Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Othlo

Starglim's page

Goblin Squad Member. RPG Superstar 2013 Dedicated Voter, 2014 Star Voter, 2015 Dedicated Voter. FullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 3,283 posts (3,287 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 23 Pathfinder Society characters. 2 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 3,283 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

Myth Lord wrote:
Skeljaskaimsli - A beach creature resembling a mixture of sloth, pangolin and tapir. (would be an awesome pet for the shellycoat)

I think they just found one in Sakhalin.

Grand Lodge ***

For season 4 and earlier you should now refer to the Secondary Success Conditions Document

Spoiler:
Primary: The PCs defeat the skum guarding the
Drowning Stones.
Secondary: The PCs either close off the temple in Act
5 forever or extract all 1,000 pounds of the stones to
return to Osprey.

Grand Lodge

Besides CR-based monster lore, a Knowledge skill can answer questions within its field of study. I might suggest identifying a well-known individual by name, position and general reputation is a basic question (DC 15) and individuals who are not famous or actively suppress knowledge about themselves have higher DCs. Since this is not monster lore, the character would have to meet the DC for a more difficult question to get specific information.

Grand Lodge

avr wrote:
Trekkie90909 wrote:
? It reduces a -10 perception DC to a -5 penalty on an opposed stealth check. That's all.
No, it declares that without the talent the perception DC is a flat -10 with no stealth check involved
Skills: Perception wrote:
Hear the sound of battle Perception DC -10

And if this rule had been in place before D&D 3.0, I wouldn't have had the pleasure of a certain conversation with another player.

Grand Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starglim wrote:
Character Traits Web Enhancement (ZIP download) - many other sourcebooks provide more traits, notably racial traits and regional traits.

Ow. That should read race traits.

Grand Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Faction Journal Cards
Character Traits Web Enhancement (ZIP download) - many other sourcebooks provide more traits, notably racial traits and regional traits.

Grand Lodge ***

As far as I know the open call remains open.

Grand Lodge ***

So you can gain GM credit for any number of characters who are 1st level when they earn the chronicles and one 2nd level character, only one per character.

Grand Lodge ***

Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
Is it acceptable to tell players that they will be better off if they're using characters who have played previous WBG modules?

It doesn't seem much different than telling them that a scenario has special content for a certain faction, or that they might benefit from playing the parts of a series with the same character in regular PFS.

Grand Lodge ***

I'm Hiding In Your Closet wrote:
At the moment, you can play any of the Core Rulebook races, as well as Our Friends From (sometimes very) Foreign Lands, the Kitsune, Nagaji, and Wayang.

Also tengu. Note that, despite the links in this thread, to play a race to which you have legal access that isn't in the Core Rulebook, you must also bring to the game a copy of a Paizo rulebook that provides its game statistics.

You can find the campaign-specific rules for Pathfinder Society in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organised Play, which will direct you to Additional Resources if you own and want to use rulebooks other than the Core Rulebook.

Grand Lodge

"'We bought a house, believe it or not,' he replied."

The Armageddon Rag, George R. R. Martin

Grand Lodge ***

I believe you can describe your follower how you like, providing you don't annoy other players. It doesn't gain any stats or the ability to perform any other game effects than listed in the sourcebook as a result. It doesn't require Handle Animal.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Barbatos has dominion over birds that eat the flesh of the dead. Harpies might follow Dispater as patron of the erinyes.

Grand Lodge ***

WiseWolfOfYoitsu wrote:
Mask of fear (2,500 gp; +5 bonus on Intimidate checks)

Reverse-engineering this to the CRB guidelines (page 550) this should be a competence bonus and the item should take up a body slot.

Grand Lodge ***

Pre-gens of CRB classes, even if they include non-Core material

So Fane of Fangs and Risen from the Sands may be out, but 3 of 4 We Be Goblins pre-gens are OK.

Grand Lodge ***

Thordelion Copperpots wrote:
One thing that's confusing for me about Silverhex. How is it that you still run two more scenarios after it, and just get to level 2?

edit: If your players complete all six quests, they gain a total of 1 XP. The rewards on each line of the chronicle are totals, not cumulative.

Thordelion Copperpots wrote:
How does the pregen requirement work with my group, who are rolling their own characters?

They must (for PFS credit) play Silverhex with pregenerated characters. They apply the chronicle for Silverhex to their own characters.

Grand Lodge ***

ckdragons wrote:
A bit off topic while I'm thinking about it, if I were to start a PS group, I'm sure I would need to contact my local Captain first. Would I need to start running Season 0/1 or use the current Season 7?

I'm sure the local Venture-Captain would be glad to hear from you and assist, but it's not a requirement. You can run scenarios from any season. A small number have been retired (marked as such on the Paizo site).

Grand Lodge ***

No Hablo Shoanti

Grand Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You should download the Guide to PFS Organised Play from this site as a reference for many of these procedural questions. You can buy equipment for your character with gold that the character earned. In theory this is supposed to happen in the presence of a GM (while completing chronicles for the session or before the next one) but many groups will be practical about this.

