Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Dexinis

Timothy Ferdinand's page

Goblinworks Executive Founder. Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. 83 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 83 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't think its been mentioned in the string above, but the one big plus of the First Worlder is that although the Summon Monster ability of a plain vanilla summoner is swapped for Summon Nature's Ally and although it takes longer to cast and only lasts for 1 round/level rather than 1 minute/level (all noted above) - the First Worlder can have as many SNA spells going at the same time as he/she wishes AND whilst his/her eidolon is summmoned. This differs from the plain vanilla summoner (if the eidolon is summoned, the Summon Monster spell-like ability cannot be used) and the Master Summoner (who can only have one Summon Monster spell active whilst the eidolon is summoned).

So a First Worlder can have vast numbers of allies summoned all at the same time as well as his eidolon, though only for short periods.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Gauss wrote:
It would help if you provided a link or quote.

My reply was much longer and had quotes, but it seems to have disappeared......it was there a few hours ago!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Learning the Rules wrote:
If I as a M size Human have an etra quiver with Huge Crossbow bolts and a quiver with regular longbow arrows choose what ammo a summoned Bow Spirit uses?

As I read the spell, the bow spirit is the same size as the ranger who casts the spell - I base that on the fact it occupies the same space. So I think it has to use ammunition for a creature the same size as the ranger - using larger ammunition will cause it to suffer the appropriate penalties. Having said that, I assume that you could use the spell Enlarge Person in conjunction with bow spirit to achieve your aim......


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Are you the DM?

yes, but I have a very "legally minded" table of players, so I thought I'd just check as I can't recall seeing a fiendish human or fiendish half elf in any Paizo product - though of course I might very well be mistaken!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
666bender wrote:

a cleric with hide in plain sight (either a homebrew domain OR 1 dip shadow dancer OR hellcat's stealth feat )

1) is HIPS an action? which?

2) do i have to move? or can stand in 1 place, and....vanish

3) if i am casting, without silent spell (which is btw an amazing feat for this build! ) - can opponent pin point me auto ? or he need a check as all he know is "a sound is in that direction" without pin point.

4) what's the check ? Vs stealth ? or DC 0 (people talking).

5) do i flank if opponent cant see? (technically i can stank right behind it...)
it opens up load of stuff - like summoning while in the shadows - or silent spell to buff party while still hiding.

I think your Starting point would be to look at HIPS from the perspective of a shadowdancer or assassin:

"an assassin can use the Stealth skill even while being observed. As long as he is within 10 feet of some sort of shadow, an assassin can hide himself from view in the open without having anything to actually hide behind. He cannot, however, hide in his own shadow."

As such I think its clear that using HIPS is just a special form of using stealth to hide - normally you'd need to have some form of cover to use stealth, but with HIPS you can use stealth provided you are within 10 feet of shadow.

Looking at the rules on using stealth:

"if people are observing you using any of their senses (but typically sight), you can't use Stealth. Against most creatures, finding cover or concealment allows you to use Stealth. If your observers are momentarily distracted (such as by a Bluff check), you can attempt to use Stealth. While the others turn their attention from you, you can attempt a Stealth check if you can get to an unobserved place of some kind. This check, however, is made at a –10 penalty because you have to move fast."

And

"Normally, you make a Stealth check as part of movement, so it doesn't take a separate action. However, using Stealth immediately after a ranged attack (see Sniping, above) is a move action."

1. Based on those sections, I think HIPS is part of a move action if you move to a position within 10 feet of shadow and then hide. If you are already standing still, then I think its not an action, unless you have been observed already and are attempting to hide whilst standing still, in that case, you'd have to use bluff to distract your observers and the use of bluff would be a standard action if your GM feels the distraction is similar to a feint, otherwise its a full round action (or longer) depending on how your GM decides to treat the distraction you attempt.

2. I think that also answers the stand in one place and vanish - HIPS is not "invisibility" it simply allows you to use stealth without cover - so you'd have to use bluff as referred to above.

