I'm playing a magus for the Skull and Shackles campaign, and I'm still struggling to understand some of the finer rules about spellstrike and spell combat.
1) Holding a touch spell.
"Touch Spells and Holding the Charge
In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates."
Let's say I cast shocking grasp and fail my attack. Does this mean that the spell is not discharged and I can try again ?
But then, it seems I can use spellstrike only when I get a free touch attack from casting a spell. So I shouldn't be able to use my weapon next round.
Is this correct ?
Magus casts shocking grasp.
Magus can spellstrike at - 2. If Magus misses, spell is not discharged
Magus then resolves other attacks at -2.
Next round: Magus can either cast a new spell, ending the previous one. Or Magus can try a touch attack, but that would be a standard action, and it'll be a basic spell, without all the advantages of a spellstrike.
2) The Frostbite conendrum
What happens if I didn't cast Shocking Grasp, but Frostbite ? I get as many frostbites as my level. Can I spellstrike them every round ? Or RAW, can I only spellstrike the first one ? What do I do with the next ones ?
Thanks a lot, I'm totally lost there :D