Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Strychnine's page

3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


The foresight sub-school has a supernatural ability called Prescience.

Prescience (Su): At the beginning of your turn, you
may, as a free action, roll a single d20. At any point before
your next turn, you may use the result of this roll as the
result of any d20 roll you are required to make. If you do
not use the d20 result before your next turn, it is lost. You
can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 +
your Intelligence modifier.

I have played a divination wizard up to level 13 when, at the beginning of the last game, the GM railroads me into a situation where I wake up with a cut on my wrist and I have a permanent 6 negative levels (not removable) and all my equipment missing.

When I expressed my discontent, I was informed that I was "cheating" by using Prescience for my skill rolls when it states that Prescience can only be used at the beginning of your turn. The GM's argument is that a turn system only applies to combat, hence I can only use Prescience in combat.

I have been using it for skills outside of combat: diplomacy, acrobatics, etc. This makes sense to me: you have a 6th sense that you are about to trip and you can make two d20 rolls for acrobatics. Or in diplomacy, where you can anticipate the NPC's response and sway the argument in your favor.

My question is:

Is Prescience usable for skill rolls outside of a combat situation? Another thread seems to suggest that I can:

Thank you!

LazarX wrote:
DeathTrap wrote:

I'm curious about peoples opinions - in a balanced party, would you rather have a witch or a wizard to fill each of the following roles (ie. Witch/Wizard for #1, Witch/Wizard for #2, etc):

It's my general observation that the character the player enjoys playing more will be played better. Either character can fill the role, but each brings options that the other does not, so go with what the player would most enjoy playing.

Sorry to revive a dead post, I didn't want to clutter the boards with a new one.

To add to this wizard/witch debate, would a wizard 20/witch 20 (epic campaign) with an intelligence score of 70 break the game beyond repair? Or put another way, what is the strongest thing a witch wizard (20 levels in each) can achieve? Both classes being int based, I imagine incredibly high DC will saves for the witch's hexes.

I'm currently playing in a level 60 Pathfinder campaign (around lvl 10 now). I'm also co-GMing the campaign to an extent.

This is a game where the main GM is very liberal and allows a homebrew of almost anything. For example, he would allow the introduction of semi-automatic weapons for a Gunslinger or he would eventually allow you to become Lord of Magic, a demigod or in my case, a Balor demon. It's a very homebrewed campaign.

What I am asking is:

Assuming a level cap of 60, what would break the game the most if you started off as a wizard? Something I should mention: he allows going on long-term quests to obtain 3.5 epic spells like soul dominion.

Wizard 20, Cleric 20, Mystic Theurge 10 and 10 something else?

Part of me wants to know so I can expect it from my players.


©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.