Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Redcap

VRMH's page

2,724 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 2,724 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

  1. point 1: A. There is such a person as mr. Goodweather, both in the mind of the sender as well as in the intended recipient.
  2. point 2: A. The caster has met a mr. Fairweather, albeit in the form of your impersonation. As long as you keep pretending to be Fairweather, Sendings from your fake Fairweather friends (see what I did there?) should arrive at your mind.
  3. point 3: Tricky. The previous answers are both based on the premise that a created identity is as real as a "real" one, but that just makes this question harder to answer. A and B are possibilities. I'd disregard options C and D. C falls outside the established rules for magic and D just creates more questions. My suggestion would be E: the spell connects to both Fairweathers, since they both are Fairweather, and "Fairweather" is one, single target (even though it's portrayed by two persons). This allowes subterfuge to go unnoticed for longer (which is a good thing in most games), and creates funny situations if both Fairweathers reply.
  4. point addendum: as long as there is a person who is, as far as you're concerned, "your friend", a Sending should arrive.

The above is 100% my own opinion - I don't think any actual rules cover this (rather interesting) situation. But really, the answer should always be: "Whatever is the most fun for the players and the GM".


Neongelion wrote:
doesn't a small longspear have a lesser range than a medium one?

Nope. Reach and Range are the same for Small and Medium characters.


Carla the Profane wrote:
is a spellcraft check required for the animal companion (rhino or otherwise) required for him/her to understand that it can take over its skin? Or can you just make it do so with a handle animal check? If so, would it be a trick?

I guess you can coax the creature into transposing its conciousness without it understanding how or why, but I've no idea how.


Here's a few issues:

  • You need to put an (effectively dead) rhino inside an extradimensional space. Dead rhinos are heavy, and extradimensional spaces might have a small access-way.
  • Your rhino-skin might die while you are unaware (or unable to respond). You now have a dead-dead skinned rhino in your extradimensional space.
  • Rhinos are well-known for not having a sense of humour about being abused like this (or like any other way, for that matter).
  • Most rhinos have no access to the Spellcraft skill, and cannot be trained to project their conciousness into their skins.
  • The Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Rhinoceros Animal Companions might notice you have a rhino with large scarrs across its body.


No, you gain the benefits twice. 2+2. The original benefit is increased, by the second feat.


That's a bit of a "wall of text", so I just picked out a few things to reply to.

Lin Tai wrote:
would he be required to polytheize to other Gnolls later in life?
Required? No. But it seems to me that if any other Gnolls show up wishing to join civilized society, your character would be expected to take them under his wings.
Quote:
If one did have to polytheize, would they have to be a cleric to be a missionary?
No, but given the Lawful nature of the faith he would be expected to be a member of the church I imagine.
Quote:
If so, would Abadar appear to him to be some sort of Gnoll or if such efforts were to happen, would Abadar have some sort of race specific image? To the west he looks western, to the east he looks eastern, would he look like a monster to a monster?
Possible, but doubtful. I can't see Abadar adjusting himself to suit his followers, but there would be nothing wrong as such with Abadar portrayed as a Gnoll (to non-Humans anyway).
Quote:
So, would a Gnoll be accepted if he gave up the life of a raider?
Doubtful, but it would depend on the city.
Quote:
A raider stops raiding because he recognizes that the comfort/reward ratio is better being on the other side?
I would imagine is greed gets redirected - from just taking what he wants by force, to just taking what he wants by mercantile guile.
Quote:
Would the Abadarian church accept that as it is, or would they mandate compensation?
Compensation for what? He didn't wrong the church, did he? If victims of his original crimes (or their family) show up and demand justice though, that would put the PC in a spot of bother. I can't see the faith of Abadar being very forgiving in these matters, so it might be wise to travel far and keep his past crimes a secret.
Quote:
How would Abadarian faith handle that?
A crime is a crime, and the Gnoll's crimes were a direct assault on commerce and civilization. I think the faith would hand him over to the authorities and even advice a very strict punishment.
Quote:
being a Abadarian Adventurer means being a team player, and bringing civilization to the wilderness

Or bringing the wilderness to the light of civilization, which could be the theme of this character: shedding himself of his racial background to become a true urbanite.


