Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Othlo

Starglim's page

Goblin Squad Member. RPG Superstar 2013 Dedicated Voter, 2014 Star Voter, 2015 Dedicated Voter. FullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 3,260 posts (3,264 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 21 Pathfinder Society characters. 2 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 3,260 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

Confirmed, thanks!

Grand Lodge

Could I please arrange to hold Order #3588478 until #3544481 is ready to ship if at all possible

I don't mind waiting.

Thanks
Jim

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Costed as half a pound

Grand Lodge

And of self-levitation, yes. Did you think it might be something else?

Grand Lodge ***

Had to dash out for Mad Max: Fury Road ..

And if you find one that can, check whether it gives you Change Shape or Curse of Lycanthropy from the chosen form. Polymorph spells in Pathfinder specify what abilities they grant.

Grand Lodge ***

A polymorph effect can't cause the subject to assume the form of a creature with a template (CRB page 212).

Grand Lodge ***

Joe Ducey wrote:

Mt reading suggests that no you have to pay the 1 prestige to switch factions for the purposes of the goal

Faction Cards wrote:
that PC must then join the Dark Archive by spending only 1 Prestige Point per character level
Emphasis mine. I'd be happy to learn I was wrong though.

That's my reading too. The other factions that have recruiting goals use the same wording.

Grand Lodge ***

The GM gets the rewards, including item access, for the subtier appropriate to the character who receives the chronicle.

edit: The current Guide doesn't specify what subtier of items are available to a GM character who is out of subtier. Immediately before the current wording, in version 4.3, the rule was "Should the GM receive a chronicle sheet that indicates her character is between subtiers .. she must always play down, taking a Chronicle sheet for the lower subtier." Since she is playing down, the GM should take the lower subtier items only.

Grand Lodge ***

Topher Hughes wrote:
One question that came up, and that I didn't feel competent to address, has to do with faction cards. Does the History and Future of Humanity count as a named text for the Dark Archive faction card? My gut says no, but I told the player I would double-check online. I haven't come across any obvious answers with google and forum searches, so I thought I'd ask here.

It's a named text. There might be some question whether the PCs are able to recover enough of it to count, but for only 1/3 of a goal I'd allow it.

Grand Lodge ***

GM Aerondor wrote:

Are Faction Journal Cards able to be used in the Core Campaign?

I'm guessing not, but a clear steer would be helpful.

Yes

Grand Lodge ***

As long as they have different PFS numbers, no rule prevents two characters at the table having the same stats or the same name. The Guide to PFSOP does say that pregens are provided by the event organiser. While I wouldn't take that too far, I believe the rules would back you if you refuse.

Grand Lodge ***

chad gilbreath wrote:
I was asking because I wanted to get a guard dog for up to like level 3 and use him as a flanking buddy for my Core Rogue but was sure if it was pfs legal or not

The flank trick doesn't exist in the Core Campaign, so if that's what you meant by a Core Rogue, the GM can decide whether or not a dog knows to flank when ordered to attack. However a guard dog from the CRB is a legal purchase.

Grand Lodge ***

Shawn Lewis 226 wrote:
What is the Hero's Handbook? When I look on Paizo.com there seem to be a number of them, but they are class-specific? Is there a primary one that is not?

It's part of the Beginner Box.

Grand Lodge

They never did. Bashing is a shield enhancement that can be applied to a light or heavy shield. Shield spikes are not a shield and even if they were, they are not either of the types allowed.

Grand Lodge ***

Geoffrey DeWan wrote:

This part of the faq though leads me to believe that both the dog and eidolon are fine:

FAQ wrote:
In general, a mount, a familiar or mundane pet, and your class-granted animal(s) are acceptable, but more than that can be disruptive.

They're acceptable as non-combat animals.

Grand Lodge ***

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Which means you're fine with the riding dog and your eidolon.

The dog would be active in combat and provide a combat advantage in increased movement and carrying capacity. Unfortunately I've had to pull up a player on this specific combination. (Even more unfortunately, I was a player at the next session and he brought it out unchanged for the next GM.)

