Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Vencarlo Orinsini

Tandem Arandell's page

44 posts. Alias of hgsolo.




So I am making a half-elf mystic theurge for an upcoming campaign. He is going to worship Nethys and probably have the protection (defense) and destruction (catastrophe) domains, and be an evocation specialist wizard. What I am working on now is his alignment and motivations.

The DM says we will be traveling the planescape (I don't know if he is planning on using the planescape setting or what precisely). My DM doesn't want any evils, but I can easily see this guy going any of the other alignments possible for a follower of Nethys. True neutral could be a strict proponent of universal balance (which I quite like), CN could be a force of nature, LN could be a sort of karmic enforcer, and NG could be the defender of the innocent. I just need some help picking one, and coming up with some interesting motivations for my guy. Any ideas?

*Edit: I'm also willing to consider changing my domains/specialty if it fits with a good concept. The way I see it, no matter what alignment he is, he will be somewhat power-hungry, I just don't know what he would do wit his power yet.


So I'm wondering if there are any interesting racial traits for goblins only (or even any goblin traits at all). Anyone able to help out?


So I have a question about the image spells in the silent image line (minor, major, etc). Silent image description:

School illusion (figment); Level bard 1, sorcerer/wizard 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (a bit of fleece)
Range long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Effect visual figment that cannot extend beyond four 10-ft. cubes
+ one 10-ft. cube/level (S)
Duration concentration
Saving Throw Will disbelief (if interacted with); Spell Resistance no
This spell creates the visual illusion of an object, creature, or force,
as visualized by you. The illusion does not create sound, smell,
texture, or temperature. You can move the image within the limits
of the size of the effect.

Now, my question deals with that last line. Say I create an image of three people sleeping. I can concentrate and make them toss and turn a little, that seems fine. However, can I drastically change the image once it's made? Can I add or subtract a person? Could I mush them all together and turn them into an abomination? What are the limits on altering an already formed image?


This is a spell from PHB 2:

School: illusion (shadow)
Level: beguiler 3, sorcerer/wizard 3
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Components: V, S, M (a pewter sword-fighter miniature figure)
Range: close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Area: 10-ft.-radius emanation centered on a point in space
Duration: 1 round/level
Saving Throw: none
Spell Resistance: no

A ghostly, incorporeal sword-fighter appears in each square covered by this spell’s area. A sword-fighter can share a space with another creature or object. Each sword-fighter threatens the squares adjacent to it and can make one attack of opportunity per round. The sword-fighters do not hinder movement, block terrain, or block line of effect. They can flank an opponent with each other and with your allies.

Each sword-fighter has hit points equal to twice your caster level and an Armour Class of 25. It makes saving throws or checks with a bonus equal to your caster level.

Does anyone have any idea what the attack/damage rolls are supposed to be for those AoO? It isn't listed with the spell and I can't think of any monster it is supposed to be.


Ok, for those who don't know, the duskblade from 3.5 is essentially a combination melee/caster. They use INT to cast spells, but actually cast like sorcerers (limited spell selections but decent spells per day, and they cast spontaneously). Their main class feature though is that they can channel magic into a melee attack.

Arcane Channeling (Su): Beginning at 3rd level, a duskblade can use a standard action to cast any touch spell she knows and deliver the spell through her weapon with a melee attack. Casting a spell in this manner does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action or less. If the melee attack is successful, the attack deals damage normally; then the effect of the spell is resolved.

At 13th level, she can cast any touch spell she knows as part of a full attack action, and the spell affects each target she hits in melee combat that round. Doing so discharges the spell at the end of the round, in the case of a touch spell that would otherwise last longer than 1 round.

Now, what I'm wondering is, does a ranged touch attack count in this instance? Specifically, I'm wondering about rays (which are quite prevalent in the duskblade spell list).

My first thought was no, because it specifies touch attacks. Also, disintegrate is on their spell list, meaning that at 17th level they can channel disintegrate into a full round attack, which means an additional 34d6 on each target (unless they pass their FORT save, in which case it is 5d6).

However, there are no 4th or 5th level touch spells on their list. Meaning that their highest level spells can't utilize their main class feature. Thoughts?


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.