  • A second team of undead-hunters (freelance, maybe?), who'll alternately help or get in the way of the party.
  • A plague that makes people seem undead.
  • A popular movement among the commoners which romanticises being undead, fuelled behind the scenes by the BBEG.


Lune wrote:
We have a Witch in my party

Bottled Misfortune might be interesting then. And of course an Elixir of Love, for further shenanigans.


Dawnflower Dissidents can use it to hide their spellcasting.


Ryzn wrote:
I would like to know how to really force my charmed 'friends' to do exactly what I tell them (without casting a higher level enchantment spell). My problem is that even with my high charisma there's still a good chance I'll lose the opposed charisma roll.

Don't make people do things. Make people want to do things. Use Charm Person to make your mark take the time to listen to your Bluff.

Quote:
Are there any feats or class features that can help an enchanter or bard hedge his bets?

The Hypnotism spell can make your Charm Person spell effectively last forever, which is rather nice. And the Inexplicable Luck feat gives you an 8 point bonus to a Charisma (or any other) roll.


Crown and Anchor, just reflavour it with 6 other symbols.


If RP and alignments permit, a Paladin might be a good choice.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Secane wrote:
Paladins are still restricted to LG.

At this point I'd like to point out that Paladins are not restricted to LG.

They are LG. It's not a restriction, it's part of their essence.


Concrete, reinforced with immovable rods.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Kayerloth wrote:
Personally I like the AC options available to the Barn archetype. I know my Barn has always proven a nightmare to be hit my annoying melee types specially when it turns its broadside towards them.

In soviet nautical campaigns with firearms...Barns broadside you!


I don't have the ACG myself, so I may be wrong about a few things. Bit:

Khevtol wrote:
it says my parrot becomes an animal companion as well as a familiar. Does this mean I can turn my parrot into a t-rex when I get the ability

No, just like a Wolf doesn't become a Velociraptor just 'cause you picked it as an Animal Companion.

Quote:
If the parrot stays a parrot, but gets feats and things, do I still have to use handle animal to control it in pfs.

No, though you could if you wanted to.

Quote:
Can I pick both a familiar archetype and an animal companion archetype?

Yes, provided they don't clash (which they shouldn't).

Quote:
Is my spirit animal still outsider(native)?

Yes - becoming an AC does not change a creature's type.

Quote:
Do the natural armour bonuses stack?

No, unless they're typed.

Quote:
If my character dies permanently, does the familiar/companion persist and have sentience afterwards?

Ask your GM; it's not covered by any rule.

Quote:
What is the HP/skills/base saves of my familiar/animal companion? Which order are they applied?

Always the best of either.

Quote:
What is the HD of my companion/familiar, and does this give it extra feats?

I've no idea...


Paladin/Bard


Desert Thirst (Su) wrote:
Unattended liquids are instantly reduced to sand. Liquid-based magic items (such as potions) and items in a creature's possession must succeed on a Will save or be destroyed.

I'd say bodily fluids are neither unattended, magical nor in anyone's possession, and are therefore exempt from destruction.


Major_Blackhart wrote:
who cheats at one of these things? The whole point is to have fun.

And some people really, really hate losing. Those people should of course simply not play games, but there you go.


TheBulletKnight wrote:
Investigator's do get mutagen

I don't have the book myself, but as I recall the Investigator doesn't have the mutagen class feature and can only get it as a Discovery.


Traits are for PCs.
Animal Companions are not PCs.
Ergo: Animal Companions do not get Traits.

(Though my search-fu has failed to find any quotable rules on that.)
((edit: seems The Ragi got me covered.))


Zwordsman wrote:
Wasn't it a "or " list?

I think so, yes. But the Investigator doesn't get any of them.


Or just frame another group in their stead.


NPCs could still die; why not have her character appear and disappear without actual explanation?


Or they're bribing one of your associates.


What's your Dexterity modifier?


Don't see why not.


A. When in doubt: Human.
B. When in doubt: don't multi-class.


AceSia wrote:
Dear all, this is my first time posting in the forums. So. Hello.