Grand Lodge ***

FAQ: How many animals can I have at any given time?

edit: If you have an eidolon active, you can't also ride a dog in combat. The FAQ allows you a mount as a non-combat animal but once combat starts it does not participate at all. However this rule doesn't restrict summoning further creatures, so I believe using a riding dog plus the summoner's summon monster class ability would work.

Grand Lodge ***

roll4initiative wrote:
Can a NPC try and grab one that's orbiting a PC's head? Is it just a CMB vs. CMD?

An orbiting ioun stone is an attended object and benefits from its owner's defensive ability and magical protections. The CRB description doesn't give stats for grabbing or netting one, but a Steal manoeuvre, basically as you've described, sounds right, applying a +2 bonus if the grabber uses a butterfly net, landing net or similar small hand net.

Grand Lodge ***

DesolateHarmony wrote:
That is the basic rule, but there are exceptions and amendments.

Notably, Free RPG Day modules grant 1 XP and 1 PP. Certain levels of the Emerald Spire alter these rewards based on character actions.

Finally, if for various reasons a character completes less than 2/3 of a module, the GM can award reduced credit, edit: as quoted.

Grand Lodge ***

Soluzar wrote:

Casting Animate Dead on this thread...

Is it permissible to substitute Eliza Petulengro for Alissa Moldreserva as the Venture-Captain for this?

Extracting the relevant part from a particularly spoilerful location:

Mark Moreland wrote:
Eliza Petulengro and Alissa Moldraserva were supposed to be the same person but someone somewhere thought Alissa Moldraserva's name was silly and just changed it without checking to see if she'd appeared previously. That's why Eliza changed from being a Varisian to a Taldan with red hair midway through her continuity.

Chronologically it should work.

Grand Lodge ***

I agree with Jayson, the Tapestry probably counts as a magic item, not a nation. I know of two scenarios where the party enters the Tapestry from another location than Absalom and those would qualify.

Grand Lodge

DesolateHarmony wrote:
Strength Surge wrote:
Strength Surge (Sp): As a standard action, you can touch a creature to give it great strength. For 1 round, the target gains an enhancement bonus equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum +1) to melee attacks, combat maneuver checks that rely on Strength, Strength-based skills, and Strength checks. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Again, where it says "For 1 round, the target gains..." This means until the start of your next turn. It is only limitedly useful to use on yourself, i.e. for Attacks of Opportunity and Immediate Actions.

And move actions, some of which actually benefit from improved Strength. But generally, yes, these don't assist the cleric's own attacks.

Grand Lodge ***

Jeff Merola wrote:
Starglim wrote:
DesolateHarmony wrote:
Has the Inquisitor been added? Alchemists have specific language saying they can use wands; inquisitors have no such wording. I thought the consensus was that they cannot.
I'm not familiar with this consensus. An inquisitor casts divine spells and her spell list includes cure light wounds. What would prevent her using a wand?
DesolateHarmony was confusing Inquisitors for Investigators.

Ah, good point then. I've avoided this question since my Investigator is also a Ranger (not for that reason, but it comes in handy).

Grand Lodge ***

DesolateHarmony wrote:
Has the Inquisitor been added? Alchemists have specific language saying they can use wands; inquisitors have no such wording. I thought the consensus was that they cannot.

I'm not familiar with this consensus. An inquisitor casts divine spells and her spell list includes cure light wounds. What would prevent her using a wand?

Grand Lodge ***

Jack Brown wrote:
Really, only fighters, barbarians, monks, rogues, brawlers, Slayers, swashbucklers, Gunslingers, and cavaliers, samurai and ninjas cannot cast any healing spells (or at least use the wands without UMD).

And there's no strong disincentive (in some cases other benefits) for any of those classes to take a level of ranger.

Grand Lodge ***

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
Also, that 2 pp price is for a Wand of Cure Light CL1, right? What happens when parties get to higher levels?

At mid levels you might start to see gloves of first aid. At seeker levels I think a wand of cure serious wounds becomes worthwhile for action economy.