3. for your third question, I'd treat the spell casting similarly to sniping: "If you've already successfully used Stealth at least 10 feet from your target, you can make one ranged attack and then immediately use Stealth again. You take a –20 penalty on your Stealth check to maintain your obscured location."

4. vs stealth would be my interpretation - HIPS is about using stealth, so if you speak, I think the person who is in range to hear would use their perception against your stealth with the penalty referred to above. Again, i think its important to point out that HIPS is NOT invisibility.

5. I suppose you would flank if you were right next to the target using HIPS successfully as per above.

Hope that helps


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Okay, so the fiendish creature simple template (Bestiary 1 pg 294) is designed for creatures from the outer planes - on that basis, if a half-elf had been born in, for example, the Abyss, could that half-elf have the fiendish template and be wandering the material plane because it was summoned there? I am assuming this is okay as various Paizo products present fiendish dryads (for example) so I assume you could also have a fiendish half elf - or for that matter a fiendish human?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi there, I know its a long time since you asked the question, but I thought I'd answer it as it came up at my table recently. The description of Broodmaster under the heading "Eidolon Brood" states "Regardless of the number of eidolons in the brood, each eidolon has the same base attack bonus and base saving throw bonuses, but the rest of the eidolons’ base statistics must be divided between the eidolons". In the main Summoner rules, the table setting out the special abilities such as "evasion" and "ability score increase" is entitled "Eidolon Base Statistics". RAW therefore requires that all the special abilities be divided between the eidolons in the brood. As the other base statistics (such as skill points, etc) can be divided however you please based on the description under the heading "Eidolon Brood", it follows that the special abilities can also be divided however you please, so you could give the "ability score increase" or "evasion" to a 1HD eidolon. Of course the other point to note (and I suspect many people miss this) is that only one of the eidolons can have darkvision, the summoner has a "link" with only one eidolon (and presumably therefore, the others can use magic item slots which the summoner is already using) and finally, only one eidolon can "share spells". Hope that helps.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This is a question which has been asked elsewhere and given the way Paizo used Sahuagin in the Skull and Shackles adventure path, i think there must be an omission in the Bestiary 1 entry and the further details in the Bestiary section in Raiders of the Fever Sea. Perhaps we should suggest this as an FAQ candidate, because as things stand, Sahuagin can't survive out of water (aquatic, but no amphibious SQ) and clearly they do survive fighting battles on ships in the AP


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Just got the answer from James Jacobs - SR would protect a creature from the damage element of the forbiddance spell, but NOT from the prohibition on using teleport, dimension door, planar shift, etc.

see the link below for James' comments:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=928?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#46394


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, I have searched through the FAQ and messageboards before asking this question, but can find no answer, soooo......if a creature with spell resistance walks into an area protected by a forbiddance spell, would the forbiddance spell have to overcome the creature's spell resistance in order to prevent it using dimension door (a spell-like ability) within the area of the forbiddance spell - or does spell resistance only stop the damage element of the forbiddance spell on entering the area protected?

Example, a mercane enters an area protected by a forbiddance spell. I appreciate that the mercane's SR20 would apply to any damage which might result from crossing into the area of the fobiddance spell, but once the mercane was inside the area, would its SR also apply if the mercane decided to use its spell-like abilities to dimension door or plane shift.

Reading the rules, I get the sense that SR prevents spells which target the creature with the SR, but that it would NOT apply to the creature trying to use one of its own spells or spell-like abilities if another spell prevented the use of that spell/spell-like ability. In other words the forbiddance isn't targeting the mercane, its targeting the mercane's spell-like ability

SR has always confused me, I guess what I'm asking is does it (1) just apply to spells that target and directly affect the mind/body of the creature with SR or (2) act as a sort of "antimagic field" where no spells work (unless they overcome the SR) with respect to the creature with SR.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I was asked the same question by one of my players a few months ago and took a slightly different approach. If you look at the Brimorak demon (a biped outsider with hooves) it only has one hoof attack but the stat block goes on to state "Against a prone foe, a brimorak can make two hoof attacks rather than just one." So I took the view a biped could reasonably fight and keep its balance if it attacked with its arms and one foot (hoof or claw) unless (1) its opponent is prone, in which case it can use both hooves/claws on its legs or (2) if the eidolon has the flight flight evolution, again, it can use both hooves/claws on its feet whilst flying. That seemed logical to me and backed up by an existing creature stat block (the Brimorak).


