Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Elf Archer

Talon Stormwarden's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. FullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 368 posts (369 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 368 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'll be running this Saturday. What are opinions on revealing the DCs for the chase scene? In the past I've always revealed them.

When I played it the GM running it did not reveal them. I'm trying to decide if it added to or subtracted from the experience. On the one hand there's more suspense not knowing them. On the other, I think its good for PCs to have at least a general idea of the difficulty of a particular task.

Thoughts?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

"Equivalent" was a bad word to use there, because it's also used in another way in the context of weapon bonuses. But what the heading of the table is referring to is the type of DR that a weapon with a particular enhancement bonus is equivalent to. That is, the first line of the table is saying that a +3 enhancement bonus is equivalent to cold iron/silver for purposes of DR.

Edit: Ninjas!!

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Really looking forward to this one. I'll have my first level 12 PFS character after this.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Woot, the fat man is joining us, we cannot fail!

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
And Bane.
Which arcana adds that? I've been looking for my magus but can't find it.

Bane Blade, from Ultimate Combat.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anyone else having problems with the pages of this PDF resolving in a timely fashion? Generally Paizo PDF pages render in a fraction of a second on my iPhone, at most a second or so. Each page of Daughters of Fury takes 7-10 seconds to render.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Excellent. Thanks for clearing it up Mike. I'm not happy with the ruling for the sake of my magus, but I'm happy to have it clarified.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Indeed, anyone in PF may do anything with GM permission. Why it was put in the book I can't fathom. That line merely serves to underline that the ARG spells are, by the rules, limited to the corresponding race. It requires a GM invoking Rule 0 to allow a non-member of the race to use the spell.

Blood of the Elements doesn't say the same thing. It explicitly says the opposite, that any character can learn the spells. No limitations whatsoever. None. Just because some words are in a similar arrangement doesn't mean they actually say something similar.

I understand the tendency to stretch the meaning of the additional resources text to mean something that it doesn't say just so it means something. But PFS isn't about stretching the meaning of RAW to mean what you think it probably means, except in the most egregious of circumstances.

I wouldn't be terribly surprised if you're correct about the intent. But I maintain that it just doesn't say what you say it does. Until it does say it, then it doesn't mean it either.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Jeff Merola wrote:
Andreas has the right of it. For PFS the line "The following spells are available to all characters, but are used frequently by sylph spellcasters." means "Sylphs only, barring a boon that says otherwise."

The problem, Jeff, is that that isn't what it SAYS. In PFS you can't say something means something other than what it says. I mean no disrespect by disagreeing with you, by the way, hopefully my post doesn't come across as such.

I will point out that the spells in Advanced Race Guide are explicitly called out as racial spells. They are labeled 'Sylph Spells', 'Ifrit Spells', 'Gnome Spells', etc. Each spell section says, "X have access to these spells." It doesn't say, "Everyone can cast these, but X race frequently uses them" as it does in Blood of the Elements.

The passage in the Blood of the Elements entry of the additional resources mentions racial spells, racial traits and racial feats. I maintain that, as written, there are no racial spells or racial feats in the book. Unless the additional resources entry is changed, or Mike Brock posts otherwise, that's how the RAW reads.

Was it the intent to limit these spells to sylphs? Maybe. I don't think that's at all clear though. I think that whoever wrote the additional resources glanced through the book and saw that there were one or more traits, spells and feats. They then wrote a boilerplate entry to make certain that any racial items were limited to the appropriate races. They evidently didn't realize that there actually weren't any items in two of those categories.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

And see...there's the other side of the coin. So it's not as clear cut.

Anyone else willing to weigh in?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Do you have a link for that by chance? I was searching just last week and couldn't find anything.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Has Arcane Deed: Precise Strike (and the other deeds dependent on swashbuckler level) been clarified to work with magus level?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I already have Lunge actually, so I agree with you there. :)

I steer clear of 'Cheesy and horribly not-RAI'. Call it a personal code. Not to mention I suspect there is considerable table variation on that particular interpretation.