Grand Lodge ***

tchrman35 wrote:
Yet another question about this scenario - how does Gali get out of the Secret Spine? There are NO doors on the place. How does he ever F2F the PCs?

Spoiler:
There is a secret door entering from E5.

He has no reason to confront the PCs unless they get into E5 and find the secret door, as his spell selection and tactics allow unlimited ranged attacks.

Grand Lodge

It would be equally logical (which is to say, the rules require neither one) to say that an ability with no listed range can only be used by touch.

Grand Lodge ***

LucianC wrote:
Can one forgo a day job check if one is not trained in Perform, Craft or Profession?

bump

I'd be interested to know this for a couple of other reasons.

Grand Lodge ***

The Fox wrote:

From the Additional Resources

Quote:

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Bestiary

Animal Companions: ankylosaurus, aurochs, brachiosaurus, dire bat, dire rat, dolphin, elasmosaurus, electric eel, elephant/mastodon, frog, goblin dog, hyena, monitor lizard, moray eel, octopus, orca, pteranodon, rhinoceros, roc, squid, stegosaurus, triceratops, and tyrannosaurus; Familiars: all familiars listed on pages 131-133; Feats: none of the feats are legal for play for PCs, animal companions, or familiars unless specifically granted by another legal source; Other: all creatures in this book are legal for polymorph effects (including a druid's wild shape ability) within the boundaries of each spell or ability's parameters. All languages found in this book are available for a character to learn with the linguistics skill, except aboleth and drow sign language.

The text that I highlighted does not specifically disallow those feats for eidolons, but I think the intent is clear that the Bestiary feats are not available to any player-controlled creatures unless another legal source allows it.

AR doesn't disallow these feats for eidolons, but it doesn't allow them for any creature either. Without another legal source eidolons have no access to Bestiary feats.

Grand Lodge ***

Faisal_Ethelwyn wrote:
The subject says it all. I'm looking for some scenarios that are geared toward the Dark Archive faction.

In earlier seasons, the Rachikan series: 0-22 Fingerprints of the Fiend, 2-10 Fury of the Fiend, 5-17 Fate of the Fiend

Grand Lodge ***

TheFlyingPhoton wrote:
How has everyone else prompted your players to (ask to) get into the crypt?

Once the Abadarian cleric deduced that they were investigating a breach of the Society's rules and duties (and had been sufficiently bribed, sorry, indemnified for the variation to his contractual obligations) he escorted them in and helped them open the sarcophagus.

Grand Lodge

It won't do anything, because the creature targeted by the spell doesn't have to make a saving throw.

Grand Lodge ***

On one run I got the players to roll as we went, another time I pre-rolled and prepped only those results. Both seemed to work all right.

Grand Lodge ***

Not every encounter or every adventure, but you'll want some answer to incorporeal undead, zombies, skeletons and ghouls pretty much immediately.

Grand Lodge ***

Starglim wrote:
Sebastian Hirsch wrote:

Almost forgot, is there any reason, why an existing character could not convince a new character with 0 XP and Pp to switch factions?(Thus gaming the system.. a bit).

EDIT: Never mind, I obviously can't read..

Somewhat related though, I recall each character is entitled to one free faction change in Season 6. If a player now uses his free change, does that count, or must he spend PP for it to count as recruiting the character?

I think my question answers itself as well:

Sovereign Court Faction Journal Card wrote:
To fulfil this goal that PC must then join the Sovereign Court by spending only 1 Prestige Point per character level

Grand Lodge ***

Sebastian Hirsch wrote:

Almost forgot, is there any reason, why an existing character could not convince a new character with 0 XP and Pp to switch factions?(Thus gaming the system.. a bit).

EDIT: Never mind, I obviously can't read..

Somewhat related though, I recall each character is entitled to one free faction change in Season 6. If a player now uses his free change, does that count, or must he spend PP for it to count as recruiting the character?

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

A sorcerer can wear full plate if he wants. It will have an effect on his ability to complete missions.

A haramaki doesn't have any spell failure chance or armour check penalty and none of the sorcerer's basic class abilities fail if he wears light armour, so he can wear it without consequences.

