Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Tim Felts's page

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber. FullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 30 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 6 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
UndeadMitch wrote:

It currently has the Skull and Shackles base set and Character Add-On deck in my Subscriptions, but I was charged for and picked those two both up at Gencon as part of my subscription already. I just want to make sure I don't get charged for them twice.

Also, I wasn't able to pick up my subscription at Gencon until Sunday, and only got two of the promos that I was supposed to. I got Goblin Keelaulin' and Goblin Weidling, but not the others. I was told that I would get them in the mail, but don't see them on the list of stuff in my subscription.

I also picked up at GenCon and I am showing the same as you (still in my subscriptions). I picked up on Thursday and was told they only had those two promos. I am also missing the other promos on my subscription page...sounds like it might be universal.

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I play the game with my son who is now 15 but was 14 when we started playing the Card Game. He has not had any problems with the complexity or strategy needed to play. However, he has been playing Pathfinder since he was 11-12 and before that we played D&D 4E. I think it really depends on what past gaming experience they have....

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

Just a quick note: Christmas and New Years EVE are Wednesdays this year...

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

My son and I are both signed up for four events at GenCon...It is kind of a 'no brainer' if you plan on getting the decks and are going to be at GenCon since I am sure the decks will retail for more than the $8 that playing in four events costs...plus the fun of playing the events!!

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I see the same thing as well, but like Yoshua, I can still read them. Some of the text is just a bit darker and slightly smudged...

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

No easy route...you still need to make whatever check, banish whatever card, etc... in order to close the location.

The character that is there is not 'stuck'...they are free to move, however, the location being open allows the Villain to run and hide there like any other open location!

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

What type of card holders are those? It looks like it has a spot in the center to lay the stack and a slot on either side to stand them. Is that correct? Do sleeved cards fit in them?

Thanks,
Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Flat the Impaler wrote:

Most of the time I play solo with 3 characters, but I haven't tried with 4. That works great for me, although I do sometimes forget to activate certain character powers.

I wouldn't say it take much more time this way. There's bit of upkeep with setting down and picking up different character hands, but its negligible.

Why do you bother setting down and picking up the different characters hands? Just play with them face-up on the table (Heck, we typically play with our hands face-up even when not playing solo....that way we can guilt people into playing their blessings on us...lol)

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Cheez wrote:

We played Brigadoom at lunch today. That suggested deck worked like a dream. This is what I ultimately went with...

Weapon: Light Crossbow (as favored card)
Spells: Cure Light Wounds x2, Force Missile, Detect Magic
Items: Amulet of Life, Thieves Tools
Allies: Crow, Sage x2
Blessings: BOG x5

Because Lem almost always has a blessing in her 6-card hand (especially with two cure spells), that light crossbow does quite well. I only needed to use that attack spell once.

Highly recommend this starting deck and Valeros and Lem are a wicked tag team.

Thanks again for all the advice, guys.

Ben

Side Note: Tim - Mike S. confirmed you gotta roll the check otherwise, you would be using a house rule.

Guess I will have to change my deck for Lem then...I was going off of Vic's ruling, but if Mike said it then I'm not really sure which is considered the official...lol...

Can someone post a link? I will try to find the post from Vic.

Thanks,
Tim

PS - Don't call Lem a her...I heard he gets upset!

Here is the thread with Vic's ruling

Link 1

I think I found a thread that Mike S. was a part of and it sounds like he now agrees that it is optional (I think he posted contrary on BGG but later found he was answering the wrong question)

Link 2

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Fromper wrote:
Given the ruling that you can't intentionally fail a recharge check, so he can't just cycle his Cure spell at will, you might want a second Cure. Detect Magic would be my next choice. Levitate is a waste with so few characters. But I agree that two attack spells should be enough.

When was it ruled that you had to attempt the recharge check? I thought Vic ruled that under recharge it said 'may' so it was optional?

Thanks,
Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

Yes, you still need to follow the 'When Closing' text...the only automatic close at the current time is defeating the Villain at the location.

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I haven't looked through all the weapons yet so wasn't sure if it was all reach weapons or all 'trip' weapons. Thought maybe it was trip to represent you tripping them and getting an attack of opportunity as they stood back up?! (Just some RPG fluff to go with the mechanics of the card game)

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I would steer away from when you take damage in excess to your hand taking it from the character deck since that is one of the advantages of small hand size and you just lost that advantage by doing this.

Maybe half of all excess is taken from the character deck and discarded (I think discarding would be better than burying because discarded cards can be healed whereas buried cards can't...and again having to bury only hurts the small hand sizes and they should be the hardier characters)...

SO if you have 2 cards in your hand and take a whopping 6 damage you would discard your 2 cards then discards 2 more from your deck (6-2 = 4 divided by 2 = 2)

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
NariusV wrote:

Only thing I would question is playing 2 BotG for one check.

Rules pp. 11, Play cards that affect the check
"Each player may play no more than one of each card type"

However, immediately after that under Use a Characters' Powers
"Players may use any powers that apply to the check"

I wonder in this case if you are given an exception to the former rule, and can burn two BotG's, or if you have to make a choice between Discarding to either add an extra die, or activate the character power.

I feel like some clarification on this would be nice.