Grasping Tail could be a possibility. I do like to avoid things that could be subject to table variation. I'll promise to think about it though.

I do ok on hitting thanks to the +5 weapon(+3 black blade + arcane pool), just not with enough overage to be comfy with the Power Attack penalty. I'm already swift action starved, so those two arcana aren't really on my radar.

Thanks for the suggestions though!

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Meh, there are no arcana that interest me at this level. And 11 arcane pool points are plenty for PFS.

Power Attack was actually on my list and I forgot to include it. As a 3/4 BAB class and the -2 to hit from Combat Casting plus the relatively low (for a str melee build) Str bonus, it seemed like Power Attack might not be the best choice.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DesolateHarmony wrote:

Race traits are traits in much the same way as magic traits or social traits, and you can take one of them as one of your starting allotment of two traits.

Racial Traits, however are a very different sort of thing. They are in the listing for the race itself, much as keen senses for elves and gnomes, or darkvision for dwarves and half-orcs.

Be careful with that dichotomy.

Tell that to the writer of the additional resources entry.

Regardless, the spells don't have any mention of race in their descriptions. The spells are Storm Step and Enshrouded Thoughts.

I just wanted to make sure I wasn't letting "that would be a super cool spell for my magus" bias color my interpretation.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I so hate doing this, but I'm torn on this one.

Hitting 11 with my PFS magus and have 2 feats to choose(one normal, one combat/metamagic). Since this is PFS, the choice really doesn't matter that much. 3 more scenarios then maybe a Seeker arc, so the choice won't impact me for long.

That said, I'm having a great deal of indecision.

Quick rundown:
Str 18 Dex 14 Con 12 Int 27 Wis 10 Cha 7

Arcana: Hasted Assault, Spell blending (mage armor, heightened awareness)

Feats: Arcane strike, Armor of the Pit, Critical Focus, Lunge, Rime Spell, Weapon Focus/Specialization(katana)

Considering the following feats:
Bleeding Critical (this was the original plan),
Riving Strike (this sounds cool, but many fights arcane strike only goes up on the 3rd round and there's not much fight left by then)
Improved Critical (all this really does is allow me to add an elemental enhancement rather than keen)
Sickening Critical (passable substitute for Bleeding Crit, debuff rather than more damage)
Dimensional Agility (being a kensai, I don't get many 4th level spells, but this could just be fun. I recently discovered the spell Storm Step, which would make Dim Door with Dim Agility redundant in most combat situations)

Thoughts?

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm unsure of the intent of the entry in the additional resources document for Blood of Elements.

Additional Resources wrote:
Note: Racial feats, racial traits, and racial spells are only available for characters of the assigned race.

There are many racial traits in the book and they are explicitly labeled "race traits". They are clearly covered by the above entry.

There is only one feat and it has no apparent relationship to the races in the book.

There are only two spells in the book, prefaced by the below text.

Blood of the Elements wrote:
New Spells The following spells are available to all characters, but are used frequently by sylph spellcasters.

An overly broad (to my thinking) reading of the additional resources entry would make the spells legal only for Sylphs. A strict reading shows there are no spells limited by race in the book, and so are both legal for any race.

Yes? No?

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
The Human Diversion wrote:

I'm going to a con this weekend and for the first time I'm hoping to be 100% paper free, I.E. have all my characters on just my laptop using Hero Lab and/or PDFs. I'll of course have all my chronicle sheets on paper and with me, but I'm wondering if there's any esoteric rules that state a player has to have a paper sheet, or that a GM can require one?

thanks

FAQd

Sovereign Court *

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There should not be an expectation of table variation on this issue.

Campaign leadership has stated that paper chronicle sheets are required so I print my online chronicles and bring my face to face copies with me. I have zero problem with this. They only ever have to be printed once so this isn't a big deal.

I have every rule book I own in cloud storage for access from any of my devices and also stored directly on my tablet. No issues there. I do not use sources I do not own. So far so good.