Grand Lodge ***

Very nice. The full cellar map makes a couple of points clearer than the published version.

Grand Lodge

If the text clearly established that you can get its benefit from the beginning of your turn (when you declare a melee attack), it would be a useful feat. In my experience it's just too painful to convince a GM that it does something worthwhile.

Grand Lodge ***

It wouldn't scale to higher levels (unless it did: when your character reaches 7th level you may use the 4th level version of the follower, at 12th level advance it to 7th level).

Grand Lodge ***

Vahanian 89 wrote:
I have a similar question. I know there are a few modules that are replayable for credit does the same apply if you GM it more than once? Can you apply the credit to a different level 1 PC? Or is it just 1 time for PC credit and the others for table credit?

You can take repeated GM credit for a replayable scenario in the same circumstances where you could get repeated player credit (so you can only apply one GM credit and one player credit to 2nd level characters).

As you mention, you must apply it to a different character, as a character can never have the same chronicle twice.

Grand Lodge ***

You apply full rewards for the appropriate subtier for the character who is getting the GM chronicle, regardless of what the players did.

You can apply it to your 4th level character. He gets subtier 4-5 rewards (edit: or probably 3-4 as mentioned).

Grand Lodge ***

Wakeup wrote:

I'm going to GM this scenario soon and reading through it I thought the leap from the Wall of Names to the Shrine of the Failed wasn't really intuitive... I'll try to explain myself:

I'm GMing a group of novice Pathfinders (we're just a very young lodge here in Italy) and my guess is many, if not all of them, don't know many things about Absalom and its points of interest, like the Shrine or even the Starstone Cathedral for example. I mean, their characters might know but the PLAYERS don't.

I thought it would be quite awkward to say "Hey, with your history check, your character remembers that there's a monument called Shrine of The Failed [...] <insert description of the Shrine here>" and they'd be like "oh well I guess we have to go there then!".

Don't get me wrong, I'm just trying to ask if a player should be familiar with the city setting to actually have a chance to remember about the Shrine or if it's clearly pointed out with its name (and not only with the tombstone clues, which are quite pointless if the players don't know that the Shrine even exists...)

You're certainly right. I made sure to mention and explain the Starstone in my introduction and give them rumours about Sir Rheinhart's attempt as they went along, so when they made their skill checks (or asked others) to understand the information from Arkath's tomb and the Wall of Names, they would understand the context for the Shrine. I still had to explain it a couple of times.

Grand Lodge ***

That blog is not currently a legal source for the Core campaign, but the Repose domain gives Pharasmins some of the same spells.

Grand Lodge ***

It makes sense. The only downside I see is that making PFS rules a little more divergent from the CRB, by presumably a blog post or FAQ, to that small extent encourages the ongoing stream of "how does X work in PFS" questions. It might be cleaner to make a single revision to "Languages" in the next version of the Guide to PFSOP covering several recent changes.

Grand Lodge

Zacrael wrote:
I meant can i read another one of those books (for example 1 week later) and get bonus on same stat over and over again.

edit: A manual grants a permanent inherent bonus. If you get another inherent bonus to the same ability score from another manual or from a wish, they don't stack. You can get a higher inherent bonus that then overrides the lower one.

Grand Lodge ***

As noted, they already know who the culprit is, but need Fimbrik's note to find out exactly what she did (or they can search all three chapels).

The scenario suggests to use the contacts they (should have) made at the Wisp to help with the investigative parts. Janira or Yargos would be very useful.

Grand Lodge ***

It seems unlikely that travelling to the Astral Plane would kill a particularly difficult Big Bad while only mildly inconveniencing a PC who was having trouble dealing with it with a full party. Circumstances might dictate something unusual, but I'd regretfully be inclined to say the Big Bad would kill the PC off screen (dealing with the body according to its nature) and any success conditions would resolve as if the Big Bad escaped. It might help the rest of the party not to die though.

Grand Lodge

Billy was hesitant to trust whatever protection it was he'd been afforded.

- China Miéville, Kraken

1 to 50 of 3,260 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.