure i got it right!
Let say i'm using a detect magic item (or casting the spell) and come face to face with a patron escorted by his two invisible bodyguard!
Do i "sense" 2 different auras of illusion near the patron?
P.S. this as probably been adressed in the passed but i'm in a hurry for tonight game and i'm not at home!
I just want to clarify this before making a false ruling at my game!
On page 562 under weapon enhancement bonus equivalent are some numbers that bypas DR.
Do these number includes "addons" or we are talking only about the "+" value?
For exemple adamantine can be bypassed by a +4 or better. Does it means that only a +4 of something or better will work or a +2 flaming burst (+4 equivalent) would work?
Thanx in advance!
Like the title says how exactly detect magic works with magical trap?
Do the sorcerer sense an aura of evocation around the archway or he knows that there is a maximise/empower fireball that gonna blow up if he step on that plate around the corner?
I did'nt found anything that adress that question neither in detect magic spell description nor in the trap section.
When they say "cohort level" in table 5-2, do they realy mean level or overall HD or CR?
To make my question clearer i want to create a level 8 cohort wich will be half-celestial.
The half-celestial template says that between 6-10 HD the base creature get a +2 CR
So what is the real level 8 cohort in these 2 exemple?:
#1 half-celestial cleric level 8 = CR 10
#2 half-celestial cleric level 6 = CR 8
I read all the answers so far and i found some very usefull advices and made some choices based on these as well as my own idea.
Here's what i'll do:
#1) I'll still use miniatures.. defenitly!
#2) I'll use some very thin wire/rope to calculate movement and spell/ability area. No more diagonal "extra" move.
#3) I will set a time limit per player (i still hesitate between 30 seconds or one full minute)
#4) AoO will still be valid. So if your movement made you pass anywhere within 1" (or 2" if reach is involved) you just provoke something!
This is pretty much where i want to go so what you guys think about it and do you see any major issue/problem lurking at the horison that i did'nt?
P.S. with this i'm pretty confidant that my players will be more into the action and less into "over analysation"
Ross Byers wrote:
Thats pretty close to what i had in mind.The first step before goin "gridless" would be to use my old and dusty "1 minute hourglass".
But more precisely here is what i had in mind:
#1 The player, on his turn, would have exactly 1 minute to make his mind and act otherwise he just lost his turn due to plain hesitation or confusion.
#2 Forbidding the player to take any measure before moving/shooting, à la warhammer 40K if you want. So if the player make it or the spell got enough range the better otherwise you loose!
Of course these mesures would apply to me, the DM, of course.
What you think?
Miniatures in themselves are not the problem...to the opposite they just help the players to get into the action!
MY true ennemy is the battle grid!
When not handled properly it takes all the focus from everyone at the table! Things start to slow down, even to a halt, when players are "calculating" their way to point B without provoking AoO or on wich grid Xsection to aim that fireball in order to hit those 2 guys but not the other one!!
This way they are not fighting a vampire lord close to dawn on the edge of a 100' cliff but instead they see that there is 2 square between that ugly looking mini and the line drawned on the battlemap!
If i really want to put the main light on dramatic scene and fantastic fight that my players will remember for years i have to find a way to get rid of the battlegrid without making the rules unplayable
In MY Ravenloft adapted Carrion crown AP there will be NO battlegrid! Just minis to help visualise and get in the mood!
Anyone around here might have some usefull input?
P.S. Back in 1st or 2nd ed. there was a lot of grey area i know... but we still remember these epic movie-like fight and not a stupid grid!
I thought that since the creature has 4 distinct tentacles each of them has his own "built-in" grab + constrict combo!
I see this has the creature grappling 4 different body parts like both arms and legs and doing constrict damage to each.
Let say i have a creature (tentacled horror for exemple) with 4 tentacle "slap" and this creature also has grab and constrict!
Does this mean that technicaly (if the DM succed on all rolls!) we could end up with 4 creature grabbed and each of them got constrict damage.. all this in one round?
I'm i correct?
P.S. If the said creature hit the same victim more then once can we have more then one constrict damage on the same victim too?
Unless i'm wrong i could use permanency on a ring to make it permanently invisible (invisibility followed by permanency that is!) right?
If yes then what happend if i attack the palace guard?