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Would I be correct to assume that a creature with spell resistance would have the ability to avoid the damage inflicted on creatures entering the area of a forbiddance spell, but that the creature's spell resistance would NOT allow it to use a planar shift or dimension door spell or spell-like ability whilst inside the area of effect of the forbiddance spell?

I am basing this on the understanding that spell resistance prevents spells affecting the creature with spell resistance, but does not prevent spells which block the creature from using spells or spell-like abilities of its own.

Have I understood the rules correctly?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, a couple of questions on the Shadow Plane:

1. are there seas/lakes/rivers on the shadow plane - I assume there are - and if there are, then presumably it rains and maybe even snows on the shadow plane?
2. is there a "sun" albeit a very dim one and a moon?
3. are there plants such as trees, grass, etc - my reason for asking is if the sun is either non-existent or very dim, how do plants grow? If there are no plants (or very limited/stunted vegetation, how do animals live on the shadow plane (or fetchlings for that matter) - or is everything on the shadow plane an outsider that doesn't need to eat?

Just started work on a new plot-line for my group and need to make sure I'm describing the shadow plane properly. If there are any good fictional descriptions of the shadow plane, it would be great to have a few suggestions :o)


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That's a great answer, thanks so much. You're right about the template, which is all the justification i'd need, but you're also right about no one knowing if i don't tell 'em :o). I'm going to have so much fun at the next session on Sunday......evil cackle!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm postng this one as a GM. I have a major villain who is a shadow lord human (ie a human born on the Shadow plane to human parents - see shadow lord template Bestiary 4). He is a summoner and I really think the shadow caller archtype (advanced race guide) is perfect.....but.....its specifically for Fetchlings. I'm always reluctant to "bend" the rules because it gives players at the table the perfect precedent to ask for their own preferred "bending" of the rules - leading to painful pleading and disappointment. Any thoughts - it does seem to me that an character with the shadow creature or shadow lord template which is a summoner would logically have access to the shadow caller archetype.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nidal, Darklands, Shadow Plane - all in the same AP. Follow the slavers - Shackles Pirates, Nisroch, Zon-Kuthon, His Freak Worshippers, Uskwood, Pangolais, The Shadow Caverns, Dark Folk, Owbs, Sverspume, Fetchlings, Umbral Dragons, Kytons - so much material!!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

But Seth, its FREE!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This is exactly what a "Players Guide" should be! The Pathfinder Library has grown so large that we need this type of summary to draw attention to the possibilities (archetypes, equipment, etc) which might be worth a new look before starting the campaign. BRILLIANT. Thanks also (in advance) for the details on the ancient Gods of Osirion next week - that will allow us to play clerics, paladins and inquisitors of these Gods and makes the "devotee of the old gods" character trait a real option. I am so looking forward to running this!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
Timothy Ferdinand wrote:

Hi James,

My group loved WotR and we are revved up for Mummy's Mask. I know 20 of the ancient gods and goddesses of Osirion are due to be detailed in part 2 of the Mummy's Mask Adventure Path. However, a number of my players (and judging from comments on the various message boards, quite a few others) would like to play Paladins, Clerics or Inquisitors of these gods and goddesses in the Adventure Path. Clearly that would require any GM to hold off playing the first part until the second part is published......UNLESS......Paizo decides to be very kind and publish (on the paizo blog?) the usual table showing:
1. deity name
2. alignment
3. areas of concern
4. domains (and sub-domains)
5. favoured weapon
Whilst that is the very most basic information, at least it would allow players to commence a character in part 1 of the Mummy's Mask and wait for more details when part 2 is published. Given your all-powerful status, is there any chance we could see that table published on the paizo blog at the time part 1 is released?
Thanks (hopefully)
Tim
If your players really want to play worshipers of the old gods of Osirion... you'll have to wait for the 2nd adventure to come out, since that's where these deities are detailed. You'll also have to adjust some elements of the adventure path as well since it's written with the assumption that the PCs worship the modern gods and that uncovering and discovering forgotten lore and info about the old gods is part of the fun of the AP. It might make more sense for players to wait until the 2nd or 3rd adventure, after their characters have been exposed to these ancient gods via dungeons and old relics and the like for them to change religions to worship these old gods.

