Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Lord Raheem Pandisar

The Diplomat's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 219 posts (220 including aliases). 3 reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 3 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 219 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

Bump
Also, how well does this stack up with the Huntmaster (Cavalier Archetype)?

Sovereign Court

Necrotoxins (Black Markets Player Companion) are worth a look into, as are the Injecting and Toxic weapon special abilities (Agents of Evil Player Companion). Black Markets also has an Eldritch Poisoner (Alchemist Archetype).

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As it is suggested here, is the inclusion of Spring Attack as a bonus feat for the Gendarme a typo (since none of the prerequisites for this feat are bonus feats)?

If not, and a character doesn't meet the prerequisites, and has no other bonus feats to choose from, what happens?

Sovereign Court

Just to clarify, a confirmed crit with a lance during a spirited charge would be x3 + x3 = x5?

Are the bonuses from the Cavalier's Challenge added before or after multiplying?

Sovereign Court

Bestiary p178 wrote:
Heavy Horse: A heavy horse gains the advanced simple template. In addition, it also gains a bite attack that inflicts 1d4 damage, and its hoof damage increases to 1d6. As with a light horse, a heavy horse can be specifically trained for combat with the Handle Animal skill.

Since the animal companion template already has these bite and hoof attacks recorded, it would seem that's it's already a heavy horse from level 1.

Sovereign Court

A number of questions in this thread, all related to using the acrobatics skill to "dismount"

1. A fast dismount is only possible of the character has a move action remaining. If the character doesn't have a move action (e.g. has just completed a charge), could he dismount acrobatically (i.e. intentionally "fall" off the horse) and make a DC 15 acrobatics check to avoid falling damage?

2. Can she utilise the added height afforded to her by the horse to long jump (e.g. over an opponent)? If the horse has just completed a move action, can she utilise the momentum to gain the benefits of a running jump?

Sovereign Court

Gauss wrote:

@The Diplomat,

You have not dismounted, you must dismount before you can mount.
CRB p104 wrote:
Fast Mount or Dismount: You can attempt to mount or dismount from a mount of up to one size category larger than yourself as a free action, provided that you still have a move action available that round.

Since fast mount/dismount is a free action (not a swift action), does this mean that, if he's hanging from the side of the horse, he could fast dismount and then fast mount (2x DC 20 checks) in the same round?

Sovereign Court

If a rider takes cover alongside his mount as an immediate action (DC 15), the rule says that on his turn he can spend a move action to recover from the cover position. Can he, instead, attempt a fast mount check (DC 20) to avoid spending the move action?

Sovereign Court

Just to clarify, can a character wearing the eye patch and possessing this feat attempt to demoralise all foes within 60"?

Sovereign Court

If I take cover as an immediate action, can I then make a fast mount check (DC 20) to avoid spending a move action to recover?

Sovereign Court

Am I correct in understanding that the Evangelist gains both spells and other class abilities of the aligned class?

Sovereign Court

Does the Swift Poison rogue talent stack with the Poison Expertise Sentinel Boon?

APG 131 wrote:

Swift Poison (Ex): A rogue with this talent can apply poison to a weapon as a move action, instead of a standard action.

ISG 338 wrote:
Poison Expertise (Ex): Long practice has taught you how to deftly apply poison during combat. You can apply poison to a weapon or a single piece of ammunition as a move action. You never risk exposing yourself to the effects of the poison when applying it to the weapon, nor do you run the risk of poisoning yourself if you roll a natural 1 on an attack roll with a poisoned weapon.

By having both these class features, would it reduce poison application to a weapon to a swift action?

Sovereign Court

On the PRD spell lists, when I click the "Cantrips/Orisons" link, it toggles 1st level spells instead of Cantrips/Orisons (I'm using an iPad).

Sovereign Court

Tempestorm wrote:
My reasoning for saying that 400gp sounds more appropriate was simply based on the fact that it is, mechanicaly, masterwork banded mail. 1,200gp for masterwork banded mail is silly.