Hey, hello. Welcome to the fray.

Quote:
Does the "lesser restoration" 1/day ability from the Bracers of the Merciful Knight work somehow on the Antipaladin?

Yes, as the Antipaladin's ability, very specifically, "is modified by any feat, spell, or effect that specifically works with the lay on hands paladin class feature."


In the "Forgotten Realms" (WotC setting) casters are expected to tie their thumb in such a way that they cannot cast anything with a somatic component. It would be voluntarily though, and easily removed.


Familiars can get feats by trading in feats they already have, though I think that only applies to feats specifically for them.


"Vermin companions follow the same rules as animal companions". So: yes, you can.


It could be interpreted as providing an option - if one of your targets succeeds in their save, you can possess the other. If both fail, you get to invade a random one.

Mind you, Magic Jar needs a rewrite all by itself; let alone when combining it with other effects.


Uma Thurman.


Sure you can. You just get an ever bigger penalty to your roll; ask your GM just how big.


I think you're right, but your GM might think differently.
The question boils down to "what kicks in first, the bonus or the archetype?"


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Carrick wrote:
Sounds like this guy might be happier as a paladin of Shelyn instead.

That could actually be your solution. Have him being "passed on" from one Goddess to the next, as a parallel to his worldly behaviour.


Splendor wrote:
With Oracles, Druids, Shamans, Hedge Witches, and White Mage Arcanists is Rahadoum really hurting for healing or divine magic?

Probably. Just 'cause your healing magic comes from nature, your blood, music, the Force or what have you, doesn't mean your neighbours will trust you or that you won't fall victim to a pogrom.


Bardarok wrote:
A paladin must attempt to give mortal (human elven orc dwarf etc.) enemies a chance to surrender and repent.

Should be okay, but some Deities have strict rules about giving quarter. You'd have to decide which rule the Paladin holds in a higher regard.

Quote:
Against an evil immortal enemy (evil outsider, dragon, undead) the paladin is not required to fight honorably they may ambush, use poison, and lie if necessary.

Dragons are immortal?

Anyway: "Boo! Hiss!". Codes like that of the Paladins are weakened by if... then clauses and other detractions. Sure, an Undead will probably be put to death as an abomination. But if quarter and mercy in combat are part of the Paladin code, then quarter and mercy must be offered. Paladins are at their best in simple, straightforward and black-and-white situations.

Quote:
A Paladin always has the right to ask the GM if an action they are considering taking is a violation of the code.

It's a bit "meta" to put that in the actual code, but probably a wise table-rule all the same. Although... isn't that what the Phylactery of Faithfulness is for?


If you're a Dwarf there's the Peacemaker's Parley spell, for battlefield diplomacy as a swift action.


The Bestow Luck feat fits the bill, but it's a 3 feat chain (and you need to be Human).


I'd like to point out the Golariopedia too.


Some additional suggestions, buried in among the non-mundane:
Ashiel's Guide to Adventure Preparation.


It's more easily justified that your character allows his cohort to ride him, than the other way around.


Dennis Baker wrote:
I don't think this is something errata-worthy, so long as it doesn't set a trend.

I do think it's errata-worthy, to prevent the start of such a trend in the first place.


An Aid Another bonus from your Halfling accomplice.


I like 'em as Druids.

  • No-one takes a Gnome serious. Ever. So they can do pretty much whatever they want to.
  • Everybody accepts that Druids are somewhat "maladjusted". So they too can do pretty much whatever they want to.
Combined, you're free from all expectations.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

1. Who keeps siphoning off the tavern's beer?


42. Cannon fodder against spells that target a limited number of creatures or hit-dice.
43. Trap sweeping.
44. Cronies for your Familiar to lord over.
45. Hiding your Balefully Polymorphed prisoners.
46. A bonus to your Disguise roll to pose as lifestock merchants.


Lifat wrote:
How does the simulacrum know what your wishes are at any given moment? I give you that it probably knows the broad strokes, but will it know specific stuff? I'd say no.

It won't know, but as it's a copy of you yourself it would use the same logic and reasoning you would have used.

1 to 50 of 2,724 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.