Hi James, thanks for your reply and I certainly wouldn't want to be seen to disagree with you, but the Player Companion "People of the Sands" contains a section entitled "Players Guide" for the Mummy's Mask adventure path and amongst the campaign traits for players (on page 30) is one entitled "Devotee of the Old Gods" which seems to imply that some players may start the adventure path as worshippers of the old gods and godesses of Osirion - that's what's got my group excited and has them thinking they would like to play (for example) a paladin of Ra, etc. So publishing just the table in the paizo blog at the time the first part of the AP is published might enable that campaign trait to play out. Anyway, as I said, you are the boss!!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James,
My group loved WotR and we are revved up for Mummy's Mask. I know 20 of the ancient gods and goddesses of Osirion are due to be detailed in part 2 of the Mummy's Mask Adventure Path. However, a number of my players (and judging from comments on the various message boards, quite a few others) would like to play Paladins, Clerics or Inquisitors of these gods and goddesses in the Adventure Path. Clearly that would require any GM to hold off playing the first part until the second part is published......UNLESS......Paizo decides to be very kind and publish (on the paizo blog?) the usual table showing:
1. deity name
2. alignment
3. areas of concern
4. domains (and sub-domains)
5. favoured weapon
Whilst that is the very most basic information, at least it would allow players to commence a character in part 1 of the Mummy's Mask and wait for more details when part 2 is published. Given your all-powerful status, is there any chance we could see that table published on the paizo blog at the time part 1 is released?
Thanks (hopefully)
Tim


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, this is probably a dumb question, but in the Dragon Empires Primer, there is a witch archetype by the name of "white-haired witch". Would I be correct to assume that all characters and NPCs with this archetype have white hair? My reason for asking is that, obviously, in the Dragon Empires white hair is a pretty rare thing, so it would rather mark the witch out in a crowd (which could be seen as a major disadvantage to this archetype).....or have I made a schoolboy error in assuming that a "white haired witch" always has white hair?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nidal is really intriguing, so that would definitely be worth a scenario, I'd also love to see a trip into the Darklands. My other wish would be a trip to the First World, lots of potential points of entry in Varisia, Lands of the Linnorm Kings, etc.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Okay, that seems to make sense, so my player can make a CRB robe of blending with the same 1 hour usage limit 1/day, even though he's only 7th level and the price will be 4,200gp. As he has the spells, the DC for the craft wondrous item feat is calculated as normal based on the CL listed for the CRB robe of blending. That makes sense, you're right i was seriously over-complicating it! Your explanation for the "rough" price also makes sense so i am a wiser man, many thanks!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks, that's helpful, but i still can't see how they arrived at the price or the 1 hour time, am i missing something?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have a player playing a 7th level summoner. He has Craft Wondrous Item and knows Alter Self and Tongues. He therefore has the prerequisites to create a robe of blending, but he'd be limited to creating one with CL 7 rather than the CL 10 for the "standard" robe of blending listed in CRB. So my first question is how would the reduced caster level impact the item? There seems to be no relation at all between the 1 hour usage time of the CRB robe of blending and and the caster level (at CL 10, Alter Self should last 10 minutes and Tongues should last for 1 hour and 40 minutes!). So what should i do? Separately, i simply cannot understand how the price of 8,400 gp for the CRB robe of blending was calculated based on the magic item cost system set out on page 550 of the CRB. Any help would be appreciated