The description that it is "like masterwork banded mail" comes from Hero Lab, which isn't an official source. ISWG says it is a cut down version of full plate.

Read the CRB description of banded mail.

Now read the CRB description of full plate.

Do they sound similar? Not really. And ISWG compares field plate to full plate, not to banded mail, so if you're arguing mechanics, your base template should be full plate.

Your reasoning is based on a false premise.

Sovereign Court

I only started using it because all the players I GM for use it. Just about every time I've used it I've found a bug (and reported it).

But my main contribution to this thread is the argument over price. The argument is that field plate should cost 400gp because it is "like masterwork banded mail", but it really is nothing like masterwork banded mail (unless you treat Hero Lab as Gospel - which I don't), therefore another justification for price needs to be given.

Sovereign Court

I'd like to know where Hero Lab got the "like masterwork banded mail" description from. The description in ISWG says it's a cut down version for Full Plate, so, nothing like banded mail (apart for them both being made of metal and heavy armour).
Banded mail is bands of metal attacked to a leather backing, while full plate is effectively a heavy metal breastplate with arms protectors. Field plate is full plate without the arm protectors, so why the comparison to banded mail?

Sovereign Court

That description doesn't appear in ISWG. I've only seen it in Hero Lab

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If a Mysterious Stranger uses the Stranger's Fortune class ability to ignore a misfire (which is normally an automatic miss), but the die roll is otherwise enough to hit and higher than a 1, does the attack succeed?

Sovereign Court

MrSin wrote:
Why wouldn't it? Its a type of leather and that's the kind of thing darkleaf was meant to be used for.

HeroLab doesn't allow it, so I just thought I'd clarify. Ultimate Equipment does say: "As such, padded armor, leather armor, studded leather armor, and hide armor can be made out of darkleaf cloth (although other types of armor made of leather or hide might be possible)."

Since Lamellar (leather) isn't specifically mentioned in the list, I considered it might be one of those GM's discretion things.

Sovereign Court

Is Lamellar (leather) constructed from darkleaf cloth legal in PFS play?

Sovereign Court

I just understand that when you channel, you simply declare (1) positive or negative energy and (2) target. Without targeting feats, you can only choose living or undead as targets.
Alightment Channel allows you to add good, evil, lawful, and chaotic to the list (one feat each). Elemental Channel allows you to add fire, water, earth, and air to the list (one feat each). If you are targeting an outsider type, you also have to specify (3) harm or heal.
Does that sum it up?
Also, I've never come accross any natives of the outer planes with the undead subtype. Is this actually possible?

Sovereign Court

From the wording, I don't think it matters whether your using positive or negative. If you have Alignment Channel (Lawful), if would seem that you could use either positive or negative energy to either heal or harm archons, axiomites, and devils. You would simply declare "I use negative energy to heal lawful outsiders" or "I use negative energy to harm lawful outsiders". If an archon and a devil happened to be locking horns within 30' of you, both would be effected in the same way.
If one or both outsiders happened to be undead it wouldn't matter, because you're targeting the energy against outsiders, not against undead. (However, if I were GMing, I'd probably tweak the rule a bit with a house rule, because it doesn't fluff up quite right).
Any dispute of my interpretation?

Sovereign Court

MrMagpie wrote:
Not everything is about pure damage output, you know. But when you can do sneak attacks every round and nobody can realistically find you, you may be a little OP, yes.

If he is doing sneak attack damage every round, why are his opponents standing around dumbly taking it? They could use area attacks to counter it, or alternatively, if they can't find him they could move out of range. Most people, if getting fired upon by a sniper they can't see, would ... I don't know ... take cover so they can make a tactical assessment? Try to see it from the point of view of the sniper targets.

Maybe make a ruling that everytime he uses the rogue evasion ability or passes a reflex save he gives away his position.