Almost all non-magical equipment is Always Available for purchase, which means you can buy it without qualifying through adventures. The Guide has more details.

You must record purchases over 25 gp (and in some ways it works just as well to record all your equipment) on an Inventory Tracking Sheet, as included in the back of the Guide.

Generally you sell gear for half the price you paid for it, thus you only get gold for items that you purchased with gold.

Since you haven't yet played your character at 2nd level or higher, you can rebuild it between sessions, including changing its gear apart from anything you've expended or damaged. Thus currently you can get back the full price of the saddle. You'd record this change on the Inventory Tracking Sheet.

Grand Lodge ***

I suspect not (except in the specific ways FLite mentions), because you must upgrade to an item that you could legally purchase. It's worth asking though.

Grand Lodge ***

If the player begins the scenario (some variation is possible on this) he gets a chronicle and can't get credit for that scenario again for the same character. If he completes at least 3 encounters, he gains 1 xp, otherwise 0 xp. He gets the gold listed for any encounters he completed and Prestige for any success conditions he met.

Grand Lodge ***

Year of the Shadow Lodge Special
Shades of Ice 1 (briefly) and 2

They featured in

Spoiler:
low level scenarios for Season 2, since the bad side of the Shadow Lodge had a minor artifact that let them command goblins, or spawn goblins, or some such.

In fact, now I think about it, Shades of Ice is the backstory to The Frostfur Captives.

Grand Lodge ***

An item that appears on one of your character's chronicle sheets is legal for that character to purchase. You can and must use the rules for that specific item from its legal source.

The Technologist feat doesn't exist in the Core campaign. Neither does its Normal clause. If a scenario describes an effect of not having the Technologist feat then the GM should run that game effect as written. Otherwise a GM can, but isn't required to, use any material to make rulings that improve the game and resolve inclarities in the Core materials.

Grand Lodge

Confirmed, thanks!

Grand Lodge

Could I please arrange to hold Order #3588478 until #3544481 is ready to ship if at all possible

I don't mind waiting.

Thanks
Jim

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Costed as half a pound

Grand Lodge

And of self-levitation, yes. Did you think it might be something else?

Grand Lodge ***

Had to dash out for Mad Max: Fury Road ..

And if you find one that can, check whether it gives you Change Shape or Curse of Lycanthropy from the chosen form. Polymorph spells in Pathfinder specify what abilities they grant.

Grand Lodge ***

A polymorph effect can't cause the subject to assume the form of a creature with a template (CRB page 212).

Grand Lodge ***

Joe Ducey wrote:

Mt reading suggests that no you have to pay the 1 prestige to switch factions for the purposes of the goal

Faction Cards wrote:
that PC must then join the Dark Archive by spending only 1 Prestige Point per character level
Emphasis mine. I'd be happy to learn I was wrong though.

That's my reading too. The other factions that have recruiting goals use the same wording.

Grand Lodge ***

The GM gets the rewards, including item access, for the subtier appropriate to the character who receives the chronicle.

edit: The current Guide doesn't specify what subtier of items are available to a GM character who is out of subtier. Immediately before the current wording, in version 4.3, the rule was "Should the GM receive a chronicle sheet that indicates her character is between subtiers .. she must always play down, taking a Chronicle sheet for the lower subtier." Since she is playing down, the GM should take the lower subtier items only.

Grand Lodge ***

Topher Hughes wrote:
One question that came up, and that I didn't feel competent to address, has to do with faction cards. Does the History and Future of Humanity count as a named text for the Dark Archive faction card? My gut says no, but I told the player I would double-check online. I haven't come across any obvious answers with google and forum searches, so I thought I'd ask here.

It's a named text. There might be some question whether the PCs are able to recover enough of it to count, but for only 1/3 of a goal I'd allow it.

Grand Lodge ***

GM Aerondor wrote:

Are Faction Journal Cards able to be used in the Core Campaign?

I'm guessing not, but a clear steer would be helpful.

Yes

Grand Lodge ***

As long as they have different PFS numbers, no rule prevents two characters at the table having the same stats or the same name. The Guide to PFSOP does say that pregens are provided by the event organiser. While I wouldn't take that too far, I believe the rules would back you if you refuse.

Grand Lodge ***

chad gilbreath wrote:
I was asking because I wanted to get a guard dog for up to like level 3 and use him as a flanking buddy for my Core Rogue but was sure if it was pfs legal or not

The flank trick doesn't exist in the Core Campaign, so if that's what you meant by a Core Rogue, the GM can decide whether or not a dog knows to flank when ordered to attack. However a guard dog from the CRB is a legal purchase.

Grand Lodge ***

Shawn Lewis 226 wrote:
What is the Hero's Handbook? When I look on Paizo.com there seem to be a number of them, but they are class-specific? Is there a primary one that is not?

It's part of the Beginner Box.

Grand Lodge

They never did. Bashing is a shield enhancement that can be applied to a light or heavy shield. Shield spikes are not a shield and even if they were, they are not either of the types allowed.