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Give us something set in the Darklands, how about Far Parathra or one of the Duegar or Dark Folk cities. Perhaps adventurers escorting surface ambassadors or merchants. So much potential :o)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I love the picture.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So many villains to choose from, but my favorite in terms of having a good/believable back-story and motivation would be:

Season 4-17 Tower of the Ironwood Watch:
Inexora Vexidyre was a great villain, her reason for being in the tower and the motivation which drove her were both believable and worked in the context of the scenario. she was suitably "villainous/unpleasant" and had plenty of options to keep the players on their toes - they really enjoyed this scenario and found the "big bad" a real challenge - an easy one to resurrect or recur in the context of Season 5 me thinks!.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, do the drow noble houses of Zirnakaynin also rule the other drow settlements such as Blackstrand, Umberweb and Far Parathra, or do other lesser houses (presumably allied to the great houses of Zirnakaynin) rule those settlements?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

great, thanks. in that case I'd suggest this is one of the best value magis items in the game!! :o)


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, that was my initial thought - too cheap - but then I focused on the fact that the item only "disguises" cloths, not the person wearing them, so I figured maybe it was reusable given the name (many garments - plural). A hat of disguise - which disguises the person and his/her clothing - costs 1,800gp, so is it reasonable to assume an item which is limited to disguising just an outfit would cost 200gp and be reusable like the hat of disguise?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Its not clear to me whether this magic item is a single use item or whether you can re-use the sleeves - ie each time you put them on you can alter your garments to a new form. Any thoughts?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Cassidy, the text refers to merchants valuing them for their "potent venom", but apart from having the spell-like ability to accelerate poison, there doesn't seem to be any other reference to poison, can you explain?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm guessing the dwarf on the cover is staunton vhane, the antipaladin.........


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Beyond belief - 210 comments on a product and 80% are about the use of the word "Bastard". Surely we should be focused on the content of the upcoming book, not its title (which seems linguistically accurate to me). Apart from Half Elves and Half Orcs, what other "half breeds" (for those with a sensitive disposition) will be be seeing in the new tome? Half Janni? Half Devils? - we've had quite a bit on Half Demons in Demons Revisited - will we get Half Angels?......come on, lets focus on whats in the book!!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

James, I have tried asking this question on the Rules Forum, but after twice listing it, I've had no response, so could I ask your view?

The question relates to the fiendish vessel archetype and the rules for "channel evil". The rules (Advanced Race Guide pg 170) state:

At 1st level, a fiendish vessel, rather than channeling positive or negative energy, instead channels the pure evil power of her fiendish patron. This ability is similar to channeling negative energy, but instead of healing undead and dealing damage to living creatures, this blast of evil energy automatically heals evil creatures and debilitates good creatures within its burst.

Channeling this evil causes a burst that affects all creatures in a 30-foot radius centered on the fiendish vessel. In the case of evil creatures, the amount of damage healed is equal to 1d4 points of damage and increases by 1d4 at every two levels beyond 1st (to a maximum of 10d4 at 19th level). Good creatures in the burst receive a Will saving throw to negate this damage. Good creatures that fail their saving throws are sickened for 1d4 rounds.

The first paragraph seems to make clear that this power allows the fiendish vessel to heal evil creates, but only to "debilitate" good creates (as opposed to "damage" them - the previous sentence specifically uses the term "damage" when referring to channeling positive and negative energy - I assume this difference is deliberate).

The second paragraph confuses the issue by stating good creatures receive a saving throw to "negate this damage" but then goes on to state that failing the saving throw results in being sickened for 1d4 rounds.

I think the words "negate this damage" refer to the sickening given the use of the term "debilitate" in the first paragraph, but its confusing as it could mean that good creatures take 1d4 damage per two levels AND suffer 1d4 rounds of sickening. However, if that were the case why didn't the first paragraph refer to "damage and debilitate" instead of just "debilitate".

Any advice/help would be welcomed. Thanks (and apologies for asking a rules question – I know you don’t like them here).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

+
This is an interpretation question. The channel evil section of the tiefling archetype "Fiendish Vessel" states:

At 1st level, a fiendish vessel, rather than channeling positive or negative energy, instead channels the pure evil power of her fiendish patron. This ability is similar to channeling negative energy, but instead of healing undead and dealing damage to living creatures, this blast of evil energy automatically heals evil creatures and debilitates good creatures within its burst.