Sovereign Court

*bump*

Sovereign Court

mplindustries wrote:
Er, you roll 1d6 and divide it by half. Why do you think there's some kind of trick?

Because the example in the book says that half 4d6 is 2d6. It doesn't say roll 4d6 and halve it, it says roll 2d6 instead.

Sovereign Court

How does halving work?

Ultimate Magic p28 wrote:
A variant channeling either modifies positive channeled energy when used to heal or modifies negative energy when used to harm. When using positive energy to heal, affected creatures gain only half the normal amount of healing ... For example, a 7th-level cleric normally heals 4d6 points of damage with channeled positive energy; with the Nature alternative channeling, that cleric instead heals only half that amount (2d6) when channeling ...

Okay, so the example in the book only gives an even number of dice. What does a first level cleric do? Is 1d6 the minimum? Or does this round down to 0d6? Or round to 1d3?

Sovereign Court

I carry my tablet containing all my watermarked PDFs, but I can understand why people who own hardcovers and not PDFs might feel a bit cheated that they have to carry a tonne of books around to be able to build the same kinds of characters I can.

Can I suggest a possible solution of creating a certification process for photocopies? If a player shows a VC his original source book and photocopy, the VC can sign off the page as owned by a particular player (maybe a special rubber stamp?) so in future the player only needs to carry around his photocopy that's been stamped and signed by said VC. Is such a thing possible?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Have you started using the downtime rules in Ultimate Campaign yet? They might help pull things back into balance. He can choose to spend his downtime crafting, but then his misses out on other things. The rules also let him "boar hunt" for XP, but ensure that things don't get overbalanced.

Sovereign Court

Is this becoming available in Comixology's Australian store, like the other Pathfinder comics?

Sovereign Court

When is the list of figures in this set going to be release?

Sovereign Court

Also for Abadar, my favourite alignment to roleplay is Lawful Neutral. Because if the other players don't hate you, you're doing it wrong.

Sovereign Court

The black raven wrote:
he can still be a Neutral Evil Cleric of Pharasma

But only if you're playing in a story arc that allows evil PCs. Many/most story arcs demand that characters that turn evil become NPCs.

The black raven wrote:
A player should be warned beforehand that a specific act will get his character in hot water with his god/code.

Technically, only if he invests in a Phylactery of Faithfulness.

Sovereign Court

Faiths of Balance p16 wrote:
She has seen tyrants prosper and the innocent weep, and is necessarily amoral, yet she has also seen people change dramatically over their lives, and thus withholds judgment until a mortal’s death.

While there might be no specific tenant against them, either capricious or judgemental killing would seem to be out of place. After all, if the Lady of Graves herself refrains from such actions, why should her clergy behave any differently?

Sovereign Court

Just curious, but how are sales of this product compared to the Core Rulebook and Bestiary?

Sovereign Court

Favourite is Abadar, because if you rise up high enough in the church hierarchy you get addressed as "Archbanker", and you conduct your morning prayer service in a money vault!
Second is Nethys, who cares that you acquire knowledge and power, but doesn't care what you use it on.
Third is Iomedae, because there is nothing more classic cool than the heavy paladin charge.

Sovereign Court

chaoseffect wrote:
The Diplomat wrote:
(e.g. "would a Cleric of Pharasma usurp the power of life and death from his deity?")
I think that's an unproductive way to look at it. As an adventurer, most days aren't complete until you've killed at least an even dozen; is he supposed to stop and ask if what he's doing is against Pharasma's plan for those ones too?

If you want to role play it properly, yes I do think so.

Faiths of Balance p16 wrote:
For those who worship Pharasma above all others, the most important things in life are birth, death, and prophecy. When you adventure in her name, it is often to destroy undead (which are antithetical to the natural cycle) or to seek out and attempt to understand strange prophecies. You may seek to protect the dead from disgrace, and are exceedingly uncomfortable with the standard adventurers’ practice of tomb robbing (though you have no problem rooting out whatever abominations may have taken up residence in such places, provided the innocent dead are treated with respect).