If someone doesn't do one or more of these things and it gets caught in an audit I have no problem with them being barred from a game (worst case, hopefully it can be fixed another way). If that audit was instigated SOLELY because they use Hero Lab then I think the GM is being a jerk, but that's a bigger issue.

I do NOT however print my characters because that would be more pages being printed multiple times unnecessarily (as I see it). Hence an answer to the originally posted question would be helpful to put this matter to rest.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Honestly, since that whole "Herolab is evil" thread, I've been hoping for an official answer to the the OP's question.

I'm not worried about having my Chronicles/ITS/sources in a row. I would however like to know that when I go to GenCon this year, if I happen to sit down at a table with someone with a Herolab grudge, they can't boot me for having no paper character sheet. Or if they can that would be nice to know too.

Sovereign Court *

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:

I said I don't allow it at my tables.

And I'm 100% within my right as a GM to do that.

If you only brought a character built with HeroLab, I have every right to not allow that character at my table.

I'd like to see some backup for this. I play with Herolab. I know every single feat, trait, spell, every single bonus, every penalty applied to my characters. And yes have every PDF for every book Paizo sells on the same tablet that runs Herolab, also purchased with hard earned cash.

If I pay good money to be in a convention slot, and you say I cannot play at the table because my choice of tool is different from yours, we're having words.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No opinions one way or the other?

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nefreet linked you to the description of the Bane ability and copy/pasted it into the thread as well. What more is required? There is no citation that says the rules work the way they say they do.

The boon allows you to purchase enchanted arrows in stacks of 10 instead of stacks of 50, that's all. To get further details about what those arrows do, or what choices they require, you must reference the specific ability (made easy by Nefreet's link). Bane arrows require you to choose (or randomly determine) a type (and subtype if applicable).

Can you tell us what isn't clear about that?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've always understood that persistent haunts can be damaged beyond the first round, as they...persist. Now that I'm rereading the available rules I cannot find anything that says they can be. The only mention of damaging haunt hit points is the following text:

On the surprise round in which a haunt manifests, positive energy applied to the haunt (via channeled energy, cure spells, and the like) can damage the haunt’s hit points (a haunt never gains a Will save to lessen the damage done by such effects, and attacks that require a successful attack roll to work must strike AC 10 in order to affect the haunt and not merely the physical structure it inhabits).

In the absence of any other mention of damaging haunts, the above text can easily be seen as evidence that any haunt can only be damaged in the surprise round.

I don't believe that to be true by RAI, but I'd like to find RAW evidence to back me up when I bring the topic up at PFS and other tables.

I'm aware of this post by Brandon Hodge, but I can't find anything official in the rules of forums. Am I missing something, or is this question in need of a FAQ?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Rynjin wrote:

So ehhhh, basically you're stuck with 1st level powers until 16th. Since there are no 4th level talents.

Neat.

Here's one thing I can suggest without a big huge major overhaul of core mechanics that would help a ton: Stop with the weird level locks of expanded Kineticist options. Like the Extra Wild Talent Feat (why limit what level of Talents you can get?), and this.

There are certainly 4th level talents, e.g. Firesight, Torrent, Impale. It refers to the level of the talent, not the level you need to be to get the talent on the prerequisite line.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
justaworm wrote:
Assuming you are loving Spell Combat + Spell Strike, something like Elemental Touch & Mirror Image.

Elemental Touch won't work with Spellstrike. It doesn't have a range of Touch, but rather Personal.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I can't recommend Ablative Barrier enough. Hour/level spell that, in addition to what Iterman says above, also means that even if you do go down you have a much lesser chance to die since you have a non-lethal buffer.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'd have to consult my sources* but I believe you only start falling after succeeding on a perception check to see that you are no longer standing on firm ground.

*sources include Wile E Coyote/Road Runner cartoons.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'll put in a vote of confidence for Nitro Reader as well. I downloaded it a couple of days ago and it has seamlessly extracted every scenario I've thrown at it (including a few season 6 plus the AP I'm currently GMing).

It's free, as bugleyman mentioned, and thanks for the initial recommendation as well.