Channeling this evil causes a burst that affects all creatures in a 30-foot radius centered on the fiendish vessel. In the case of evil creatures, the amount of damage healed is equal to 1d4 points of damage and increases by 1d4 at every two levels beyond 1st (to a maximum of 10d4 at 19th level). Good creatures in the burst receive a Will saving throw to negate this damage. Good creatures that fail their saving throws are sickened for 1d4 rounds.

The first paragraph seems to make clear that this power allows the fiendish vessel to heal evil creates, but only to "debilitate" good creates (as opposed to "damage" them - the previous sentence specifically uses the term "damage" when refering to channeling positive and negative energy - I assume this difference is deliberate.

The second paragraph confuses the issue by stating good creatures receive a saving throw to "negate this damage" but then goes on to state that failing the saving throw results in being sickened for 1d4 rounds.

I think the words "negate this damage" refer to the sickening given the use of the term "debilitate" in the first paragraph, but its confusing as it could mean that good creatures take 1d4 damage per two levels AND suffer 1d4 rounds of sickening. However, if that were the case why didn't the first paragraph refer to "damage and debilitate" instead of just "debilitate".

any help/advice would be welcome.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This is an interpretation question. The channel evil section of the tiefling archetype "Fiendish Vessel" states:

At 1st level, a fiendish vessel, rather than channeling positive or negative energy, instead channels the pure evil power of her fiendish patron. This ability is similar to channeling negative energy, but instead of healing undead and dealing damage to living creatures, this blast of evil energy automatically heals evil creatures and debilitates good creatures within its burst.

Channeling this evil causes a burst that affects all creatures in a 30-foot radius centered on the fiendish vessel. In the case of evil creatures, the amount of damage healed is equal to 1d4 points of damage and increases by 1d4 at every two levels beyond 1st (to a maximum of 10d4 at 19th level). Good creatures in the burst receive a Will saving throw to negate this damage. Good creatures that fail their saving throws are sickened for 1d4 rounds.

The first paragraph seems to make clear that this power allows the fiendish vessel to heal evil creates, but only to "debilitate" good creates (as opposed to "damage" them - the previous sentence specifically uses the term "damage" when refering to channeling positive and negative energy - I assume this difference is deliberate.

The second paragraph confuses the issue by stating good creatures receive a saving throw to "negate this damage" but then goes on to state that failing the saving throw results in being sickened for 1d4 rounds.

I think the words "negate this damage" refer to the sickening given the use of the term "debilitate" in the first paragraph, but its confusing as it could mean that good creatures take 1d4 damage per two levels AND suffer 1d4 rounds of sickening. However, if that were the case why didn't the first paragraph refer to "damage and debilitate" instead of just "debilitate".

any help/advice would be welcome.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

James, I know Iomedae is the national faith of Mendev, but do other faiths (such as Sarenrae) have temples/chapels in Mendev - I would imagine that some of the crusaders who arrive from the south are worshippers of Sarenrae, etc and that they would want to have places of worship - but perhaps the government in Mendev (particularly the Inquisitors) prevent this?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James

Will the new "mummified" template in the upcoming Bestiary 4 be based on the Osirion Mummy template in the module "J1 - Entombed with the Pharoahs"?

Will there ever be a good aligned equivalent of the evil spell "Infernal Healing"? It seems odd to me that there is an evil spell usable by arcane spell casters to heal, but no good aligned equivalent.