It doesn't mean a follower of Pharasma can't become an adventurer, but they ought to have some kind of personal philosophy for dealing with fighting goblins, e.g. self defence. Adventuring isn't all about killing and personal gain, after all, unless you happen to follow Nethys or Gorum.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you think one of your players is likely to play against the precepts of his or her deity, I'd give them a subtle warning before their first offence (e.g. "would a Cleric of Pharasma usurp the power of life and death from his deity?") and after the session encourage the player to purchase a Phylactery of Faithfulness (Ultimate Equipment p252) to avoid getting into trouble.

In any case, would it have mattered had the cleric known the sheriff's alignment? Does evil deserve to die more than good? How could your cleric presume to know the mind of the Lady of Graves as to whether the sheriff's time has come? The Lady's way is to withhold judgement until life runs its proper course (ref Faiths of Balance p16).

Sovereign Court

Claxon wrote:
The symbol of your god painted onto your chest doesn't satify the condition of being a holy sybol appropriate to your faith?

I think SKR clarified that point in this post. If "the point of getting the tattoo" is so you can have a hands free divine focus, it would kind of defeat the point of having to spend 100gp on it when you can just paint in on your shield.

Sovereign Court

That is one of my bard's favourite spells. Now try roleplaying the description.

Sovereign Court

Thank you James! I'll see how much I can incorporate in. The Sinspawn transformation does sound pretty cool. I'll have a think about how it might be incorporated without upsetting the balance too much.
One of the PCs is quite taken with Ameko, however, so I imagine her abduction will be sure to get them down to the catacombs, Sinspawn or no Sinspawn.

Sovereign Court

I'm running Glass and Wrath this weekend. Thanks for the heads up, I'll be sure to sneak the journal into the game somehow.

Sovereign Court

Claxon wrote:
... keep in mind that you can literally paint your holy symbol onto your armor or shield or have it hang from wrist. If you use your gods favored weapon it could count as your holy symbol and divine focus.

I'd suggest those are all house rules. I don't believe they're written anywhere.

Sovereign Court

Does the Eldritch Knight character, who seems to have snuck in amongst the iconics on both screens now (albeit, in a different pose) have a name? Is he also going to sneak into a future edition of Pathfinder Comics?

Sovereign Court

Robin D. Laws The Worldwound Gambit is a tale in Golarion about a team pulling off a long con. Maybe use this as a starting point for your own adventure? If nothing else, it will give you an idea of what kind of party mix could work.

Sovereign Court

Ultimate Equipment p175 wrote:
This ornate ring of sanctified silver is engraved with a golden signet that incorporates the holy symbol of the wearer’s deity after being worn for 24 hours. The ring can be used to seal parchments or to mark any surface as the arcane mark spell at will.

Since this item bears the wearer's holy symbol, does this mean it can be used as a divine focus? Or does this functionality only apply to items that explicitly state this, like the Holy Symbol Flask or Tattoo, or the Cassock of the Clergy?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
We're making sure that each of the main deity writeups has all of the same structural elements (a priest's role, dogma, relations with other religions).

Will this also include things like hierarchy and structure, clerical titles, premier shrines, etc.?

Sovereign Court

Hero's Handbook p48 wrote:
If you're a cleric, you must hold your holy symbol to use your channel energy ability.

See this post for a solution if you want to keep a free hand. There is also the Cassock of the Clergy (UE p214) for a less permanent, though more expensive, answer.

Sovereign Court

The 'Advanced Bestiary' is referenced in Rise of the Runelords: Anniversary Edition p218. Is this the same book?

Sovereign Court

Can the GM get credit?

Sovereign Court

Will this product be useful in transitioning Beginner Box players to the full game? I.e, is this intended as a kind of intermediate/bridging product?

1 to 50 of 219 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.