I did find one bug. When you click the 'Extract' button, you are presented with a pop up box with several options. One of which is to select the output folder for the extracted files, another is a check box to open the chosen folder after extracting is complete.

If I choose the folder before I uncheck the box, I get an error saying that the PDF is protected and can't be extracted. If I uncheck the box before choosing my destination folder it works just fine.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What do folks use to extract images from PDFs? I used to use SomePDF, but hadn't used it in years. I DL'd it recently and couldn't get it to work at all.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I know a VL who insists on stance 2. It's quite frustrating.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
RDM42 wrote:
Under A Bleeding Sun wrote:

If the GM says he can't he can't, not sure what the issue is. Its kind of a GM fiat area anyway and different GM's rule it differently. Unless your running it in PFS mode, in which case he should let you take 10 barring danger (maybe he considers the rigging dangerous)

My house rule is taking 10 gets you 7 and taking 20 gets you 15. Not a fan of the take 10 rules so I limit them some. People still use them when success is certain, but much less often.

I'm not sure what your hostility to take ten is. Especially if there is no time pressure, and you don't forbid retrying, then all you are doing is short handing the intervening rounds in exchange for the player giving up the chance at doing really well. You can't fumble skill checks. So if failing it has no consequences and they are going to succeed eventually, and they have the time, what is wrong with just saying they succeed instead of rolling the dice 10 times?

Just a clarification, negative consequences of failure and inability to retry do not prohibit taking 10. Those are restrictions for taking 20, not for taking 10.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Sadly it's not in Advanced Class Origins either.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Stunning Fist isn't a touch spell, so there is no reason to believe you can 'hold the charge'. Hence, when you use the ability and miss, the ability is wasted (for that use, you might have more uses left for the day due to level, etc).

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks, I hadn't noticed that FAQ entry (looks like it was posted during the year or so that I was away from the game).
However, it is still very vague and certainly doesn't put a minimum 8 hour requirement to avoid being fatigued.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
Character who don't get at least 8 hours of sleep a night (doesn't have to be consecutive hours) are fatigued the next day.

Do you have a citation for this? As Blahpers posted above, I'm not aware of any rules in Pathfinder that impose any general penalties for lack of sleep or interrupted sleep (not counting rules for casters and sleep).

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

To which FAQ are you referring?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lucio wrote:

I'd agree with the judgement call that it doesn't retroactively change into lethal, only further non-lethal damage would convert.

I'd be more worried about an interpretation that would say that your total for bleeding out should be based on your ability score including damage.

Thanks for chiming in (and dragonhunterq too).

As for your second point, Pathfinder is very specific about what ability damage does: -1 penalty to relevant rolls for each 2 points of damage and, for con, lowering max hit points. Anything beyond that is not supported by RAW.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Indeed, it's quite possible for this sort of situation to occur. It happened to me in a PFS game yesterday.

Let's make the example real. 9th level magus with 62 max hp and 13 con. 20 nonlethal damage (yay Ablative Barrier) and 18 lethal damage. Then 12 points of Con damage, bringing my max hp down to 8.

At the time I was focused on my lethal damage and Con damage. 1 more point of Con damage would have killed me, and 3 more points of lethal damage would also have killed me (8hp+13Con means death as 21 lethal) since Con damage doesn't change your actual Con score.

Only later did I think about the possible ramifications of the nonlethal to lethal conversion rule. Hence the question.

Again, I think it hinges on the interpretation of "all further nonlethal damage" in the rule I quoted.

My gut says you don't change nonlethal to lethal once it's already been applied, that you only convert nonlethal to lethal when it's first applied. But I don't trust my gut in this call, it's biased.

Now that said, the game is over. My character is in no danger of dying now. But I'd still like to have an answer that I'm confident in.

So far we have Wraithstrike in the "doesn't convert" column, and RedDog and Benchak in the "it should convert but I wouldn't for simplicity's sake" column. Please correct me if I'm misinterpreting your responses.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Bigdaddyjug wrote:
You keep 2 running totals of lethal and non-lethal damage. At any point if non-lethal > max HP - lethal damage, you do non-lethal - current HP and apply that as lethal damage.