Thanks


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James
I have been an avid player and buyer of pathfinder products for a number of years, but I have to say that I am the most excited I have ever been about the product schedule in the coming months - mythic adventures is going to be a revolution, the wrath of the righteous AP has to be the most anticipated AP ever and chronicle of the righteous, the world wound, demons revisited, champions of purity and the demon hunters handbook together comprise the most comprehensive support package Paizo have ever produced for an AP. you guys rock. Thanks so much, I'm brimming!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, on your exchange regarding Nocticula and Ayavah, I've always been intrigued by the relationship between Nocticula and her "brother" Socothbenoth - would it be too far to assume that actually they are one and the same being? It would explain the whole Mharah incident and how she has managed to become so powerful and kill so many other demon lords - is this killing of demon lords all part of her seeking redemption. Also given the strong redemption themes in the Wrath of the Righteous adventure path coming in August and the fact that one part of that AP is set in the Midnight Isles, is it possible that Ayavah is about to be proved right? Or have I run far to far ahead of myself?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, does a paladin (or an anti-paladin for that matter) have to follow a specific deity (or deity or demon lord in the case of an anti-paladin) or can they simply follow the cause of law and good (or chaos and evil in the case of an anti-paladin)? Thanks


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, can the "fey creature" template (Bestiary 3) be applied to a human? I assume it can, though I also assume its not intended for use by players, but rather for NPCs?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, I understand that the "Worldwound" campaign setting book is due out in June. Will it contain new monsters? If so, could I beg (if its not too late) that you convert more of the creatures in the excellent "Book of Fiends" by Green Ronin? Personal favourites would include:
Raptu
Spawn of Marbus
Orusula
Locust Demon
Jilaiya
Jahi
Inmai
Daeobelinus
Alrune
Any chance we might get all or some of those converted for Pathfinder? I also spotted that one of the parts of the next AP (Wrath of the Righteous) is set in the Midnight Isles - will we be getting some more information on Shamira (pretty please)?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Following on from the "summon monster/called monster" question, if an evil character killed a cassisian angel that had been called (for example as a familiar), could he then wear the helmet body of the dead cassisian as a helmet and if so would it have a similar (but lesser) effect as angelskin (as referred to in Ultimate Equipment)? I'm assuming the effect would be reduced by 50% as the Cassisian only has a "lesser protective aura" compared to the "protective aura" of other angels - so a cassisian helmet would reduce and evil wearer's HD by 5 for the purposes of detect evil spells and would give a 10% chance of avoiding smite evil, etc. Would be a pretty cool "trophy" for an evil character don't you think (at least until he ran into a full-blooded angel!).


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, this is probably an old question, but I can't find an answer, so apologies: If you summon a monster using the Summon Monster series of spells and it is killed in battle, my understanding is that it is not really "killed", but simply returns to its own plane. So I assume that after a melee involving summoned monsters, there would be no bodies resulting from the death of such summoned monsters - am I correct? Assuming I am, does that mean that the summoned monsters are in some way "avatars" rather than the actual creature? I think I'm also right that the situation for creatures called using planar binding or planar ally spells is different and that if killed whilst on the material plane, such creatures are really "killed". Again, have I got this right? Is there a source somewhere that explains all this? Thanks.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James, If a drow vampire of House Shraen had a child by a human female, the result would, I presume, be a half-drow dhampir. To stat such a "creature" would you stat it as a half-elf and then apply the dhampir template to the half-elf? I'm assuming you have to do this in two steps because otherwise a dhampir born of a human vampire would be identical to one born of a drow vampire - or is that the intention?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
Timothy Ferdinand wrote:
Hi James - I wonder if you could illuminate me - there are plenty of references (in adventure paths, etc) to boggards, goblins and marsh giants living in the Mushfens, but do lizardfolk and bog striders also live there?

There are some lizardfolk living in the Mushfens. Not a LOT, but enough to justify them showing up in an adventure.

There are no bog striders there. Bog striders are pretty rare—they live only in the swamps and marshes of the River Kingdom region.

Thanks James, two further questions on the Mushfens, do Vodyanoi live there and do Sea Hags ever live in freshwater lakes/meres (of the type you might find in the Mushfens).


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hi James - I wonder if you could illuminate me - there are plenty of references (in adventure paths, etc) to boggards, goblins and marsh giants living in the Mushfens, but do lizardfolk and bog striders also live there?

1 to 50 of 83 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.