My understanding is that the second BotG is not being used as a BotG. It is merely being used as a discard. It could have been ANY card in the hand but just happened to be a BotG. In this case it is not a 'typed' card so does not break the one of each type rule.

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

The funny thing is I have a d10 with a printed '10' instead of '0' and when we first used it everyone sort of looked at it funny and someone commented 'oh thats a 10'. We are so used to seeing a '0' the '10' made us stop and think...We have been playing games so longer I never considered the '0' throwing people off that hasn't been exposed to d10's.

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I don't have the rulebook or cards on me at the moment either, but yes read the cards literally. If it says 'Your check' it can only be used on a check you are making. If it says 'other character' with no location designation then it can be used on any other character at any location, etc...

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

You didn't go over the Villain and Henchman additions to the locations decks...

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

Don't forget if you are at a location with another character you can give them the spell on your turn...maybe they have better use for the spell or a chance to recharge it after use!

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

You can explore the location just like any other location. Under the 'Closing a Location' section of the rules is this line:

Characters may move to closed locations and, if there are
cards there, may explore and encounter those cards as normal.

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

There is one instance that I know of when the blessings timer deck 'goes' somewhere besides the blessings discard pile. When a Villain escapes and was not defeated. In this case cards come from the top of the Blessings Timer deck and are randomly distributed to locations with the villain so the villains location is unknown.

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

My daughter is stationed on the USS Nimitz now (she just joined the Navy late 2012)...maybe she will pick up a core rulebook to read while she is there and be ready to play next time she comes home!!

She was reporting to duty about the same time this blog was posted...

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
David Hopper wrote:
I'm going to do the pirate crew sent to delay earlier than written. I 'want' one of my pcs to kill one of those guys.

Isn't that written as happening on Day 2?!

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

I would like to cancel my sidecart order and couldn't see how to do that...I was able to find the item at my local store and went ahead and purchased it there.

Thanks,
Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
WampaX wrote:
Its specified that 4 others have been press ganged along with the PCs, but no names are mentioned. Did you have anyone particular in mind as to who these other 4 would be?

I was wondering the same thing, but then I thought maybe he meant the other recruits that have only been on board a few days: Sandara, Rosie, "Cog", and Shortstone. The paragraph before their descriptions calls them recent "recruits".

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Ulmaxes wrote:

BOSS.

Question: will there only be one of each? I understand there's already a TON packed in here, and I'm still going to buy it regardless.

Nonetheless, there are some creatures that are just probably not going to be alone. Regardless of setting, I'm willing to bet that 1 Kobold or 1 Goblin won't be cutting it.
The Beginner's Box will help that a bit (been lovin' it), but there are others.

Also: Dragons. Will there be one for each type and each size, or one per type? If the latter, will they all be the same size, or will you draw the sizes out across the types in order to hit all the bases?

Copied from above description: With multiple pawns for commonly encountered creatures

Not sure how many multiples but I am sure kobolds and goblins are what they consider commonly encountered creatures

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Jess Door wrote:
I just put a dollop of nail laquer on the bottom of mine. :) so far it's been enough.

That was what my mom did to all my Star Wars figures to keep them identifiable from my friends figures!

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
master arminas wrote:

I have read and reread the skills chapter, and I have a question. Does it still cost 2 skill points for each rank in a non-class skill? Because if it does, I completely missed it. It appears, at least in the manner I read it, that all skill ranks cost 1 skill point, but you only get the +3 bonus on class skills. Is this correct? Or am I mssing something?

Master Arminas

You are correct!

Tim

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Snorter wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
11) Cleave. 4 opponents north, south, east, and west of you are cleavable. Opponents NE NW SE SW are not, even though they're the same if there's no grid.

Not quite; all potential targets have to be adjacent to each other, not you.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach. You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.

Yes, the one to the North is adjacent through the diagonal to the East and West...West is adjacent to N and S, etc...however NE is not adjacent to SE, SW, or NW...

Andoran **

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Zizazat wrote:
Gotrek22 wrote:
Zizazat wrote:

Still plenty of seats unclaimed, also most GMs are open to requests of already published mods (IE: < #54)

1 PM - 5 PM #49 Among the Dead
2 PM - 6 PM Master of the Fallen Fortress (3)
6 PM - 10 PM #29 Shipyard Rats
6 PM - 10 PM Unconfirmed Offer from Atrius
7 PM - 11 PM #51 The Shadow Gambit (5)
7 PM - 11 PM #39 Citadel of Flame (4)

I have 4 players interested in the 7 PM - 11 PM #39 Citadel of Flame.

kelly

Awesome!

The slots for 1 PM and both 6 PM could be changed to specific mods based on request/interest.

My son and I just started playing in Pathfinder Society games (just hit level 2) and would be interested in playing in low level mods on Wednesday.

Thanks,
Tim

Andoran **

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber

Hi all,
My son and I are interested in playing in PFS games in the near future and I just want to be prepared for our first game. We have been playing mainly 4E and LFR for the last couple years.

1) Is it OK to create our characters with PCGen and print them out? We will be following the creation rules from the guide but I am not sure how strict the rules are concerning the sheet being used.
2) My son is creating a Druid and will have an animal companion. I am assuming the animal will already know the 'tricks' and not need to be trained one trick per scenario?
3) Is there anything else we need to be concerned with going in to our first PFS game?

Any advise or first game watchouts would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Tim


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.