Grand Lodge ***

Geoffrey DeWan wrote:

This part of the faq though leads me to believe that both the dog and eidolon are fine:

FAQ wrote:
In general, a mount, a familiar or mundane pet, and your class-granted animal(s) are acceptable, but more than that can be disruptive.

They're acceptable as non-combat animals.

Grand Lodge ***

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Which means you're fine with the riding dog and your eidolon.

The dog would be active in combat and provide a combat advantage in increased movement and carrying capacity. Unfortunately I've had to pull up a player on this specific combination. (Even more unfortunately, I was a player at the next session and he brought it out unchanged for the next GM.)

Grand Lodge ***

FAQ: How many animals can I have at any given time?

edit: If you have an eidolon active, you can't also ride a dog in combat. The FAQ allows you a mount as a non-combat animal but once combat starts it does not participate at all. However this rule doesn't restrict summoning further creatures, so I believe using a riding dog plus the summoner's summon monster class ability would work.

Grand Lodge ***

roll4initiative wrote:
Can a NPC try and grab one that's orbiting a PC's head? Is it just a CMB vs. CMD?

An orbiting ioun stone is an attended object and benefits from its owner's defensive ability and magical protections. The CRB description doesn't give stats for grabbing or netting one, but a Steal manoeuvre, basically as you've described, sounds right, applying a +2 bonus if the grabber uses a butterfly net, landing net or similar small hand net.

Grand Lodge ***

DesolateHarmony wrote:
That is the basic rule, but there are exceptions and amendments.

Notably, Free RPG Day modules grant 1 XP and 1 PP. Certain levels of the Emerald Spire alter these rewards based on character actions.

Finally, if for various reasons a character completes less than 2/3 of a module, the GM can award reduced credit, edit: as quoted.

Grand Lodge ***

Soluzar wrote:

Casting Animate Dead on this thread...

Is it permissible to substitute Eliza Petulengro for Alissa Moldreserva as the Venture-Captain for this?

Extracting the relevant part from a particularly spoilerful location:

Mark Moreland wrote:
Eliza Petulengro and Alissa Moldraserva were supposed to be the same person but someone somewhere thought Alissa Moldraserva's name was silly and just changed it without checking to see if she'd appeared previously. That's why Eliza changed from being a Varisian to a Taldan with red hair midway through her continuity.

Chronologically it should work.

Grand Lodge ***

I agree with Jayson, the Tapestry probably counts as a magic item, not a nation. I know of two scenarios where the party enters the Tapestry from another location than Absalom and those would qualify.

Grand Lodge

DesolateHarmony wrote:
Strength Surge wrote:
Strength Surge (Sp): As a standard action, you can touch a creature to give it great strength. For 1 round, the target gains an enhancement bonus equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum +1) to melee attacks, combat maneuver checks that rely on Strength, Strength-based skills, and Strength checks. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Again, where it says "For 1 round, the target gains..." This means until the start of your next turn. It is only limitedly useful to use on yourself, i.e. for Attacks of Opportunity and Immediate Actions.

And move actions, some of which actually benefit from improved Strength. But generally, yes, these don't assist the cleric's own attacks.

Grand Lodge ***

Jeff Merola wrote:
Starglim wrote:
DesolateHarmony wrote:
Has the Inquisitor been added? Alchemists have specific language saying they can use wands; inquisitors have no such wording. I thought the consensus was that they cannot.
I'm not familiar with this consensus. An inquisitor casts divine spells and her spell list includes cure light wounds. What would prevent her using a wand?
DesolateHarmony was confusing Inquisitors for Investigators.

Ah, good point then. I've avoided this question since my Investigator is also a Ranger (not for that reason, but it comes in handy).

Grand Lodge ***

DesolateHarmony wrote:
Has the Inquisitor been added? Alchemists have specific language saying they can use wands; inquisitors have no such wording. I thought the consensus was that they cannot.

I'm not familiar with this consensus. An inquisitor casts divine spells and her spell list includes cure light wounds. What would prevent her using a wand?

Grand Lodge ***

Jack Brown wrote:
Really, only fighters, barbarians, monks, rogues, brawlers, Slayers, swashbucklers, Gunslingers, and cavaliers, samurai and ninjas cannot cast any healing spells (or at least use the wands without UMD).

And there's no strong disincentive (in some cases other benefits) for any of those classes to take a level of ranger.

Grand Lodge ***

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
Also, that 2 pp price is for a Wand of Cure Light CL1, right? What happens when parties get to higher levels?

At mid levels you might start to see gloves of first aid. At seeker levels I think a wand of cure serious wounds becomes worthwhile for action economy.

Grand Lodge ***

tchrman35 wrote:
Yet another question about this scenario - how does Gali get out of the Secret Spine? There are NO doors on the place. How does he ever F2F the PCs?

Spoiler:
There is a secret door entering from E5.

He has no reason to confront the PCs unless they get into E5 and find the secret door, as his spell selection and tactics allow unlimited ranged attacks.

1 to 50 of 3,283 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.