That's absolutely not true.

Max HP - Lethal damage = Current HP

So when you say "non-lethal > max HP - lethal damage" that is the same as saying "non-lethal > Current HP"

And that is simply the point at which you become unconscious.

Page 191 Core Rulebook wrote:
When your nonlethal damage exceeds your current hit points, you fall unconscious. While unconscious, you are helpless (see page 567).

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So there's this part of the nonlethal damage rules:

Core Rulebook wrote:
If a creature’s nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage.

The questions is this, if a creature's maximum hitpoint value is reduced do you reevaluate previously nonlethal damage as lethal? Or is nonlethal damage, once applied, always nonlethal?

Example: An undamaged creature has 40 maximum hitpoints. He takes 20 lethal damage and 20 nonlethal. Then he receives con damage that reduces his maximum hit points to 10. Let's say the Con score is 15.

Does this creature still have 20 nonlethal and 20 lethal, and therefore is still alive?

Or do you reevaluate the nonlethal to lethal conversion, and it now has 10 nonlethal and 30 lethal, and is therefore dead?

Seems to me the crux is the reading of 'all further damage'. Does it mean 'all damage received after this point'? In which case you wouldn't reevaluate whether damage is lethal or nonlethal after the damage is applied.

If you read it as 'all nonlethal damage that you currently have beyond maximum hitpoints', then you would need to reevaluate the status of existing nonlethal damage any time maximum hitpoints are reduced and you could have the second situation.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Actually, I quoted that exact text in the very first post. ;)

What exactly are you saying that the text affects, relative to this thread?

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Guide to PFS Organized Play wrote:
you must buy ammunition in full lots (typically 10 or 20 for mundane ammunition and 50 for magical ammunition).

The quote above is the only relevant rule I've been able to find to cover the purchasing of special material ammunition. So the question is, if I want to buy non-magical adamantine (or cold iron or silver or whatever) arrows, do I have to buy in lots of 20 or 50? It seems clear by the quote above the answer would be 20, but I've seen people (GMs included) that insist the answer is 50. Am I missing something?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hrm, didn't know about Deadeye Bowman...however Erastil doesn't offer the Air domain.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm actually looking for a way to make a decent archer primarily with Warpriest. I'm not certain that I'm willing to dip three levels into Zen archer for the dex to hit though. I'm not a big fan of dipping to begin with.

Sovereign Court *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This will be my first GenCon. I'll be staying at one of the hotels on the east side.

I called to find out about parking near the convention center. I don't recall now exactly how much they said it would be, $25-$30 a day I'm thinking. Then I read about the shuttle for a one-time $50 fee. Now I'm torn. The shuttle is much cheaper, but the schedule is fixed and wouldn't provide the convenience of having a nearby supply cache.

I'm already paying a small fortune for the hotel room, what's an extra hundred dollars for parking?

Any advice on the availability/convenience of parking near the convention center?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Don't forget that the Slayer, coming up in the Advanced Class Guide, can take ranger combat styles as well.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm still baffled over the scale on the map for the first level.

For instance:

Spoiler:

The sarcophagus would be 20 feet long and nearly 10 feet wide.
And the pillars in the chasm room clearly were written for a scale of 1"=5' not 10'

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

We had a situation come up tonight in a game that caused some disagreement.

The situation was a PC who was prone 15' from an enemy. He wanted to stand (move action), then bull rush the enemy.

My opinion was that a bull rush (unless made as part of a charge) could only be made against a foe you threaten to start with. Since the PC didn't have enough actions to stand, move to the foe and then attack, nor could he stand and charge, I said that a bull rush was not possible.

The opposing view was that bull rushing inherently involves movement, and so the PC would be able to move and bull rush as part of a single standard action after using a move action to stand.

Thoughts?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Maouse, dude, you're wrong.

1 to 50 of 368 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.